Top List Curated by Listnerd
  • Public list
  • Nov 27th 2012
  • 2.500 views
  • 510 votes
  • 510 voters
  • 4%
Best Ship Builder of All Time

More about Best Ship Builder of All Time:

Best Ship Builder of All Time is a public top list created by Listnerd on Rankly.com on November 27th 2012. Items on the Best Ship Builder of All Time top list are added by the Rankly.com community and ranked using our secret ranking sauce. Best Ship Builder of All Time has gotten 2.500 views and has gathered 510 votes from 510 voters. Only owner can add items. Just members can vote.

Best Ship Builder of All Time is a top list in the Cars & Auto category on Rankly.com. Are you a fan of Cars & Auto or Best Ship Builder of All Time? Explore more top 100 lists about Cars & Auto on Rankly.com or participate in ranking the stuff already on the all time Best Ship Builder of All Time top list below.

If you're not a member of Rankly.com, you should consider becoming one. Registration is fast, free and easy. At Rankly.com, we aim to give you the best of everything - including stuff like the Best Ship Builder of All Time list.

Get your friends to vote! Spread this URL or share:

Items just added

    1
    Seattle-Tacoma Shipbuilding Corporation

    Seattle-Tacoma Shipbuilding Corporation

    • Ships built: USS Haggard
    The Seattle-Tacoma Shipbuilding Corporation was a United States corporation which built ships for the US Navy and merchant marine during World War II . The shipyard had existed since the 1920s as part of the Todd Dry Dock & Construction Company, but had shut down some time after the First World War. In 1939, the old shipyard in Commencement Bay, Tacoma was revived by Todd and Kaiser Shipbuilding together with the aid of some $15 million in capital provided by the US Navy, for the production of vessels in anticipation of possible US entry into World War II. The money enabled the owners to expand the number of ways from three to eight in total. Seattle-Tacoma Shipbuilding produced a significant number of ships during the war, from escort carriers and destroyers to merchant vessels. On Liberty Fleet Day 27 September 1941 one of the first Liberty ships the SS Fredrick Funston was launched by Seattle-Tacoma. In 1942 Todd bought out Kaiser's holding and some time thereafter the company was reabsorbed into Todd Dry Dock & Construction, which eventually became Todd Pacific Shipyards. Todd sold the Tacoma shipyard to the Navy after the war ended, which in turn sold the site to the Port of
    8.83
    6 votes
    2
    6.38
    8 votes
    3
    Fore River Shipyard

    Fore River Shipyard

    • Ships built: Thomas W. Lawson
    The Fore River Shipyard of Quincy, Massachusetts, more formally known as the Fore River Ship and Engine Building Company, was a shipyard in the United States from 1883 until 1986. Located on the Weymouth Fore River, the yard began operations in 1883 in Braintree, Massachusetts before being moved downstream to its permanent location in Quincy, Massachusetts in 1901. The shipyard helped build early U.S. submarines and many ships commissioned by the United States Navy, including the World War II battleship USS Massachusetts (BB-59) and aircraft carriers USS Wasp (CV-7) and USS Bunker Hill (CV-17). In the 1960s, the yard was purchased by General Dynamics. It continued to produce ships for the navy until being converted to LNG tanker production before finally closing in 1986. The yard built the Thomas W. Lawson, the largest pure sailing ship ever built and ARA Rivadavia, one of two foreign battleships built in the United States. It was home to the "Goliath" crane, for a time the second-largest shipbuilding crane in the world. It is also the likely origin of the World War II "Kilroy was here" graffiti character. Started by Thomas A. Watson in 1883, the shipyard was located on the
    8.00
    6 votes
    4

    Friedrich Krupp Germaniawerft

    • Ships built: Sedov
    Friedrich Krupp Germaniawerft (often just called Germaniawerft, "Germania shipyard") was a German shipbuilding company, located in the harbour at Kiel, and one of the largest and most important builders of U-boats for the Kaiserliche Marine in World War I and the Kriegsmarine in World War II. The company was founded in 1867 by Lloyd Foster, as the Norddeutsche Schiffbau-Gesellschaft, in the town of Gaarden, near Kiel. The idea of the company was to construct war and merchant ships. In 1876 the company built the personal yacht of Kaiser Wilhelm II, the SMY Hohenzollern. The company went bankrupt in 1879 and had to be sold and became property of the Märkisch-Schlesischen Maschinenbau und Hütten-Aktiengesellschaft. They had constructed steam engines in Berlin since 1822. A few year later this company also got in trouble and in late 1882 a new company was founded, the Schiff und Maschinenbau Germania. A few more warships were constructed and the company also had a very good reputation concerning the construction of torpedo boats. However the financial problems were never far away and by the end of August 1896 Krupp took over, as they were very interested in building warships
    7.67
    6 votes
    5
    7.50
    6 votes
    6
    Swan Hunter

    Swan Hunter

    • Ships built: RMS Carpathia
    Swan Hunter, formerly known as "Swan Hunter & Wigham Richardson", is a shipbuilding design, engineering and management company. The company was one of the best known shipbuilding companies in the world but ceased shipbuilding operations on Tyneside in 2006. Based in Wallsend, Tyne and Wear, the company was responsible for some of the greatest ships of the early 20th century — most famously, the RMS Mauretania which held the Blue Riband for the fastest crossing of the Atlantic, and the RMS Carpathia which rescued the survivors from the RMS Titanic. At its apex, the company represented the combined forces of three powerful shipbuilding families: Swan, Hunter and Wigham Richardson. Swan & Hunter was founded by George Burton Hunter, who formed a partnership with the widow of Charles Sheridan Swan (the owner of a Wallsend Shipbuilding business established in 1852 by Dr Charles Mitchell) under the name in 1880. In 1903, C.S. Swan & Hunter merged with Wigham Richardson (founded by John Wigham Richardson as Neptune Works in 1860), specifically to bid for the prestigious contract to build RMS Mauretania on behalf of Cunard. Their bid was successful, and the new company, Swan Hunter and
    7.33
    6 votes
    7
    8.40
    5 votes
    8
    8.40
    5 votes
    9
    6.83
    6 votes
    10
    7.80
    5 votes
    11

    John W. Griffiths

    • Ships built: USS Enterprise
    John Willis Griffiths (October 6, 1809 – April 29, 1882) was an American naval architect who designed the first true clipper ship. His first ship, the Rainbow, was viewed with shock as a difference in design, until she made the round trip from New York to Canton in 180 days instead of the normal year. Biography: Larrie D. Ferreiro (2007), “A Biographical Sketch of John Willis Griffiths from Primary and Archival Sources”, Nautical Research Journal 52/4 pp. 221–228
    7.80
    5 votes
    12
    7.80
    5 votes
    13
    Cal Yachts

    Cal Yachts

    Cal Yachts (aka Jensen Marine) was a manufacturer of performance oriented fiberglass sailboats from the 1960s to the 1980s. The Costa Mesa, California, headquartered company was founded in 1957, among the earliest of all-fiberglass, mass-production sailboat builders. Although the brand has been out of production for two decades, the existing fleet is still substantially active in racing and cruising. Cal Yachts was originally named the Jensen Marine Corporation after the founder, Jack Jensen, a pioneer in fiberglass boat building. He sold his company to Bangor Punta Corporation in 1968. Jensen later produced Ranger sailboats and a line of molded fiberglass recreational vehicles called "Balboa". Nearly 18,000 boats were built under the Cal brand name. There were many different models, but perhaps the most famous is the Cal 40. The first of the ultra-light, production ocean racers, the Cal 40 was inspired by ocean racer George Griffith, of the Los Angeles Yacht Club, and was truly first sketched by him in 1962 on the back of a cocktail napkin. Following Griffith's inspiration, the Cal 40 was designed by naval architect C. William "Bill" Lapworth. Griffith sought out Jack Jensen to
    7.60
    5 votes
    14
    7.60
    5 votes
    15

    Burger Boat Company

    • Ships built: USS Vital
    The Burger Boat Company, of Manitowoc, Wisconsin, US, is a builder of custom-designed, hand-built pleasure yachts. Burger Boat was founded in 1863. It produced its first welded steel yacht in 1938 and began using welded aluminum in 1952. Of the 500 yachts built in the company's history, there are about 250 still in service. David Ross and partner Jim Ruffolo, Chicago entrepreneurs, acquired the bankrupt company in 1993. Ross retired in 2007. Burger is now headed by Jim Ruffolo, President/CEO. About 350 employees build an average of three yachts a year.
    5.57
    7 votes
    16

    Century Boat Company

    The Century Boat Company (CEBC) was a leading 20th century American builder of racing boats. The company was founded in 1926 at 333 Blecher Street in Milwaukee, WI by two brothers James and William Welch who had a knack for building wooden plank hulls that were designed for speed. In 1928 the company was moved to Manistee, Michigan where it operated for the next sixty years. In 1930 its Century Hurricane held the world speedboat record of 50.93 miles per hour. By 1937 the company offered 28 models of boats to choose from. The 1940s brought about World War II and the firm received a contract and delivered 3,600 vessels receiving the Army-Navy E Award for excellence in production material. The company had 343 authorized dealers by 1950 and used the slogan "The Thoroughbred of Boats". In the 1960s Century introduced 45' motor yachts and jet-powered boats; in 1967 the last wooden boat rolled out of the Manastee Facility in favor of fiberglass. 1970 proved to be the greatest decade for the company; it even had a fleet of white tractor trailers that moved them from Manistee across the country to its dealerships. In 1983 it opened a production facility in Panama City, FL. In 1987 the
    8.25
    4 votes
    17
    Yarrow Shipbuilders

    Yarrow Shipbuilders

    • Ships built: HMS Ardent
    Yarrow Shipbuilders Limited (YSL), often styled as simply Yarrows, was a major shipbuilding firm based in the Scotstoun district of Glasgow on the River Clyde. It is now part of BAE Systems Surface Ships, owned by BAE Systems, which has also operated the nearby Govan shipyard since 1999. The company was founded by Alfred Yarrow, later Sir Alfred Yarrow, 1st Baronet, in the year 1865 as Yarrow & Company, Limited. Originally it was based at Folly Wall, Poplar, then in 1898 as the company grew, Yarrow moved his shipyard to London Yard, Cubitt Town. Hundreds of steam launches, lake and river vessels, and eventually the Royal Navy's first destroyers, the Havock class, were built at Yarrow's London shipyards between 1869 and 1908. Yarrow was also a builder of boilers, and a type of water-tube boiler developed and patented by the company was known as the "Yarrow boiler", first used in a torpedo boat in 1887 and later used for a number of applications, from the propulsion plant of the RMS Queen Mary to the LNER Class W1 locomotive. Despite a move of yards, Yarrows outgrew its London site and this and the cost of land and labour in London led to a second move to what was at that time a
    8.25
    4 votes
    18

    American Ship Building Company

    • Ships built: USNS Impeccable
    The American Ship Building Company was the dominant shipbuilder on the Great Lakes before the Second World War. It started as Cleveland Shipbuilding in Cleveland, Ohio in 1888 and opened the yard in Lorain, Ohio in 1898. It changed its name to the American Ship Building Company in 1900, when it acquired Superior Shipbuilding, in Superior, Wisconsin; Toledo Shipbuilding, in Toledo, Ohio; and West Bay Shipbuilding, in West Bay City, Michigan. With the coming of the World War I, the company also acquired Buffalo Dry Dock, in Buffalo, New York; Chicago Shipbuilding, in Chicago, Illinois; and Detroit Shipbuilding, in Wyandotte, Michigan. The Lorain, Ohio Yard served as the main facility of the company after World War II and to this day five of the 13 separate 1,000 ft (300 m) ore carriers on the Great Lakes were built in Lorain, including the M/V Paul R. Tregurtha which is the largest vessel on the Great Lakes (1,013'06" long). Built in 1898, the Lorain Yard quickly grew in size and importance. The facilities eventually included two dry docks over 1,000 feet (300 m) long built to handle the largest of the Great Lakes ore carriers. The Lorain Yard closed in 1984 after a series of labor
    7.00
    5 votes
    19

    Down East Yachts

    Down East Yachts (USCG Manufacturer's Identification Code (MIC) - AAY) was a manufacturer of sailboats headquartered in Santa Ana, California. According to United States Coast Guard records, the company was founded on August 5, 1974, and went out of business on July 12, 1983. The company was founded by Bob Poole, who had previously worked for Columbia Yachts. The company began production in 1974 and, after the death of the founder on April 29, 1978, his molds were sold to Newport Offshore Yachts. The heart of a sailboat company is the design of its boats. Down East Yachts started with a single boat, the Downeaster 38 which was designed by Henry Morschladt, a California Naval Architect who specialized in cruising sailboats. The design was traditional, with a wineglass stern, full keel, and bowsprit. As additional boats were added to the line, they were modifications of this original design. In addition to manufacturing their own boats, Down East Yachts was contracted to finish several hulls made by Westsail as it was closing its doors in 1980. Four sailboats were manufactured by the company. All were heavily built cruisers suitable for blue water sailing and were available in Ketch,
    6.00
    6 votes
    20
    8.00
    4 votes
    21
    Harland and Wolff

    Harland and Wolff

    • Ships built: SS Arundel Castle
    Harland & Wolff Heavy Industries is a Northern Irish heavy industrial company, specializing in shipbuilding and offshore construction, located in Belfast, Northern Ireland. The shipyard has built many ships; among the more famous are the White Star trio Olympic, Titanic and Britannic, the Royal Navy's HMS Belfast, Royal Mail's Andes, Shaw Savill's Southern Cross and P&O's Canberra. The company's official history, "Shipbuilders to the World" was published in 1986. As of 2011, the expanding offshore wind power industry has taken centre stage and 75% of the company's work is based on offshore renewable energy. Harland & Wolff was formed in 1861 by Edward James Harland (1831–1895) and Hamburg-born Gustav Wilhelm Wolff (1834–1913, in the UK from age 14). In 1858 Harland, then general manager, bought the small shipyard on Queen's Island from his employer Robert Hickson. After buying Hickson's shipyard, Harland made his assistant Wolff a partner in the company. Wolff was the nephew of Gustav Schwabe, Hamburg, who was heavily invested in the Bibby Line, and the first three ships that the newly incorporated shipyard built were for that line. Harland made a success of the business through
    9.33
    3 votes
    22
    6.80
    5 votes
    23
    Framnæs shipyard

    Framnæs shipyard

    • Ships built: Christian Radich
    Framnæs shipyard (Framnæs mekaniske Værksted) was a former Norwegian shipbuilding and engineering firm headquartered in Sandefjord, in Vestfold county, Norway. Originally strongly linked to the whaling industry, in later years it entered into more versatile shipbuilding, including rigs and modules for the offshore business. It was incorporated in 1898 and was closed down in 1986. A/S Framnæs mek Værksted has its origins from three earlier shipyards. Christen Christensen took over Rødsverven in 1868 and bought the other yards one by one. He started Sandefjord Flytedokker A/S in 1884. In 1892, he privately owned almost all of the properties that later became A/S Framnæs mek.Værksted. In the meantime, he also bought Kamfjordverven and Stubbverven. In order to finance the conversion of the yards to steel shipbuilding, Christensen reorganized the corporate structure of the yard in 1898, to a shareholders' company. Sandefjord Flytedokker was dissolved and the two docks sold. New docks were then built by the yard. In 1816, Sheriff, farmer, yard owner and ship owner Tor Akessonn Klaveness (September 13, 1767-May 31, 1854) established a site for keelhauling and, later, a shipbuilding berth
    6.80
    5 votes
    24
    7.75
    4 votes
    25
    7.75
    4 votes
    26
    7.75
    4 votes
    27
    6.60
    5 votes
    28
    7.50
    4 votes
    29
    Camper and Nicholsons

    Camper and Nicholsons

    • Ships built: Stormy Weather
    Camper and Nicholsons are the oldest leisure marine company in the world, producing and managing yachts for the world's richest people. As Camper and Nicholsons was founded at Gosport, Hampshire before organised seawater yachting had even started, John Nicholson of the founding family once overheard the casual remark at the London Boat Show that is now owned by an American-based private equity firm. In 1782, Frances Calense Amos arrived from London and started a shipyard, leasing land in Gosport, Hampshire across the harbour from the Royal Naval Dockyard at Portsmouth. In 1809 Amos apprenticed his great-nephew William Camper, and by 1821 the yard was building small trading ships. As Amos had no children, after his death in 1824 his nephew Camper took over the lease on the yard. Camper forged strong links with the wealthy members of the Royal Yacht Squadron, positioning the business in the emergent yacht building industry. For twenty years from the launching of the cutter Breeze in 1836, Camper built up a reputation as a builder of fast yachts, particularly schooners which were favoured by a prestigious clientele. However, the outbreak of the Crimean War in 1854 heralded a decline
    7.50
    4 votes
    30

    CSBC Corporation, Taiwan

    • Ships built: Maersk Alabama
    CSBC Corporation, Taiwan (Chinese: 台灣國際造船, Hanyu Pinyin: Táiwān Guójì Zàochuán, literally "Taiwan International Shipbuilding"), CSBC for short, formerly known as China Shipbuilding Corporation (中國造船 Zhōngguó Zàochuán) is a state-owned enterprise of the Republic of China. With its headquarters in Kaohsiung and shipyards in Kaohsiung and Keelung, it produces ships for civilian and military use. Today's CSBC Corporation, Taiwan is a result of the merger of Taiwan Shipbuilding Corporation and China Shipbuilding Corporation. Taiwan Shipbuilding was founded in 1937 when Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Corporation founded the Taiwan Dockyard Corporation. Following Japan's defeat in World War II, the Republic of China authorities established Taiwan Machinery and Shipbuilding Company by merging the existing Taiwan Dockyard Corporation with Taiwan Steel Works and Tōkō Kōgyō Corporation. Two years later, in 1948, the company split into two state-owned companies called Taiwan Machinery Corporation and Taiwan Shipbuilding Corporation (TSBC). China Shipbuilding Corp (CSBC) was founded in 1973 and was reverted to a government-owned company in 1977. CSBC and TSBC merged in 1978 to form the China
    7.50
    4 votes
    31
    7.50
    4 votes
    32
    John I. Thornycroft & Company

    John I. Thornycroft & Company

    • Ships built: Shamrock
    John I. Thornycroft & Company Limited, usually known simply as Thornycroft was a British shipbuilding firm started by John Isaac Thornycroft in the 19th century. The 16-year-old Thornycroft, helped only by his younger sister, began to build his first small steam launch in 1859 in his father's back garden at Chiswick on the River Thames. He returned from an apprenticeship in Glasgow in 1864 and began to build more steam launches. Thornycroft first began shipbuilding at Church Wharf in Chiswick in 1866, when the plot of land which became the nucleus of the shipyard was purchased. Here, the first instance was built of what would become the torpedo boat, the Rap for Norway in 1873. This was followed by HMS Lightning for the Royal Navy in 1877. In June 1904 the company decided to relocate to Woolston, Hampshire, where it acquired the shipyard owned there by Mordey, Carney & Company, and in 1908 they also set up the Hampton Launch Works on Platts Eyot, an island on the Thames at Hampton, Middlesex. The former yard at Chiswick closed in August 1909. The first ship built by Thornycrofts for the Royal Navy at the Woolston Yard was the Tribal-class destroyer HMS Tartar. Thornycroft continued
    7.50
    4 votes
    33
    Pullman Company

    Pullman Company

    • Ships built: Australian landing ship medium Vernon Sturdee
    The Pullman Palace Car Company, founded by George Pullman, manufactured railroad cars in the mid-to-late 19th century through the early decades of the 20th century, during the boom of railroads in the United States. Its workers initially lived in a planned worker community (or "company town") named Pullman. Pullman developed the sleeping car which carried his name into the 1980s. Pullman did not just manufacture the cars: it also operated them on most of the railroads in the United States, paying the railroads to attach the cars to trains. The labor union associated with the company, the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, which was organized by Pullman porters, was one of the most powerful African-American political entities of the 20th century. The company also built thousands of streetcars and trolley buses for use in cities. After spending the night sleeping in his seat on a train trip from Buffalo to Westfield, New York, George Pullman was inspired to design an improved passenger railcar that contained sleeper berths for all its passengers. During the day, the upper berth was folded up somewhat like a modern airliner's overhead luggage compartment. At night the upper berth
    7.50
    4 votes
    34

    STX Europe

    • Ships built: Goya
    STX Europe AS, formerly Aker Yards ASA, a subsidiary of the South Korean industrial chaebol STX Corporation, is the largest shipbuilding group in Europe and the fourth largest in the world. With headquarters in Oslo, Norway, STX Europe operates 15 shipyards in Brazil, Finland, France, Norway, Romania and Vietnam. The company has three business areas: Cruise & Ferries, Offshore & Specialized Vessels and Other Operations. The evolution of STX Europe originates with the founding of couple of prominent shipbuilding groups in Europe. One was the Norway based Aker Yards, created in 2004 by combining the shipbuilding activities of Aker and Kværner. Other being , France based Alstom shipbuilding group, with shipyards in Saint-Nazaire (former Chantiers de l'Atlantique) and in Lorient. On 4 January 2006, Aker Yards and Alstom announced their intention to join forces in shipbuilding and create together one of the world leaders in this industry, focused on high-value-added ships, including world-class cruise ships. The merger gave Aker Yards a majority shareholding over Alstom's shipbuilding activities; which included Chantiers de l'Atlantique shipyard - the builder of the iconic cruise liner
    7.50
    4 votes
    35
    10.00
    2 votes
    36
    10.00
    2 votes
    37
    7.25
    4 votes
    38
    6.20
    5 votes
    39
    Josiah Fox

    Josiah Fox

    • Ships built: USS Chesapeake
    Josiah Fox (1763–1847) was a British naval architect noted for his involvement in the design and construction of the first significant warships of the United States Navy. Fox was born in Falmouth, Cornwall, United Kingdom in 1763, and completed the apprenticeship at the Royal Dockyard, Plymouth, where he later served as a shipwright. In 1793 he traveled to the United States to survey timber resources and was there engaged to teach drafting to the sons of Jonathan Penrose, an American shipwright. In 1794 he was employed by the US Navy as a draftsman working under Naval Constructor Joshua Humphreys, the designer of the first Navy frigates. Fox and Humphreys disagreed over design issues, the former believing that the designs were too long and had too sharp a bow, among other problems. This disagreement caused significant animosity between the two, with arguments over credit for the design continuing in the press as late as 1827. In 1798, Fox was appointed Master Constructor of the frigate Chesapeake, 38, which was to be built in Norfolk. Fox apparently altered Humphreys’ design to his own liking, though this may have been partially the result of a timber shortage. The Chesapeake
    8.33
    3 votes
    41
    7.00
    4 votes
    42
    Catalina Yachts

    Catalina Yachts

    Catalina Yachts is a U.S.-based builder of fiberglass monohull sloop-rigged sailboats ranging in sizes from eight to 47 feet in length. It was founded in 1969 in Hollywood, California by Frank Butler . Catalina Yachts' founder Frank Butler's initial intent was not to produce and sell boats, but rather to have one built. In 1961, Butler took over the production of his own boat when his original boat builder ran out of funds and borrowed money from Butler; the builder was not able to repay the debt. Instead he gave Butler the tooling to continue building the boat. Butler later gained full control of the company, renaming it Wesco Marine and later Coronado Yachts. Many Early Coronado 25 yachts have the Wesco Marine nameplate on the transom. Among the first models built by Coronado were the Victory 21 and the Super Satellite. In 1964, the Coronado '25 was produced, becoming the first boat with a one piece interior, making the boat stronger, lighter, and less expensive than previous models. By 1969 the Coronado 27 and 30 foot models were being produced. In 1969 Butler sold Coronado to the Whittaker Corporation which had already acquired Columbia Yachts; Whittaker continued the Coronado
    7.00
    4 votes
    43
    Daewoo Shipbuilding & Marine Engineering

    Daewoo Shipbuilding & Marine Engineering

    • Ships built: MV Sirius Star
    Daewoo Shipbuilding & Marine Engineering Co., Ltd (DSME) (Korean: 대우조선해양) is the second largest shipbuilder in the world and one of the "Big Three" shipbuilders of South Korea. On 21 February 2011, the A. P. Moller-Maersk Group (Maersk) ordered 10 large container ships from Daewoo, each with a capacity of 18,000 containers, surpassing the current record holder; the Mærsk E-class at 15,200 containers. The first is to be delivered in 2014. There is an option of 20 more. The new class is called the Triple E class. On 22 February 2012, a £452 million order was place with DSME for four 37,000 tonne doubled hulled 'MARS' fast fleet tankers by Britain's Ministry of Defence for the Royal Fleet Auxiliary. The ships will enter service in 2016. On December 20, 2011 Daewoo Shipbuilding Marine Engineering got the largest single defense contract by a Korean firm with value of $1.07 billion to build 3 Indonesian submarines. It also would mark the first exports of submarines from the country.
    7.00
    4 votes
    44

    John H. Mathis & Company

    • Ships built: USS Sequoia
    John H. Mathis & Company was a shipbuilding company founded around 1900, based at Cooper Point in Camden, New Jersey, U.S, on the Delaware River. At their shipyard at Point and Erie Streets, the company built luxury yachts and also commercial ships. During World War II a variety of Naval vessels were built. The Mathis shipyard closed in 1961. The John H. Mathis Company built a variety of commercial and naval vessels, including freighters, ferries and fishing boats, FS ("Freight and Supply") ships for the Army, minesweepers, net tenders, patrol boats, lighthouse tenders, tugs and barges. In 1910 Norwegian-born naval architect John Trumpy joined the company in partnership with John H. Mathis, to design and build private yachts. These two companies, the John H. Mathis Company and the Mathis Yacht Building Company operated side-by-side at the Camden yard. The Mathis Yacht Building Company built houseboats, tenders, and yachts for some of the wealthiest American families, including the Sequoia in 1925, which would later serve as the Presidential yacht between 1933 and 1977. After the death of John H. Mathis in 1939 John Trumpy became sole owner of the Mathis Yacht Building Company. By
    7.00
    4 votes
    45
    8.00
    3 votes
    46
    8.00
    3 votes
    48

    Thompson Boat

    Thompson Boat was a builder of pleasure boats. The firm started operations at Peshtigo, Wisconsin in the early months of 1904. Peter and Christian (Christ) Thompson, the elder brothers of a large family made their first wooden boat in the hayloft of the family barn in early 1904. Local lumber was used, harvested in along the banks of the Peshtigo River. The first product was a modified lapstrake canoe, dubbed the "Anti-Leak" canoe by the brothers. The family came from Denmark and settled at Racine, Wisconsin. About 1899 they moved to undeveloped farmland near Peshtigo. Thompson Bros. Boat Mfg. Co. was incorporated in 1912 and by that time, six Thompson brothers were involved: Peter, Chris, Edward, Theodore, Adolh (Tom), and Richard. Their sister Hanna (Johanna) was office manager. A new factory complex was built within the city limits of Peshtigo in 1912 and the operation was moved from the cramped quarters at the Thompson farm, a few miles north of town. Thompson soon became the largest builder of outboard boats in the world. In 1924 a branch factory was secured in Cortland, NY. Tom and his sister Hanna Thompson were sent east to run the plant. In 1953 second generation Thompson
    8.00
    3 votes
    49
    6.75
    4 votes
    50

    Great Lakes Engineering Works

    • Ships built: SS Edmund Fitzgerald
    The Great Lakes Engineering Works (GLEW) was a shipbuilding company with a shipyard in River Rouge, Michigan that operated between 1902 and 1960. Within three years of its formation, it was building fifty percent of the tonnage of all ships in the Great Lakes. During World War II, GLEW was commissioned by Pittsburgh Steamship Company and the U.S. Maritime Commission to build twenty-one ore freighters. It was a leader in shipbuilding technology. Its innovations included the first self-unloading freighter, the SS Wyandotte. GLEW is best known for its construction of the SS Edmund Fitzgerald. The GLEW was formed in 1902 to purchase Riverside Ironworks. Antonio C. Pessano was elected as President and General Manager for his engineering background and charismatic personality. The new company realized that the Riverside yard had limited room and service docks. GLEW announced the purchase of a second shipyard in Ecorse, Michigan in 1903 which later became the River Rouge yard. The GLEW again expanded in 1905 when it acquired the Columbia Iron Works in St. Clair, Michigan and in 1912 when operations began at their Ashtabula shipyard in Ohio. These GLEW shipyards helped Pressano realize his
    6.75
    4 votes
    51
    Hyundai Heavy Industries

    Hyundai Heavy Industries

    • Ships built: Berge Stahl
    Hyundai Heavy Industries Co., Ltd. (HHI) is the world's largest shipbuilding company, headquartered in Ulsan, South Korea. The company is a subsidiary of Hyundai Heavy Industries Group. It has seven business divisions: Shipbuilding, Offshore & Engineering, Industrial Plant & Engineering, Engine & Machinery, Electro & Electric Systems, Construction Equipment, and Green Energy.
    6.75
    4 votes
    52
    6.75
    4 votes
    53
    Cape Dory Yachts

    Cape Dory Yachts

    Cape Dory Yachts was a Massachusetts based fiberglass boat builder which operated from 1963 to 1996. Over the years the company was building boats, they produced several thousand ranging from 10 to 45 feet in size. The company was founded in 1963 by Andrew Vavolotis. The vessels were first manufactured in Bridgewater, Massachusetts, and then later moved to a facility in Taunton, Massachusetts, where they resided for the rest of the company's life. The first model produced was the Cape Dory 10, a small fiberglass sailing dinghy that became known as the original Cape Dory. Later, Cape Dory moved into building the popular Typhoon series of small sailboats, as well as cruising yachts ranging from 22 to 45 feet. Carl Alberg designed many of the Cape Dory models, and left distinctive traces on those boats. The sailboats often utilized a full keel design, providing them with distinct classic shapes and better handling in heavier winds. Alberg favored simple, timeless lines and narrow beams on his boats, utilizing the aforementioned full keel with attached rudder for a sleek and sturdy shape. In later years Cape Dory branched out from manufacturing sailboats, also producing a number of
    9.00
    2 votes
    54
    Allied Boat Company

    Allied Boat Company

    Allied Boat Company was a small manufacturer of fiberglass sailboats built in Catskill, New York. The first design was by Thomas Gillmer in 1960, the 30-foot Seawind. The first hull, Apogee became the first fiberglass boat to circumnavigate the globe in 1968. The company officially formed on February 9, 1962. Until 1981, they built various designs from 30 to 42 feet by naval architects such as Sparkman & Stephens, Bill Luders, and Frank Maclear/Robert Harris. The company went out business four times during the later years. The level of finish below was known to vary in quality. Poor management contributed to their economic woes.
    7.67
    3 votes
    55

    Kure Naval Arsenal

    • Ships built: Japanese battleship Yamato
    Kure Naval Arsenal (呉海軍工廠, Kure Kaigun Kosho) was one of four principal naval shipyards owned and operated by the Imperial Japanese Navy. 34°13′52″N 132°33′54″E / 34.231°N 132.565°E / 34.231; 132.565 The Kure Naval District was established at Kure, Hiroshima in 1889, as the second of the naval districts responsible for the defense of the Japanese home islands along with the establishment of the navy base, a ship repair facility was also constructed, initially by moving the equipment from the Onohama shipyards near Kobe. Construction was supervised by the French engineer Louis-Émile Bertin. The first warship constructed at Kure, Miyako, was launched in 1897. The "Kure Shipyards" were officially renamed the "Kure Naval Arsenal" in 1903. Kure developed into one of the largest shipbuilding facilities in the Empire of Japan, capable of working with the largest vessels. The Arsenal included a major steel works (built with British assistance), and also facilities for producing naval artillery and projectiles. The battleships Yamato and Nagato were designed and constructed at Kure. The facilities of the Kure Naval Arsenal were repeatedly targeted for bombing by the United States Navy
    7.67
    3 votes
    56
    Maersk Line

    Maersk Line

    • Ships built: Maersk Alabama
    P&O Nedlloyd Container Line Limited was an Anglo-Dutch worldwide ocean-going container shipping line, with dual headquarters in London and Rotterdam. The company was formed in 1997 by the merger of the container-shipping interests of the leading Dutch transportation company Royal Nedlloyd (Nedlloyd Line) and the British maritime shipping giant P&O Group (P&O Containers). The company was the first large merger in the fragmented global container shipping market and is commonly believed to have initiated the current industry consolidation. The merger created the shipping equivalent to other large Anglo-Dutch cooperations such as Shell, Unilever and Reed Elsevier. In 2004, Royal Nedlloyd bought the remaining shares from P&O and the company was listed as Royal P&O Nedlloyd on the Dutch stock exchange. Royal P&O Nedlloyd was acquired by the Danish A.P. Moller-Maersk Group (Maersk) in 2005 and was combined with their existing container shipping business Maersk-Sealand to form Maersk Line. As Sealand was the USA based historic innovator of container shipping, Maersk Line subsequently embodies the Dutch, British as well as Danish and American merchant marine legacy. The company, P&O
    7.67
    3 votes
    57
    7.67
    3 votes
    58
    Thames Ironworks and Shipbuilding Company

    Thames Ironworks and Shipbuilding Company

    • Ships built: HMS Recruit
    The Thames Ironworks and Shipbuilding Company, Limited was a shipyard and iron works straddling the mouth of Bow Creek at its confluence with the River Thames, at Leamouth Wharf (often referred to as Blackwall) on the west side and at Canning Town on the east side. Its main activity was shipbuilding, but it also diversified into civil engineering, marine engines, cranes, electrical engineering and motor cars. The company notably produced iron work for Isambard Kingdom Brunel's Royal Albert Bridge over the Tamar in the 1850s, and the world's first all-iron warship, HMS Warrior, launched in 1860. The company originated in 1837 as the Ditchburn and Mare Shipbuilding Company, founded by shipwright Thomas J. Ditchburn and the engineer and naval architect Charles Mare. Originally located at Deptford, after a fire destroyed their yard the company moved to Orchard Place in 1838, between the East India Dock Basin and Bow Creek. There they took over the premises of the defunct shipbuilders William and Benjamin Wallis. The firm did well and within a few years occupied three sites covering an area of over 14 acres (5.7 ha). Ditchburn and Mare were among the first builders of iron ships in the
    7.67
    3 votes
    59
    6.50
    4 votes
    60

    Pusey and Jones

    • Ships built: USS Aquamarine
    The Pusey and Jones Corporation was a major ship and industrial equipment manufacturer from 1846 to 1959. Ship building was the primary focus from 1853 until the end of World War II, when the company converted the shipyard to production of paper manufacturing machinery. During the operation of the shipyard over 500 ships were produced ranging from large cargo vessels to small warships and yachts, including “Volunteer”, the winner of the 1887 America’s Cup. The company began in 1848, with the partnership between Joshua L. Pusey and John Jones in the operation of a machine shop in space rented from a whaling company, in Wilmington, Delaware. The ship yard was located between the Christina River and the main line of the Pennsylvania Rail Road. In 1851 Edward Betts and Joshua Seal, who were operating an iron foundry in Wilmington purchased an interest in the business, and the name of the company then became Betts, Pusey, Jones & Seal. In 1854 Pusey and Jones built the first US iron hulled sailing vessel the schooner "Mahlon Betts". In 1887 the company built the first steel hulled yacht to win the America’s Cup, "Volunteer". At the beginning of the Civil War the company began building
    6.50
    4 votes
    61

    Purdy Boat Company

    • Ships built: Aphrodite
    The Purdy Boat Company, of Port Washington, Long Island, New York was one of the most famous makers of custom yachts and racing boats in the 1920s and 1930s. The name "Purdy" evokes a bygone era of classic race boats and cruisers custom designed and built by James Gilbert Purdy's sons, Ned and Gil Purdy, and their families. The company and its boats represent an era of New York society comparable to what "Tiffany occupies in the jewelry business." As T.E. Lawrence (Lawrence of Arabia) wrote in July 1930, "My boat's maker is the Purdy Boat Co . . . and its class name is the Biscayne Baby . . . . They are the ... best things the States have made, I think." One of the Purdy Boat Company's most famous works was the Aphrodite, built for multimillionaire John Hay Whitney. "APHRODITE'S guest list over the years reads like a "Who's Who" in the worlds of government, business and entertainment with such luminaries as Fred Astaire, Sir Laurence Olivier, Spencer Tracy, Katharine Hepburn, Henry Ford II, FDR advisor Harry Hopkins and Nelson Rockefeller aboard for summer day cruises down Long Island Sound. APHRODITE also once served as the site for a birthday party for Shirley Temple."
    10.00
    1 votes
    62
    10.00
    1 votes
    63
    10.00
    1 votes
    64
    Electric Boat Corporation

    Electric Boat Corporation

    • Ships built: USS Cobia
    The General Dynamics Electric Boat (GDEB) is a division of General Dynamics Corporation. It has been the primary builder of submarines for the United States Navy for over 100 years. The company's main facilities are a shipyard in Groton, Connecticut and a hull-fabrication and outfitting facility in Quonset Point, Rhode Island. The company was founded in 1899 by Isaac Rice as the Electric Boat Company to build John Philip Holland's submersible designs, which were developed at Lewis Nixon's Crescent Shipyard, located in Elizabeth, New Jersey. The first submarine that this shipyard built was (originally) named Holland VI, later called USS Holland (SS-1). This was the first submarine to be purchased and commissioned into United States naval service on 11 April 1900. The success of Holland VI ushered in the demand for follow-up models (A-class or Plunger class) that began with the prototype submersible Fulton built at the same shipyard as Holland. Many foreign governments were interested in John Holland's latest submarine designs, and began purchasing the rights to build them under licensing contracts through the Electric Boat Company. These governments included Great Britain (Royal
    7.33
    3 votes
    65
    Fairfield Shipbuilding and Engineering Company

    Fairfield Shipbuilding and Engineering Company

    • Ships built: RMS Empress of Ireland
    The Fairfield Shipbuilding and Engineering Company, Limited was a Scottish shipbuilding company in the Govan area on the Clyde in Glasgow. Fairfields, as it is often known, was a major warship builder, turning out many vessels for the Royal Navy and other navies through the First World War and the Second World War. It also built many transatlantic liners, including record breaking ships for the Cunard Line and Canadian Pacific, such as the Blue Riband winning sisters RMS Campania and RMS Lucania. At the other end of the scale Fairfields built fast cross channel mail steamers and ferries for locations around the world. These included ships for the Bosphorus crossing in Istanbul and some of the early ships used by Thomas Cook for developing tourism on the River Nile. The business was founded by Charles Randolph, who began trading as a millwright under the name Randolph & Elliott, building engines and machinery in the Tradeston district of Glasgow in 1834. John Elder joined the business in 1852 and it then diversified into shipbuilding as Randolph, Elder and Company, acquiring the Govan Old Shipyard in 1858. The first ship was built in 1861 as No 14. The business moved to a new yard
    7.33
    3 votes
    66
    7.33
    3 votes
    67
    7.33
    3 votes
    68
    7.33
    3 votes
    69

    William Denny and Brothers

    • Ships built: Cutty Sark
    William Denny and Brothers Limited, and often referred to simply as Denny, were a Scottish shipbuilding company. The Company was founded by Peter Denny in 1840 and based in Dumbarton, on the River Clyde. Although the Denny yard was situated near the junction of the River Clyde and the River Leven, the yard was on the Leven. The founder developed the company's interests in ship owning and operation with interests in the British & Burmese Steam Navigation Company, the Irrawaddy Flotilla Company and La Platense Flotilla. The Company built all types of ships but were particularly well known as producers of fine cross-channel steamships and ferries. It was a pioneer in the development of the ship's stabiliser in conjunction with Edinburgh-based Brown Brothers & Company. In 1913 the Channel steamer Paris was one of the first ships to use geared turbine engines utilising new Michell tilting-pad fluid bearing. It also undertook experimental work in hovercraft and helicopter-type aircraft. A subsidiary company, Denny & Company, also based in Dumbarton, manufactured a wide range of types of steam and diesel marine engines. Dennys were always innovators and were one of the first commercial
    7.33
    3 votes
    70
    Blackwall Yard

    Blackwall Yard

    • Ships built: Challenger
    Blackwall Yard was a shipyard on the Thames at Blackwall, London, engaged in ship building and later ship repairs for over 350 years. The yard closed in 1987. The yard should not be confused with the nearby Thames Ironworks and Shipbuilding Company which although their head office address was in Blackwall, was based at Leamouth Wharf. Blackwall was a shipbuilding area since the Middle Ages. In 1607, the Honorable East India Company (HEIC) decided to build its own ships and leased a yard in Deptford. Initially, this change of policy proved profitable as the first ships cost the Company about £10 per ton instead of the £45 per ton that it had been paying to have ships built for it. However, the situation changed as the Deptford yard came to be expensive to run. In 1614 the East India Company outgrew Deptford and ordered William Burrell to begin work on a new yard for repair, construction and loading of out-going ships. The site Burrell selected was at Blackwall, which was further down river and had deeper water, allowing laden ships to moor closer to the dock. The new yard was fully operational by 1617. The yard and its facilities were enlarged repeatedly during the early 17th
    6.25
    4 votes
    71
    Columbia Yachts

    Columbia Yachts

    Columbia Yachts is a US manufacturer of sailboats, with offices and production facilities in Southern California. Richard “Dick” Valdes founded Glas Laminates, a fiberglass contract company, in 1958. Among the early products were camper shells and producing canoes for Sears. The company eventually focused its development expertise on sailboats and became Glass Marine Industries (GMI), marketing their boats under the Columbia nameplate. Early models included the Columbia 24 and Columbia 29 (Sparkman & Stephens design). By 1964 company sales passed $2.5 Million. In 1965, GMI changed its name to Columbia, and introduced the Columbia 50, at the time the world's largest fiberglass production sailboat. The classic beauty, exceptional comfort, and race performance made this design a success. During the mid sixties Columbia produced a few motor yachts. By the late 1960s,the company was the world's largest fiberglass sailboat manufacturer with manufacturing plants throughout the world. Valdes sold the company to Whittaker (listed on the NYSE), but continued as president of the subsidiary Columbia Yacht Corporation, and helped to develop Whittaker Marine Group, which ultimately included
    6.25
    4 votes
    72

    The Bristol Classic Boat Company

    The Bristol Classic Boat Company is a boat building and restoration company based at the Redcliffe Wharf in Bristol's Floating Harbour, England. The company has its origins in Storms'l Services a group of shipwrights who formed in about 1986 to undertake the complete rebuild of Aello Beta, a 100 ft (30 m) gaff schooner designed and built by Max Oertz in 1920. Storms'l Services completed major restorations on a number of ships including the yawls Voluta and Samphire and the Clyde cutter Tigris. Most famously members of the company built the 50 tons burthen replica of John Cabot's 15th century caravel, the Matthew, with Colin Mudie in 1996 at Redcliffe Wharf. The Bristol Classic Boat Company was founded in 1999 by company director Mark Rolt. It builds and restores traditional wooden sailing and motor vessels. The company has rebuilt two Fairey marine Huntsmen motor cruisers and various yachts, in addition to carrying out refits of small craft and canal boats. In 2008 the Pegasus, a traditional Bristol Pilot Cutter designed by Burnett Yacht Design, was built for the Island Trust. The company also maintains the boats for the Bristol Ferry Boat Company.
    6.25
    4 votes
    74
    8.50
    2 votes
    75
    8.50
    2 votes
    76

    Bremer Vulkan

    • Ships built: Admiral Nakhimov
    Bremer Vulkan AG was a great German shipbuilding company located at the Weser river in Bremen-Vegesack. It was founded in 1893 and closed in 1997 because of financial problems and mismanagement. Altogether the Bremer Vulkan built about 1100 ships - including the ships of the predecessor Johann Lange Shipyard - of different types. It is remarkable that the Bremer Vulkan with the exception of both World Wars only built civilian ships; production of naval ships except war times started first in the 1980s. Bremer Vulkan AG was founded 1893 in Vegesack - a suburb of the city of Bremen – by a group of investors and Bremen merchants and by overtaking the 1805 founded Johann Lange Shipyard. Two years later the Bremer Vulkan bought the Bremer Schiffbaugesellschaft – former H. F. Ulrichs Shipyard which launched the first ship in 1839 - including all its modern shipbuilding facilities. First director of the Bremer Vulkan became the engineer Victor Nawatzki (1855–1940). In the following years the Bremer Vulkan increased rapidly. By 1908 it already had an area of about 80 acres and a water frontage of 1500 meters. Six slips equipped with modern electric travelling cranes were capable of
    6.00
    4 votes
    78
    6.00
    4 votes
    79
    7.00
    3 votes
    80
    7.00
    3 votes
    81
    Northrop Grumman

    Northrop Grumman

    • Ships built: USS New Orleans
    Northrop Grumman Corporation (NYSE: NOC) is an American global aerospace and defense technology company formed by the 1994 purchase of Grumman by Northrop. The company was the fourth-largest defense contractor in the world as of 2010, and the largest builder of naval vessels. Northrop Grumman employs over 75,000 people worldwide. Its 2010 annual revenue is reported at US$34 billion. Northrop Grumman ranks #72 on the 2011 Fortune 500 list of America's largest corporations and ranks in the top ten military-friendly employers. It has its headquarters in Falls Church, Virginia. Newport News Shipbuilding manufactures all U.S. aircraft carriers, including supercarriers. It has built the Nimitz-class supercarriers and is building the new Gerald R. Ford-class supercarrier. It is also one of only two companies capable of producing U.S. nuclear submarines. A separate sector, Northrop Grumman Ship Systems, produces amphibious assault ships and many other commercial and military craft, including icebreakers, tankers, and cargo ships. In a partnership with Science Applications International Corporation, Northrop Grumman provides naval engineering and architecture services as well as naval
    7.00
    3 votes
    82
    Beneteau

    Beneteau

    Beneteau (Euronext: BEN) is a French sail and motor boat manufacturer, with production facilities in France and the United States. Shipwright Benjamin Beneteau founded his company in 1884, at Croix-de-Vie, France to build sailing trawlers. In the mid sixties Benjamin's grandchildren Annette Benneteau Roux and her brother Andre Beneteau introduced a line of fiberglass boats. Madame Roux is still active in leadership. The company is a large and recognized boat builder, commanding a substantial worldwide market share for sailing yachts, predominately in the United States, France and the United Kingdom. It has five factories in the Vendée region of France and one US plant in Marion, South Carolina. The Beneteau USA plant opened in 1986; since then the factory has nearly doubled in size to about 250,000 square feet (23,000 m), with roughly 25 million of total capital invested in the US. This is considered to be an advanced marine factory; it is newer than most of its competitors factories. The Beneteau group also owns the following brands: Note in the models below that the First Series is much faster than the Beneteau Series (lower PHRF means a faster boat), the latter series have
    8.00
    2 votes
    83
    8.00
    2 votes
    84
    8.00
    2 votes
    85

    Merritt Boat & Engine Works

    Merritt Boat & Engine Works, sometimes abbreviated as Merritt's, is a yacht builder and boat yard headquartered in Pompano Beach, Florida. Together with Rybovich, Merritt is respected as one of the most historically significant Florida custom sport fishing boat builders. In the 1930s and the 1940s, blue marlin and bluefin tuna were abundant in the waters of Cuba, Bimini and Cat Cay just a few miles off the Florida coast, targeted by fishermen such as Ernest Hemingway, and Habana Joe aboard his 1938 40-foot Wheeler named Pilar. Word spread quickly among fishermen around the world about the exciting new sport of big game fishing. Despite the growing popularity of the sport, however, the boats of the day were hardly ideal for the challenges of fighting the prized fish. Most boats utilized in those days were converted cabin cruisers and all were relatively slow and hard to maneuver. Merritt gained particular notoriety during the 1950s through the 1970s with its 37- and 43-foot (13 m) custom sport fishing boats, which, together with boats like those being built at the same time by Rybovich, gave birth to a new category of fishing yachts and helped fuel the growth of big game
    8.00
    2 votes
    86
    Northrop Grumman Shipbuilding

    Northrop Grumman Shipbuilding

    • Ships built: USS Forrestal
    Newport News Shipbuilding (NNS), originally Newport News Shipbuilding and Drydock Company (NNS&DD), was the largest privately owned shipyard in the United States prior to being purchased by Northrop Grumman in 2001. Known as Northrop Grumman Newport News (NGNN), and later Northrop Grumman Shipbuilding Newport News (NGSB-NN), the company is located in Newport News, Virginia, and often participates in projects with the Norfolk Naval Shipyard in Portsmouth, Virginia, also located adjacent to Hampton Roads. In March 2011 Newport News Shipbuilding, along with the shipbuilding sector of Northrop Grumman spun-off to form a new company called Huntington Ingalls Industries The shipyard is a major employer (largest industrial employer in the state of Virginia) not only for the lower Virginia Peninsula, but also portions of Hampton Roads south of the James River and the harbor, portions of the Middle Peninsula region, and even some northeastern counties of North Carolina. Its current major project is the building of the USS Gerald R. Ford. Industrialist Collis P. Huntington (1821–1900) provided crucial funding to complete the Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad (C&O) from Richmond, Virginia to the
    8.00
    2 votes
    87
    Pearson Yachts

    Pearson Yachts

    Pearson Yachts was a small manufacturer of fiberglass sailboats built in Bristol, Rhode Island founded by cousins Clinton and Everett Pearson in 1956. The company is one of earliest fiberglass sailboat manufacturers. The Carl Alberg designed Triton 28 launched at the New York Boat Show in January 1959 began the modern era of fiberglass production. The Pearson cousins left the company in the 1960s, and Bill Shaw became the chief designer. One of Shaw's most notable designs is the flush decked Pearson 40 introduced in 1977. Pearson filed for bancruptcy in 1991. TPI Composites, formerly known as Tillotson-Pearson, was co-run by Everett Pearson who owned the rights to the Pearson Yachts brandname. As of 2001, old Pearson molds laid abandoned at the former Portsmouth, Rhode Island yard. Now, Pearson Marine Group carries forward nearly half-century tradition of building premium-branded boats, which have included Etchells raceboats, thousands of J/Boats, a fleet of 44-foot offshore Sail Training Craft for the United States Naval Academy, along with its own brands: Alerion Express Sailboats, True North expedition cruisers and North Rip sportfishing boats. Pearson Marine Group is one of the
    8.00
    2 votes
    88

    Meyer Werft

    • Ships built: M/S Estonia
    The Meyer Werft GmbH is one of the major German shipyards, headquartered in Papenburg at the river Ems. Founded in 1795 and starting with small wooden vessels, today Meyer Werft is one of world´s leading builders of luxury passenger ships. Altogether about 700 ships of different types have been built at the yard. Meyer Werft has been owned and managed by the Meyer family for six generations. Since 1997, it has been part of the Meyer Neptun Group together with Neptun Werft in Rostock, East Germany. The shipyard was founded at the beginning of 1795 by Willm Rolf Meyer as a wharf for the construction of small wooden vessels. Josef Lambert Meyer started the construction of iron ships in 1874. Until 1920 there were more than 20 dockyards in the Papenburg area. Today, Meyer Werft is the only remaining shipyard in Papenburg. For more than six generations, it has been a privately held and family-owned company. It gained international recognition through the construction of roll on/roll off ferries, passenger ferries, gasoline tankers, container ships, livestock ferries and most recently luxury cruise ships. Meyer is one of the largest and most modern shipyards in the world with 2300
    5.75
    4 votes
    89
    A & J Inglis

    A & J Inglis

    • Ships built: Norman Court
    A & J Inglis, Ltd, was a Shipbuilding firm founded by Anthony Inglis and his brother John, engineers and shipbuilders in Glasgow, Scotland in 1862. The firm built over 500 ships in a period of just over 100 years. Their Pointhouse Shipyard was at the confluence of the rivers Clyde and Kelvin. They constructed a wide range of ships, including Clyde steamers, paddle steamers and small ocean liners. In wartime, they built small warships, and in the period after World War II, they built a number of whalers. A & J Inglis of Glasgow, was formed in 1848 as an engineering works. Thomas B. Sneath founded the shipyard at Pointhouse in 1845 and it was acquired by A & J Inglis in 1862. In 1884 Anthony Inglis died and his son John Inglis took over. John Inglis himself, was well known for many maritime activities. In 1885 they launched 11 ships with a total tonnage of 7,470 tons. In 1867, a Patent Slip Dock for ship repairs was built at Pointhouse. This was an innovative alternative to a dry dock, invented by Robert Napier. The vessel sat on a big trolley, which was on rails, and was hauled up onto dry land by a powerful winch. The yard had up to 2,000 employees on just 18 acres of ground plus
    9.00
    1 votes
    90

    AG Weser

    • Ships built: Unterseeboot 180
    Aktien-Gesellschaft „Weser" (abbreviated A.G. „Weser”) was one of the major German shipbuilding companies, located at the Weser River in Bremen. Founded in 1872 it was finally closed in 1983. Altogether, A.G. „Weser" built about 1,400 ships of different types, including many warships. A.G. „Weser" was leading company in Deutsche Schiff- und Maschinenbau AG, a cooperation of eight German shipbuilding companies between 1926 and 1945. Founding of A.G. „Weser” Aktien-Gesellschaft „Weser” - short A.G. „Weser” - was founded as a successor of the 1843 founded Eisengiesserei & Maschinenbau-Anstalt Waltjen und Leonhard,. This company with it´s premises was situated on an area called Stephanikirchenweide at the periphery of the ancient town of Bremen. It was an iron-foundry and machine factory with a wide-ranging production volume of iron-made parts as bridges, cranes, floodgates, steam boiler, steam engines etc. In 1846 Mr. Leonhard left the company and the company´s name was changed to C. Waltjen & Co. In the same year the first vessel was built. First greater ship was 1847 the 346 GRT paddle-steamer Roland, used as tug- and passenger boat. Almost 50 years this ship was in service on the
    9.00
    1 votes
    91
    Dufour Yachts

    Dufour Yachts

    Dufour Yachts is a French sailboat manufacturer which was founded in 1964 by designer Michael Dufour.
    9.00
    1 votes
    92
    Fairline Boats

    Fairline Boats

    Fairline Boats Ltd are an English motor yacht builder, currently owned Better Capital and the RBS. Started in 1963 by Jack Newington, the company presently builds motor yachts in both its original Oundle base as well as Corby, Northamptonshire The company started when Newington bought a series of gravel pits on the River Nene and built the Oundle Marina. In 1967 he launched the first Fairline boat, a 19foot handcrafted glass-reinforced plastic river cruiser. When Newington's son Sam, a former Royal Air Force pilot and Columbia University MBA graduate, took over in 1971, the company employed 14 people. Sam expanded the companies sales network overseas to take advantage of the expanding Mediterranean market place - by 1979 the company employed 140 people and turned over £5million, with production expanded by the success of 1977's Fairline 40 model. The company expanded in the 1980s developing lines of high speed cruising yachts. When Sam retired in 1996, CEO Derek Carter expanded the company further by establishing Fairline Boats of North America Inc., creating a network of 35 dealers. In 2002 the 10,000th Fairline was completed, together with new production facilities at the
    9.00
    1 votes
    93
    George Lawley & Son

    George Lawley & Son

    • Ships built: Puritan
    George Lawley & Son was a shipbuilding firm operating in Massachusetts from 1866 to 1945. It began in Scituate, then moved to Boston. After founder George Lawley (1823–1915) retired in 1890, his son, grandson and great-grandson upheld the business, which continued until 1945. Of the hundreds of ships built by the Lawleys, highlights include the yachts Puritan and Mayflower, respective winners of the 1885 and 1886 America's Cup. Founder George Lawley (1823–1915) was born to a "family of boatbuilders in Limehouse (London), England." He "began his career as an apprentice to Thomas and William Forrest while in England." In 1851 Lawley "moved his family to Massachusetts." He "found his first job in America with the East Boston ship designer, Donald McKay." Lawley worked for McKay from 1851 until 1866. In 1866, "Lawley and fellow [McKay] worker William Maybury opened a shipyard in Scituate ... for the construction of pleasure boats." When George's son George Frederick Lawley (1848–1928) "joined the business ... the company name became George Lawley and Son." "In 1874 the yachting boom struck, and the firm transferred its yard to a more advantageous location near the city, a fairly large
    9.00
    1 votes
    94
    9.00
    1 votes
    95

    Bristol yachts

    Bristol Yachts was a United States-based company which was among the first commercially successful production fiberglass sailboat boat builders. The company was founded in 1966 and closed in 1997. Bristol Yacht Company was founded by Clinton Pearson. Clint and his cousin Everett Pearson began building fiberglass dinghies in 1955 in their garage on County Street in Seekonk, MA, just over the MA/RI state line. Within a year the newly founded Pearson Yachts employed hundreds of people. Fast corporate expansion resulted in cash flow problems, so the cousins raised capital by selling equity in Pearson to Grumman Allied Industries in 1961. Clinton left in 1964 and bought out a troubled sailboat-maker, Sailstar, in West Warwick, Rhode Island, and moved into the abandoned Herreshoff boatyard. Carl Alberg designed the company's first boat, the Bristol 27. Clinton changed the company’s name to Bristol Yacht Company in 1966, and the Sailstar brand was phased out. The boat yard was eventually located on Popasquash Road, in Bristol, Rhode Island. The facilities included a giant barn on land owned by Clinton and where his home was located as well. Across the road from the barn was a small marina
    6.67
    3 votes
    96
    Howaldtswerke-Deutsche Werft

    Howaldtswerke-Deutsche Werft

    • Ships built: Sea Cloud
    Howaldtswerke-Deutsche Werft (often abbreviated HDW) is a German shipbuilding company, headquartered in Kiel. Its origin traces back to 1838 founded 'Howaldtswerke' shipyard, which in 1968 merged with Hamburg-based Deutsche Werft to form Howaldtswerke-Deutsche Werft (HDW). On 5 January 2005, it became part of ThyssenKrupp Marine Systems (TKMS) group - owned by ThyssenKrupp. HDW was founded October 1, 1838 in Kiel at the Bay of Kiel of the Baltic Sea by the engineer August Howaldt and the Kiel entrepreneur Johann Schweffel under the name Maschinenbauanstalt und Eisengießerei Schweffel & Howaldt, initially building boilers. The first steam engine for naval purposes was built in 1849 for the Von der Tann, a gunboat for the small navy of Schleswig-Holstein. In 1850, the company built an early submarine, Brandtaucher, designed by Wilhelm Bauer. This was somewhat of an accident: during the First Schleswig War, Danish forces had advanced too close to Rendsburg where construction of the boat had been intended, and so the task was shifted to Kiel. The first ship built under the company's new name Howaldtswerke was a small steamer, named Vorwärts, built in 1865. Business expanded rapidly as
    6.67
    3 votes
    97
    William Pile

    William Pile

    • Ships built: City of Adelaide
    William Pile (October 10, 1822 – June 5, 1873) was a renowned British shipbuilder. He was the first to introduce the Clipper class of ship to the river Wear, Sunderland. 'his genius was displayed in the building of ships, wherein he was not excelled. As Watt was great as a builder of engines; and Stephenson was great as a builder of railways; so William Pile was great as a builder of ships.' It is related that he used, when a young man, after his day’s work was done, to go into the loft, lay of a ship’s after body, draw the frames in ready for the moulds making, and have yet time to enjoy himself afterwards. He was in his element in the midst of difficulties. It was at these times his stoutness of heart, cheerfulness and wonderful flow of good spirits acted like a charm to those around him. What endeared Mr. Pile so much to those who knew him was his kindness, carefree bearing, and the total absence of pride or affectation. It was said to be a pleasure to deal with or work for him. He was beloved by every workman under him, many who had served him for ten to twenty or more years, could never remember receiving an inconsiderate word or action from him. Even in the severest trial of
    5.50
    4 votes
    98

    Fincantieri

    • Ships built: Costa Concordia
    Fincantieri - Cantieri Navali Italiani S.p.A. (Italian pronunciation: [finkanˈtjɛːri]) is an Italian shipbuilding company based in Trieste, Italy. It was formed in 1959 and is the largest shipbuilder in the Mediterranean, and one of the largest in Europe. The company has built both commercial and military vessels during its history. Fincantieri designs and builds merchant vessels, passenger ships, offshore, and naval vessels, and is also active in the conversion and ship repair sectors. The company also owned Grandi Motori Trieste, which constructed marine diesel engines, but this was sold to Wärtsilä in 1999. Founded in 1959 as Società Finanziaria Cantieri Navali – Fincantieri S.p.A. as a State financial holding company, part of IRI, the company became a separate entity in 1984. Today Fincantieri is one of Europe's largest shipbuilding groups and the largest in the Mediterranean. In Italy, Fincantieri employs a staff of nearly 9,400 (rising to approximately 20,000 if the supply chain is included) working at eight shipyards, two design centres, one research centre and two production sites for mechanical components. The shipyards of Monfalcone (Gorizia), Marghera (Venice), Sestri
    7.50
    2 votes
    99
    John Elder

    John Elder

    John Elder (1824–1869), was a Scottish marine engineer and shipbuilder. He was born at Glasgow on 8 March 1824. His family was connected with Kinross, where, for several generations, his forefathers had followed the occupation of wrights, for which they seemed to have a special aptitude. His father, David Elder, settled in Glasgow, and entered the establishment of Mr. Napier, the well-known shipbuilder, under whom, in 1822, he constructed the first marine engine, which was fitted up in the River Leven for the passage between Glasgow and Dumbarton. David Elder, was the author of many inventions and improvements in the machinery of steam vessels, and to the excellence of his engines the success of the Cunard Line of steamers, in establishing regular communication between the opposite shores of the Atlantic, was mainly due. He died in January 1866, in his eighty-second year. John Elder was David's third son John Elder was educated at the High School of Glasgow, where he showed great excellence in mathematics and in drawing. After a five years' apprenticeship to Mr. Robert Napier, and a brief time passed in English engine works, he was placed at the head of the drawing office in
    7.50
    2 votes
    100
    7.50
    2 votes
    101
    6.33
    3 votes
    102
    Union Iron Works

    Union Iron Works

    • Ships built: USS California
    Union Iron Works, located in San Francisco, California, on the southeast waterfront, was a central business within the large industrial zone of Potrero Point, for four decades at the end of the nineteenth and beginning of the twentieth centuries. The Donahue Brothers Peter and James, Irish immigrants, founded Union Iron Works in the south of Market area of San Francisco in 1849. After years as the premiere producer of mining, railroad, agricultural and locomotive machinery in California, Union Iron Works, led by I.M. Scott, entered the ship building business and relocated to Potrero Point where its shipyards still exist, making the site on the north side of the Potrero the longest running privately owned shipyard in the United States. After Bethlehem Shipbuilding Corporation bought the works in 1905, the consolidated company came to include the Alameda Works Shipyard, located across the San Francisco Bay in Alameda and the Hunter's Point shipyard to the south. In 1885, the Union Iron Works launched the first steel hulled ship on the west coast, the Arago, built with steel from the Pacific Rolling Mills. In 1886, UIW was awarded a $1,000,000 contract to build a Naval cruiser, the
    6.33
    3 votes
    104
    Ingalls Shipbuilding

    Ingalls Shipbuilding

    • Ships built: USS Boxer
    Ingalls Shipbuilding is a shipyard located in Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA, originally established in 1938, and is now part of Huntington Ingalls Industries. It is a leading producer of ships for the US Navy, and at 10,900 employees, the largest private employer in Mississippi. In 1938, Ingalls Shipbuilding Corporation was founded by Robert Ingalls of Birmingham, AL, on the East Bank of the Pascagoula River in Mississippi. Ingalls was located where the Pascagoula River runs into the Gulf of Mexico. It started out building commercial ships including one of the first L African Planet on Liberty Fleet Day 27 September 1941. In the 1950s Ingalls started bidding on Navy work, winning a contract in 1957 to build 12 nuclear-powered attack submarines. Litton Industries acquired Ingalls in 1961, and in 1968 expanded its facilities to the other side of the river. Ingalls reached a high point of employment in 1977, with 25,000 workers. In April 2001, Litton was acquired by Northrop Grumman Corporation. On 29 August 2005, Ingalls facilities were damaged by Hurricane Katrina; most of the ships in dock and construction escaped serious harm. While shipbuilding was halted for a while due to the
    6.00
    3 votes
    105
    6.00
    3 votes
    106
    Burrard Dry Dock

    Burrard Dry Dock

    • Ships built: Queen of the Islands
    Burrard Dry Dock Ltd. was a Canadian shipbuilding company headquartered in North Vancouver, British Columbia (city). Together with the neighboring North Van Ship Repair yard and the Yarrows Ltd. yard in Esquimalt, which were eventually absorbed, Burrard built over 450 ships, including many warships built and refitted for the Royal Navy and Royal Canadian Navy in the First and Second World Wars. (for a complete list, see ) HMS Flamborough Head St. Roch
    7.00
    2 votes
    107

    C&C Yachts

    C&C Yachts is a builder of high performance fiberglass monohull sloop-rigged sailboats. It was founded in 1969 by a joint venture among several companies and design teams. Two Canadian sailors; George Cuthbertson, a Mechanical Engineer, and George Cassian, an Aircraft Designer; formed the design group Cuthbertson and Cassian in 1961. This partnership evolved out of Cuthbertson's previous yacht design and brokerager firm. As such Cuthbertson initially held 75% interest in the company and later increased Cassian's share to a third. They started by designing a small number of steel and wood boats, Cuthbertson drew the preliminary lines, and Cassian designed the interiors. After successful design of the Hinterholler Invader 35; Canadian yachtsman Perry Connolly (who had purchased an Invader 35 previously) commissioned Cuthbertson and Cassian in 1965, to design a custom 40-foot (12m) racing sloop. Connolly requested "the meanest, hungriest 40-footer afloat" Bruckmann Manufacturing built the boat named Red Jacket. They used an ultralight balsa core for the hull(in addition to cored decks). This is considered to be the first sailboat engineered with a cored hull. Connolly's Red Jacket was
    7.00
    2 votes
    108
    Chantiers de l'Atlantique

    Chantiers de l'Atlantique

    • Ships built: RMS Queen Mary 2
    Chantiers de l'Atlantique, is a Saint-Nazaire, France based shipyard; which forms part of the STX France SA business unit - majority owned by STX Europe with a 66.6% stake and the balance 33.34% held by the French state. It is one of the world's largest shipyards; and has built the iconic ocean liner - the RMS Queen Mary 2. The shipyard owned by Alstom since 1984, became part of Aker Yards when Aker Group acquired the Alstom Marine business in 2006. In 2008, the South Korean company STX Corporation acquired Aker Yards, and the shipyard became part of STX Europe (formed by the renaming of Aker Yards). Its location near Nantes, France, at the mouth of the Loire and the deep waters of the Atlantic makes sailing large ships in and out easier. Ateliers et Chantiers de la Loire and Chantiers de Penhoët merged in 1955 to form Chantiers de l'Atlantique. The yard started by building ships for the French transatlantic line Compagnie Générale Transatlantique. In 1961, it built the trans-Atlantic superliner SS France, then the world's longest passenger vessel. After the construction of the last Compagnie Générale Transatlantique liner and the closure of the Suez Canal, the yard began building
    7.00
    2 votes
    109
    HMNB Portsmouth

    HMNB Portsmouth

    • Ships built: HMS Orion
    Her Majesty's Naval Base (HMNB) Portsmouth is one of three operating bases in the United Kingdom for the British Royal Navy, (the others being HMNB Clyde and HMNB Devonport). Portsmouth Naval Base is part of the city of Portsmouth; it is located on the eastern shore of Portsmouth Harbour, north of the Solent and the Isle of Wight. The base is home to the oldest dry dock in the world, as well as being the headquarters for two thirds of the Royal Navy's surface fleet. The base is also home to a number of commercial shore activities, including shipbuilding and ship repair (operated by BAE Systems); naval logistics, accommodation and messing; and personnel support functions (e.g. medical and dental; education; pastoral and welfare) provided by Defence Equipment and Support. The base is the oldest in the Royal Navy and it has been an important part of the Senior Service's history and the defence of the British Isles for centuries. At one time it was the largest industrial site in the world. The Naval Base is also home to the "Portsmouth Historic Dockyard", which allows members of the public to visit important maritime attractions such as the Mary Rose, HMS Victory and HMS Warrior. The
    7.00
    2 votes
    111
    7.00
    2 votes
    112
    Perini Navi

    Perini Navi

    • Ships built: The Maltese Falcon
    Perini Navi is an Italian shipyard based in Viareggio, Italy, province of Tuscany. Ship maintenance now occurs at the Ligurian port of La Spezia. Founded by Fabio Perini in the 1980s, it builds large (20m-60m), luxury sailing yachts, mainly of ketch design. The company is merged with the historic Picchiotti shipyard. The ship hulls are made in Turkey and the rest of the building occurs in Italy. Customers have included Rupert Murdoch, Silvio Berlusconi, Tom Perkins, and many other extremely wealthy individuals.
    7.00
    2 votes
    113
    7.00
    2 votes
    114
    C.A. Parsons and Company

    C.A. Parsons and Company

    • Ships built: Turbinia
    C. A. Parsons and Company was a British engineering firm which was once one of the largest employers on Tyneside. The Company was founded by Charles Algernon Parsons in 1889 to produce steam turbines, his own invention. At the beginning of the Twentieth Century, the company was producing up to 50 turbines a year at its factory in Heaton in Newcastle upon Tyne. The company's heyday was in the 1960s, when the factory employed more than 7,000 people at its 100 acre split site. Nuclear power stations using Parsons steam turbines include Bradwell, Calder Hall, Dungeness, Heysham 2 and Oldbury in England and Chapelcross and Hunterston in Scotland. The company merged with A. Reyrolle & Company to form Reyrolle Parsons in 1968. In 1977 Reyrolle Parsons merged with Clarke Chapman to form Northern Engineering Industries plc, which itself was acquired by Rolls-Royce plc in 1989. The company survives today as part of the power generation division of the industrial conglomerate, Siemens, who acquired the business from Rolls-Royce in 1997. Siemens announced in late 2002 that they would be cutting 400 of the 700 jobs at the Heaton works by 2004, shifting the operation to focussing on the
    8.00
    1 votes
    115

    Charles Connell and Company

    • Ships built: Balclutha
    Charles Connell and Company was a Scottish shipbuilding company based in Scotstoun in Glasgow on the River Clyde. The Company was founded by Charles Connell who had served an apprenticeship with Robert Steele and Co before becoming manager of Alexander Stephen and Sons Kelvinhaugh yard before he started shipbuilding on his own account at Scotstoun in 1861 initially concentrating on sailing ships. From 1918 the Company became well known for high quality passenger and cargo ships. The yard closed from 1930 to 1937 due to the Great Depression, before rearmament efforts stimulated demand. In 1968 the yard passed from Connell family ownership after 107 years and became part of Upper Clyde Shipbuilders. The Scotstoun yard continued to operate under Upper Clyde Shipbuilders until 1971 when it collapsed and, from 1972 to 1980 as Scotstoun Marine Ltd, a subsidiary of Govan Shipbuilders. The Connell shipyard closed in 1980 after 119 years of shipbuilding. The site was cleared of craneage although some evidence of the building berths remained visible until ca 2004. Part of the yard's covered facilities are utilised by steel stockholders GKN whilst the riverside berth has been utilised by
    8.00
    1 votes
    116
    Chris-Craft

    Chris-Craft

    For the NASA flight director, see Christopher C. Kraft, Jr. Chris-Craft, Inc. is a privately held American manufacturer of civilian powerboats based in Sarasota, Florida. The original company, Chris-Craft Boats was founded in the late 19th century by Christopher Columbus Smith and became famous for its mahogany hulled powerboats of the 1920s through the 1950s. Smith built his first wooden boat in 1874 when he was 13 years old. He soon began to build more boats and joined his brother Henry in 1881 to begin producing boats full time. In 1910, the brothers joined with other partners to form the Smith Ryan Boat & Engine Company. The company name was changed to Chris-Craft in 1924. The Detroit area company became well known for their sleek racing boats in the 1910s and 1920s. The company continued to be independent until it was acquired by Shields & Company and National Automotive Fibers in 1960. They renamed the company Chris-Craft Industries, Incorporated. Chris-Craft Industries sold its boat division to Murray Industries in 1981, but retained the Chris-Craft trademark and licensed it to Murray. Chris-Craft Industries was acquired by News Corporation in 2000 for its television
    8.00
    1 votes
    117
    8.00
    1 votes
    118
    8.00
    1 votes
    119

    New York Shipbuilding

    • Ships built: USS Oklahoma
    The New York Shipbuilding Corporation (or New York Ship for short) was founded in 1899 and opened its first shipyard in 1900. Located in Camden, New Jersey on the east shore of the Delaware River, New York Ship built more than 500 vessels for the U.S. Navy, the United States Merchant Marine, the United States Coast Guard, and other maritime concerns. New York Ship's unusual covered ways produced everything from aircraft carriers, battleships, and luxury liners to barges and car floats. At its peak during World War II, NYSB was the largest and most productive shipyard in the world. Its best-known vessels include the destroyer USS Reuben James (DD-245), the cruiser USS Indianapolis (CA-35), the aircraft carrier USS Kitty Hawk (CV-63), the nuclear-powered cargo ship NS Savannah, and a quartet of cargo-passenger liners nicknamed the Four Aces. During World War I, New York Ship expanded rapidly to fill orders from the U.S. Navy and the Emergency Fleet Corporation. A critical shortage of worker housing led to the construction of Yorkship Village, a planned community of 1000 brick homes designed by Electus Darwin Litchfield and financed by the War Department. Yorkship Village is now the
    8.00
    1 votes
    120

    Penn Yan Boat Company

    Penn Yan Boat Company, which produced a wide range of wooden and fiberglass powerboats, sailboats, canoes and rowboats, was founded in 1921 by German-native Charles A. Herrman. It derived its name from the location of its headquarters, Penn Yan, New York. In 1936, Penn Yan introduced its "Car Top" outboard boat. The Car Top, which Penn Yan marketed as being easily lifted by two people, was designed to be light and narrow enough to fit on top of most cars of that era. Among other innovations, Penn Yan was known for its patented "Tunnel Drive" concept, whereby a cavity was molded into the bottom of the boat's hull, partially enclosing the propeller and drive shaft. The tunnel drive system provided better boat speed and stability. The company was sold to new owners in 1979 and finally ceased operations in 2001. The "Penn Yan" trademark has since been cancelled by the United States Patent & Trademark Office. Recently a new company, Penn Yan Boat Company, has come into being near Penn Yan. They offer replacement parts and accessories for Penn Yan boats, as well as assisting the sale of old Penn Yan boats.
    8.00
    1 votes
    121
    5.67
    3 votes
    122

    Correct Craft

    Correct Craft is a U.S.-based builder of powerboats primarily for ski and wakeboard use. It was founded in 1925 by Walt C. Meloon as the Florida Variety Boat Company. Walt C. Meloon created the Florida Variety Boat Company in 1925. During the early days, the company built a variety of craft ranging from sailboats to powerboats to race boats. By 1936, the primary focus of the company was the construction of power boats and the company name was officially changed to Correct Craft. Despite the Great Depression, the company continued to grow, developing a reputation for building boats of superior quality and excellent performance. In the early 1940s through 1957, the recreational boat business prospered and Correct Craft operated an additional manufacturing facility in Titusville, Florida, building boats from 18–55 feet. The advent of fiberglass brought new possibilities to the marine industry in the 1960s and Correct Craft worked with an innovative designer named Leo Bentz to bring the fiberglass Ski Nautique to market in 1961. In the 1970s, Correct Craft produced an array of runabouts, cuddy-cabin and center console models including the Southwind, Martinique, Cuddy Nautique and Fish
    5.67
    3 votes
    123
    5.67
    3 votes
    124

    J.L. Thompson and Sons

    • Ships built: MV Empire Arrow
    J.L. Thompson and Sons was a shipyard on the River Wear, Sunderland, which produced ships from the mid-18th century until the 1980s. The world-famous Liberty Ship was among the designs to be created, produced and manufactured at the yard's base at North Sands. The founder of J.L. Thompson and Sons was Robert Thompson, the son of a Master Mariner, who was born in 1797. As a boy he had enjoyed a busy life on the River Wear, playing among the keels, and at 18 he started work as an apprentice shipwright. He spent his evenings, however, learning draughtsmanship on his kitchen floor and, by the age of 22, had built several craft in a berth below the Lambton Drops. Robert’s first association with North Sands came in 1820, when he joined forces with seven business associates to build a 12 keel vessel in just six weeks. But it took him another 17 years to launch his own company, going into business with his three sons – all apprenticed as shipwrights – at Washington Stays. Unfortunately, the depression which gripped Britain at this time quickly caused the firm’s collapse, and the sons were forced to take positions at other firms. Down, but not out, Robert decided to fight back. His firm,
    5.67
    3 votes
    125

    Vickers Shipbuilding and Engineering Ltd

    • Ships built: HMS Sheffield
    Vickers Shipbuilding and Engineering, Ltd (VSEL) was a shipbuilding company based at Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria in northwest England that built warships, civilian ships, submarines and armaments. The company was historically the Naval Construction Works of Vickers Armstrongs and has a heritage of building large naval warships and armaments. Through a complicated history the company's shipbuilding division is now BAE Systems Submarine Solutions and the armaments division is now part of BAE Systems Land and Armaments. The Company was founded in 1871 by James Ramsden as the Iron Shipbuilding Company, but its name was soon changed to Barrow Shipbuilding Company. In 1897, Vickers & Sons bought the Barrow Shipbuilding Company and its subsidiary the Maxim Nordenfelt Guns and Ammunition Company, becoming Vickers, Sons and Maxim, Limited. The shipyard at Barrow became the Naval Construction Yard. In 1911 the company was renamed Vickers Ltd, and in 1927 became Vickers Armstrongs Ltd after a merger with Armstrong Whitworth, whose shipyard at High Walker on the River Tyne became the "Naval Yard". In 1955 the name of the shipbuilding division changed to Vickers Armstrongs Shipbuilders, Ltd and
    5.67
    3 votes
    126
    Higgins Industries

    Higgins Industries

    • Ships built: PT 796
    Higgins Industries was the company owned by Andrew Higgins based in New Orleans, Louisiana, United States. Higgins Industries is most famous for the design and production of the Higgins boat, an amphibious landing craft referred to as LCVP (landing craft, vehicles, personnel), which was used extensively in the Allied forces' D-Day Invasion of Normandy. Higgins also manufactured PT boats, and produced the first American airborne lifeboat, the model A-1 lifeboat. Andrew Higgins also owned the New Orleans-based Higgins Lumber and Export Co., and Higgins Aircraft, which contracted to provide aircraft for the US military during World War II. Before World War Two, Higgens got its big start with the design and production of small shallow-draft boats that were designed to operated in the shallow marsh areas common to Louisiana. These small but fast boats were called Eureka Boats or Spoonbills, and they could impact partially submerged logs without suffering damage. The propeller was partially enclosed in a tunnel to protect it against submerged objects. The Spoonbill was the first design used for a personnel landing craft used by the US Navy, the LCPL, before the famous and much improved
    6.50
    2 votes
    127
    6.50
    2 votes
    128
    Jacques Piccard

    Jacques Piccard

    • Ships built: Ben Franklin
    Jacques Piccard (28 July 1922 – 1 November 2008) was a Swiss oceanographer and engineer, known for having developed underwater vehicles for studying ocean currents. He and Lt. Don Walsh of the United States Navy were the first people to explore the deepest part of the world's ocean, and the deepest location on the surface of the Earth's crust, the Challenger Deep, in the Mariana Trench located in the western North Pacific Ocean. Jacques Piccard was born in Brussels, Belgium to Auguste Piccard, who was himself an adventurer and engineer. Jacques' father Auguste twice beat the record for reaching the highest altitude in a balloon, during 1931–1932. The Piccard family thus has the unique distinction of breaking world records for both the highest flight and the deepest dive. Jacques's father, who had already set altitude records in his balloon, started using the buoyancy technique used in balloons for developing a submersible vehicle, the bathyscaphe. Jacques initially started out his career by teaching economics at University of Geneva while continuing helping his father improve the bathyscaphe to demonstrate its potential for operating in deep waters. Together they built three
    6.50
    2 votes
    129
    MAN Diesel

    MAN Diesel

    • Ships built: Chelyuskin steamship
    MAN Diesel SE (formerly MAN B&W Diesel AG) was a provider of large-bore diesel engines for marine propulsion systems and power plant applications. MAN Diesel employs over 7,700 staff, primarily in Germany, Denmark, France, the Czech Republic, India and China. The global after-sales organisation, MAN Diesel PrimeServ, comprises a network of the company’s own service centres, supported by authorised partners. In 2010, MAN Diesel and MAN Turbo were merged to form MAN Diesel & Turbo. In 1980, MAN AG acquired the Burmeister & Wain Danish shipyard and diesel engine producer. Though engine production at Christianshavn was later discontinued in 1987, successful engine programs were rolled out. At Teglholmen in 1988 a spare parts and key components production factory was established as was an R&D Centre at the same site in 1992. Though all Copenhagen operations were consolidated at Teglholmen in 1994 and the last volume production unit at the B&W Shipyard was delivered in 1996, in 2000 MAN B&W Diesel two-stroke diesel engines had over 70% market share, with a substantial number of MC-line engines on order. The electronically controlled line of ME diesel two-stroke engines was added in 2002
    6.50
    2 votes
    130
    Todd Pacific Shipyards

    Todd Pacific Shipyards

    • Ships built: USS Stark
    Todd Shipyards was founded in 1916 as the William H. Todd Corporation through the merger of Robins Dry Dock & Repair Company of Erie Basin, Brooklyn, New York, the Tietjen & Long Dry Dock Company of Hoboken, New Jersey, and the Seattle Construction and Dry Dock Company. The Seattle shipyard could trace its history back to 1882, when Robert Moran opened a marine repair shop at Yesler's Wharf. This shop became the Moran Brothers Shipyard in 1906 and the Seattle Construction & Dry Dock Company at the end of 1911. Todd has performed building and maintenance work for, among others, the U.S. and Royal Australian Navies, the United States Coast Guard, and the Washington State Ferries. Its headquarters and operations are on Harbor Island at the mouth of Seattle's Duwamish Waterway. The 105-foot (32 m)-long hull of Disneyland's Mark Twain riverboat was built at Todd Shipyards in San Pedro, California in 1955. In February 2011, Vigor Industrial purchased Todd for $130 million. This included the Seattle, Everett and Bremerton operations.
    6.50
    2 votes
    131

    Cammell Laird

    • Ships built: HMS Prince of Wales
    Cammell Laird, one of the famous names in British shipbuilding during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, came about following the merger of Laird, Son & Co. of Birkenhead and Johnson Cammell & Co. of Sheffield at the turn of the twentieth century. The company was founded by William Laird, who had established the Birkenhead Iron Works in 1824, when he was joined by his son, John Laird in 1828: their first ship was an iron barge. John realised that the techniques of making boilers could be applied to making ships. The company soon became pre-eminent in the manufacture of iron ships and made major advances in propulsion. In 1903 the businesses of Messrs. Cammell and Laird merged to create a company at the forefront of shipbuilding. Johnson Cammell & Co. had been founded by Charles Cammell and Henry and Thomas Johnson: it made, amongst many other metal products, iron wheels and rails for Britain's railways and was based in Sheffield. In 1929, the railway rolling stock business of Cammell Laird was spun off and merged to become Metropolitan-Cammell Carriage and Wagon Company Ltd. Between 1829 and 1947, over 1,100 vessels of all kinds were launched from the Cammell Laird slipways
    5.33
    3 votes
    132
    Lockheed Shipbuilding and Construction Company

    Lockheed Shipbuilding and Construction Company

    • Ships built: USCGC Polar Star
    Lockheed Shipbuilding and Construction Company (a.k.a. Lockheed Shipbuilding), was a shipyard in Seattle, Washington on Harbor Island at the mouth of the Duwamish River. Founded in 1898 as the Puget Sound Bridge and Dredging Company, the company that built Harbor Island, it was purchased by Lockheed in 1959. The shipyard was permanently closed in 1988. The Lockheed Shipyard Operable Unit consisted of an 18-acre (73,000 m) shipyard facility located on the west side of Harbor Island at 2929 16th Avenue Southwest. The Lockheed Shipyard was a shipbuilding facility from the 1930s until 1988. It was bounded on the north by Southwest Lander Street, on the east by 16th Avenue Southwest, on the south by the Fisher Mill property, and the west by the West Waterway of the Duwamish River. Lockheed constructed several Knox class frigates for the United States Navy in the late 1960s and early 1970s. These ships included the USS Rathburne (FF-1057), the USS Reasoner (FF-1063), the USS Stein (FF-1065), the USS Bagley (FF-1069), and the USS Robert E. Peary (FF-1073). Beginning in the mid-1960s and extending into 1971, Lockheed built and delivered seven landing platform dockships (LPDs) of the
    5.33
    3 votes
    133
    Australian Submarine Corporation

    Australian Submarine Corporation

    • Ships built: HMAS Sheean
    The ASC, formerly the Australian Submarine Corporation, is a wholly government-owned Australian naval defence company headquartered at Osborne in Adelaide, South Australia. The Australian Submarine Corporation was created when Kockums (designer of the Collins class submarine) became part of a joint venture with the Australian branch of Chicago Bridge & Iron, Wormald International, and the Australian Industry Development Corporation to construct the six vessels. The ASC construction facility was established on previously undeveloped land on the bank of the Port River, at Osborne, South Australia. Work on the site began on 29 June 1987, and it was opened in November 1989. South Australia had been selected as the site of the construction facility based on the proposed location of the facility and promises by the State Government to help minimise any problems caused by workers unions. By the end of 1990, Chicago Bridge & Iron and Wormald International had both sold their shares in ASC. The shares were bought up by Kockums and the Australian Industry Development Corporation, with some of Kockums' shares then sold to James Hardie Industries to maintain an Australian majority ownership of
    7.00
    1 votes
    134
    7.00
    1 votes
    135

    Isaac E. Smith

    Isaac Edgar Smith (January 21, 1858 – September 27, 1940) was a boat builder based in Port Washington, New York. Isaac, or "Ike" as he was commonly known, was born in Charleston, Illinois to Stephen Baldwin Smith and Mary Elizabeth Smith (née Sobey). His parents were residents of Port Washington, but had traveled to Illinois in 1856, returning to Long Island when Isaac was two years old. His father was a boat builder and owned the business where Isaac Smith spent his apprenticeship upon the conclusion of the American Civil War, in which his father had served as a pilot aboard the steamship "T.V. Arrowsmith". After completing his apprenticeship, Isaac Smith opened his own boat building business on Shore Road in Port Washington. It was there that he was to build the first 22 Star Class sailboats during the winter of 1910–11. The Star Class was designed by Francis Sweisguth from an earlier design by William Gardner, at the prompting of George Arthur "Pop" Corry – known today as the "Father of the Stars." The boats originally sold for $240 plus $20 for sails, but due to their high quality they were fetching two–three times that more than 10 years later. Of the original 22 stars, half
    7.00
    1 votes
    136

    Marinette Marine

    • Ships built: USS Catahecassa
    Marinette Marine Corporation (MMC) is a shipbuilding firm in Marinette, Wisconsin. MMC was a subsidiary of Manitowoc Marine Group, also in Wisconsin, but was sold to Fincantieri Marine Group in 2009. Marinette Marine Corporation (MMC) was founded on the Menominee River in Marinette, Wisconsin, in 1942 as part of the growth in the American shipbuilding industry during World War II. In 2000 Marinette Marine, which at the time was a privately held company, was purchased by The Manitowoc Company for approximately $48 million. On August 4, 2008 The Manitowoc Company announced that it had signed an agreement to sell their Manitowoc Marine Group division, which includes Marinette Marine, to Fincantieri Marine Group Holdings, Inc. and minority investor Lockheed Martin. The sale was completed on Jan 1, 2009 to Fincantieri. The net purchase price in the all-cash deal was approximately $120 million. Since its founding, Marinette Marine has produced more than 1,300 vessels. While primarily a producer of commercial vessels, it has also taken a number of contracts for the United States Navy, primarily for auxiliary vessels. Most recently, Marinette Marine became part of a team with Lockheed
    7.00
    1 votes
    137
    7.00
    1 votes
    138
    7.00
    1 votes
    139
    Alexander Stephen and Sons

    Alexander Stephen and Sons

    • Ships built: Aurora
    Alexander Stephen and Sons Limited, often referred to simply as Alex Stephens or just Stephens, was a Scottish shipbuilding company based in Linthouse, Govan in Glasgow, on the River Clyde. The Company was founded by Alexander Stephen who began shipbuilding at Burghead on the Moray Firth in 1750. In 1793 William Stephen, a descendent of his, established a firm of shipbuilders at Footdee in Aberdeen. In 1813 another member of the family, again called William, commenced shipbuilding at Arbroath. Alexander Stephen, a member of the third generation of the family, merged the Aberdeen and Arbroath businesses in 1828 and then, after closing the Aberdeen yard in 1829, moved production to the Panmure yard in Dundee in 1842. In 1850 Alexander Stephen arranged a lease of the Kelvinhaugh yard in Glasgow from Robert Black for twenty years from May, 1851. The site of the Kelvinhaugh yard is now Yorkhill Quay. The Arbroath yard finally closed in 1857. Due to the restrictions in size of the Kelvinhaugh yard, as well as the impending expiry of the lease, in 1870 the Glasgow business moved to a new site at Linthouse. The Dundee shipyard was sold to the Dundee Shipbuilders' Company in 1893. In a
    6.00
    2 votes
    140

    Companhia União Fabril

    • Ships built: Praia da Adraga
    The Companhia União Fabril (CUF) is a Portuguese chemical corporation and a part of Grupo José de Mello. The company was founded by Alfredo da Silva in 1871 and managed by his descendents, including José Manuel de Mello as a family-run business conglomerate. CUF was one of the largest and most diversified Portuguese corporations from the 1930s until 1974. With its core businesses (cement, chemicals, petrochemicals, agrochemicals, textiles, beer, beverages, metallurgy, naval construction, electrical equipment, oilseeds, insurance, banking, wood pulp, tourism, mining, etc.) and corporate headquarters located in mainland Portugal, but also with branches, plants and several developing business projects all around the Portuguese Empire, specially in the Portuguese territores of Angola and Mozambique, CUF was for many years the largest employer and exporter of Portugal. The company had also its own sports club, founded as a truly works team in 1937. It was located in Lisbon's industrial suburb of Barreiro, and was called Grupo Desportivo da CUF. The club was a major contender in the main Portuguese Football Championship but was disbanded and replaced by G.D. Fabril due to the 1974
    6.00
    2 votes
    141

    Crownline Boat

    Crownline fiberglass pleasure boats were built from 1956 to 1966. In the year 2009 there is a Crownline Boat firm located at West Frankfort, Illinois. This company, established in 1992, has no relationship to the original Crownline that operated in the 1950s and 1960s. Arnold L. O'Hare of Onarga, Illinois started Crownline Mfg. Co. in late 1955 with the purchase of Glas-Star Boat Company of Hayward, Wisconsin. He moved operations to Onarga, about 90 miles south of Chicago. Boat production began in early 1956 in a portion of the Ford automobile dealership, formerly owned by Mr. O'Hare. His brother Howard O'Hare along with Tommy Thomas of Hayward, Wisconsin and John Wolgast were involved with Crownline. Crownline made small fiberglass runabout boats and they also made boat trailers. One of their unique boats from circa 1961 was a jet powered rig, using propulsion similar to the Berkely Jet. Also, in lieu of wood stringers and keelson, the boats were built with a fiberglass stringer system. This was fairly unique at the time. On 21 May 1959 the firms were incorporated as "Crownline, Incorporated" and "Crownline Trailers, Inc." (Iroquois County Register of Deeds). In August 1962
    6.00
    2 votes
    142

    Island Packet Yachts

    Island Packet Yachts is a United States-based builder of sailing and motor yachts. They are based in Largo, Florida. The incorporated name for the company is Traditional Watercraft, Inc. Production facilities are located on nine acres of ground with 125,000 square feet (11,600 m) of covered manufacturing space in central Pinellas County. Map: According to the company's website, the name Island Packet Yachts is a subsidiary of Traditional Watercraft, Inc., founded by naval architect Bob Johnson. Johnson is currently CEO and owner of the company. After earning his master's degree in naval architecture from MIT in 1967, Johnson did a brief stint with McDonnell-Douglas in California working in their missile design department before heading to Florida where he joined Irwin Yachts as a plant supervisor. He also worked on several cruising and racing designs for Irwin before leaving to join Endeavour Yachts as head designer. In 1978 he left Endeavour to build yachts of his own design, beginning with a sharpie sailboat known as the "Lightfoot 21". When the Bombay Trading Company, another Florida boatbuilder, went bankrupt in 1979, Johnson bought the molds for the Bombay Express, a 26-foot
    6.00
    2 votes
    143
    6.00
    2 votes
    144

    Western Dry Dock and Shipbuilding Company

    • Ships built: HMCS Rockcliffe
    The Western Dry Dock and Shipbuilding Company operated at Port Arthur, Ontario, now part of Thunder Bay, on Lake Superior from its organization in October 1909 until its reorganization in November 1916 as the Port Arthur Shipbuilding Company. It was probably a subsidiary of the Cleveland-based American Ship Building Company until entrepreneur James Whalen took control in 1916. Whalen was president from 1909–1916. Its dry dock and shops were located at Bare Point at the extreme eastern end of the Thunder Bay harbour. They were constructed in 1910. The first launching of a vessel was June 27, 1911, a scow or barge for the Great Lakes Dredging Company. During the First World War, the company also produced shells and munitions for the Imperial Munitions Board. It also built Big Bull tractors in 1915.
    6.00
    2 votes
    145

    Brunswick Boat Group

    The Brunswick Boat Group, headquartered in Knoxville, Tennessee, United States, is the largest maker of pleasure boats in the world. In 2008, the company's net sales were US$1.7 billion. The Boat Group makes Sea Ray, Bayliner, Maxum, Hatteras Yachts, Meridian and Sealine pleasure boats from 16 to 100 feet; Boston Whaler, Cabo Yachts and Trophy offshore fishing boats from 13 to 52 feet; and Crestliner, Harris, Kayot, Lowe Boats, Lund, Princecraft and Triton fishing, deck and pontoon boats from 10 to 26 feet. Brunswick is one of the largest boat makers in Europe, with such brands as Arvor, Örnvik, Quicksilver, Uttern and Valiant boats. In New Zealand, Brunswick also owns the Rayglass boat brand. BBG oversees nearly 45 brands of boats in total, ranging from yachts to bass boats. Other subsidiaries include Attwood and Kellogg boat parts and accessories, along with IDS and Smart Craft onboard marine technology systems. The Brunswick Boat Group (BBG) was formed in 2000 to manage the Brunswick Corporation's nearly 45 boat brands. It is privately held, and is not traded on any public exchange. From 2000 to 2005 the BBG doubled in size and acquired 13 additional brands. The global economic
    5.00
    3 votes
    146
    5.00
    3 votes
    147
    5.00
    3 votes
    148
    5.00
    3 votes
    149
    Blohm + Voss

    Blohm + Voss

    • Ships built: SMS Yorck
    Blohm + Voss (also shown historically as Blohm & Voss), is a German shipbuilding and engineering works. It is a subsidiary of ThyssenKrupp Marine Systems. ThyssenKrupp announced in December 2011 that it had agreed the sale of Blohm + Voss to British investment company STAR Capital Partners, pending regulatory approval. The company built aircraft through Hamburger Flugzeugbau before and during World War II. It was founded on April 5, 1877, by Hermann Blohm and Ernst Voss as a general partnership named Blohm & Voss (Blohm und Voss English: "Blohm and Voss"). A shipyard was built on the island of Kuhwerder, near the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg, covering 15,000 m² with 250 m of water frontage and three building berths, two suitable for ships of up to 100 metres length. The company's logo is a simple dark blue rectangle with rounded corners bearing the white letters "Blohm+Voss". Until 1955 the company name was shown with the ampersand. The company has continued to build ships and other large machines for 125 years. Despite being almost completely demolished after the end of World War II, it now builds warships both for the Deutsche Marine and for export (see MEKO), as well as
    5.50
    2 votes
    151
    5.50
    2 votes
    152
    5.50
    2 votes
    153

    Vickers Armstrong

    • Ships built: HMS Orion
    Vickers-Armstrongs Limited was a British engineering conglomerate formed by the merger of the assets of Vickers Limited and Sir W G Armstrong Whitworth & Company in 1927. The majority of the company was nationalised in the 1960s and 1970s, with the remainder being divested as Vickers plc in 1977. Vickers merged with the Tyneside-based engineering company Armstrong Whitworth, founded by W. G. Armstrong, to become Vickers-Armstrongs, Ltd. Armstrong Whitworth and Vickers had developed along similar lines, expanding into various military sectors and produced a whole suite of military products. Armstrong Whitworth were notable for their artillery manufacture at Elswick and shipbuilding at a yard at High Walker on the River Tyne. 1929 saw the merger of the acquired railway business with those of Cammell Laird to form Metropolitan Cammell Carriage and Wagon (MCCW); Metro Cammell. In 1960 the aircraft interests were merged with those of Bristol, English Electric and Hunting Aircraft to form the British Aircraft Corporation (BAC). This was owned by Vickers, English Electric and Bristol (holding 40%, 40% and 20% respectively). BAC in turn owned 70% of Hunting. The Supermarine operation was
    5.50
    2 votes
    155
    William Beardmore and Company

    William Beardmore and Company

    • Ships built: HMS Goshawk
    William Beardmore and Company was a Scottish engineering and shipbuilding conglomerate based in Glasgow and the surrounding Clydeside area. It was active from 1886 to the mid-1930s and at its peak employed about 40,000 people. It was founded and owned by William Beardmore, later Lord Invernairn, after whom the Beardmore Glacier was named. The Parkhead Forge, in the east end of Glasgow, would become the core of the company. It was established by Reoch Brothers & Co in 1837 and was later acquired by Robert Napier in 1841 to make forgings and iron plates for his new shipyard in Govan. Napier was given the contract to build HMS Black Prince, the sister ship to the Royal Navy's first true ironclad ship, HMS Warrior. Parkead was contracted to make the armour for her, but failed, so the manager, William Rigby called in William Beardmore Snr, who at the time was superintendent of the General Steam Navigation Company in Deptford, to help. Beardmore became a partner in the business and, moving to Glasgow was joined by his brother Isaac and son, William Jr. On the premature death of William Snr, Isaac retired and William Jnr became sole partner. He founded William Beardmore & Co in 1886. By
    5.50
    2 votes
    156
    4.67
    3 votes
    157
    Brooklyn Navy Yard

    Brooklyn Navy Yard

    • Ships built: USS Iowa
    The United States Navy Yard, New York, also known as the Brooklyn Navy Yard and the New York Naval Shipyard (NYNSY), is a shipyard located in Brooklyn, New York, 1.7 miles (2.7 km) northeast of the Battery on the East River in Wallabout Basin, a semicircular bend of the river across from Corlear's Hook in Manhattan. It was bounded by Navy Street, Flushing and Kent Avenues, and at the height of its production of warships for the United States Navy, it covered over 200 acres (0.81 km). Following the American Revolution, the waterfront site was used to build merchant vessels. Federal authorities purchased the old docks and 40 acres (160,000 m) of land for forty thousand dollars in 1801, and the property became an active U.S. Navy shipyard five years later, in 1806. The offices, store-houses and barracks were constructed of handmade bricks, and the yard's oldest structure (located in Vinegar Hill), the 1807 federal style commandant's house, was designed by Charles Bulfinch, architect of the United States Capitol in Washington, D.C.. Many officers were housed in Admiral's Row. Military chain of command was strictly observed. During the yard's construction of Robert Fulton's steam
    6.00
    1 votes
    158
    6.00
    1 votes
    159
    6.00
    1 votes
    160
    Mitsubishi

    Mitsubishi

    • Ships built: Toyama Maru
    The Mitsubishi Group (三菱グループ, Mitsubishi Gurūpu) (also known as the Mitsubishi Group of Companies or Mitsubishi Companies) is a Japanese multinational conglomerate comprising a range of autonomous businesses which share the Mitsubishi brand, trademark and legacy. The Mitsubishi group of companies form a loose entity, the Mitsubishi Keiretsu, which is often referenced in Japanese and US media and official reports; in general these companies all descend from the zaibatsu of the same name. The top 25 companies are also members of the Mitsubishi Kin'yōkai, or "Friday Club", and meet monthly. In addition the Mitsubishi.com Committee exists to facilitate communication and access of the Mitsubishi brand through a portal web site. The Mitsubishi company was first established as a shipping firm by Yatarō Iwasaki (1834–1885) in 1870. In 1873, its name was changed to Mitsubishi Shokai . The name Mitsubishi (三菱 consists of two parts: "mitsu" meaning "three" and "hishi" (which becomes "bishi" under rendaku) meaning "water caltrop" (also called "water chestnut"), and hence "rhombus", which is reflected in the company's famous logo. It is also translated as "three diamonds". Mitsubishi had been
    6.00
    1 votes
    161
    6.00
    1 votes
    162
    Sevmash

    Sevmash

    • Ships built: K-222
    JSC PO Sevmash (Russian: ОАО «ПО „Севмаш“», Севмаш, СМП) is a shipbuilding company based in Severodvinsk, a port city on Russia's White Sea. The name Sevmash is an abbreviation of Severnoye Mashinostroitelnoye Predpriyatie (Северное Машиностроительное Предприятие), i.e. "Northern Machine-Building Enterprise". Sevmash is the largest shipbuilding enterprise in Russia and today the country's only nuclear submarine producer. In 2009, the company employed 26,951 people and its revenue from military production was $533.02 million. The shipyad's main specialization is manufacturing of ships, submarines and military equipment for the Russian Navy. Sevmash is the only shipyard in Russia producing nuclear submarines. The next to last nuclear submarine produced at the shipyard is the nuclear powered attack submarine Severodvinsk, which was launched in 2010 and is currently fitting out. Its completion had been delayed due to financial issues. The second Borei class submarine Aleksandr Nevskiy was launched later in 2010. There is one other Yasen class submarine Kazan and one Borei class submarine Vladimir Monomakh currently under construction at the shipyard. In 2003—2005, Sevmash delivered two
    6.00
    1 votes
    163
    6.00
    1 votes
    164
    5.00
    2 votes
    165
    4.50
    2 votes
    166

    Feadship

    • Ships built: Utopia
    Feadship is a cooperative venture between two shipyards (Royal van Lent and Royal De Vries) and maritime engineering company De Voogt Naval Architects. Feadship can trace its roots back to 1877, when the Akerboom family bought a small shipyard off the coast of the Netherlands to build and repair boats. They joined with the Van Lent family in 1927, and then in 1949 they joined with the De Vries, another family-based shipyard, to form Feadship. Feadship has three shipyards in Aalsmeer, Makkum and Kaag and one design and engineering center, De Voogt Naval Architects. After World War II the market for the previously successful industry was left in ruins. Even after four years of peace, there remained little money or inclination in Europe for ordering pleasure yachts. Encouraged by the Dutch government's export incentives, Royal Van Lent Shipyard, De Vries Scheepsbouw and four other yards decided to set out their stall for the thriving American market. The man behind this move was naval architect Henri de Voogt. The name Feadship - the First Export Association of Dutch Shipbuilders - was considered to be an innovation. It made the fledgling group sound like it was Dutch shipbuilding, an
    4.50
    2 votes
    167

    KaiserWerft

    KaiserWerft GmBH is a manufacturer of luxury yachts in Saal an der Donau who were established in 2003 from the insolvent company PR Marine.
    4.50
    2 votes
    168
    Neafie and Levy Ship and Engine Building Company

    Neafie and Levy Ship and Engine Building Company

    • Ships built: USS Quinnebaug
    Neafie, Levy & Co., commonly known as Neafie & Levy, was a Philadelphia shipbuilding and engineering firm that existed from the middle of the 19th to the beginning of the 20th century. Described as America's "first specialist marine engineers", Neafie & Levy was probably the first company in the United States to combine the building of iron ships with the manufacture of steam engines to power them. The company was also the largest supplier of screw propellers to other North American shipbuilding firms in its early years, and at its peak in the early 1870s was Philadelphia's busiest and most heavily capitalized shipbuilder. Following the death of one of its proprietors, John P. Levy, in 1867, the company grew more conservative and eventually became a "niche" shipbuilder of smaller high quality vessels such as steam yachts and tugs. A few years after the retirement and death of its founder and longstanding manager Jacob Neafie in 1898, the company folded through a combination of indifferent management, bad publicity and unprofitable US Navy contracts. Amongst the more notable vessels built by the company were the U.S. Navy's first submarine, the USS Alligator in 1862, and the Navy's
    4.50
    2 votes
    169

    George Steers and Co

    • Ships built: America
    George Steers & Co was a shipyard company at Greenpoint, Long Island, New York. In 1850, James Rich Steers and George Steers started the George Steers & Co. inheriting from a naval architecture tradition. The father Henry Steers was already a naval architect in England.. The company was located in Greenpoint, Long Island, New York. They designed in 1851 the America for John C. Stevens to win the Queen's Cup at the annual regatta of the London Royal Yacht Club. She cost about $23,000. George Steers died on September 25, 1856. Jack Strickland, supervisor of the construction of the yacht America, was a foreman of the Steers shipyard. In 1857, Henry Steers, the son of James Rich Steers and the grandson of Henry Steers, started his shipyard in Greenpoint, Long Island, New York. He designed and built most of the boats of the Pacific Mail Steamship Company.
    5.00
    1 votes
    170
    Harlan and Hollingsworth

    Harlan and Hollingsworth

    • Ships built: USS Eagle
    Harlan & Hollingsworth was a Wilmington, Delaware, firm that constructed ships and railroad cars during the 19th century and into the 20th century. Mahlon Betts, a carpenter, arrived in Wilmington in 1812. After helping construct many prominent buildings in the city, Betts branched out into foundry work in 1821. In 1836, Betts partnered with Samuel Pusey (a machinist) and began manufacturing railcars at a plant on West and Water Streets in Wilmington. The next year, cabinetmaker Samuel Harlan joined the firm, then known as Betts, Pusey & Harlan. By 1839, the company claimed to have manufactured 39 passenger and 28 freight cars over the past two years. The next year, they hired Jacob F. Sharp, a former house carpenter, to build railroad cars. He would rise to become foreman at the plant, and eventually co-founded the rival firm of Jackson and Sharp. In 1841, Elijah Hollingsworth, brother-in-law of Harlan, bought out Pusey, and the firm became known as Betts, Harlan & Hollingsworth. Pusey later formed competing Pusey and Jones. In 1849 Mahlon Betts withdrew from the firm, which became simply Harlan & Hollingsworth; J. Taylor Gause was admitted as a partner in 1858, and the company
    5.00
    1 votes
    171
    Lürssen

    Lürssen

    • Ships built: Rising Sun
    Lürssen (or Lürssen Werft) is a German shipbuilding company based in Bremen-Vegesack. Lürssen designs and constructs yachts, naval ships and special vessels. Trading as Lürssen Yachts, it is one of the leading builders of custom superyachts such as Paul Allen's Octopus and David Geffen's Rising Sun, one of the largest privately owned yachts in the world. Naval ships built by Lürssen include: Lürssen is currently also involved with the building of Braunschweig class corvettes and is part of the ARGE F125 joint-venture designing the F125 class frigate. Lursen-S was the name of a Soviet counter-espionage operation of the late 1940s/early 1950s that infiltrated and compromised Operation Jungle, an MI6 program that used Lürssen E-boats to insert British-trained Baltic agents into the Soviet Union.
    5.00
    1 votes
    172
    5.00
    1 votes
    173
    5.00
    1 votes
    174
    5.00
    1 votes
    175
    Electric Launch Company

    Electric Launch Company

    • Ships built: USS Idealia
    The Electric Launch Company, later renamed Elco Motor Yachts, (Elco) is a United States boat building and electric motor company that has operated from 1893 until present (with a "hiatus" from 1949 to 1987). It was originally run by Henry R. Sutphen in 1895. Its current president is Steve Lamando. Elco first made its mark at the World's Columbian Exposition of 1893 in Chicago. Fifty-five launches, each 36 feet long and powered by battery-driven electric motors, carried over a million passengers. By 1900, electric powered pleasure boats outnumbered the combined number of boats powered by steam and explosive engines (as gasoline powered motors were called). By 1910, the advantages of the range and power of gasoline came to dominate the market and Elco converted to motor boats. During World War I, the company built five hundred and fifty 80-foot submarine chasers for the British Admiralty. Between the wars, it introduced the 26-foot Cruisette, a cabin cruiser which became successful. This was followed in the 1930s with 30-foot to 57-foot Veedettes and Flattops. During World War II, Elco formed the Elco Naval Division in Bayonne, New Jersey. Nearly 400 Elco PT boats were produced for
    4.00
    2 votes
    176
    4.00
    2 votes
    177
    4.00
    2 votes
    178
    4.00
    1 votes
    179
    Barclay Curle

    Barclay Curle

    • Ships built: SS Mantola
    Seawind Barclay Curle is an English shipbuilding company. The company was founded by Robert Barclay at Stobcross in Glasgow, Scotland during 1818. In 1862, the company built a large engineering works at Stobcross in Glasgow. In 1876, the company moved their yard down the river to Whiteinch. It was incorporated in 1884 as Barclay Curle. In 1912, Barclay Curle acquired the nearby Elderslie Shipyard in Scotstoun from John Shearer & Sons, to take the excess orders that the firm's existing Clydeholm yard in Whiteinch could not handle. Barclay Curle itself was acquired in 1912 by Swan Hunter. In 1913, the North British Diesel Engine Works was built at the company's Clydeholm Shipyard in Whiteinch, a seminal modernist building that was influenced by Peter Behrens' AEG turbine factory in Berlin and continues to stand today. In 1920 a large Titan Crane was constructed adjacent to the engine works at the Clydehom Yard by Sir William Arrol & Co., and remains one of four examples to remain on the River Clyde, along with those at Finnieston, Clydebank and Greenock. During the First World War the Barclay Curle yard built several Insect class gunboats for the Royal Navy. The Swan Hunter owned
    4.00
    1 votes
    180
    Bath Iron Works

    Bath Iron Works

    • Ships built: USS Harry E. Yarnell
    Bath Iron Works (BIW) is a major American shipyard located on the Kennebec River in Bath, Maine, United States. Since its founding in 1884 (as Bath Iron Works, Limited), BIW has built private, commercial and military vessels, most of which have been ordered by the United States Navy. The shipyard has built and sometimes designed battleships, frigates, cruisers and destroyers, including the Arleigh Burke class, which are currently among the world's most advanced surface warships. Since 1995, Bath Iron Works has been a subsidiary of General Dynamics, the fifth-largest defense contractor in the world (as of 2008). During World War II, ships built at BIW were considered by sailors and Navy officials to be of superior toughness, giving rise to the phrase "Bath-built is best-built." Bath Iron Works was incorporated in 1884 by General Thomas W. Hyde, a native of Bath who served in the American Civil War. After the war, Hyde bought a local shop that helped make windlasses and other iron hardware for the wooden ships built in Bath's many shipyards. He expanded the business by improving its practices, entering new markets, and acquiring other local businesses. By 1882, Hyde Windlass was
    4.00
    1 votes
    181
    4.00
    1 votes
    182
    4.00
    1 votes
    183
    4.00
    1 votes
    184
    4.00
    1 votes
    185
    4.00
    1 votes
    186

    Rybovich

    Rybovich is a ship building company in Florida.  Bernie Madoff's custom built 1969 Rybovich named "Bull" was seized on April 1, 2009 in West Palm Beach, Florida.
    4.00
    1 votes
    187
    Samuda Brothers

    Samuda Brothers

    • Ships built: HMS Tamar
    Samuda Brothers was an engineering and ship building firm at Cubitt Town on the Isle of Dogs in London, founded by Jacob and Joseph d'Aguilar Samuda. The site is now occupied by Samuda Estate. Samuda Brothers began work at Orchard Place, Leamouth, London in 1843, by the mouth of Bow Creek. The firm moved to Cubitt Town in 1852, having outgrown a site that was hemmed in by other industrial premises. By this time the company was run by Joseph, Jacob having been killed in the trial of the Gipsy Queen. The Cubitt Town yard specialised in iron and steel warships and steam packets and by 1863 was said to be producing double the output of the other London shipyards combined. Orders from Germany, Russia and Japan enabled the firm to survive the 1866 financial crisis which affected many other London yards. In 1877 Togo Heihachiro, later a prominent Japanese admiral, came for work experience with the Samuda Brothers after completing his training at Naval Preparatory School in Portsmouth, and the Royal Naval College at Greenwich. He supervised the construction of the Fusō before returning to Japan. He went to be heralded as the "Nelson of the East" after he led the Imperial Japanese navy to
    4.00
    1 votes
    188

    Tacoma Boatbuilding Company

    • Ships built: USCGC Harriet Lane
    Tacoma Boatbuilding Company was a corporation established in 1926, built many boats during World War II. Some of the boats constructed include: USCGC Harriet Lane, USNS Audacious, USNS Indomitable, USS Ready and others. In 1998, the company was liquidated.
    4.00
    1 votes
    189
    0.00
    0 votes
    190
    0.00
    0 votes
    191
    Coronado Yachts

    Coronado Yachts

    Coronado Yachts was a US sailboat manufacturer located in Southern California which produced several popular lines in the 1960s and early 1970s. Many hulls are still sailing and racing today. Frank Butler's initial intent was not to produce and sell boats, but rather to have one built. Prior to venturing into the boat business Frank was a successful business man running a machine shop. In 1961, Butler took over the building of his own boat when boat builder ran out of funds and borrowed money from Butler; the builder was not able to repay the debt. Instead he gave Butler the tooling to continue building the boat. Butler later gained full control of the company, renaming it Wesco Marine and later Coronado Yachts. Many Early Coronado twenty fives have the Wesco Marine nameplate on their transom. Among the first models built by Coronado were the Victory '21 and the Super Satellite. Production for the Coronado '25 began in 1964. It was the first boat with a one piece interior, making the boat stronger, lighter, and less expensive than previous models. During 1968 Butler sold Coronado to Whittaker which already owned Columbia Yachts which was purchased from Dick Valdes in 1967. They
    0.00
    0 votes
    192

    Edmund Hartt

    • Ships built: USS Boston
    Edmund Hartt was a master carpenter and owned the shipyard in Boston, Massachusetts where USS Constitution was constructed in 1797. He also built USS Boston (1799), USS Argus (1803), and USS Independence (1814). Hartt is buried at Copp's Hill Burying Ground in Boston.
    0.00
    0 votes
    193
    Elco Naval Division

    Elco Naval Division

    • Ships built: Motor Torpedo Boat PT-109
    The Elco Naval Division of Electric Launch Company at Bayonne, New Jersey produced PT boats for the U.S. Navy during WWII, including the PT-109 of future president John F. Kennedy In the film PT 109, the "Elco" script logo can be seen on the cockpit throttle housing in several scenes. The only completely restored 80' Elco PT-boat in existence, PT 617, is on display at the Battleship Cove Museum in Fall River, Massachusetts. PT 796, a restored 78' Higgins PT boat, is also on display at the museum. Decorated as the PT-109, PT 796 was used as a float in John F. Kennedy's inaugural parade.
    0.00
    0 votes
    194
    0.00
    0 votes
    195
    Ericson Yachts

    Ericson Yachts

    Ericson Yachts, Inc. was a pioneering builder of fiberglass yachts. Ericson is now out of business, but its designs have been reproduced periodically by other manufacturers. Ericson Yachts was founded by Handy and Jenkins in about 1963. They began with molds bought from a defunct builder as well as from an enterprising dump operator. After a year or two of operation, they filed for chapter 11 bankruptcy and were subsequently purchased by Mark Pitman and Del Walton in 1965. During this period Bruce King's first production designs were produced. They were the E-30, E-41, E-35-2, and the E-23. In 1968 Ericson was sold to Pacific American Industries, Roland Mayotte Chairman. Mark Pitman stayed on as president, and Del Walton stayed on as VP of sales. The new facility on Deere Ave in Irvine was built by PAI. During this period the E-32-2, E-29, E-39, E-27, and E-46 were built. 1.64 In 1971 Ericson was sold to CML, Charles Leighton Chairman. Mark Pitman left, and Del Walton became president. During this period the E-25, E-37, E-23-2, E-36C, Madcap (custom 40) (Ericson 41 1967-1971 1-50 Hauls 41'Ocean Racer) E-31C/Independence 31,E-34-R/E-34-T, E-30-2/30+ were produced. In 1978 Red
    0.00
    0 votes
    196

    Henry B. Nevins, Incorporated

    • Ships built: Stormy Weather
    Henry B. Nevins Incorporated was wooden-hull yacht builder in City Island, New York founded in 1907 by Henry B. Nevins. Nevins was a master yacht builder and author on vessel construction in who roots in shipbuilding began as an apprentice for Charles L. Seabury & Company in City Island, New York. Later Nevins would purchase the nearby Byles Yard to increase his company's acreage. Henry B. Nevins Inc. built custom sail and motor yachts and racing craft for affluent clients, but also small tugs and barges for commercial customers. Ever being the perfectionist, Nevins' company seasoned its own lumber, designed and machined its own fittings, fastened its spars together with glue made of sour cream, and sometimes going so far as to trim the spars to the correct balance by weighing shavings. By such meticulous attention to detail, Nevins built more cup-winning yachts than anyone else in the industry. In 1939, Henry B. Nevins Inc. was awarded $15,000 by the United States Navy for the best design of a 54-foot motor torpedo boat. During World War II, Henry B. Nevins Inc. built 24 YMS-1 class minesweepers for the U.S. Navy and 4 aircraft-rescue boats during as part of the war effort. A few
    0.00
    0 votes
    197
    John Brown & Company

    John Brown & Company

    • Ships built: HMS Tiger
    John Brown and Company of Clydebank was a pre-eminent Scottish marine engineering and shipbuilding firm, responsible for building many notable and world-famous ships, such as the RMS Lusitania, HMS Hood, HMS Repulse, the RMS Queen Mary, the RMS Queen Elizabeth, and the RMS Queen Elizabeth 2. At their height, from 1900 to the 1950s, they were one of the most highly regarded, and internationally famous, shipbuilding companies in the world. However after that time, along with other UK shipbuilders, they found it increasingly difficult to compete with the emerging shipyards in Eastern Europe and the far East. In 1968, they merged with other Clydeside shipyards to form the Upper Clyde Shipbuilders consortium, but that collapsed in 1971. John Brown and Company ceased its involvement with shipbuilding. The engineering wing of the company continued successfully and was eventually bought out by Trafalgar House in 1986. It continued to operate as a wholly owned subsidiary of Trafalgar House until 1996, when Trafalgar House was acquired by Kvaerner, which later closed the Clydebank engineering works in 2000. The Clydebank shipyard was purchased from UCS initially by Marathon Oil, and
    0.00
    0 votes
    198
    0.00
    0 votes
    199
    Nobiskrug

    Nobiskrug

    • Ships built: Tatoosh
    Nobiskrug Ltd. is a shipbuilding company located on the Eider River in Rendsburg, Germany, specializing in building luxury yachts. It is now a subsidiary of Abu Dhabi MAR. The shipyard currently employs some 400 people. The name Nobiskrug is taken from the ancient land register designation for the site on which the shipyard is located. In mythology, Nobiskrug means the last stop in this world on the way to the next. Linguists and historians categorise Nobiskrug as a name used in northern Germany for taverns, inns and public houses. Nobiskrug is a shipyard located at the Kiel Canal in Rendsburg/Germany. Since summer 2009 Nobiskrug is part of Abu Dhabi Mar. This Group also owns the French shipyard CMN and ADM Shipyards in Abu Dhabi. From 1905 Nobiskrug has delivered more than 700 newbuilds and numerous conversions. Nobiskrug’s facilities in Rendsburg are a place for newbuilds, repairs and refit of mega yachts and naval vessels. The two dry docks and the two slipways can accommodate vessels up to 200 m. The superyacht hall is dedicated to the outfitting and coating of megayachts. Its partition bulkhead even allows for docking of a second yacht separately. Furthermore, Nobiskrug also
    0.00
    0 votes
    200
    Robert Napier

    Robert Napier

    • Ships built: HMS Invincible
    Robert Napier (21 June 1791 - 23 June 1876) was a Scottish engineer, and is often called "The Father of Clyde Shipbuilding." Robert Napier was born in Dumbarton at the height of the Industrial Revolution, to James and Jean Napier. James was of a line of esteemed bell-wrights, blacksmiths, and engineers, with a brother (also named Robert) who served as blacksmith for the Duke of Argyll at Inveraray Castle. Robert was educated at the burgh school where he took an interest in drawing, which reflected in his later life in an interest in painting and fine arts. Against his father's hopes that he would become a minister in the Church of Scotland, he developed an interest in the family business. At age sixteen, he was confronted by a Royal Navy press gang who intended to conscript him into service during the Napoleonic Wars. Instead of allowing his son to be conscripted, James Napier signed a contract of formal indenture with his son, making him immune to conscription. Robert's apprenticeship with his father lasted for five years, after which time he moved to Edinburgh and worked for Robert Stevenson, builder of the Bell Rock Lighthouse. In 1815 he went into business for himself, opening
    0.00
    0 votes
    201
    0.00
    0 votes
    202
    Scotts Shipbuilding and Engineering Company

    Scotts Shipbuilding and Engineering Company

    • Ships built: SS Khedive Ismail
    Scotts Shipbuilding and Engineering Company Limited, often referred to simply as Scotts, was a Scottish shipbuilding company based in Greenock on the River Clyde. The Company was founded by John Scott who commenced shipbuilding at Greenock in 1711. The Scott family took over the Greenock Foundry in 1790 and C G Scott started building at Cartsdyke Dockyard in 1850 as Scott & Company. John Scott (II) and Robert Scott acquired the adjacent yard of R Steele & Company in 1883 to create the Cartsburn Dockyard, which was laid out for naval construction. By 1900 John Swire & Company were major shareholders and Henry Scott was a director of Swire Scotts. He specified and oversaw construction of Swire's Taikoo Dockyard in Hong Kong. Swire's was 25% owned by the Scott Family. In 1925 Scott's took over Ross & Marshall's Cartsdyke Mid Yard. In 1934 they exchanged their Cartsdyke East yard for Cartsdyke Mid yard with Greenock Dockyard Ltd. In June 1965 the Company took over Scott's & Sons (Bowling) Ltd and in December 1965 Scott's merged with the Greenock Dockyard Company and the Cartsburn and Cartsdyke Dockyards were fully integrated in 1966. In 1967 the Company merged with Lithgows to form
    0.00
    0 votes
    203
    0.00
    0 votes
    204

    Seatrain Shipbuilding

    • Ships built: Brooklyn
    Seatrain Lines started Seatrain Shipbuilding inside the Brooklyn Navy Yard in 1968 with the intent to build 5 VLCC's 225,000 [Very Large Crude Carriers] commonly call supertankers. The Federal Government by way of the Economic Development Administration of the Department of Commerence advanced Seatrain $5 million in direct loans and guaranteed 90% of $82 million in loans from Chase Manhattan Bank. Seatrain Lines injected $38 million of their own money into the project. The union chosen to represent the shipyard production workers was the United Industrial Workers of North America. from the book Brooklyn Steel-Blood Tenacity by Frank J. Trezza pages 12-14 Seatrain Built 4 220,000 ton VLCC's, 8 Barges, 1 Ice Breaker Barge and 2 Ro-Ro's. One Ro-Ro was never finished and was scrapped. Seatrain Shipbuilding also had a contract to rebuild the burned out hull of the Sea Witch Bath Iron Works Built. The Sea Witch was to be turned into a chemical tanker by Seatrain Sipbuilding. from the book Brooklyn Steel-Blood Tenacity by Frank J Trezza, pages 168 & 132 Seatrain filed for protection on February 11, 1981 under Chapter 11 with the US Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of New York.
    0.00
    0 votes
    205
    0.00
    0 votes
    206
    0.00
    0 votes
    207
    0.00
    0 votes
    208
    STX Finland Cruise Oy

    STX Finland Cruise Oy

    • Ships built: M/S Rosella
    STX Finland Cruise Oy, formerly Aker Yards Oy, is a Finnish shipbuilding company operating three shipyards in Finland, in Helsinki, Turku and Rauma, employing some 4,000 people. It is part of STX Europe, a group of International shipbuilding companies. The current STX Finland Cruise Oy is a descendant of different shipyard companies. Wärtsilä operated the shipyards of Helsinki and Turku since the 1930s. Wärtsilä's shipbuilding division went bankrupt in 1989 after merging with Valmet shipyards. Masa-Yards was established by Martin Saarikangas with financing from the shipping companies to finish the ships under construction, eventually taking over the operations of Wärtsilä's former shipyards. In the mid-90's Kvaerner purchased Masa-Yards and Kvaerner Masa-Yards was born. In 1991 the shipbuilding businesses of Hollming Oy of Rauma and Rauma-Repola of Rauma were merged to form Finnyards. This company was purchased by Kvaerner and became Aker Finnyards. In January 2005 Kvaerner Masa-Yards and Aker Finnyards merged to form the "new" Aker Finnyards Oy. The name of the company was changed to Aker Yards Oy on 7 June 2006, and to STX Finland Cruise Oy on 23 November 2008, but uses STX
    0.00
    0 votes
    Get your friends to vote! Spread this URL or share:
    Tags: best, all, time, ship, builder

    Discuss Best Ship Builder of All Time

    Top List Voters