A museum is a "permanent institution in the service of society and of its development, open to the public, which acquires, conserves, researches, communicates and exhibits the tangible and intangible heritage of humanity and its environment, for the purposes of education, study, and enjoyment", as defined by the International Council of Museums.
More about Best Museum of All Time:
Best Museum of All Time is a public top list created by Listnerd on rankly.com on November 27th 2012. Items on the Best Museum of All Time top list are added by the rankly.com community and ranked using our secret ranking sauce. Best Museum of All Time has gotten 1.296 views and has gathered 619 votes from 619 voters. O O
Best Museum of All Time is a top list in the Arts & Design category on rankly.com. Are you a fan of Arts & Design or Best Museum of All Time? Explore more top 100 lists about Arts & Design on rankly.com or participate in ranking the stuff already on the all time Best Museum of All Time top list below.
If you're not a member of rankly.com, you should consider becoming one. Registration is fast, free and easy. At rankly.com, we aim to give you the best of everything - including stuff like the Best Museum of All Time list.
Get your friends to vote! Spread this URL or share:
The Guggenheim Museum Bilbao is a museum of modern and contemporary art, designed by Canadian-American architect Frank Gehry, built by Ferrovial, and located in Bilbao, Basque Country, Spain.
It is built alongside the Nervion River, which runs through the city of Bilbao to the Atlantic Coast. The Guggenheim is one of several museums belonging to the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation. The museum features permanent and visiting exhibits of works by Spanish and international artists.
One of the most admired works of contemporary architecture, the building has been hailed as a "signal moment in the architectural culture", because it represents "one of those rare moments when critics, academics, and the general public were all completely united about something." The museum was the building most frequently named as one of the most important works completed since 1980 in the 2010 World Architecture Survey among architecture experts.
In 1991, the Basque government suggested to the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation that it would fund a Guggenheim museum to be built in Bilbao's decrepit port area, once the city's main source of income. The Basque government agreed to cover the US$100 million
The Natuurhistorisch Museum Rotterdam is a natural history museum at Museumpark in Rotterdam, the Netherlands.
The museum is located in the Villa Dijkzigt, dating from 1852 and extended in 1995 with a modern glazed pavilion which was designed by the Dutch architect Erick van Egeraat. Villa Dijkzigt was originally built by J. F. Metzelaar for the Van Hoboken family.
The museum includes a shop and a library.
The National Museum of Malí (French: Musée national du Mali) is an archaeological and anthropological museum located in Bamako, the capital of Mali. It presents permanent and temporary exhibits on the history of Mali, as well as the musical instruments, dress, and ritual objects associated with Mali's various ethnic groups.
The National Museum began under French rule as the Sudanese Museum, part of the Institut Français d’Afrique Noire (IFAN) under Théodore Monod. It was opened on February 14, 1953, under the direction of Ukrainian archaeologist Y. Shumowskyi. Archaeologist Y. Shumovskyi had worked in the museum for nine years, gathering the half (nearly 3000 findings) of today's founds.
With the independence of the Republic of Mali in 1960, the Sudanese Museum became the National Museum of Mali, with the new objectives of promoting national unity and celebrating Malian traditional culture. However, lack of financial means and absence of qualified personnel caused some deterioration in the museum's collections.
On March 30, 1956, the National Museum moved into a new cemented structure, created by architect Jean-Loup Pivin from traditional Malian designs. Since the 1996 election of
The Klingspor-Museum is a museum in Offenbach, Germany, for the art of modern book production, typography and type. It includes a collection of the fine art books from Karl Klingspor, one of the owners of Gebr. Klingspor type foundry in Offenbach, built the basis to this museum. The museum hosts the work of famous type designers like Rudolf Koch, Otto Eckmann, Peter Behrens, Walter Tiemann, Rudo Spemann, Imre Reiner, Hans Bohn, Karlgeorg Hoefer, Ernst Schneidler, Rudo Spemann, Werner Bunz and Georg Trump.
Paul Ritter donated his collection of Frans Masereel to the museum. Many works from other printing collections like Acorn Press, Bremer Presse, Cranach Presse, Doves Press, Edition Tiessen, Ernst Engel Presse, to name a few, are in the collection of the museum.
The library is open for visitors and holds several exhibitions each year.
Nizam Museum or H.E.H Nizam's Museum is a museum located in Hyderabad at Purani Haveli, a palace of the erstwhile Nizams. This museum showcases the gifts that the last Nizam of Hyderabad state, Osman Ali Khan, Asaf Jah VII received on his silver jubilee celebrations.
The museum is a repository mainly of souvenirs, gifts and mementos presented by dignitaries to the last Nizam gifts and mementos presented to the last Nizam on the occasion of the silver jubilee celebrations in 1936. Models made of silver of all the landmark buildings in Hyderabad, and citations in Urdu about H.E.H. Mir Osman Ali Khan.
A golden, wooden throne used for the silver jubilee celebrations of the Last Nizam, a gold tiffin box inlaid with diamonds, miniature repilica of the Jubilee Hall, glass inlay painting of Mir Osman Ali Khan. Also, a wooden writing box studded with mother-of-pearl, diamond and gold-studded daggers, caskets, and silver ittardans (perfume containers) presented by the raja of palvancha. silver coffee cups studded with diamonds and silver filigree elephant with mahout are on display.
A 1930 Rolls Royce, Packard and a Jaguar Mark V are among the vintage cars on display.
The museum also
Mission Mill Museum is a historic museum located in Salem, Oregon, United States. It features working displays of a woolen mill—the Thomas Kay Woolen Mill—and several historic Salem buildings that have been relocated to the mill site.
The original Kay Woolen Mill was opened in 1890, by Thomas L. Kay, whose family eventually founded Pendleton Woolen Mills. The workforce of 50 labored 60-hour weeks. In 1895, a fire destroyed much of the mill and outbuildings. Kay died in 1900 and his son Thomas B. Kay took over as president and served until his own death in 1931.
By 1898 the mill had been rebuilt. Two additional stories were added in 1941.
The museum includes a water power interpretive exhibit by Portland General Electric. The exhibit demonstrates how the mill was run using the water from Mill Creek.
Founded in 1939 by the Columbia River Archaeological Society, the Wenatchee Valley Museum & Cultural Center (WVMCC) showcases local and regional history, natural sciences and the arts. It is housed in two historic buildings in downtown Wenatchee, Washington, USA, with three floors of unique displays interpreting life in the valley of the mid-Columbia. WVMCC hosts a variety of special events and family programs throughout the year.
Highlights for visitors include 11,000-year-old Clovis points discovered in 1987 in East Wenatchee; petroglyphs recovered prior to the construction of Rock Island Dam; Native American trade history; a tree fruit exhibit featuring a 1920s-era apple packing line with its unique catapult sizing machine; a model H0 scale train layout portraying three Great Northern Railway routes across the Cascade Mountains from 1892 to the present; Main Street 1910 with a general store, farm shop, house interior, and vintage autos; a working 1919 Wurlitzer pipe organ; and the world's first nonstop trans-Pacific flight, by Clyde Pangborn and Hugh Herndon, that landed in East Wenatchee in 1931.
Some of the special programs WVMCC presents for children and adults are Super
The Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (French for "National Museum of Fine Arts of Quebec") is a museum in Quebec City, Quebec, Canada gathering approximately 25,000 works essentially produced in Quebec, or by Quebec artists, some of which dating from the 18th century. It also houses a library since 1987. It is located on the Plains of Abraham, in The Battlefields Park.
Founded in 1933, the museum was first known as the "Musée de la province de Québec", then as the "Musée du Québec" from 1961 before being rechristened in 2002 of its current denomination by the Bernard Landry government. It consists of three pavilions, each in a distinct building. One of these is the old prison of Quebec City, dating from the 19th century, and the interior is a contemporary witness of carceral life in the era. Since 1995, the museum receives financial support from a foundation called La Fondation du Musée.
The Museum is affiliated with: CMA, CHIN, and Virtual Museum of Canada.
The Peabody Museum of Natural History at Yale University is among the oldest, largest, and most prolific university natural history museums in the world. It was founded by the philanthropist George Peabody in 1866 at the behest of his nephew Othniel Charles Marsh, the early paleontologist. Most known to the public for its Great Hall of Dinosaurs, which includes a mounted juvenile Apatosaurus and the 110-foot (34 m) long mural, The Age of Reptiles; it also has permanent exhibits dedicated to human and mammal evolution; wildlife dioramas, Egyptian artifacts; and the birds, minerals and Native Americans of Connecticut.
The Peabody Museum is located at 170 Whitney Avenue in New Haven, Connecticut, USA, and is run by almost one hundred staff members. While the original building was demolished in 1917, it moved to its current location in 1925, and has since expanded to occupy the Peabody Museum, the attached Bingham and Kline Laboratories, parts of three additional buildings, and a field station at the Long Island Sound. The museum also owns Horse Island in the Thimble Islands, which is not opened to the public, but used for experiments. Space is used for storage, work, and classrooms.
The Musée du quai Branly (French pronunciation: [my.ze dy ke bʁan.li]), known in English as the Quai Branly Museum, nicknamed MQB, is a museum in Paris, France that features indigenous art, cultures and civilizations from Africa, Asia, Oceania, and the Americas. The museum is located at 37, quai Branly - portail Debilly, 75007 Paris, France, situated close to the Eiffel Tower. The nearest métro and RER stations are Alma – Marceau and Pont de l'Alma. It is named after its location which in turn is named after the physicist Édouard Branly.
A commission was established to study the feasibility of building the museum in 1995. When the study was concluded, land was reserved near the Eiffel Tower for the future museum. The curved site on the edge of the Quai Branly and the Seine is situated 100 metres from the Eiffel Tower. The site was previously selected to accommodate the Centre International de Conferences, an abandoned Grand Projet of François Mitterrand. French President Jacques Chirac was a very influential proponent of the project. Quai Branly opened on June 23, 2006. For the whole story of the MQB (and the introduction of "primitive art" to the Louvre Museum), see Paris
Buffalo Museum of Science is a science museum located at Martin Luther King, Jr. Park in Buffalo, New York USA, northeast of the downtown district, near the Kensington Expressway. The historic building was designed by August Esenwein and James A. Johnson and opened in 1929. The attractions include animals, astronomy, the science of technology, and more about science.
Connections is an interactive gallery featuring 90 minute sessions that allow visitors to experience hands-on learning. Programs include exploring interconnectedness of all things, types of energy, cyclic patterns in the universe, the worlds of color and light, the water cycle, nature's biodiversity, and rocks and minerals.
Explorations is an interactive gallery for children aged 2 to 7 featuring new themes every month.
Dinosaurs & Co. is a collection of fossils organized into four sections: The Early Seas, Conquest of the Land, The Age of Dinosaurs and The Age of Mammals. Specimens include 50-million-year-old birds, feathers and flowers, the earliest known land plant, a trilobite trapped in a seashell nearly 400 million years ago, a cast of a Tyrannosaurus Rex skull, a Triceratops cast, and Allosaurus fragilis.
The Naples National Archaeological Museum (Museo Archeologico Nazionale di Napoli) is a museum in Naples, southern Italy, at the northwest corner of the original Greek wall of the city of Neapolis. The museum contains a large collection of Roman artifacts from Pompeii, Stabiae and Herculaneum. The collection includes works of the highest quality produced in Greek, Roman and Renaissance times. It is the most important Italian archaeological museum.
Charles III of Spain founded the museum in the 1750s. The building he used for it had been erected as a cavalry barracks and during its time as the seat of the University of Naples (from 1616 to 1777) was extended, in the late 18th century.
The museum hosts extensive collections of Greek and Roman antiquities. Their core is from the Farnese Collection, which includes a collection of engraved gems (including the Farnese Cup, a Ptolemaic bowl made of sardonyx agate and the most famous piece in the "Treasure of the Magnificent", and is founded upon gems collected by Cosimo de' Medici and Lorenzo il Magnifico in the 15th century) and the Farnese Marbles. Among the notable works found in the museum are the Herculaneum papyri, carbonized by the
The Somerset Rural Life Museum is situated in Glastonbury, Somerset, UK. It is a museum of the social and agricultural history of Somerset, housed in buildings surrounding a 14th century barn once belonging to Glastonbury Abbey.
It was used as a Tithe barn for the storage of arable produce, particularly wheat and rye, from the abbey's home farm of approximately 524 acres (2.12 km). Threshing and winnowing would also have been carried out in the barn.
The barn which was built from local 'shelly' limestone, with thick timbers supporting the stone tiling of the roof. It has been designated by English Heritage as a grade I listed building, and is a Scheduled Ancient Monument. In 2011 the 14 feet (4.3 m) high doors of the barn were replaced by local craftsmen using materials and traditional techniques and materials to a design based on The Bishop's Eye in Wells.
After the Dissolution of the Monasteries in 1539 the barn was given to the Duke of Somerset. By the early 20th century it was being used as a farm store by the Mapstone family. In 1974 they donated it to Somerset County Council and between 1976 and 1978 underwent restoration. It was also used as the location for the pistol duel
The Institute of Contemporary Arts (ICA) is an artistic and cultural centre on The Mall in London, just off Trafalgar Square. It is located within Nash House, part of Carlton House Terrace, near the Duke of York Steps and Admiralty Arch. It contains galleries, a theatre, two cinemas, a bookshop and a bar. Since 2011, the director is Gregor Muir.
The ICA was founded by Roland Penrose, Peter Watson, Herbert Read, Peter Gregory, Geoffrey Grigson and E.L.T. Mesens in 1946. The ICA's founders intended to establish a space where artists, writers and scientists could debate ideas outside the traditional confines of the Royal Academy. The first exhibitions were held in rented premises organised by Penrose, '40 Years of Modern Art' was followed by '40,000 Years of Modern Art' reflecting his interest in primitivism.
In the late 1940s, the ICA met in the basement of the Academy of Cinema, 165 Oxford Street. The Academy Cinema building included the Pavilion, a restaurant, and the Marquee ballroom in the basement, the building was owned by George Hoellering the film, jazz and big band promoter.
In December 1950, the ICA's first regular premises were opened at 17-18 Dover Street, with Ewan
The Brighton Toy and Model Museum (sometimes referred to as Brighton Toy Museum) is situated in Brighton, East Sussex, and is one of the world's finest toy museums. Its collection of toys and models extends across four thousand square feet of floor space, through four of the early Victorian arches supporting the forecourt of Brighton railway station. Founded in 1991, it has over ten thousand toys and models, including priceless model train collections, radio-controlled aircraft, and many antique toys.
Its display area includes two large operational model railway layouts (in 0- and 00-gauge), and displays of period pieces from a range of manufacturer including Bing, Dinky, Hornby Trains, Märklin, Meccano, Pelham Puppets and Steiff. It also includes individually engineered pieces such as the working quarter-scale traction engine and the Spitfire fighter planes in the lobby, and a range of other working models throughout the museum.
Previously known as the Sussex Toy And Model Museum, it is situated in Trafalgar Street, Brighton, under four of the arches supporting Brighton railway station. Entrance to the first arch of the museum, containing the foyer/shop area and the Brighton
The Finnish Museum of Natural History (Finnish: Luonnontieteellinen keskusmuseo, Swedish: Naturhistoriska centralmuseet), established in 1988, is a research institution under the University of Helsinki in Finland. It is responsible for the national botanical, zoological, geological and paleontological collections consisting of samples from around the world. The collections serve scientific, public informational and educational purposes.
Performs age determination of samples with physical methods (radiocarbon and optically stimulated luminescence dating).
Maintains a collection of 8 million animal specimens; performs research mainly on systematics, taxonomy, and zoogeography.
Maintains collections of rock and ore samples (35,000 items), meteorites (500), and fossils (6,000).
Maintains the national herbarium of Finland containing 3,1 million specimens of plants and fungi.
Maintains a collection of living plants for education and research; is responsible for international seed exchange and public education on plants.
Media related to Finnish Museum of Natural History at Wikimedia Commons
The Kennet & Avon Canal Museum in Devizes, Wiltshire, England has a range of exhibits about the conception, design, usage and eventual commercial decline of the Kennet and Avon Canal, as well as its subsequent restoration.
The museum is located at Devizes Wharf, off Couch Lane, within easy walking distance of the centre of Devizes and the famous Caen Hill Flight of 29 locks. It is operated by the Kennet and Avon Canal Trust, which also has its headquarters and a shop within the Canal Centre.
On the same site is the Wharf Theatre in an old warehouse.
Kansas Aviation Museum is located in Riverside Township, Sedgwick County, near Wichita, Kansas at 3350 George Washington Blvd.
The Museum features many display aircraft including the B-47 Stratojet, B-52 Stratofortress, KC-135 Stratotanker, Boeing 727, Boeing 737-200, Republic F-84F Thunderstreak, Beech Starship, O-2 Skymaster, Cessna T-37, Learjet 23, Stearman Trainer, Laird Swallow, U-8 Seminole, and Lockheed T-33."
The Kansas Aviation Museum is in the Terminal and Administration building of the former Municipal Airport in Wichita. The building and landing area are constructed on ground that had never been plowed and was known as the California section. The Park Board purchased 640 acres (2.6 km) in 1928 and, with Glen Thomas as architect, started the building on July 1, 1930, but construction soon halted due to the Great Depression and lack of funds. The building sat uncompleted until 1935 with a dedication on Sunday March 31, 1935.
Wichita was the last stop before crossing the Rocky Mountains to Denver or Los Angeles in those days. The airport was greatly needed for fuel and more importantly weather updates. As told in story after story, many people who landed,ate at the
Sursock Museum, which is officially known as Nicolas Sursock Museum, is a modern art museum Beirut, Lebanon that was directed by an collector named Ibrahim M. Beyhum . It is located in the historic street known as Rue Sursock in the Achrafieh district of Beirut. The street is home to other mansions that were built in the 18th century by Beirut's most prominent families such as the Sursocks and the Bustroses. The museum was ranked #7 of 112 things to do in Beirut by Lonely Planet travelers.
The Sursock Museum is a great example of Lebanese architecture, which has Italianate, specifically Venetian, and Ottoman architectural influences. The wealthy Nicolas Sursock, a member of one of Beirut's most prominent aristocratic families, built the museum as a private villa at the end of the 19th century. Nicolas Sursock who died in 1961 bequeathed his villa to the city of Beirut. According to his will, the villa was transformed into a museum.
The Museum opened its doors in 1961 with an exhibit of works of contemporary Lebanese artists, setting a precedent for cultural events in Beirut. Since then, more than a hundred exhibitions have been held, displaying the works of both Lebanese and
Northern Ohio Railway Museum is a railroad museum located in Chippewa Lake, Ohio. The Museum is a non-profit, educational organization. It was established in 1965, granted 501(c)(3) status by the Internal Revenue Service in 1966 and incorporated under the laws of the State of Ohio in 1976. The membership is approximately 180 electric railway devotees who reside throughout the United States and Canada, with the majority clustered in northeastern Ohio.
The mission of the Northern Ohio Railway Museum is to collect, preserve and maintain for study and exhibition streetcars, artifacts, mementos and assorted railway equipment related to the origin, development and use of transit equipment and operations in northern Ohio. The major focus is building an operating railway museum that will allow the running of the current collection of railway equipment for the education and enjoyment of the public.
The Museum is situated on 42 acres (17 ha) in the Chippewa Valley, near two Interstate highways. It is 45 minutes from Cleveland, 30 minutes from Akron and 90 minutes from Columbus. Properties consist of two miles of former Cleveland and Southwestern interurban right of way and a 30 acres (12 ha)
Science North is an interactive science museum in Greater Sudbury, Ontario, Canada.
The complex, which is Northern Ontario's most popular tourist attraction, consists of two snowflake-shaped buildings on the southwestern shore of Lake Ramsey, just south of the city's downtown core, as well as a former ice hockey arena which includes the complex's entrance and an IMAX theatre. The snowflake buildings are connected by a rock tunnel, which passes through a billion-year-old geologic fault. This fault line was not known to be under the complex during the construction of the building in the early 1980s. Where the walkway reaches the larger snowflake, the Inco Cavern auditorium is frequently used for temporary exhibits, as well as for press conferences and other gala events both by Science North and by the wider community.
Inside the main building, a 20-metre fin whale skeleton recovered from Anticosti Island hangs from the ceiling.
The complex also features a boat tour, the Cortina, which offers touring cruises of the scenic Lake Ramsey. The Jim Gordon Boardwalk also extends from the facility to the city's Bell Park along the western shore of the lake.
The facility was designed by
Szoborpark or Statue Park is a park in Budapest's XXII district, with a gathering of monumental Soviet-era statues. These include statues of Lenin, Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels, as well as local Hungarian Communist leaders such as Béla Kun. The park was designed by Hungarian architect, Ákos Eleőd, who won the competition announced by the Budapest General Assembly (Fővárosi Közgyűlés) in 1991.
After the fall of the Communist regime in Hungary in 1989, many of the Communist statues and monuments were immediately removed. These formed the basis for the current collection in Statue Park. On June 29, 1993, the second anniversary of the withdrawal of Russian troops from Hungarian territory, the park celebrated a ribbon cutting and grand opening as a public outdoor museum.
A life-sized copy of the tribune of the Stalin Monument in Budapest was built in the Statue Park with the broken bronze shoes on top of the pedestal in 2006. This is not an accurate copy of the original but only an artistic recreation by sculptor Ákos Eleőd.
Memento park also includes an exhibition and film theatre. The photography exhibition, called “Stalin’s Boots”, covers the 1956 revolution, the 1989-1990
Brandywine Battlefield Historic Site is a historical park that was operated by the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, on 50 acres (200,000 m), near Chadds Ford, Delaware County, Pennsylvania in the United States. It is part of the site of the Battle of Brandywine fought on September 11, 1777, during the American Revolution. The battle was a major victory for the British and enabled them to capture the city of Philadelphia. Brandywine Battlefield Park became a Pennsylvania State Park in 1949 and a National Historic Landmark in 1961.
To the north, another part of the battlefield is maintained by Birmingham Township, Chester County, Pennsylvania as "Battlefield of the Brandywine Park," or "Sandy Hollow Heritage Park." Much of the afternoon's fighting took place between Birmingham Friends Meetinghouse and Dilworthtown.
On August 14, 2009, the state closed the battlefield and three other PHMC museums indefinitely due to a lack of funding as part of an ongoing budget crisis. The historic site opened again after 11 days, operating under an interim agreement between the PHMC and Chadds Ford Township with the Brandywine Battlefield Associates, or "Friends of Brandywine
The Indian Museum (Bengali: ভারতীয় জাদুঘর) is the largest museum in India and has rare collections of antiques, armour and ornaments, fossils, skeletons, mummies, and Mughal paintings. It was founded by Dr Nathaniel Wallich, a Danish botanist at Serampore (originally called Frederischnagore) near Kolkata (Calcutta), India, in 1814.
It has six sections comprising thirty five galleries of cultural and scientific artifacts namely Art, Archaeology, Anthropology, Geology, Zoology and Economic Botany. This multipurpose Institution with multidisciplinary activities is being included as an Institute of national importance in the seventh schedule of the Constitution of India. It is one of oldest museums in the world. This is an autonomous organization under Ministry of Culture, Government of India.
This was the first museum of its kind in Asia. The Indian museum rose from the Asiatic Society of Bengal which was created by Sir William Jones in 1784. Many relics and curiosities were sent in initially and the space required was granted by the Government of India between Park Street and Chowringhee.
In February 2, 1814, Dr Nathaniel Wallich wrote a letter supporting the formation of a museum
The Whitney Museum of American Art, often referred to simply as "the Whitney", is an art museum with a focus on 20th- and 21st-century American art located at 945 Madison Avenue at 75th Street in New York City. The Whitney's permanent collection comprises more than 19,000 paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, photographs, films, videos, and new media by more than 2,900 artists. The Whitney places a particular emphasis on exhibiting the work of living artists for its collection as well as maintaining an extensive permanent collection containing many important pieces from the first half of the last century. The museum's Annual and Biennial exhibitions have long been a venue for younger and less well-known artists whose work is showcased by the museum.
Gertrude Vanderbilt Whitney, the museum's namesake and founder, was herself a well-regarded sculptor as well as a serious art collector. As a patron of the arts, she had already achieved some success as the creator of the "Whitney Studio Club," a New York–based exhibition space which she created in 1918 to promote the works of avant-garde and unrecognized American artists. With the aid of her assistant, Juliana Force, Whitney had
The Museum of History and Industry (MOHAI) is a museum located in the Montlake neighborhood of Seattle, Washington, United States. Accredited by the American Association of Museums, MOHAI is "dedicated to enriching lives by preserving, sharing and teaching the diverse history of Seattle, the Puget Sound region and the nation."
In 1911, Morgan and Emily Carkeek hosted the first annual Founder's Day party at their home, which was an invitation-only event where guests dressed in historic costumes and brought artifacts and documents related to early Seattle. An outcome of these parties was the establishment of the Seattle Historical Society in 1914, the membership of which was limited to white settlers and their descendants.
The Seattle Historical Society lacked a building to house their museum. Several attempts to find a permanent location were abandoned because of challenging financial circumstances, especially during the Depression, and the fact that the original society members were aging and new members were hard to come by. The collection continued to grow, however. In 1945, Boeing offered $50,000 towards an aviation wing, and over the next 5 years, the Society successfully
The Railroaders Memorial Museum (RMM) is a railroad museum in Altoona, Pennsylvania. The museum is dedicated to revealing, interpreting, commemorating and celebrating the significant contributions of railroaders and their families to American life and industry.
Altoona is one of the hubs of the area's growing tourist industry. Many significant cultural resources are within the city itself, and most of these resources are linked directly to the city's long history as a railroad center. Altoona is in a section of southwestern Pennsylvania that is home to a number of significant cultural and historic resources. The Allegheny Portage Railroad National Historic Site, Johnstown Flood National Memorial, Horseshoe Curve National Historic Site, Staple Bend Tunnel (America's first railroad tunnel), and the historic iron furnace at Mt. Etna are all within 25 miles (40 km) of Altoona.
For more than a century Altoona was one of the most important rail facilities in the United States. The city was home to the Altoona Works, Pennsylvania Railroad's repair and maintenance shops, locomotive construction facility, and test department. Altoona's location at the foot of the Allegheny front and its
The Museum of Photographic Arts (MoPA) is a museum in San Diego’s Balboa Park. First founded in 1974, MoPA opened in 1983. MoPA is one of three museums in the US dedicated exclusively to the collection and preservation of photography, with a mission to inspire, educate and engage the broadest possible audience through the presentation, collection, and preservation of photography, film and video. The museum's address is 1649 El Prado, San Diego, CA, 92101.
Arthur Ollman was the Museum of Photographic Arts's first Executive Director. Deborah Klochko is the current (2010) Executive Director. In March 2000, the museum re-opened to the public after a twelve-month renovation project. It expanded its gallery space and added a classroom, a theater, a print viewing room and a 20,000-volume library. Carol McCusker is currently the Curator of Photography.
Over the years, MoPA has collected thousands of photographs that currently reside in the museum’s permanent collection, which includes photographs that span the history of photography. It includes collections from film maker Lou Stoumen’s estate as well as the entire Nagasaki Journey: The Photographs of Yosuke Yamahata, August 10, 1945.
The Northwest Seaport Maritime Heritage Center is a nonprofit organization in Seattle, Washington dedicated to the preservation and interpretation of Puget Sound and Northwest Coast maritime heritage, expressed through educational programs and experiences available to the public. The organization owns several large historic vessels moored at the Historic Ships' Wharf in Seattle's Lake Union Park.
These vessels, especially the 1889 wooden tugboat Arthur Foss, are used as platforms for a variety of public programs, ranging from shows and festivals to restoration workshops.
Northwest Seaport is adjacent to the Center for Wooden Boats on the shore of Lake Union in downtown Seattle.
Northwest Seaport was founded in the early 1960s as the Save Our Ships project to save the Wawona. Save Our Ships bought the Wawona in 1964, followed by the light ship Relief.
Northwest Seaport offers a variety of programs meant to reach a broad audience. Some programs are conducted in partnership with the Center for Wooden Boats.
Several boats and ships moored in South Lake Union make up the collection of Northwest Seaport. As of 2007 these vessels are on the National Register of Historic Places:
The Chrysler Museum of Art is an art museum in the Ghent district of Norfolk, Virginia. The museum was originally founded in 1933 as the Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences. In 1971, automotive heir, Walter P. Chrysler, Jr. (whose wife, Jean Outland Chrysler, was a native of Norfolk), donated most of his extensive collection to the museum. This single gift significantly expanded the museum's collection, making it one of the major art museums in the Southeastern United States. From 1958 to 1971, the Chrysler Museum of Art was a smaller museum consisting solely of Chrysler's personal collection and housed in the historic Center Methodist Church in Provincetown, Massachusetts. Today's museum sits on a small body of water known as The Hague in the Ghent district, near downtown Norfolk.
The New York Times described the Chrysler collection as "one any museum in the world would kill for." Comprising over 30,000 objects the collection spans over 5000 years of world history. American and European paintings and sculpture from the Middle Ages to the present day form the core of the collection.
The museum's most significant holdings include works by Tintoretto, Veronese, Peter Paul Rubens,
Eckley Miners' Village in eastern Pennsylvania is an anthracite coal mining patch town located near Hazleton, Luzerne County, Pennsylvania, in the United States. Since 1970, Eckley has been owned and operated as a museum by the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission.
Before the 1850s, Eckley was not a mining town, but a rural, forested community called Shingletown. It was located on land owned by the Tench Coxe Estate. The inhabitants took advantage of the surrounding woodlands and made shingles to be sold in White Haven and Hazleton. These goods were traded for the necessities of life, such as “whiskey, port, and tobacco”.
In 1853, four prospectors came to Shingletown and found that the land contained several veins of coal. Within the year these four men, Richard Sharpe, Asa Foster, Francis Weiss and John Leisenring, formed Sharpe, Leisenring and Company, later known as Sharpe, Weiss, and Company. Judge Charles Coxe of Philadelphia, executor of the Tench Coxe Estate, granted the company a 20-year lease for the establishment and operation of a colliery on these 1,500 acres (6 km²) of land. In 1854 the company began work on this, the Council Ridge Colliery.
By autumn of 1854,
The Porthcurno Telegraph Museum is a museum located in the small coastal village of Porthcurno Cornwall, UK. Porthcurno was the point at which many submarine telegraph cables—transatlantic and to other locations—came ashore. The museum, which opened in May 1998, is housed in the former telegraph facility.
The SS Great Eastern liner made by Isambard Kingdom Brunel was employed as a cable laying ship. Its size made it the first choice to lay the original cables that linked the administrative outposts of the British Empire. The first European cable was not a success, its small diameter created too great a resistance to the voltage used and the signal was too weak to be reliable. An attempt to increase the voltage pressure resulted in insulation breakdown and subsequent failure of the telegraph link. The cables are heavily armoured for protection against damage as they come ashore, a lighter construction technique is used at depth on the ocean floor. Modern cables are usually Fibre optic and are much lighter in construction, international information is now made available of the locations of submarine cables. When the system was completed, central government in Britain had a method of
The Canadian War Museum (CWM) (French: Musée canadien de la guerre) is Canada’s national museum of military history. Located in Ottawa, Ontario, the museum covers all facets of Canada’s military past, from the first recorded instances of death by armed violence in Canadian history several hundred years ago to the country’s most recent involvement in conflicts. It includes major permanent exhibitions on wars that have been fought on Canadian soil, the total wars of the twentieth century, the Cold War and peace support operations abroad, and Canada’s history of honouring and remembrance. There is also an open storage area displaying large objects from the Museum’s collection, from naval guns to tanks, from motorcycles to jet aircraft. The exhibits depict Canada’s military past in its personal, national and international dimensions, with special emphasis on the human experience of war and the manner in which war has affected, and been affected by, Canadians’ participation.
Much of the Museum’s public exhibition space is devoted to its Canadian Experience Galleries. These displays underline the profound effect that war has had on Canada’s development and the significant role Canadians
Heide Museum of Modern Art, more commonly just Heide, is a contemporary art museum located in Bulleen, east of Melbourne, Australia. Established in 1981, the museum comprises several detached buildings and surrounding gardens & parklands of historical importance that are used as gallery spaces to exhibit works in various mediums by contemporary Australian artists.
The museum occupies the site of a former dairy farm that was purchased by the prominent Melbourne art collectors John and Sunday Reed in 1934 and became home to a collective known as the Heide Circle, which included many of Australia's best-known modernist painters, such as; Albert Tucker, Sidney Nolan, Laurence Hope, Joy Hester and others, who lived and worked in the former farm house (Heide I).
Between 1964 and 1967, a new residence was built (Heide II). It is considered to be one of the finest examples of modernist architecture in Victoria. In 1981, the museum was established on the site, incorporating the existing buildings and surrounding gardens & parklands as exhibition and gallery spaces. A dedicated gallery building (Heide III) was constructed in 1993 and the museum continued to broaden its collection of works to
Museo Antropologico y de Arte Contemporaneo (MAAC) is a state-of-the-art museum in Guayaquil, Ecuador celebrating Ecuadorian, Latin American and Pre-Columbian art and culture. MAAC is a welcome addition to Malecón 2000, the renovated riverwalk in Guayaquil. Inaugurated on 30 July 2003, MAAC aims to constitute itself in a catalyst for the development of the local, regional and national artistic culture.
MAAC's mission is to harness the institutional cultural patrimony, by showcasing a valuable collection of 50,000 native Ecuadorian archaeological pieces and over 3,000 modern works of art.
The MAAC offers many integrated programs that include exhibitions, conferences, round tables, factories, projections of cinema, scenic arts, through which it aims to fulfill the challenges of putting the cultural patrimony to the service of the development of the Country and to help in cultural education of the community, on the base of a permanent interchange, stimulating the critical conscience of a diverse community.
The National Gallery for Foreign Art (Bulgarian: Национална галерия за чуждестранно изкуство, Natsionalna galeriya za chuzhdestranno izkustvo) of Bulgaria is a gallery located on St. Alexander Nevsky Square in Sofia. It serves as the country's national institution for non-Bulgarian art. It is situated in the 19th-century Neoclassic edifice of the former Royal Printing Office.
The edifice of the NGFA was built between 1882 and 1884 during the rule of knyaz Alexander Battenberg to the designs of Austrian architect Friedrich Schwanberg and reconstructed after it suffered significant damage during the bombing of Sofia in World War II. The gallery itself was founded on 5 November 1985 as the art gallery of the Sts. Cyril and Methodius Foundation, its stock being later enlarged by donations, as well as by the addition of the National Art Gallery's foreign art section.
A large portion of the donations were made through the "13th Centuries of Bulgarian Statehood" fund, established by Lyudmila Zhivkova in the 1980s.
The gallery's permanent exposition features European, Asian (Buddhist, Japanese and Indian) and African art, as well as separate contemporary art and engraving sections. Some of
The National Museum of Art of Romania (Romanian: Muzeul Naţional de Artă al României) is located in the former royal palace in Revolution Square, central Bucharest, Romania, completed in 1937. It features notable collections of medieval and modern Romanian art, as well as the international collection assembled by the Romanian royal family.
The museum was damaged during the 1989 Romanian Revolution that led to the downfall of Nicolae Ceauşescu. In 2000, part of the museum reopened to the public, housing the modern Romanian collection and the international collection; the comprehensive Medieval art collection, which now features works salvaged from monasteries destroyed during the Ceauşescu era, reopened in spring 2002. There are also two halls that house temporary exhibits.
The modern Romanian collection features sculptures by Constantin Brâncuşi and Dimitrie Paciurea, as well as paintings by Theodor Aman, Nicolae Grigorescu, Theodor Pallady, Gheorghe Petraşcu, and Gheorghe Tattarescu.
The international collection includes works by Old Masters such as Domenico Veneziano, El Greco, Tintoretto, Jan van Eyck, Jan Brueghel the Elder, Peter Paul Rubens, and Rembrandt, plus a smattering
The Peabody Essex Museum (est. 1992) in Salem, Massachusetts, may be considered one of the oldest continuously operating museums in the United States. It combines the collections of the former Peabody Museum of Salem and the Essex Institute, located in the Downtown Salem District. The museum holds one of the major collections of Asian art in the US. Its total holdings include about 1.3 million pieces, as well as twenty-four historic buildings.
In 1992, the Peabody Museum of Salem merged with the Essex Institute to form the Peabody Essex Museum. Included in the merger was the legacy of the East India Marine Society, established in 1799 by a group of Salem-based captains and supercargoes. Members of the Society were required by the society's charter to collect "natural and artificial curiosities" from beyond the Cape of Good Hope or Cape Horn. Due to the institution's age, the items they donated to the collections are significant for their rare combination of age and provenance.
In 2003, the Peabody Essex Museum opened a new wing designed by Moshe Safdie, more than doubling the gallery space to 250,000 square feet (23,000 m²); this allowed the display of many items from its extensive
Ironbridge Gorge Museum Trust is an industrial heritage organisation which runs ten museums and manages 35 historic sites within the Ironbridge Gorge in Shropshire, England, widely considered as the birthplace of the Industrial Revolution.
Located at Ironbridge, Coalbrookdale and Broseley on the River Severn, the area is a World Heritage Site and an anchor point of the European Route of Industrial Heritage (ERIH).
The ten museum sites run by the Trust, collectively known as the Ironbridge Gorge Museums are:
Also associated with the ten Trust museums are the Maws Craft Centre at Jackfield and the Merrythought museum at Dale End.
Ironbridge Gorge Museum Trust was established in 1967 to preserve and interpret the birthplace of the Industrial Revolution in the Ironbridge Gorge. It is an independent educational charity.
Its present CEO is Steve Miller, who took over from Glen Lawes in 2007. Previous CEOs have included Stuart Smith and Sir Neil Cossons, both well-respected experts on industrial history and archaeology.
The museum staff manage 35 historic sites within the Ironbridge Gorge World Heritage Site, including ten museums. The sites also include archaeological sites, two chapels,
The Icelandic Phallological Museum (Icelandic: Hið Íslenzka Reðasafn) in Reykjavík, Iceland, houses the world's largest collection of penises and penile parts. The collection of 280 specimens from 93 species of animals includes 55 penises taken from whales, 36 from seals and 118 from land mammals. In July 2011, the museum obtained its first human penis (one of four promised by would-be donors) though its detachment from the donor's body did not go very well and it is now a "greyish-brown, shrivelled mass" pickled in a jar of formaldehyde. The museum continues to search for "a younger and a bigger and better one."
Founded in 1997 by retired teacher Sigurður Hjartarson and run by his son Hjörtur Gísli Sigurðsson, the museum grew out of an interest in penises that began when Sigurður was given a bull's penis to use as a cattle whip when he was a boy. He obtained the organs of Icelandic animals from sources around the country, with acquisitions ranging from the 170 cm (67 in) front tip of a blue whale's penis to the 2 mm (0.08 in) penis bone of a hamster, which can only be seen with a magnifying glass. The museum claims that its collection includes the penises of elves and trolls,
The Musée des Blindés or Musée Général Estienne is a tank museum located in the Loire Valley of France, in the city of Saumur. It is one of the world's largest tank museums.
The museum has the world's largest collection of armoured fighting vehicles and contains well over 880 vehicles, although the British Bovington Tank Museum has a larger number of tanks. Less than a quarter can be exhibited due to space limitations despite the move to a much larger building in 1993. Over 200 of the vehicles are fully functional, in the past often performing in the annual cavalry show, the Carrousel. Saumur has been the traditional training centre for cavalry and holds the current Armoured Cavalry Branch Training School. The museum has its origins in the study collection. It's still a State institution, run by the Army. There is also a separate cavalry museum at Saumur.
Armoured vehicles are presented in 11 theme rooms. This section gives the highlights.
All experimental French military vehicles where development has been abandoned are kept here. The vast storage rooms are only accessible to special guests. There's an enormous library, archiving the records of the history of French armour. The
Ault Park is a park on the St. Lawrence River in the Township of South Stormont, near Long Sault, Ontario, Canada.
Originally on Sheek's Island, the park was built on family property donated to the Township of Cornwall by Levi Addison Ault.
Sheek's Island was submerged by the St. Lawrence Seaway project in 1958, and Ault Park was rebuilt on the new river shore. It is now home to the Lost Villages Historical Society, who operate a living museum incorporating a number of buildings moved from the villages. Other buildings from the villages were moved to a site near Morrisburg to create Upper Canada Village.
The Museum is affiliated with: CMA, CHIN, and Virtual Museum of Canada.
The Museum of Earth History is a controversial young Earth creationist museum based on fundamentalist Christian theology. It features replicas of dinosaur skeletons in exhibits and the Book of Genesis biblical scripture.
Exhibits explain that extinction of dinosaurs was caused by the Great Flood rather than a comet. Noah carried dinosaurs aboard his ark. A Tyrannosaurus alongside Adam and Eve are described as living in peace with each other therefore Tyrannosaurus was a herbivore rather than a carnivore.
Originally located in Eureka Springs, Arkansas, but later moved to Dallas, Texas.
The Neue Pinakothek (New Pinakothek) is an art museum in Munich, Germany. Its focus is European Art of the 18th and 19th century and is one of the most important museums of art of the nineteenth century in the world. Together with the Alte Pinakothek and the Pinakothek der Moderne it is part of Munich's "Kunstareal" (the "art area").
The museum was founded by the former King Ludwig I of Bavaria in 1853. The original building constructed by Friedrich von Gärtner and August von Voit was destroyed during World War II. The ruin of the Neue Pinakothek was demolished in 1949. Designed by architect Alexander Freiherr von Branca the new postmodern building opened in 1981.
Ludwig began to collect contemporary art already as crown prince in 1809 and his collection has been steadily enlarged. When the museum was founded the separtation to the old masters in the Alte Pinakothek was fixed with the period shortly before the turn of the 19th century, which has become a prototype for many galleries.
Due to the liking of Ludwig I there was initially a strong focus on paintings of German Romanticism and the Munich School. Also dynastic considerations played a role as Greece had become a
Polish Aviation Museum (Polish: Muzeum Lotnictwa Polskiego w Krakowie) is a large museum of old aircraft and aircraft engines in Kraków, Poland. It is located at the site of the no-longer functional Kraków-Rakowice-Czyżyny Airport. This airfield, established by Austria-Hungary in 1912, is one of the oldest in the world. The museum opened in 1964, after the airfield closed in 1963.
The collection consists of over 200 aircraft as of 2005. Several of the aircraft displayed are unique on the world scale, including sailplanes and some 100 aircraft engines. Some of the exhibits are only in their initial stages. The museum houses a large aviation library and photographic archives.
The museum has 22 extremely rare airplanes that once were part of the personal collection of Hermann Göring, which before World War II were displayed in Deutsche Luftfahrtsammlung museum in Berlin. These planes were evacuated during the war to rescue them from Allied bombing (the museum itself was destroyed in air raids) and were found abandoned on Polish territory after the war ended. Contemporary museums in Germany had unofficially expressed interest in having some of these planes transferred, especially those
The Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turkish: Türk ve İslam Eserleri Müzesi) is a museum located in Sultanahmet Square in Fatih district of Istanbul, Turkey. Constructed in 1524, the building was formerly the palace of Damad İbrahim Pasha, who was the first grand vizier to Suleiman the Magnificent, and husband of the Sultan's sister.
The collection includes notable examples of Islamic calligraphy, tiles, and rugs as well as ethnographic displays on various cultures in Turkey, particularly nomad groups. These displays recreate rooms or dwellings from different time periods and regions.
The Coalport China Museum is one of the Ironbridge Gorge Museums based in the village of Coalport within the Ironbridge Gorge at Ironbridge, Coalbrookdale on the bank of the River Severn in Shropshire, England. It is located in a World Heritage Site, the birthplace of the Industrial Revolution.
The museum presents the history of Coalport China, a manufacturer of fine English chinaware which was based on the site between 1795 and 1926. As well as original examples of historic china, there are also demonstrations of traditional ceramic techniques and original industrial buildings including kilns to fire the pottery. The collections include the official National Collections of Caughley and Coalport china.
There is a hands-on workshop area where painting activities are provided and ceramic activities in the school holidays.
The EMP Museum (formerly known as Experience Music Project and Science Fiction Museum and Hall of Fame or EMP|SFM) is a museum dedicated to the history and exploration of popular music, science fiction and pop culture located in Seattle, Washington. The Frank Gehry-designed museum building is located on the campus of the Seattle Center, adjacent to the Space Needle and the Seattle Center Monorail, which runs through the building.
The EMP Museum was founded by Microsoft co-founder Paul Allen, and opened its doors in 2000. EMP struggled financially in its early years; as a result, Allen established the Science Fiction Museum and Hall of Fame (SFM), which opened in 2004 in the south wing of the EMP building. When SFM opened, EMP and SFM were treated as separate museums, and visitors had the option of purchasing admission to one museum, or, at a higher cost, a combined admission to both. In 2007, after mounting criticism, EMP|SFM ended the separate admissions policy and began charging a single admission price for entrance to both the EMP and SFM wings. Although the Science Fiction Museum as a permanent collection was de-installed in March 2011, a new exhibit named "Icons of Science
The Finnish Railway Museum (Finnish: Suomen Rautatiemuseo) is located in Hyvinkää, Finland. It was originally founded in 1898 and located in Helsinki. The museum was moved to Hyvinkää in 1974.
The museum is on the original station and yard site of the Hanko–Hyvinkää railway. In addition to the station building, there is a roundhouse and several other preserved buildings, mainly from the 1870s.
Unique objects are on display, including the only surviving imperial train of the Russian Emperor. The locomotives include the British Neilson and Company locomotive (0-6-0 No 1427) dating 1869, a British Beyer Peacock locomotive dating from 1868, and a 2-10-0 steam locomotive Tr2 1319 ALCO No 75214 built 1947, which is one of 20 Russian locomotive class Ye sold to Finland.
The museum also has a live steam backyard railroad track, where train rides are offered to the public during special run days in the summer months.
The National Museum of Ireland (Irish: Ard-Mhúsaem na hÉireann) is the national museum in Ireland. It has three branches in Dublin and one in County Mayo, with a strong emphasis on Irish art, culture and natural history.
See also Category:Collection of the National Museum of Ireland
The Archaeology section on Kildare Street has displays on prehistoric Ireland, including early work in gold, church treasures and the Viking and medieval periods. There are special displays of items from Egypt, Cyprus and the Roman world, and special exhibitions are regularly mounted.
This section includes famous examples of early medieval Celtic metalwork in Ireland such as the Ardagh Chalice, Tara Brooch, and the Derrynaflan Hoard. Prehistoric pieces include the Iron Age Broighter Gold and over 50 gold lunulas (not all on display), and other Bronze Age jewellery. Many of these pieces were found in the 19th century by peasants or agricultural labourers, when population expansion led to cultivation of land which had not been touched since the Middle Ages. Indeed, only for the intervention of George Petrie of the Royal Irish Academy, and like-minded individuals from the Royal Society of Antiquaries of
The de Saisset Museum at Santa Clara University opened in the early 1950s after Isabel de Saisset, the last member of a French pioneer family bequeathed her estate to the University of Santa Clara. The museum owns nearly 10,000 art pieces and historical artifacts, including the work of early Californian artist and university alumnus Ernest de Saisset and a considerable collection of California mission artifacts. The de Saisset recently completed a major renovation of its storage facilities and is open to the public free of charge.
The 19,210-square-foot (1,785 m) building is located in front of Mission Santa Clara de Asís and has been a part of the University campus since 1955. It is one of only two museums in the San Jose area accredited by the American Association of Museums.
The museum is housed in a three level building that conforms with the Mission Style prevalent on the Santa Clara campus and bears the de Saisset family crest above the foyer door. The ground floor holds a foyer, several rooms for visiting exhibits, and a large lecture hall for presentations and activities. The upstairs includes room for exhibits from the permanent collection and a bathroom, and the basement
The Manitoba Museum, previously the Manitoba Museum of Man and Nature is the largest museum in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. The museum was designed by Herbert Henry Gatenby Moody of Moody and Moore in 1965.
The museum is the largest heritage centre in Manitoba and the world and focuses on human and natural heritage. It has planetarium shows and a Science Gallery hall. The Institute for stained glass in Canada has documented the stained glass at the Manitoba Museum.
The Manitoba Museum is the first Canadian museum to recreate marine life as it was 450 million years ago. A virtual underwater observatory shows the Hudson’s Bay region during the Ordovician period. Manitoba is home to the giant trilobite.
The collections in the museum reflect the heritage of Manitoba. The interpretive galleries are Earth History, Arctic/Sub-Arctic, Boreal Forest, Nonsuch, Hudson's Bay Company, Parklands/Mixed Woods, Grasslands and Urban.
Together these explore the history and environment of the province from its northern Arctic coast to its southern prairie grasslands. In particular the museum is famed for its Urban Gallery, which recreates a Winnipeg street scene in the 1920s.
The full-size replica
The Museum of Islamic Art is a museum located in the Qatari capital Doha and designed by architect I. M. Pei.
The museum draws much influence from ancient Islamic architecture, yet has a unique design. It was the first of its kind in the Persian Gulf and has a very large collection of Islamic art, plus a study and a library. A restaurant is planned in the future. Sabiha Al Khemir served as the founding director of the museum from 2006-2008. The museum has a total area of 45,000 m and lies on the edge of Doha harbour at the south end of Doha Bay. Construction by Baytur Constr.Co. (Turkey) reached completion in 2006, but the museum's interior was subjected to a variety of changes thereafter. The museum celebrated its VIP opening on November 22, 2008, and opened to the general public on December 8, 2008.
The museum houses a collection of works gathered since the late 1980s, including manuscripts, textiles and ceramics. It is one of the world’s most complete collections of Islamic artifacts, with items originating in Spain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Turkey, India, and Central Asia. At the age of 91, Pei had to be coaxed out of retirement to undertake this enterprise. He traveled throughout
Naturalis Biodiversity Center is a national museum of natural history and a research center on biodiversity in Leiden, Netherlands.
Naturalis originated from the merger of the Rijksmuseum van Natuurlijke Historie (abbreviated RMNH) and the Rijksmuseum van Geologie en Mineralogie (abbreviated RGM) in 1984. In 1986 it was decided that the museum had to become a public museum and a new building was built. The new building cost about €60 million, making it the second most expensive museum building in the Netherlands.
The current museum is known for the numerous objects in its collections. It has approximately 10 million zoological and geological specimens.
The collections will be fused with the collections of the Zoölogisch Museum Amsterdam and expanded to approximately 37 million specimens. The fusion started in 2011 and is scheduled to be competed in 2012.
The collections are stored in a 60-meter-high tower, a landmark in Leiden, opened in April 1998.
Besides its temporary exhibition the museums has several permanent exhibitions:
SunWatch Indian Village / Archaeological Park is a reconstructed Fort Ancient Native American village next to the Great Miami River in Dayton, Ohio. The dwellings and site plan of the 3-acre site are based on lengthy archeological excavations sponsored by the Dayton Society of Natural History, which owns and operates the site as an open-air museum.
Amateurs had found some prehistoric materials at the site in the 1960s. Professional excavation began in 1971 as a salvage operation when the city planned a sewage treatment plant. With the discovery of significant artifacts and the remains of a stockaded village, the city changed its plans to preserve the site. Excavations continued through 1988 and are generally completed, although additional small studies have been done. The studies have revealed much about the original people's dwellings, social organization, diets, burial practices and other aspects of their lives at the site. The circular village, surrounded by defensive palisades, was occupied for about 20 years, with a total population of about 250. They depended on farming and hunting.
Scholars have named it Sun Watch because, since studies of the 1980s, they believe that a
The Willard House and Clock Museum, located in North Grafton, Massachusetts, USA, is the former farm homestead of the Willard brothers (Benjamin, Simon, Ephraim, and Aaron), who made clocks there in the late 18th century, before they moved the business to Roxbury, where they became pillars of the emerging American clockmaking industry. The house was built about 1718. It stands in a rural setting, in the middle of a field that was part of the Willard farm back in the 18th century.
Like other contemporaneous horologists, the Willard family originally divided its life seasonally, between farming and the clock workshop. Eventually the business became profitable, at which point the house was further enlarged. While in Grafton, Simon, the most innovative and most famous of the Willard brothers, developed his first so called banjo clock, more properly called the "Willard Patent Timepiece", which was patented in 1802.
The museum was founded by Dr. & Mrs. Robinson, collectors of Willard clocks, after they were able to acquire the Willard homestead. For a while in the late 1990s the Museum was administered by the National Association of Watch and Clock Collectors, but soon was turned into an
The Grohmann Museum, at Milwaukee School of Engineering, is home to the world's most comprehensive art collection dedicated to the evolution of human work. The museum opened on October 27, 2007 and is located at 1000 N. Broadway, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA.
The museum has three floors of galleries where a core collection is displayed along with feature exhibitions. The museum also has a rooftop sculpture garden, a vending cafe and museum store.
It is named in honor of Dr Eckhart Grohmann, an MSOE Regent, Milwaukee businessman and avid art collector, who donated the Man at Work collection (see below) to MSOE in 2001 and subsequently the funds to purchase, renovate and operate the museum that bears his name.
German artist Hans Dieter Tylle created stained glass, a mosaic atrium floor, a ceiling mural and rooftop mural for the museum.
With over 900 European and American paintings, sculptures and works on paper that depict various forms of work, the Grohmann Museum Collection is the world's most comprehensive collection of its kind. Captured on canvas and paper or cast in bronze, the works reflect a variety of artistic styles and subjects that document the evolution of organized work,
The Jefferson Davis Presidential Library is a library and museum in Mississippi with the purpose of preserving, housing and making available, the papers, records, artifacts and other historical materials of Confederate States of America President Jefferson Davis. Despite its name it is not an official Presidential Library, as Davis was never President of the United States. It is, however, supported by the State of Mississippi, as declared on a plaque at the entrance.
The library is located at 2244 Beach Boulevard in Biloxi, Mississippi, on the 51-acre (210,000 m) grounds of Davis's last home, Beauvoir. The facility was officially opened and dedicated in 1998 by the State of Mississippi. Besides the library, the site includes the house, containing many of the furnishings from the time of Davis, the Confederate Museum, and the cemetery of Confederate graves.
On August 29, 2005, the Jefferson Davis Presidential Library and Beauvoir suffered heavy damage from the fierce wind and water of Hurricane Katrina. The library pavilion, the Hayes cottage, Soldier's Home Barracks replica, Confederate Soldier's Museum, gift shop, and the director's home were totally destroyed. Artifacts were
The Museum of Northern Arizona is a museum in Flagstaff, Arizona, USA, that was established as a repository for Native American artifacts and natural history specimens from the Colorado Plateau.
The museum was founded in 1928 by zoologist Dr. Harold S. Colton and artist Mary-Russell Ferrell Colton from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and is dedicated to preserving the history and cultures of northern Arizona.
The museum is a member of the North American Reciprocal Museums program.
Museum of the fortifications Hlučín is museum of 1930's military fortifications near the city of Hlučín, Czech Republic. The forts MO S-18 "Obora", MO S-19 "Alej" and MO S-20 "Orel" are parts of the museum.
The Suffolk County Vanderbilt Museum is located in Centerport on the North Shore of Long Island in Suffolk County, New York, USA. Named for William K. Vanderbilt II (1878–1944), it is located on his former 43-acre (17 ha) estate, Eagle's Nest.
His will provided for donation of his property to the county, with provision that the mansion and grounds be used for a museum for his marine, natural history, and ethnographic collections; the natural history institution was established during 1950. Developing a museum that interprets Vanderbilt's life, times, and collections, the county constructed a planetarium on the grounds during 1970.
The museum complex, operated by Suffolk County, includes the mansion with furnishings and fine art, a marine museum with marine and natural history specimens (butterflies, birds, shells, mammals and fish), a curator's cottage, a seaplane hangar, a boathouse, gardens, and a collection of ethnographic objects (firearms and swords, ship models, and European, Asian and African objects). The museum was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on September 26, 1985.
The Stonewall Jackson's Headquarters Museum was an antebellum home owned by Lieutenant Colonel Lewis Tilghman Moore, commander of the 31st Virginia Militia. Later, while commanding the 4th Virginia Infantry, Colonel Moore offered his home at 415 North Braddock Street, Winchester, Virginia, USA, to serve as the headquarters for Confederate Major General Thomas J. "Stonewall" Jackson.
Jackson lived in the home from November 1861 to March 1862, and was joined by his wife, Mary Anna, in December 1861. Jackson arrived shortly after taking command of the new Valley District of the Department of Northern Virginia. From this location, Jackson planned his Shenandoah Valley defenses and campaigns, starting with the Romney Expedition.
The home is a gothic revival style cottage built in 1854 for William Fuller, was named "Alta Vista", and had a beautiful view over open hillsides facing east across Winchester. While living here, the Jacksons became very fond of the people and culture of Winchester, and referred to it as their "winter home", hoping to settle here after the American Civil War. In the 1960s the home was purchased and converted into a museum, and includes many possessions and
The Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal is a contemporary art museum in the Place des Arts complex, Montreal, Quebec, Canada. The collection includes over 7,000 works of art by more than 1,500 artists (1,200 still living), focusing on contemporary art from Quebec in particular and Canada in general, as well as important international artists. Its collections include contemporary paintings, sculptures, photographs, installation, video and works on paper. The museum is Canada's only cultural complex devoted to both contemporary performing and visual arts.
The museum was a member of the AMICO consortium.
The Otto Lilienthal Museum in Anklam (Germany) is a museum about the "glider king" Otto Lilienthal, the flight pioneer, as well as a pioneer in technical, social and cultural projects.
The town of Anklam is Lilienthal’s birth place. Various objects belonging to the life and work of Otto Lilienthal, among them a reconstruction of a glider from the year 1925 have been part of a local history museum, founded in 1927. The Otto-Lilienthal-Museum was opened in 1991 as a biographical technical museum. Today the museum houses the largest collection of Lilienthal aircraft in reconstruction.
The museum archives contain everything that is known about the first successful glider pilot, essays, documents, including a photo archive, replica and models of all known gliders and aircraft of Lilienthal. Moreover, the brothers Otto and Gustav Lilienthal were very prolific inventors of steam engines, toys, as well as initiators of numerous social and cultural projects.
The museum acquired a large collection of hang gliders and shows models of aircraft, from the time before the first successful flights, represent the early history of aviation and the prehistory of the aircraft.
In 1996 the museum has
The Beatles Story is a visitor attraction dedicated to the leading 1960s group The Beatles. It is based in Albert Dock, Liverpool, England.
Located within Liverpool’s historic Albert Dock and the Pier Head, the award winning Beatles Story is a unique themed visitor attraction which takes guests on an exciting and atmospheric journey into the life, times, culture and music of the Beatles. The attraction first opened in May 1990. Over the past couple of years the Beatles Story has expanded considerably and extended into a second site, based at the Mersey Ferries Terminal in the Pier Head. The famous visitor attraction now includes Going Solo areas, an interactive children's Discovery Zone, Beatles themed Starbucks Coffeehouse, Fab4Store, the amazing Fab4D experience which takes audiences on a magical journey through the music of the Beatles and must-see world class special exhibitions.
Key highlights include:
The Beatles Story main site is located in Britannia Vaults, Albert Dock in Liverpool, United Kingdom. A World Heritage site, the Albert Dock is the most popular free tourist attraction in the North West of England.
The attraction is open every day except 25/26 December 9am-7pm,
The University of Michigan Museum of Art, or UMMA in Ann Arbor, Michigan with 94,000 sq ft (8,700 m) is one of the largest university art museums in the USA. Built as a war memorial in 1909 for the university's fallen alumni from the Civil War, Alumni Memorial Hall originally housed U-M's Alumni office along with the University's growing art collection.
UMMA contains a comprehensive collection that represents more than 150 years at the University, with nearly 19,000 works of art that span cultures, eras, and media. The Museum's displays works by James McNeill Whistler, Franz Kline, Helen Frankenthaler, Pablo Picasso, Joshua Reynolds, Claude Monet, Max Beckmann, Walker Evans, Randolph Rogers, and Kara Walker, among many others.
In the spring of 2009, the Museum reopened after a major $41.9 million expansion and renovation designed by Brad Cloepfil and Allied Works Architecture, which more than doubled the size of the Museum. The museum comprises the renovated Alumni Memorial Hall with 41,000 sq ft (3,800 m) and the new 53,000 sq ft (4,900 m) Maxine and Stuart Frankel and the Frankel Family Wing. The Museum's current director is Joseph Rosa, who was appointed in 2010.
The Abbey Pumping Station is an industrial museum in Leicester, England, on Corporation Road, opposite the National Space Centre.
The museum was previously a pumping station used to pump sewage to treatment works at Beaumont Leys, and was opened in 1891. The grand Victorian building, designed by Stockdale Harrison (city architect in 1890) and beautifully decorated beam engines were a cause of great civic pride. It continued pumping Leicester's sewage until 1964, and then underwent renovation. It opened as a museum in 1972. It is one of a number of historic pumping stations which have been preserved.
The steam engines (see below) which drive the sewage pumps can be seen. In addition, there is combination of informative educational displays (mainly about water and sewage), an old-fashioned film theatre, and collections of artifacts and pictures ranging from domestic appliances to trams. An eclectic collection of larger items of industrial archeology is in the grounds. This includes a narrow gauge railway and some transport items.
The four steam engines were built in Leicester by Gimson and Company and today are rare examples of Woolf compound rotative beam engines. At the time these
The Geological Museum of Budapest is the main museum of geology in Hungary. It is located on the Stefánia utca in the western part of Pest.
The building was originally the home of the Hungarian Geological Society, which was established in 1869. The building was designed by Ödön Lechner in 1896. It still houses the Geological Institute of Hungary.
Its collection consists of minerals, prehistoric footprints, general information on Hungarian geology and its history, and an exhibition dedicated to the building's architect, Ödön Lechner.
The Horta Museum (French: Musée Horta, Dutch: Hortamuseum) is a museum dedicated to the life and work of the Belgian Art Nouveau architect Victor Horta and his time. The museum is housed in Horta's former house and atelier, Maison & Atelier Horta (1898), in the Brussels municipality of Saint-Gilles. In the splendid Art Nouveau interiors there is a permanent display of furniture, utensils and art objects designed by Horta and his contemporaries as well as documents related to his life and time. The museum also organises temporary exhibitions on topics related to Horta and his art. The building is inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List.
The UNESCO commission recognized the Horta Museum as UNESCO World Heritage in 2000.
Aubry, Françoise (2001). The Horta Museum, Saint-Gilles, Brussels. Gent: Ludion. OCLC 50212858.
Kilmainham Gaol (Irish: Príosún Chill Mhaighneann) is a former prison, located in Kilmainham in Dublin, which is now a museum. It has been run since the mid-1980s by the Office of Public Works (O.P.W.), an Irish Government agency. Kilmainham Gaol played an important part in Irish history, as many leaders of Irish rebellions were imprisoned and some executed in the prison by the British and latterly in 1923 by the Irish Free State.
When it was first built in 1796, Kilmainham Gaol was called the 'New Gaol' to distinguish it from the old gaol it was intended to replace - a noisome dungeon, just a few hundred yards from the present site. It was officially called the County of Dublin Gaol, and was originally run by the Grand Jury for County Dublin.
When the Gaol was first built, public hangings took place at the front of the Gaol. However, from the 1820s onward very few hangings, public or private, took place at Kilmainham. A small hanging cell was built in the gaol in 1891. It is located on the first floor, between the West Wing and the East Wing.
There was no segregation of prisoners; men, women and children were incarcerated up to 5 in each cell, with only a single candle for light
The Air Power Park is an outdoor, roadside museum in Hampton, Virginia which recognizes Hampton's role in America's early space exploration and aircraft testing. The outdoor park is open year-round, seven days a week from sunrise to sunset. Several vintage aircraft and experimental space launch vehicles from the 1950s and 1960s are displayed out of doors. The park is on a 15 acres (6.1 ha) plot and includes a children's playground.
The indoor museum at the center of the park was reopened after a 2011 renovation. There are eight themed rooms containing over 325 models of aircraft, space craft, and nautical vessels representing all the U.S. branches of service as well as various model craft from other nations. The park also has a time capsule
The following are listed as on display:
The Design Exchange (DX) is a non-profit design museum and centre for the advancement and promotion of Canadian design located in the historic Toronto Stock Exchange building. The DX hosts over 50 programs every year that promote the value of design as it contributes to the economy, quality of life and environment. In the lobby, and on the third floor, designer's galleries are open to the public during the museum's operating hours. The DX also contains a resource centre which contains the permanent collection of Canadian Industrial Design and is home to the Clairtone archives, Fred Moffat archives and Thomas Lamb archives.
The Design Exchange opened in the autumn of 1994 but its origins are rooted in the 1980s. At that time, the design community was concerned regarding a lack of support for design on the part of the Canadian government and cultural institutions. This belief was underlined by the closing of the federal agency, Design Canada, in 1985, followed by the University of Toronto's announcement in 1986 that it intended to close its school of architecture (fortunately this was soon rescinded).
In 1983 the Toronto Stock Exchange had abandoned its historic home of the last 46
The Michael C. Carlos Museum is an art museum located in Atlanta on the historic quadrangle of Emory University's main campus. The Carlos Museum has the largest ancient art collections in the Southeast, including objects from ancient Egypt, Greece, Rome, the Near East, and the ancient Americas. The collections are housed in a Michael Graves designed building which is open to the public.
The Museum's collections comprise more than 16,000 works, and the facility attracts 120,000 visitors annually. In addition to permanent and temporary exhibitions, the Museum is a source of educational programming, providing lectures, symposia, workshops, performances, and festivals. The Carlos Museum also operates a teaching laboratory and conservation center, and publishes scholarly catalogues. The Museum also brings art, history, and archaeology to the classroom of Georgia children through its outreach program, Art Odyssey. The Carlos Museum also runs Odyssey Online, a Web site for school-age children that explores the various cultures reflected in the museum's collections.
One of the oldest museums in Georgia, the Museum's collections date back to 1876, when a general museum known as Emory
The University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, commonly called Penn Museum, is an archaeology and anthropology museum that is part of the University of Pennsylvania in the University City neighborhood of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
An internationally renowned educational and research institution dedicated to the understanding of cultural diversity and the exploration of the history of humankind, the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology—which has conducted more than 400 archaeological and anthropological expeditions around the world—was founded during the administration of Provost William Pepper. In 1887, Provost Pepper persuaded the Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania to erect a fireproof building to house artifacts from an upcoming expedition to the ancient site of Nippur in modern-day Iraq (then part of the Ottoman Empire). During the late 19th and early 20th centuries, North American and European museums regularly sponsored such excavations throughout the Mediterranean and Near East, sharing the ownership of their discoveries with the host country. Penn Museum followed this practice in acquiring the vast majority of its
The British Museum is a museum in London dedicated to human history and culture. Its permanent collection, numbering some eight million works, is amongst the largest and most comprehensive in existence and originates from all continents, illustrating and documenting the story of human culture from its beginnings to the present.
The British Museum was established in 1753, largely based on the collections of the physician and scientist Sir Hans Sloane. The museum first opened to the public on 15 January 1759 in Montagu House in Bloomsbury, on the site of the current museum building. Its expansion over the following two and a half centuries was largely a result of an expanding British colonial footprint and has resulted in the creation of several branch institutions, the first being the British Museum (Natural History) in South Kensington in 1887. Some objects in the collection, most notably the Elgin Marbles from the Parthenon, are the objects of intense controversy and of calls for restitution to their countries of origin.
Until 1997, when the British Library (previously centred on the Round Reading Room) moved to a new site, the British Museum was unique in that it housed both a
The National Historical Museum of Brazil (Portuguese: Museu Histórico Nacional), was created in 1922, and possesses over 287,000 items, among of which the largest numismatic collection of Latin America. The architectonic complex that houses the museum was built in 1603 as the St James of Mercy Fort; the first structures date back from 1567, though, erected by order of King Sebastian I of Portugal. In 1693, the Calaboose Prison, for slaves, was built. In 1762, the Casa do Trem was added as a depot of weapons and ammunition. The last additions are the War Arsenal (1764) and the Barracks (1835).
Created in August 1922, by decree of President Epitácio Pessoa the National Historical Museum starts its activities in October, integrating the Centennial Exhibition, in two special rooms of the Casa do Trem (Ammunition Depot).
Along these 75 years of continuous activities, the Museum assembled the largest collection under the guard of the Ministry of Culture and has become an important center of culture, occupying gradually all the architectural complex of the Calaboose Point, where the Santiago Fort was once situated.
The first one to run an official museology course that served as a
The American Museum of Natural History (abbreviated as AMNH), located on the Upper West Side of Manhattan in New York City is one of the largest and most celebrated museums in the world. Located in park-like grounds across the street from Central Park, the Museum comprises 25 interconnected buildings that house 46 permanent exhibition halls, research laboratories, and its renowned library.
The collections contain over 32 million specimens, of which only a small fraction can be displayed at any given time. The Museum has a scientific staff of more than 200, sponsors over 100 special field expeditions each year, and averages about five million visits annually.
The Museum was founded in 1869. Prior to construction of the present complex, the Museum was housed in the Arsenal building in Central Park. Theodore Roosevelt, Sr., the father of the 26th U.S. President, was one of the founders along with John David Wolfe, William T. Blodgett, Robert L. Stuart, Andrew H. Green, Robert Colgate, Morris K. Jesup, Benjamin H. Field, D. Jackson Steward, Richard M. Blatchford, J. Pierpont Morgan, Adrian Iselin, Moses H. Grinnell, Benjamin B. Sherman, A. G. Phelps Dodge, William A. Haines, Charles A.
The Bristol City Museum and Art Gallery is a large museum and art gallery in Bristol, England. It is run by the city council with no entrance fee. It holds designated museum status, granted by the national government to protect outstanding museums. It is situated in Clifton, about 0.5 miles (0.8 km) from the city centre.
The museum includes sections on natural history, local, national and international archaeology, and local industry. The art gallery contains works from all periods, including many by internationally famous artists, as well a collection of modern paintings of Bristol.
In the summer of 2009 the museum hosted an exhibition by Banksy, featuring more than 70 works of art, including animatronics and installations; it is his largest exhibition yet. It was developed in secrecy and with no advance publicity, but soon gained worldwide notoriety.
The building is of Edwardian Baroque architecture and has been designated by English Heritage as a grade II* listed building.
The Museum and Art Gallery's origins lie in the foundation, in 1823, of the Bristol Institution for the Advancement of Science and Art, sharing brand-new premises at the bottom of Park Street (a 100 yards
The Canada Science and Technology Museum (French: Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada) is located in Ottawa, Ontario, on St. Laurent Boulevard, to the south of the Queensway (Highway 417).
The National Museum of Science and Technology was established in 1967 as a Centennial project by the Canadian Government. It was the first museum to employ interactive exhibits. The role of the Museum is to help the public to understand the technological and scientific history of Canada and the ongoing relationships between science, technology and Canadian society. The artifacts present the ongoing relationships between science, technology, and the transformation of Canadian society.
The museum is controlled by the Canada Science and Technology Museum Corporation, which is responsible for preserving and protecting Canada's scientific and technical heritage. The Corporation has a staff of about 275 and is responsible for three museums:
The Canada Science and Technology Museum fulfills its mission through its collection, permanent, temporary and traveling exhibits, special events, school programs, workshops and demonstrations, publications, loans, conferences and lectures, expert
The Great War Flying Museum is an aviation museum located at the Brampton Airport (CNC3) in Caledon, Ontario Canada. The museum builds and maintains flying replicas of World War I aircraft. Paying members and volunteers help build and maintain the authentic replicas.
All aircraft are kept in airworthy condition by donations, air show and members' fees. The museum is a non-profit organization.
The aircraft flown by the Great War Flying Museum were constructed in such a way as to balance historical accuracy with ease of maintenance and airframe longevity. As far as possible, attention has been paid to historical detail, but in some instances necessity has dictated various changes.
Due to various long distance trips undertaken by the aircraft to participate in airshows and events, the engines are more modern than those in the original aircraft types. The original wooden tailskids have been replaced with tailwheels in order to operate from paved runways, and the main wheels have been equipped with modern disc brakes. In addition, modern radio equipment and flight instruments have been installed in each aircraft.
The Yale University Art Gallery houses a significant and encyclopedic collection of art in several buildings on the campus of Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut. Although it embraces all cultures and periods, the Gallery possesses especially renowned collections of early Italian painting, African sculpture, and modern art. Its holdings of American decorative and fine arts are amongst the best in existence.
The Yale University Art Gallery is the oldest university art museum in the western hemisphere. The Gallery was founded in 1832, when patriot-artist John Trumbull donated to Yale College more than 100 paintings of the American Revolution and designed the original Picture Gallery. This building, on Old Campus, was razed in 1901.
The Gallery's main building was built in 1953 and was among the very first designed by Louis Kahn, who taught architecture at Yale. A complete renovation, which returned many spaces to Kahn's original vision, was completed in December 2006 by Polshek Partnership Architects. The older Tuscan romanesque portion was built in 1928 and was designed by Egerton Swartwout. A 10-year renovation project is due to be complete in 2011.
The museum is a member of
The Arizona State Capitol in Phoenix, Arizona, United States, formerly housed the Territorial and State Legislatures, as well as various executive offices. These have relocated to adjacent buildings, and the Capitol is now maintained as the Arizona Capitol Museum.
Exhibits at the Arizona Capitol Museum emphasize the history and culture of Arizona from early times to the present. Topics include Arizona state symbols, historical figures, natural history, the role of government and the story of Arizona's statehood, and photographs from Edward S. Curtis. It also has the gravesite of Arizona Governor Wesley Bolin.
One impressive display shows the enormous silver and copper punchbowl service from the USS Arizona, as well as a silver sculpture that was ensconced outside the Admiral's stateroom. Both of these historical artifacts survived the sinking of the Arizona because they had been removed from the ship for cleaning prior to the attack on Pearl Harbor. The punchbowl service is the only one of its kind and is composed of etched copper panels depicting desert scenes set into a silver bowl ornamented with mermaids, dolphins, waves, and other nautical themes.
Of particular interest is the
The Castle Museum, previously known as Castle Station or Saginaw Post Office, in Saginaw, Michigan, USA is a historic structure on the National Register of Historic Places. It is currently the home of the Historical Society of Saginaw County and officially known as the Castle Museum of Saginaw County History.
The Castle Museum was designed by William Martin Aiken, the Supervising Architect of the US Treasury, and built in 1898 as a United States Post Office. In the 1930s, the post office was becoming too small and a movement was started to get the post office out and into another building. An uproar arose because no one wanted their beloved castle to be torn down. The building was remodeled by local architect Carl Macomber, who enlarged the building, tore down one of the three turrets, and added a large sorting room on the back of the building (by Hoyt Library). In the 1970s, a new post office was built and the building was almost demolished once again, but local citizens and the Saginaw County Board of Commissioners took steps to list the building on the National Register of Historic Places to ensure the preservation of the building and the local heritage it represents.
The Kyoto Municipal Museum of Art (京都市美術館, Kyōto-shi Bijutsukan) is an art museum in the city of Kyoto which opened in 1933. It was conceived in 1928 as a commemoration of the Showa emperor's coronation ceremony, and it was initially called the Showa Imperial Coronation Art Museum of Kyoto.
The 1940 Air Terminal Museum is a museum located in Houston, Texas, United States at William P. Hobby Airport. Collections are housed in the original art deco building which served as the first purpose-built terminal for passenger flight in Houston. The museum currently exhibits several collections focusing on Houston's civil aviation history and is operated by the Houston Aeronautical Heritage Society (HAHS), a recognized Texas 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization.
The museum is housed in the Houston Municipal Airport Terminal building, a streamline moderne airport terminal that opened in 1940. The terminal building is among the few surviving examples of classic art deco airport architecture from the 1940s. The terminal served Houston during the years when air travelers dressed in their best and embarked for destinations aboard roaring prop liners like the Douglas DC-3 and the Lockheed Constellation. Designed by architect Joseph Finger (who also designed Houston's City Hall), the terminal was designed to meet Houston's growing role as a center for air commerce in the late 1930s. The terminal served as the only commercial air terminal for Houston until 1954, and was subsequently used
The Village Museum (Muzeul Satului in Romanian) is an open-air ethnographic museum located in the Herăstrău Park (Bucharest, Romania), showcasing traditional Romanian village life. The museum extends to over 100,000 m, and contains 272 authentic peasant farms and houses from all over Romania.
It was created in 1936 by Dimitrie Gusti, Victor Ion Popa, and Henri H. Stahl.
There are other "village museums" throughout Romania, including ASTRA National Museum Complex in Sibiu, and those of Cluj-Napoca, Râmnicu-Vâlcea, Timişoara, a.s.o.
The Alte Pinakothek (Engl. Old Pinakothek) is an art museum situated in the Kunstareal in Munich, Germany. It is one of the oldest galleries in the world and houses one of the most famous collections of Old Master paintings. The name (old Pinakothek) alludes to the time period covered by the art — the Neue Pinakothek covers 19th century art and the recently opened Pinakothek der Moderne exhibits modern art, all galleries are part of Munich's "Kunstareal" (the "art area"). The museum is part of the Bavarian State Picture Collection (German: Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen), an organization of the Free state of Bavaria.
King Ludwig I of Bavaria (1825–1848) ordered Leo von Klenze to erect a new building for the gallery for the Wittelsbach collection in 1826. The museum galleries were designed to display Rubens's "Last Judgment" (1617), one of the largest canvasses ever painted. Very modern in its day, the building became exemplary for museum buildings in Germany and all of Europe after its inauguration in 1836, and thus became a model for new galleries in Rome, St Petersburg, Brussels and Kassel.
The museum building was severely damaged by bombing in World War II but was
Glenreagh Mountain Railway, known as the GMR, was established in 1989 as a heritage tourist railway at Glenreagh, near Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia. GMR's objective is to restore and operate a heritage tourist railway on the Glenreagh to Ulong section of the Glenreagh to Dorrigo railway line.
GMR is a non-profit, community-based organisation run entirely by volunteers, and has an authority to raise funds under the Charitable Collections Act.
The GMR acquired the 35-kilometre section to Ulong in 1999 from the then State Rail Authority of New South Wales, and is currently restoring this section of line as well as rolling stock, to enable the heritage tourist railway to operate.
GMR's current rolling stock includes steam locomotive Z19 class 1919, 4-wheel watergin L568, TAM sleeping car, 2 heritage end-platform cars, S trucks, ex-Sydney interurban cars ("U-boats") and numerous trikes and track maintenance vehicles.
As of December 2005, GMR has completed trackwork to safe working standards for train operation from Glenreagh West Depot 3.5 km west to Talawajah Creek. Steam train operations were scheduled one weekend a month subject to fire bans. Recently, operations have
The Holburne Museum of Art (formerly known as the Holburne of Menstrie Museum) is in Sydney Pleasure Gardens, Sydney Place, in the Bathwick area of Bath, Somerset, England. The Grade I listed building closes off the vista down Great Pulteney Street from Pulteney Bridge. Admission is free, though the temporary exhibitions held throughout the year may not be.
The building was designed by Charles Harcourt Masters and built in Bath stone in 1795–6 to be the Sydney Hotel - a social gathering place rather than a residential hotel in the modern sense. During the course of the nineteenth century the building went through a number of changes of use, as well as structural alterations, until in the early years of this century (1913–16) it was converted by the architect Sir Reginald Blomfield to become the present home of the Holburne Museum. An extension in contemporary style has recently been added.
The collection has a strong selection of English 18th century portraits, including five by Thomas Gainsborough, who spent 16 years working in Bath before moving to London. There are several, some by Johann Zoffany, with theatrical connections, including scenes recording moments from plays. The
The Manchester Museum is owned by the University of Manchester. Sited on Oxford Road (A34) at the heart of the university's group of neo-Gothic buildings, it provides access to about six million items from every continent and serves both as a resource for academic research and teaching and as a regional public museum.
The museum's first collections were assembled by the Manchester Society of Natural History, formed in 1821 with the purchase of the collection of John Leigh Philips. In 1850 the collections of the Manchester Geological Society were added.
By the 1860s both societies encountered financial difficulties and, on the advice of the evolutionary biologist Thomas Huxley, Owens College (now the University of Manchester) accepted responsibility for the collections in 1867. The college was then in Quay Street and the museum in Peter Street. The old museum was sold in 1875 after the college had moved to new buildings in Oxford Street.
The college commissioned Alfred Waterhouse, the architect of London's Natural History Museum, to design a museum to house the collections for the benefit of students and the public on a site in Oxford Road (then Oxford Street). The Manchester Museum
The Baltimore Civil War Museum in Baltimore, Maryland, United States, is a unique building with a curved roof supported by an arched truss was originally the President Street Station built in 1849–50 by the Philadelphia, Wilmington and Baltimore Railroad Company. This site and the rail line were key elements of the "underground railroad" by which many slaves escaped to the north before the Civil War.
The first bloodshed occurred nearby in 1861 as Massachusetts troops marching to the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad's Camden Station ten blocks west were attacked by an angry mob. When Pennsylvania Station opened in 1885, the President Street Station and yards became a freight terminal and were very active during the days when the Inner Harbor was a heavy industrial area. With the great change that followed World War II, the station was neglected and deteriorated badly. Restored with city and federal funds, the building reopened in 1997 as the Baltimore Civil War Museum, telling the story of Baltimore's and the railroads' roles in the war and Baltimore's place in the "underground railroad".
In 2007, the Baltimore Civil War Museum was shut down.
As of 2008, it is open on a part-time basis,
Derby Silk Mill, formerly known as Derby Industrial Museum, is a museum of industry and history in Derby, England. The museum is housed in Lombe's Mill, a historic former silk mill which marks the southern end of the Derwent Valley Mills World Heritage Site. Between 1717 and 1721 George Sorocold built Britain’s first mill for the Lombe brothers, beside the River Derwent. This mill was built to house machines for "doubling" or twisting silk into thread.
John Lombe copied the design for the machines used for spinning large quantities of silk, during a period spent in Italy, working within the Italian Silk Industry. This was possibly the first example of industrial espionage.
Traditionally the spinning wheel had been used for producing small quantities of silk thread at the homes of local spinsters, the new large, machines were capable of producing far greater quantities of silk and were to become serious competition for the Italians. These machines however required large buildings and a considerable power source. An undershot water wheel turned by the mill fleam on the west side of the new Silk Mill drove the massive spinning machines.
John Lombe died in 1722 under mysterious
The Jewish Museum London is a museum of Jewish life and art in the London Borough of Camden, North London.
The museum was founded in 1932 in the Jewish communal headquarters in Bloomsbury. In 1995, it moved to its current site in Camden Town. Until 2007 it had a sister museum in Finchley, operated by the same charitable trust and sited within the Sternberg Centre. This branch closed in 2007. The Camden branch reopened in 2010 after two years of major building and extension work. The £10 million renovation was funded by the Heritage Lottery Fund and private donations. The museum is a registered charity.
The museum houses a major international-level collection of Jewish ceremonial art including the notable Lindo lamp an early example of a British Menorah (Hanukkah). The new building includes a gallery entitled "Judaism: A Living Faith", displaying the museum's noted collection of Jewish ceremonial art. This collection has been awarded "designated" status by the Museums, Libraries and Archives Council in recognition of its outstanding national importance. The Museum's Holocaust Gallery is made up of items and filmed survivor testimony from Leon Greenman, who was one of the few British
Southern Actor is a former whale catcher, currently a museum ship based in Sandefjord, Norway and owned by Sandefjord Museum.
Southern Actor was built in 1950 at Smiths Dock, Middlesbrough, England, for the whaling company Christian Salvesen Ltd in Leith, Scotland. Many of Salvesen's employees were Norwegian mostly from Vestfold. The ship was in Norway for maintenance in the summer.
In 1995, the Southern Actor was fully restored, as authentically as possible in relation to the way the boat was originally. That same year she was declared worthy by Riksantikvaren, the Norwegian Directorate of Cultural Heritage. Southern Actor is in working order and can be chartered for excursions.
The Stieglitz Museum of Decorative and Applied Arts ranks among the most significant museums in Saint Petersburg, Russia.
The project had its beginnings in 1878 when Baron Alexander von Stieglitz (1814–84), a millionaire philanthropist, donated funds to build a museum for the benefit of students of the Central School of Engineering Design, which had been established by him earlier. The new museum was to accommodate Stieglitz's private collection of rare glassware, porcelains, tapestries, furniture, and tiled stoves.
The museum's first director, Maximilian Messmacher, based his design upon a similar museum in Vienna. Constructed between 1885 and 1896, the building is an example of the Neo-Renaissance at its most stylistically forceful. The ground floor with arched windows is heavily rusticated and the upper storey is turgid with ornate details and statuary. The central hall is set between two-storey Italianate arcades, while interiors of other halls are styled so as to conform with items exhibited therein. A room patterned after the Terem Palace particularly stands out as "an opulent knockout", in the words of Tom Masters of the Lonely Planet.
Out of some 30,000 items stored in the
Arts Club of Chicago is a private club located in the Near North Side community area of Chicago in Cook County, Illinois, United States, a block east of the Magnificent Mile, that exhibits international contemporary art. It was founded in 1916, inspired by the success of the Art Institute of Chicago's handling of the Armory Show. Its founding was viewed as a statement that art had become an important component of civilized urban life. The Arts Club is said to have been pro-Modernist from its founding. The Club strove to break new ground with its shows, rather than collect the works of established artists as the Art Institute does.
The club presented Pablo Picasso's first United States showing. In addition, the 1951 exhibition by Jean Dubuffet and his "Anticultural Positions" lecture at the Arts Club were tremendous influences on what would become the mid 1960s Imagist movement. Another important presentation in the history of the Arts Club was the Fernand Léger showing of Le Ballet Mecanique.
The Club's 1997 move to its current 201 E. Ontario Street location was not without controversy, because the club demolished its former interior space designed by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and
The Australian National Maritime Museum (ANMM) is a federally-operated maritime museum located in Darling Harbour, Sydney. After consideration of the idea to establish a maritime museum, the Federal government announced that a national maritime museum would be constructed at Darling Harbour, tied into the New South Wales State government's redevelopment of the area for the Australian bicentenary. The museum building was designed by Philip Cox, and although an opening date of 1988 was initially set, construction delays, cost overruns, and disagreements between the State and Federal governments over funding responsibility pushed the opening back to 1991.
One of six museums directly operated by the Federal government, the ANMM is the only one located outside of the Australian Capital Territory. The museum is structured around seven main galleries, focusing on the discovery of Australia, the relationships between the Australian Aborigines and the water, travel to Australia by sea, the ocean as a resource, water-based relaxation and entertainment, the naval defence of the nation, and the relationship between the United States of America and Australia. The last gallery was funded by the
The Colorado Railroad Museum is a non-profit railroad museum The museum is located on 15 acres (61,000 m) at a point where Clear Creek flows between North and South Table Mountains in Golden, Colorado.
The museum was established in 1959 to preserve a record of Colorado's flamboyant railroad era, particularly the state's pioneering narrow gauge mountain railroads.
The museum has a large collection of 3 ft (914 mm) narrow gauge rolling stock, and provides narrow gauge train rides on special event days known as "Steam Up days". And also runs one of the three Geese motorcars on Saturdays.
The museum also has ex-Denver and Rio Grande Western RR No. 683, a coal burning 2-8-0 consolidation built by the Baldwin Locomotive Works in 1890, builders number 11207. It is the only surviving standard gauge steam locomotive from the Denver & Rio Grande Western RR.
All of the railroad equipment is displayed outdoors. Display tracks are complete with a rare three-way stub switch, dual gauge track and switches, and century-old switch stands. These tracks hold over 100 historic narrow and standard-gauge locomotives and cars. The ⁄3 miles (540 m) oval of 3 feet (910 mm) gauge track is used by trains
The National War and Resistance Museum of the Netherlands (Dutch: Nationaal Oorlogs- en Verzetsmuseum) is located at Overloon, municipality Boxmeer.
The museum is located on the site of the Battle of Overloon, a World War II tank and infantry battle between Allied and German forces that occurred in September and October 1944, in the aftermath of Operation Market Garden.
Set in 14 hectares of woodland, it is one of two museums in an area now designated as Liberty Park. A feature of the museum is the large number of military vehicles and equipment on display, both German and Allied. For years these have been kept in the open air, but have recently been moved indoors in order to help preserve them. Many of the exhibited vehicles took part in the Battle of Overloon. In 2006 the collection was expanded with a large number of vehicles from a private collection.
The Jack S. Blanton Museum of Art is the art museum and research center of the University of Texas at Austin. Formerly under the College of Fine Arts, the museum director now reports to the University's Executive Vice-President and Provost. The museum is one of the largest university art museums in the United States, housing some 17,000 works from Europe, the United States and Latin America.
The Blanton was established in 1963 as the University Art Museum. The museum's collections were originally displayed and stored in the Art Building, until 1972 when the permanent collection moved to gallery spaces in the Harry Ransom Center (then called the Humanities Research Center). In 1980, the museum was renamed the Archer M. Huntington Art Gallery.
On April 30, 2006, the museum opened a new 155,000 square foot (14,000 m²) facility on the University's campus, renamed the Blanton Museum of Art, after receiving a $12 million donation from Houston Endowment Inc. in honor of its former chairman, Jack S. Blanton. The new complex was designed by Kallmann McKinnell & Wood Architects.
Although the Museum was built as designed by Kallmann McKinnell & Wood Architects, they were not the first
The Princeton University Art Museum is Princeton University's gallery of art, located in Princeton, New Jersey. Founded in 1882, it now houses over 72,000 works of art that range from antiquity to the contemporary period. The Princeton University Art Museum dedicates itself to supporting and enhancing the university’s goals of teaching, research, and service in fields of art and culture, as well as to serving regional communities and visitors from around the world. Its collections concentrate on the Mediterranean region, Western Europe, China, the United States, and Latin America.
The museum has a large collection of Greek and Roman antiquities, including ceramics, marbles, bronzes, and Roman mosaics from Princeton University’s excavations in Antioch. Medieval Europe is represented by sculpture, metalwork, and stained glass. The collection of Western European paintings includes examples from the early Renaissance through the nineteenth century, and there is a growing collection of twentieth-century and contemporary art. Photographic holdings are a particular strength, numbering over 20,000 works from the invention of daguerreotype in 1839 to the present.
The museum is also noted
The Arizona Railway Museum (reporting mark AZMX) is a railroad museum located in Chandler, Arizona.
It was founded and incorporated as a non-profit organization in 1983. It is dedicated to the railroads of Arizona and the Southwestern United States. It has an extensive collection of artifacts, mementos and railroad rolling stock.
The Franklin Institute (named after the noted American scientist and statesman Benjamin Franklin) is a museum in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and one of the oldest centers of science education and development in the United States, dating to 1824. The Institute also houses the Benjamin Franklin National Memorial.
On February 5, 1824, Samuel Vaughn Merrick and William H. Keating founded The Franklin Institute of the State of Pennsylvania for the Promotion of the Mechanic Arts. The museum began in 1825 in its original building at 15 South 7th Street (now the site of the Atwater Kent Museum) and moved into its current home on the Benjamin Franklin Parkway, near that parkway's intersection with 20th Street, over 100 years later, in 1934. Funds to build the new Institute and Memorial on the Parkway came from the Poor Richard Club, the City Board of Trust, the Benjamin Franklin Memorial, Inc., and The Franklin Institute. John T. Windrim's original design was a completely square building surrounding the Benjamin Franklin Statue, which had yet to be built. Despite the effects of the Great Depression, the Benjamin Franklin Memorial, Inc. raised $5 million between December 1929 and June 1930.
The Keep Military Museum is the military museum of Devon and Dorset, representing The Devonshire Regiment, The Dorset Regiment, The Devonshire and Dorset Regiment, The Dorset Yeomanry, The Queen's Own Dorset Yeomanry, The Dorset Militia, The Royal Devon Yeomanry and 94 Field Regiment RA. The museum is located to the west of Dorchester town centre.
The Museum of the Revolution (Spanish: Museo de la Revolución) is a museum located in the Old Havana section of Havana, Cuba. The museum is housed in what was the Presidential Palace of all Cuban presidents from Mario García Menocal to Fulgencio Batista. It became the Museum of the Revolution during the years following the Cuban revolution.
The former Presidential Palace was designed by the Cuban architect Carlos Maruri and the Belgian architect Paul Belau and was inaugurated in 1920 by President Mario García Menocal. It remained the Presidential Palace until 1959. The building has Neo-Classical elements, and was decorated by Tiffany & Co. of New York.
The museum's Cuban history exhibits are largely devoted to the period of the revolutionary war of the 1950s and to the country's post-1959 history. Portions of the museum are also devoted to pre-revolutionary Cuba, including its War of Independence waged against Spain.
Behind the building lies the Granma Memorial, a large glass enclosure which houses the Granma, the yacht which took Fidel Castro and his revolutionaries from Mexico to Cuba for the revolution. Around the Granma an SA-2 Guideline surface-to-air missile of the type that
The Peale Museum, also known as the Municipal Museum of Baltimore, was a museum of paintings and natural history, located in Baltimore, Maryland, USA. It occupied the first building in the Western Hemisphere to be designed and built as a museum. The Peale Museum was created by Charles Willson Peale. The museum closed in 1997 and its collections were handed over to the Maryland Historical Society. The building was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1965.
Charles Willson Peale received his inspiration for a public museum in 1783 while illustrating mastodon fossils belonging to Dr. John Morgan. Once he had conceived the idea for an American museum of natural history, Charles Peale opened a museum to the public in Philadelphia on July 18, 1786. In 1810, Peale retired from his work with the museum, leaving its management and responsibility to his sons. Later in 1814, a museum was established at 225 North Holliday Street in Baltimore by Rembrandt Peale - the second son of Charles Willson Peale. It was then dubbed as "Peale's Baltimore Museum and Gallery of Fine Arts" and had the early exhibits including portraits of famous Americans (many by the founder) and the complete skeleton
Questacon – the National Science and Technology Centre, is located on the southern shore of Lake Burley Griffin in Canberra, Australia. It is a large centre with more than 200 interactive exhibits relating to science and technology.
Questacon – the National Science and Technology Centre is an interactive science centre that opened on 23 November 1988. It was developed by Professor Mike Gore, a physics lecturer from the Australian National University. Professor Gore went on to become the founding Director of Questacon.
Questacon's current building was Japan's gift to Australia for the 1988 Bicentenary and it was opened on 23 November 1988. Japanese government and business contributed ¥1 billion, half of the capital cost of A$19.64 million.
It was formerly housed at the old Ainslie Primary School.
As of 3 December 2007, Questacon is a part of the Australian Government Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research (DIISR). The director is Professor Graham Durant.
Questacon's vision is "a better future for all Australians through engagement with science and innovation".
On Thursday 18 September 2008 a review of Questacon was released. The review was commissioned by Minister
The Smithsonian American Art Museum is a museum in Washington, D.C. with an extensive collection of American art.
Part of the Smithsonian Institution, the museum has a broad variety of American art that covers all regions and art movements found in the United States. Among the significant artists represented in its collection are Nam June Paik, Jenny Holzer, David Hockney, Georgia O'Keeffe, John Singer Sargent, Albert Pinkham Ryder, Albert Bierstadt, Edmonia Lewis, Thomas Moran, James Gill, Edward Hopper, Karen LaMonte and Winslow Homer. The museum describes itself as being "dedicated to collecting, understanding, and enjoying American art. The museum celebrates the extraordinary creativity of artists whose works reflect the American experience and global connections."
The museum has two innovative public spaces, the Luce Foundation Center for American Art and the Lunder Conservation Center. The Luce Foundation Center is the first visible art storage and study center in Washington, D.C. It presents more than 3,300 objects in 64 secure glass cases, which quadruples the number of artworks from the permanent collection on public view. The Luce Foundation Center features paintings
The Tokyo Metropolitan Teien Art Museum (東京都庭園美術館, Tōkyō-to Teien Bijutsukan) is an art museum in Tokyo, Japan. It is located in Minato ward, and just east of Meguro Station. The museum is housed in an Art Deco building that was previously the residence of Prince Asaka Yasuhiko (1933–47), the official residence of Prime Minister (1947–50), and the State Guest House (1950–74).
Teien means Japanese garden and the museum is named so because the building is surrounded by a garden and sculptures.
Ukrainian National Museum (UNM) is located in the historical Ukrainian Village neighborhood of Chicago, USA. It is home to a plethora of Ukrainian artifacts, artwork, musical instruments, and embroidered folk costumes among its growing collection.
The Ukrainian National Museum was founded in 1952 as the Ukrainian Museum and Archive. The Museum collections include artifacts of traditional folk arts, such as embroidery, costumes, weavings and wood and metal inlays as well as musical instruments, household utensils, souvenir materials from the Soviet Union, and artwork by Ukrainian immigrants.
The museum collection includes 1,140 artifacts covering traditional folk arts, agricultural tools, artworks, musical instruments, trophies, and other miscellaneous artifacts. The UNM library has 16,320 titles; it includes rare books, author autographed editions, monographs on émigré communities, contemporary editions, and over 600 periodicals and newspapers. The archives house material about Ukrainian communities, particularly in Chicago, including Ukrainian performance groups, national youth chapters, veteran and fraternal organizations, local church archives, 1933 Chicago World's Fair
The Watson Museum in Rajkot, India is a museum of human history and culture. Its collections precious objects of colonial period of India and History of Rajkot. It is amongst the largest and most comprehensive museum in State of Gujarat. Watson Museum is considered to be the finest amongst 7 such museums located across Saurashtra (region) and run by the State Government because it holds invaluable articles and state-of-the-art facilities like photography, guide service, reference library and sales counter of the museum's publication.
The museum is set up in the Queen Victoria memorial institute buildings located in Jubilee Garden, Rajkot. The Watson Museum was named in fond memory of Colonel John Watson in 1888. Colonel John Watson was political agent of Kathiawar Agency form 1881 to 1889. Watson Museum is the second most important museum in Gujarat, after the Museum of Baroda and is the oldest museum in Saurashtra (region). Colonel Watson was fond of his history and archeology and used to collect information on Rajkot. Most of his collections and other artifacts are preserved here. The museum building was completed in 1893, when it opened to the public by Governor Lord George
The Bellevue Arts Museum traces its roots back to street fair art in 1947. After several temporary locations, it moved to the third floor of Bellevue Square, a large shopping center in the center of downtown Bellevue, Washington in 1983. In 2001 the museum finally moved into its own building.
Located just across the street from Bellevue Square, the distinctive new building was designed by noted architect Steven Holl. It is seen by many residents of Bellevue as playing a role in the transformation of the downtown from series of suburban strip malls to a sophisticated city with a variety of cultural attractions.
The museum subsequently ran into financial difficulties and was forced to close to the public in 2003. After a lengthy fund raising campaign, extensive interior remodeling, a slight change in name and a new focus on crafts and design, the museum re-opened on June 18, 2005 with an exhibition of teapots.
In contrast to conventional art museums, Bellevue Arts Museum has no permanent collection. Rather, it emphasizes education and hands-on involvement through an extensive selection of classes and workshops.
Fort Calgary was established in 1875 as Fort Brisebois by the North-West Mounted Police, located at the confluence of the Bow and Elbow rivers in what is now Calgary, Alberta.
The construction of the fort was initiated on April 10, 1875 by a federal order to force out whiskey traders from the area. Commanded by Éphrem A. Brisebois, "F" Troop travelled north from Fort Macleod to find a suitable spot on the Bow for the fort. On arrival at the location they made a makeshift boat with a wagon box and tarpaulins to cross the Bow. Corporal George Clift King was the first member of the troop to set foot on the location, which is why he is sometimes cited as Calgary's first citizen. Construction began in August or September and the fort was completed in time to host Christmas dinner for the local residents.
The fort was constructed out of pine and spruce logs cut upstream and floated to the site. Buildings included men's quarters, a guard room, stables and storage facilities. Shortly after the erection of the fort, two businesses set up operation in the vicinity; I. G. Baker Company and the Hudson's Bay Company.
The post was originally called "The Elbow" or "Bow Fort". Captain Brisebois
The Health Education Exhibition and Resources Centre was opened on 17 May 1997 in Hong Kong. It is under the management of Food and Environmental Hygiene Department in Government of Hong Kong.
The Health Education Exhibition and Resources Centre is housed in a Grade III historic building (Block S4 of former Whitfield Camp) in Kowloon Park.
The centre comprises an exhibition area on two floors and an outdoor health education garden.
The exhibition on the ground floor introduce the general information of Food and Environmental Hygiene Department and then focuses on various aspects of food and environmental hygiene - high-risk foods, GM foods and food additives. The topics are thoroughly explained through computer games, videos and photos, etc.
The ground floor lecture room holds regular seminars and visitors can also enjoy a walk in the Health Education Garden while browsing the history and development of the Keep Hong Kong Clean Campaign.
There is also a souvenir counter on the ground floor.
The first floor hosts temporary exhibitions in the centre of the hall and permanent exhibitions on environmental hygiene, kitchen hygiene, public toilets and pest control.
The Hexham Old Gaol (Pronounced jail) is in the town of Hexham, Northumberland, England. It is reputed to be the oldest purpose-built prison in England.
The gaol was built under the order of Margot and William Melton, the Archbishop of York, in 1330–33. It held prisoners from Hexhamshire and also, in the 16th century, from the English Middle March, before their trial in the Moothall Court Room nearby.
The gaol currently houses a museum, covering: archaeology, archives, costume and textiles, law and order, music, photography, social history, weapons and war. The collections include 15th and 16th century arms and armour, and objects of local historical interest. The Border Library holds the Butler Collection, books, recordings and music relating to the culture of the Borders.
Margot currently work at the gaol. 'The chief' still thinks he does, but he turned his back on himself and society by venturing into the world of selling gas at inflated prices...and pretending he knows it all while he's at it.
The Pearson Air Museum is an aviation museum at Pearson Field in Vancouver, Washington, USA. The museum specializes in aircraft made before or during World War II. The displays are housed in the U.S.'s second oldest wooden aircraft hangar, built in 1918 and used as a hangar since 1921. During World War II it was used to house Italian prisoners of war. The museum and Pearson Field, along with the Fort Vancouver National Historic Site, are part of the Vancouver National Historic Reserve.
The Pearson Air Museum displays a number of unusual, unique and historic aircraft. For example, an experimental and one-of-a-kind aircraft built by the National Aircraft Corporation based at Watts Airport (or Bernard's Airport) in Beaverton, Oregon and known as the "Flying Bathtub" or the "Dill Pickle", is displayed at the Pearson. Alley reports on this unique airplane based at Watts Airport in 1929, that was an experimental one-of-a-kind model. In this aircraft the pilot sits in an open air compartment, behind a roomy enclosed passenger cabin.
The museum has a flight simulator room with 15 stations, open on Saturdays, where people can fly many different types of airplanes.
The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum is a museum located on the shore of Lake Erie in downtown Cleveland, Ohio, United States. It is dedicated to archiving the history of some of the best-known and most influential artists, producers, engineers and others who have, in some major way, influenced the music industry through the genre of rock music. The museum is part of the city's redeveloped North Coast Harbor.
The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum is a complex located in Cleveland, Ohio devoted to performers, creators, promoters, and others associated with the growth and popularity of rock and roll music.
The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation was created April 20, 1983. However, it had no home. The search committee considered several cities, including Memphis (home of Sun Studios and Stax Records), Detroit (home of Motown Records), Cincinnati (home of King Records), New York City, and Cleveland. Cleveland lobbied hard to be chosen, citing that Cleveland disc jockey Alan Freed is widely credited with promoting the new genre (and the term) of "rock and roll", and that Cleveland was the location of the first rock and roll concert. Civic leaders in Cleveland pledged
The Hudson River Maritime Museum is a maritime museum dedicated to the Hudson River.
It is located at 50 Rondout Landing at the foot of Broadway in Kingston, New York, USA, along Rondout Creek in the city's old waterfront, just east of the John T. Loughran Bridge.
Its collections are devoted to the history of shipping, boating and industry on the Hudson and its tributaries, such as the Rondout, where Kingston grew prosperous early in the 19th century as the northern end of the Delaware and Hudson Canal. The city was the busiest port between New York City and Albany.
The museum was founded in 1980, but did not move to its present property, an old boat shop, until 1982. Its exhibits include various small craft, artifacts of river steamships such as the Mary Powell, a research library, ice-harvesting tools and maps, paintings and sketches from past eras. The 1898 steam tugboat Mathilda, is displayed in the yard next to the museum. In the summer months boat trips are available to nearby Rondout Lighthouse, where the creek drains into the Hudson. Boats putting in at the dock range from privately owned pleasure craft to ocean going cruise liners. The Hudson River Sloop Clearwater has its
The Irish Museum of Modern Art (Irish: Músaem Nua-Ealaíne na hÉireann) also known as IMMA, is Ireland's leading national institution exhibiting and collecting modern and contemporary art. The museum opened in May 1991 and is located in Royal Hospital Kilmainham, a 17th-century building near Heuston Station to the west of Dublin's city centre. The current director is Enrique Juncosa, he was previously Deputy Director of the Reina Sofia National Museum Arts Centre (MNCARS) in Madrid. Juncosa is only the second director of the IMMA, the first was Declan McGonagle.
The Museum concentrates on acquiring contemporary art by living artist and buys only from primary markets: studios and galleries. It also accepts donations of art dating from 1940 onwards and through some generous gifts has made progress towards a representative collection of art of that period. Though a recent addition to the cultural landscape of the city, the museum has a reasonable collection and it organises selective exhibitions of its own collection. It concentrates on hosting exhibitions and has a very active exhibition programme. It is hoped that in the future the museum will be provided with more space, allowing
The Mark Twain House and Museum was the home of Samuel Langhorne Clemens (a.k.a. Mark Twain) from 1874 to 1891 in Hartford, Connecticut, USA. Before 1874, Twain had lived in Hannibal, Missouri. The architectural style of the 19-room house is Victorian Gothic. The house is also notable for the major works written during his residency, including The Gilded Age, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, The Prince and the Pauper, Life on the Mississippi, Huckleberry Finn, A Tramp Abroad, and A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court.
Poor financial investments caused the Twain family to move to Europe in 1891. When they returned to Connecticut in 1900 he lived in a house built for him in Redding, Connecticut, named Stormfield, where he died on April 21, 1910. His home in Hartford functioned as a school, an apartment building, and a library. In 1962 the building was declared a National Historic Landmark. Since 1974 it has had a multi-million dollar renovation and an expansion dedicated to showcasing his life and work. The house is facing financial troubles stemming in part from an overestimation of the number of visitors it would receive yearly.
Mark Twain first came to Hartford in 1868 on
Milestones Museum is a museum located in Basingstoke, Hampshire, UK. It is made up of a network of streets that have been recreated on those found in Victorian and 1930s Hampshire.
It was opened on 01 December 2000 by HRH Duke of Edinburgh as a joint project between Hampshire County Council and Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council, supported by the Heritage Lottery Fund.
Features include recreations of:
There is a large collection of road vehicles, notably by Thornycroft and Taskers of Andover.
The Museum De Cruquius (or Cruquiusmuseum) occupies the old Cruquius steam pumping station in Cruquius, the Netherlands. It derives its name from Nicolaas Kruik (1678–1754), a Dutch land-surveyor and one of many promotors of a plan to pump the Haarlemmermeer (Haarlem lake) dry. Like many well-educated men of his time, he latinized his name to Nicolaus Samuel Cruquius. During his lifetime the issue of the Haarlem Lake and how to pump it dry was international news, as the following excerpt from the Virginia Gazette on 31 May 1751 illustrates:
Even 50 machines proved too expensive, so it was not until successful experiments with steam pumping stations, such as at nearby Groenendaal park in 1781, that serious plans resulted in three steam-driven pumping stations, including the one at Cruquius. As a tribute to former planners, the pumping stations of the Haarlemmermeer were named after them. The one at the mouth of the Spaarne river, near Heemstede, was called Cruquius. To service the mill, the workers who lived there founded the town of the same name. The dike was built in the 1840s, the pump started work in 1850 and in the three years that had been predicted a century before, the
The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza is located on the sixth floor of the Dallas County Administration Building (formerly the Texas School Book Depository). The museum examines the life, times, death, and legacy of President John F. Kennedy. It is located at the very spot from where Lee Harvey Oswald shot and killed Kennedy.
The museum's exhibition area uses historic films, photographs, artifacts and interpretive displays to document the events of the assassination, the findings of the official investigations that followed and the historical legacy of the national tragedy. The museum is self-sufficient in funding, relying solely on donations and ticket sales. It rents the space from the County of Dallas, Texas.
The museum opened its doors on Presidents' Day, February 20, 1989. The museum is located in the old Texas School Book Depository building, at the intersection of Elm and Houston streets on Dealey Plaza in downtown Dallas, the location from which the Warren Commission found that Lee Harvey Oswald shot President Kennedy on November 22, 1963.
A museum webcam features a live view from the alleged sniper spot.
On February 19, 2007, previously unreleased 8 mm film footage of
St Fagans National History Museum (Welsh: Sain Ffagan: Amgueddfa Werin Cymru), commonly referred to as St Fagans after the village where it is located, is an open-air museum in Cardiff chronicling the historical lifestyle, culture and architecture of the Welsh people. The museum is part of Amgueddfa Cymru - National Museum Wales.
It comprises over thirty re-erected buildings from various locations in Wales, and is set in the grounds of St Fagans Castle, an Elizabethan manor house. In 2011 Which? magazine named the museum the United Kingdom's favourite visitor attraction.
The museum was started in 1946 following the donation of the castle and lands by the Earl of Plymouth. It opened its doors to the public in 1948, under the name of the Welsh Folk Museum. The museum's name in Welsh (also meaning "Welsh Folk Museum") has remained unchanged since that date, whereas the English title has been modified once to Museum of Welsh Life, and again to its current nomenclature.
The brainchild of Iorwerth Peate, the museum was modelled on Skansen, the outdoor museum of vernacular Swedish architecture in Stockholm. Most structures re-erected in Skansen were built of wood and are thus easily taken
African American Museum formerly the Afro-American Cultural & Historical Society Museum in Cleveland, Ohio was founded in 1953 by Icabod Flewellen. The Museum is housed in a 100-year-old Carnegie Library building. The Museum works to educate young people about the positive contributions of blacks to the cultures of the world, and to eliminate the distorted portrayals and images of black people.
In partnership with Green Energy Ohio the museum hosted an exhibit on the use of solar power in African Villages. The museum installed a solar panel on its roof. The components of the system are in a clear display case and part of the exhibit. The African Solar Village Outreach Project plans to establish creative avenues for teaching science and mathematics, specifically Solar Energy, to visitors. The African Solar Village exhibit, its other tours and hands-on activities are designed to offer an understanding of how science and culture interrelate in unique ways.
The Vatican Museums (Italian: Musei Vaticani), in Viale Vaticano in Rome, inside the Vatican City, are among the greatest museums in the world, since they display works from the immense collection built up by the Roman Catholic Church throughout the centuries, including some of the most renowned classical sculptures and most important masterpieces of Renaissance art in the world.
Pope Julius II founded the museums in the early 16th century. The Sistine Chapel and the Stanze della Segnatura decorated by Raphael are on the visitor route through the Vatican Museums. They were visited by 4,310,083 people in the year 2007. The Vatican Museums broke attendance records in 2011 with just over 5 million people.
The Vatican Museums trace their origin to one marble sculpture, purchased 500 years ago. The sculpture of Laocoön, the priest who, according to Greek mythology, tried to convince the people of ancient Troy not to accept the Greeks' "gift" of a hollow horse, was discovered 14 January 1506, in a vineyard near the basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore in Rome. Pope Julius II sent Giuliano da Sangallo and Michelangelo Buonarroti, who were working at the Vatican, to examine the discovery. On
Granma is the yacht that was used to transport 82 fighters of the Cuban Revolution from Mexico to Cuba in 1956 for the purpose of overthrowing the regime of Fulgencio Batista. The 60-foot (18 m) diesel-powered cabin cruiser was built in 1943 and designed to accommodate 12 people. "Granma", in English, is an affectionate term for a grandmother; the yacht is said to have been named for the original owner's grandmother.
The yacht was purchased on 10 October 1956 for MX$50,000 (US$15,000) from the U.S.-based Schuylkill Products Company, Inc. by a Mexican citizen—said to be Mexico City gun dealer Antonio "The Friend" del Conde—secretly representing Fidel Castro. Castro's 26th of July Movement had attempted to purchase a Catalina flying boat or a US naval crash rescue boat for the purpose of crossing the Gulf of Mexico to Cuba, but their efforts had been thwarted by lack of funds. The money to purchase the Granma had been raised in the U.S. state of Florida by former President of Cuba Carlos Prío Socarrás.
Shortly after midnight on 25 November 1956 in the Mexican port of Tuxpan, Veracruz, the Granma was surreptitiously boarded by 82 members of the 26th of July movement including their
The National Archaeological Museum of Spain (Spanish: Museo Arqueológico Nacional) is a museum in Madrid, Spain, located beside the Plaza de Colón (Columbus Square), sharing its building with the National Library.
The museum was founded in 1867 by a Royal Decree of Isabella II, and its purpose was to be a depository for numismatic, archaeological, ethnographical and decorative art collections compiled by the Spanish monarchs.
In 1895 all the collections were moved to the current venue, a neoclassical building projected by architect Francisco Jareño and built from 1866 to 1892. In 1968 were started renovation and extension works that considerably increased its area.
In 2008/2009 the museum was being remodelled with only the highlights from the collection being shown to the public. It is reported that the remodelled museum will concentrate on a core role and will release items from the decorative arts collection.
The current collection includes, among others, Pre-historic, Egyptian, Celtic, Iberian, Greek and Roman antiquities and medieval (Visigothic, Muslim and Christian) objects.
Media related to Museo Arqueológico Nacional de España at Wikimedia Commons
Nothe Fort (/noʊð/) is a fort in Weymouth, Dorset, England. The fort is situated on the shore beside the northern breakwater of the ex-military Portland Harbour, and at the mouth of civilian Weymouth Harbour. The fort was built in 1872 to protect Portland's harbour, which was then becoming an important Royal Navy base. The fort played an important role in World War II, when the harbour was used as base by the British and American navies.
In 1956, the fort was abandoned, and in 1961 it was purchased by the local council. It is now a museum, featuring models, World War II memorabilia as well as original cannons and guns and British and American WWII vehicles. The museum received 12,042 visitors in 2002.
Media related to Nothe Fort at Wikimedia Commons
The Science Museum of Minnesota is an American museum focused on topics in technology, natural history, physical science and mathematics education. Founded in 1907 and located in Saint Paul, Minnesota, the 501(c)(3) nonprofit institution is staffed by over 500 employees and over 1,600 volunteers. The museum's mission statement is to "turn on the science: realizing the potential of policy makers, educators, and individuals to achieve full civic and economic participation in the world."
There are a number of exhibits that are always in the museum, including:
The new building has a dual-screen IMAX/Omnimax theater, with both a wall screen for IMAX films and other flat presentations, and a rotatable dome for viewing Omnitheater films, the first such convertible theater in the northern hemisphere. . The counterweights for the system were so massive that they had to be put in place before the rest of the building. The theaters boasts "the largest permanently installed electronic cinema projector in the world," an advanced computer system to coordinate the theater's facilities, and a complex sound system to accommodate both viewing formats, according to the website.
The museum has been a
National Historical Museum (known in Swedish as Historiska museet or, more formally, Statens historiska museum) is a museum located in Stockholm, Sweden that covers Swedish cultural history and art from the Stone Age to the 16th century.
The museum is known for its so called "Gold Room" (Guldrummet) by the architect Leif Blomberg, where a large number of gold objects are kept as part of the exhibition.
The museum is also the place to see objects related to Vikings, including the Mästermyr chest.
The main museum building, the design of architects Bengt Romare and George Scherman 1935-1940, reflects an ambivalence between the predominant modern style of the era and the historical context given not only by the context requirements, but also the 19th century barracks and stables south of the museum designed by Fredrik Blom and built 1805-1817. The latter are neoclassicist in style and the repetitive façades used to be exposed to the Stockholm Harbour, while the former forms a compact block taking a step backwards from the street to leave space for a forecourt. The portico and sculptures on the main façade were designed by the sculptor Bror Marklund in 1938.
In 2004 there was an
The Colonial Cottage Museum is the oldest building in Wellington City, New Zealand. It's classified as a "Category I" ("places of 'special or outstanding historical or cultural heritage significance or value'") historic place by the New Zealand Historic Places Trust.
The cottage was built in 1858 and is located on Nairn Street in the suburb of Mount Cook, Wellington. The Cottage was built in a late Georgian style and is similar to other houses built from that time through to about 1870. The Cottage was built by William Wallis who arrived in New Zealand in September 1857 with his wife Catherine.
The articles within the cottage, with some exceptions, all date from between 1850 to 1880. Several items belonged to the family, others were donated from other settler families and others have been loaned or purchased.
William and Catherine were newlyweds who undertook an arduous seventeen week journey by ship to arrive in New Zealand. Like many immigrants they came in search of a better life. Unlike many immigrants, Wallis purchased the Nairn Street site only after he viewed it. He chose the location specifically because there was a stream at the bottom of his town-acre site. Wallis was
Vintage Aero Flying Museum (VAFM), formally LaFayette Escadrille Flying Museum, is Colorado's international aviation museum at Platte Valley Airpark, 4 miles north-west of Hudson, Colorado and 40 miles north-east of Denver, Colorado.
Mr. Andy Parks, son of the last World War I Lafayette Escadrille member who 'flew west', Dr. James Parks², maintains the legacy and history of the LaFayette Escadrille pilots. The collection of each of these pilots' original uniforms and memorabilia is on display in custom cabinets in a secured hangar of World War I aircraft. There is no other collection of this magnitude in the world today. The Parks have created a museum in a rural setting, much like a French rural World War I air field.
VAFM is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization and its foundation was created by the late James Parks, MD, PhD, in 1984 as a historical and educational foundation.
There are two different usages of Lafayette and LaFayette. The capital F comes from the French spelling as written on the French Air Corp certificates as presented to each flyer of the Escadrille. The LaFayette Foundation decided to use the capital F in many of their documents and writings. Other authors and
The Alta Museum is located in Alta in northern Norway within the Arctic Circle. Its northern Norway's most-visited summer museum, with more than 1,000 visitors each day. It presents exhibitions on local culture and historic industries including the nearby prehistoric rock carvings that form a UNESCO World Heritage Site, located at the early settlement of Finnmark and dating from around 11,000 years ago. The museum opened in June 1991 and won the European Museum of the Year Award in 1993.
The Bowes Museum has a nationally renowned art collection and is situated in the town of Barnard Castle, Teesdale, County Durham, England.
The museum contains paintings by El Greco, Francisco Goya, Canaletto, Jean-Honoré Fragonard and François Boucher, together with a sizable collection of decorative art, ceramics, textiles, tapestries, clocks and costumes, as well as older items from local history. The early works of French glassmaker Émile Gallé were commissioned by Bowes' wife Joséphine. A great attraction is the 18th century Silver Swan automaton, which periodically preens itself, looks round and appears to catch and swallow a fish.
The Bowes Museum was purpose-built as a public art gallery for John Bowes, the illegitimate son of John Bowes the 10th Earl of Strathmore, and Kinghorne, and his wife Joséphine Chevalier, Countess of Montalbo, who both died before it opened in 1892.
It was designed with the collaboration of two architects, the French architect Jules Pellechet and John Edward Watson of Newcastle. The building, in a grand French style within landscaped gardens, was described by Nikolaus Pevsner as "... big bold and incongruous, looking exactly like the town hall of a
The East Slovak Museum (Slovak: Východoslovenské múzeum) in Košice, Slovakia, is one of the oldest Slovak museums; it was founded in 1872.
A neo-Renaissance building was erected in the early 20th century. It was the first building in the town designed to serve its needs as a museum. There are sculptures of Perseus and Vulcan on the facade of the building.
The museum presents the Stone Age and the Middle Age period in eastern Slovakia, the Košice Gold Treasure, jewellery and numismatic exhibits.
Also on the site of the museum, there is a wooden church from Kožuchovce (Svidník district). The church was founded in 1741 and it was brought to Košice in 1927.
Fort Siloso (Chinese: 西乐索炮台) is the sole restored coastal gun battery from the twelve such batteries which made up "Fortress Singapore" at the start of World War II.
The Fort is situated on the resort island of Sentosa; it is restored as a military museum, and open to the public.
The word Siloso is derived from a Malayan word meaning rock ( Sanskrit root : Sila ). There was a huge rock at the mouth of Singapore's harbour which was very dangerous to shipping. With trade flourishing in Singapore due to the Suez Canal in 1869, it was necessary to protect Singapore's port. Based on the report by Major Edward Lake of the Madras Engineers, a fort was built at Blakang Mati (Sentosa) in 1874. As part of the fortification, Mount Siloso's top was blown off to flatten it for the installation of a gun platform. By the 1880s, gun batteries were located on Mount Siloso and Mount Serapong on Sentosa.
By the 1880s, Fort Siloso had 7-inch RML guns and two 64-pounders. In the 1890s, five 10-inch guns were installed. These guns were operated electrically from an underground power-house. In the 1930s, twin 6-pounder, quick-firing anti-torpedo boat guns; five searchlights; an Operational Tower; two
The Fundació Antoni Tàpies (Catalan pronunciation: [fundəsiˈo ənˈtɔni ˈtapiəs], 'Antoni Tàpies Foundation') is a cultural center and museum, located in Carrer d'Aragó, in Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain), dedicated mainly to the life and works of the painter Antoni Tàpies.
The Fundació was created in 1984 by the artist Antoni Tàpies to promote the study and knowledge of modern and contemporary art. It combines the organisation of temporary exhibitions, symposia, lectures and film seasons with a range of publications to go with the activities and periodic shows of Antoni Tàpies’ work. The Fundació owns one of the most complete collections of Tàpies’ work, mostly made up of donations by Antoni and Teresa Tàpies.
The Fundació opened its doors in June 1990 in the building of the former Editorial Montaner i Simon publishing house, the work of the Modernist architect Lluís Domènech i Montaner.
Restored and refurbished by the architects Roser Amadó and Lluís Domènech Girbau. Constructed between 1880 and 1885, at an early stage of the evolution of Catalan Modernism, the building was the first in the Eixample district to integrate industrial typology and technology, combining exposed brick and
The Hagen Westphalian Open-Air Museum (LWL-Freilichtmuseum Hagen – Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Handwerk und Technik) lies in the Hagen neighbourhood of Eilpe in the Mäckingerbach valley in the eastern Ruhr area. The sponsor is the Landschaftsverband Westfalen-Lippe (Westfalen-Lippe Regional Authority).
The Hagen Westphalian Open-Air Museum brings a bit of skilled-trade history into the present, and it takes a hands-on approach.
On its grounds stretching for about 42 ha, not only are urban and rural trades simply "displayed" along with their workshops and tools, but in more than twenty of the nearly sixty rebuilt workshops, they are still practised, and interested visitors can, sometimes by themselves, take part in the production.
As early as the 1920s, there were efforts by a group of engineers and historical preservationists to preserve technological monuments for posterity. The initiator, Wilhelm Claas, even suggested the Mäckingerbach valley as a good place for a museum to that end. The narrow valley was chosen, as wind, water and wood were the three most important location factors for industry in the 18th and 19th centuries.
In 1960, the Hagen Westphalian Open-Air Museum was
The National Museum of Romanian History (Romanian: Muzeul Naţional de Istorie a României) is a museum on Calea Victoriei in Bucharest, Romania, which contains Romanian historical artifacts from prehistoric times up to modern times.
The permanent displays include a plaster cast of the entirety of Trajan's Column, the Romanian Crown Jewels, and the Pietroasele treasure.
The museum is located inside the former Postal Services Palace, which also houses a philatelic museum. As of 2007, the museum is under reconstruction; a late medieval archaeological site was discovered under the building.
The San Diego Model Railroad Museum is a model railroad exhibit in San Diego, California. At 27,000 sq. ft., it is the largest indoor such exhibit in North America, and one of the largest in the world. The museum is on the lower level of the Casa de Balboa on the Prado in Balboa Park.
Nearly 3 million people have passed through the center since it opened in 1982.
Model railroading in Balboa Park began at the 1935 California Pacific International Exposition. In the 1930s, pioneer model railroader Minton Cronkhite designed and directed the construction of a number of scale model railroads in the 1930s, including a large exposition O scale model railroad in Balboa Park. The Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway Company, as well as the Pennsylvania Railroad, hired him to create giant model railroads for world fairs to stimulate interest in train travel and help revive the national economy during the years of the Great Depression. His 40-by-70-foot model railroad exhibit was the "chief transportation feature" of the 1935 exposition.
The San Diego Model Railroad Museum opened in 1982 with a mission to "preserve the heritage of railroading through a series of miniature representations of
The Yamato Museum is a nickname of the "Kure Maritime Museum" in Kure, Hiroshima, Japan.
The museum opened on April 23, 2005. It is nicknamed the Yamato Museum due to the display in the lobby of the large model ship Yamato Hiroba, a 1/10 scale model of the Japanese battleship Yamato (see image at right).
The museum has an observation terrace on the 4th floor of the building, where people can stand to view the area.
The museum contains a gift shop.
34°14′28″N 132°33′21″E / 34.241137°N 132.555806°E / 34.241137; 132.555806
The Aerospace Museum of California is an aviation museum located in North Highlands, California on the former McClellan Air Force Base, which closed in 2001. It features displays of authentic military and civilian aircraft as well as space vehicle replicas. It preserves the history and mission of this former base as well as those of neighboring bases like Beale (active) and Mather (closed) Air Force Bases.
The museum was originally established as the McClellan Aviation Museum in 1986. It was chartered by the National Museum of the United States Air Force. In 2001 it incorporated as a non-profit organization. In 2005 its name was changed to the Aerospace Museum of California. In 2004 the museum moved to 3200 Freedom Park Drive, McClellan Park and in February 2007 opened its new 35,000-square-foot (3,300 m) Hardie Setzer Pavilion enabling some of the aircraft to be displayed indoors.
The museum has over 40 aircraft in its collection from the fully restored, one-of-a-kind 1932 Curtiss Wright B-14B Speedwing to one of the last Grumman F-14D Tomcat retired from U.S. Navy service in 2006. In addition to aircraft, the collection includes many other historic artifacts relating to
The Cambridge & County Folk Museum is a museum located in Castle Street in central Cambridge, England. It is housed in eight rooms in the former White Horse Inn, a public house that closed in 1934. The museum presents the lives of the people of Cambridge and its surrounding area in the county of Cambridgeshire from 1700 onwards. The collection includes objects covering applied art, coins, costumes, decorative art, fine art, hobbies, law and order, medals, medicine, music, social history, textiles and toys.
The museum is supported by Cambridge City Council, the National Lottery, through the Heritage Lottery Fund, and two local organisations:
The museum was shortlisted for the 2006 Gulbenkian Prize.
The Grand Army of the Republic Memorial Hall, also known as William Baumer Post No. 24, Grand Army of the Republic (GAR), and as the Civil War Veterans Museum, is a historic building located at 908 (now 910) 1st Corso in Nebraska City, Nebraska, in the United States. The hall was built in 1894–95. In 1994, it was added to the U.S. National Register of Historic Places.
The Richardsonian Romanesque Grand Army of the Republic Memorial Hall was designed and built in 1894–95 by Harry Lawrie and George Lee Fisher, and was the meeting place of the William Baumer Post No. 24, which was one of 354 GAR posts in Nebraska. The hall has been restored and is now the Civil War Veterans Museum at the G.A.R. Memorial Hall.
The Louisville Science Center, previously known as the Louisville Museum of Natural History & Science, is Kentucky's largest hands-on science museum. Located in Louisville, Kentucky's "Museum Row" in the West Main District of downtown, the museum operates as a non-profit organization. It was founded in 1871 as a natural history collection, and now more than half a million people visit the museum annually. More students in Kentucky take field trips to the Louisville Science Center than to any other destination.
There are about 550,000 visitors annually. A special hands-on area for children younger than seven was renovated and renamed KidZone in 1998, featuring six educational activity areas.
The building itself is located at 727 West Main Street, and takes up 150,000 sq ft (14,000 m). This includes a four-story IMAX theater, built in 1988, in which three million people have seen at least one of the 45 different films shown there. The distinctive cast-iron facade limestone building was originally built in 1878 as a dry goods warehouse. The city purchased the building in 1975 and the museum moved into the premises in 1977, subsequently winning several design awards for its
The Ohio Railway Museum (reporting mark ORMX) is a railway museum located in Worthington, Ohio, a suburb of Columbus.
Established in 1945 and incorporated August 22, 1950, it is the fourth oldest organization involved with the preservation of railroad equipment and railroad history in North America that includes an operating railroad line. The museum was started with the name of "The Central Ohio Railfans Association" and officially changed its name to The Ohio Railway Museum February 17, 1993.
The Ohio Railway Museum (ORM) is an educational organization dedicated to the preservation and operation of historic railway equipment. A special focus is its collection of historic Ohio Railway equipment and artifacts. The Museum educates the public through operations of historic equipment; special events; publications; and community involvement.
Car #21 was the first piece acquired by the Museum in 1947. It was moved to the Museum grounds in 1948. The car is a fine example of wooden interurban car construction as of the 1900-1910 period. It was built by the Niles Car and Manufacturing Company of Niles, Ohio in 1905. It is considered a combination passenger-baggage type interurban. The car
The Singapore Art Museum (SAM, Chinese: 新加坡美术馆; pinyin: Xīnjiāpō Měishùguǎn) contains the national art collection of Singapore. It has a collection of 7,750 pieces of Singaporean and Southeast Asian modern and contemporary art, and has an expanding collection of new Asian and international contemporary art.
Officially opened in 1996, it is one of the first art museums with international standard museum facilities and programmes in Southeast Asia.
The museum, then known as the Fine Arts Museum, was borne out of a project by the National Museum to set up a five-museum precinct in the city. The other four museums that make up the precinct are known as the Singapore History Museum, Asian Civilisations Museum, People's Museum and the Children's Museum. The Fine Arts Museum project began with the restoration of the former St. Joseph's Institution building. At the same time, the appointment of artist and surgeon Dr Earl Lu to head an 11-member Fine Arts Museum Board was announced on July 18, 1992, by the Minister of State (Information and the Arts and Education) Dr Ker Sin Tze. The 11-strong Board was tasked to acquire works of art by notable painters from Southeast Asia and East Asia,
War Memorial of Korea is located in Yongsan-dong, Yongsan-gu, Seoul, South Korea. It opened in 1994 on the former site of the army headquarters to exhibit and memorialize the Military history of Korea. The memorial building has six indoor exhibition rooms and an outdoor exhibition centre displaying over 13,000 war memorabilia and military equipment.
The Korean peninsula has seen many wars among and within its states as well as intrusions from neighboring powers. Over the centuries, the southern states slowly seized territory from the neighbouring states and peoples such as the Jurchen, driving the border north and consolidating the peninsula under a single state, suffering several invasions that its allies helped to overcome. The War Memorial was built to commemorate actors and victims in the wars which led to the modern nation state. The museum also has the purpose of educating future generations by collecting, preserving, and exhibiting various historical relics and records related to the many wars fought in the country from a South Korean perspective.
The construction of the War Memorial of Korea was completed in December 1993. The project was carried in consultation with
The Bahrain National Museum (also referred to as National Museum of Bahrain) is the largest and one of the oldest public museums in Bahrain. It is constructed near the King Faisal Highway in Manama and opened in December 1988. The US$30 million museum complex covers 27,800 sq meters and consists of two buildings.
The museum possesses a rich collection of Bahrain's ancient archaeological artifacts acquired since 1988, and covers 6000 years of Bahrain's history. The complex includes three halls devoted to archaeology and the ancient civilisation of the Dilmun, while two other halls depict the culture and lifestyle of Bahrain's recent pre-industrial past.
In 1993 a further hall was opened, the Natural History Hall, focusing on the natural environment of Bahrain. This hall features specimens of Bahrain's flora and fauna. Among the exhibits in the ancient history section is an actual burial mound which was transported from its site in the desert and reassembled in the museum. Another feature is a tableau which depicts a scene from the Epic of Gilgamesh (in which reference to Bahrain is made as the paradise of Dilmun).
Old Quranic manuscripts, notes on astronomy and historical documents
The Bradbury Science Museum is the chief public facility of the Los Alamos National Laboratory, located at 1350 Central Avenue in Los Alamos, New Mexico, in the United States. It was founded in 1963, and was named for the Laboratory's second director (1945-1970), Norris E. Bradbury. Among the museum's early exhibits, artifacts and documents from the World War II Manhattan Project were displayed upon declassification. Other exhibits include full size models of the Little Boy and Fat Man atomic bombs. Admission is free.
The Museu Nacional d'Art de Catalunya (Catalan pronunciation: [muˈzɛw nəsiuˈnaɫ ˈdard də kətəˈɫuɲə], English: "National Art Museum of Catalonia"), abbreviated as MNAC, is the national museum of Catalan visual art located in Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain. Situated on Montjuïc hill at the end of Avinguda de la Reina Maria Cristina, near Pl Espanya. The museum is especially notable for its outstanding collection of romanesque church paintings, and for Catalan art and design from the late 19th and early 20th centuries, including modernisme and noucentisme. The Museum is housed in the Palau Nacional, a huge, Italian-style building dating to 1929. The Palau Nacional, which has housed the Museu d'Art de Catalunya since 1934, was declared a national museum in 1990 under the Museums Law passed by the Catalan Government. That same year, a thorough renovation process was launched to refurbish the site, based on plans drawn up by the architects Gae Aulenti and Enric Steegmann, who were later joined in the undertaking by Josep Benedito. The Oval Hall was reopened in 1992 on the occasion of the Olympic Games, and the various collections were installed and opened over the period from 1995 (when the
The New Museum of Contemporary Art, founded in 1977 by Marcia Tucker, is the only museum in New York City exclusively devoted to presenting contemporary art from around the world. The museum originally opened in a space in the Graduate Centre of the then-named New School for Social Research at 65 Fifth Avenue. The New Museum remained there until 1983, when it rented and moved to the first two and a half floors of the Astor Building in the SoHo neighborhood at 583 Broadway.
In 1999, Marcia Tucker was succeeded as director by Lisa Phillips, previously the curator of contemporary art at the Whitney Museum of American Art. In 2001, the museum rented 7,000 square feet of space on the first floor of the Chelsea Art Museum on West 22nd Street for a year.
Over the past five years, the New Museum has exhibited artists from Argentina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cameroon, China, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Germany, Poland, Spain, South Africa, Turkey, and the United Kingdom among many other countries. In 2003, the New Museum formed an affiliation with Rhizome, a leading online platform for global new media art.
In 2005, the museum was among 406 New York City arts and social service institutions to receive
The Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glypto-, from the Greek root glyphein, to carve and theke, a storing-place) is an art museum in Copenhagen, Denmark. The collection is built around the personal collection of Carl Jacobsen (1842–1914), the son of the founder of the Carlsberg Breweries.
Primarily a sculpture museum as indicated by the name, the focal point of the museum is antique sculpture from the ancient cultures around the Mediterranean including Egypt, Rome and Greece, as well as more modern sculptures such as a collection of Rodin works which is considered the most important outside France. However, the museum is equally noted for its collection of painting that includes an extensive collection of French impressionists and Post-impressionists as well as Danish Golden Age paintings.
The French Collection includes works by painters such as Jacques-Louis David, Monet, Pissarro, Renoir, Degas and Cézanne, as well as those by Post-impressionists such as van Gogh, Toulouse-Lautrec and Bonnard. The museum's collection of Rodin sculptures is considered the most important collection of Rodin's sculptures outside France. The museum's collection also includes all the bronze sculptures of
The People's History Museum (formerly the National Museum of Labour History until 2001) in Manchester, England is the United Kingdom's national centre for the collection, conservation, interpretation and study of material relating to the history of working people in the UK. It is located in a Grade II listed, former hydraulic pumping station on the corner of the Bridge Street and Water Street designed by City architect Henry Price.
The museum tells the story of the history of democracy in Britain and about ordinary people’s lives at home, work and leisure over the last 200 years. It contains a collection of printed material, physical objects and photographs which celebrate the lives of ordinary people at work, rest and play. Some of the topics covered include: Popular Radicalism, the Peterloo Massacre, 19th Century Trade Unionism, the Women's Suffrage movement, Dockers, the Co-op Retail movement, the 1945 General Election and football.
It also houses an important archive of material relating to the history of working people in Britain. Its collections include papers and documents created by the Labour Party, the former Communist Party of Great Britain, the co-operative movement and
The Staatliches Museum Ägyptischer Kunst (State Museum of Egyptian Art) in Munich is the Bavarian State Collection for Ancient Egypt art. It displays exhibits from all periods of Ancient Egypt's history. The associated small Middle East section displays objects from the areas of Assyrian and Babylonian culture. As of 2012 the Egyptian museum is located in the Residenz, but it will be moved to the Kunstareal in 2013.
A new, subterranean museum, opposite the Alte Pinakothek and reaching underneath the new structure for the University of Television and Film Munich was conceived by the architekt Peter Böhm. The project was inspired by an ancient Egyptian burial chamber. Its entrance area is marked with a portal wall reminiscent of the pylon gateways to Egyptian temples. It offers some 1800 m² of exhibition space, with an additional 400 m² for special exhibitions. It is tentitavely due to open in winter 2012.
The Bavarian state's collection was already founded in the 16th century by Duke Albrecht V and extended especially by Charles Theodore, Elector of Bavaria and King Ludwig I of Bavaria. The museum is dedicated to the periods of the early, middle and late kingdoms, but also to the
The Virginia Museum of Transportation is a museum devoted to the topic of transportation located in Downtown Roanoke, Virginia, U.S.A..
The Virginia Museum of Transportation began its life in 1963 as the Roanoke Transportation Museum located in Wasena Park in Roanoke, Virginia. The museum at that time was housed in an old Norfolk & Western Railway freight depot on the banks of the Roanoke River. The earliest components of the museum's collection included a United States Army Jupiter rocket and the famous N&W J Class Locomotive #611, donated by Norfolk & Western Railway to the city of Roanoke where many of its engines were constructed. The museum expanded its collection to include other pieces of rail equipment such as a former DC Transit PCC streetcar, and a number of horse-drawn vehicles including a hearse, a covered wagon, and a Studebaker wagon.
In November 1985, a flood nearly destroyed the museum, and much of its collection. It forced the shutdown of the facility and the refurbishment of #611. In April 1986, the museum re-opened in Norfolk & Western's freight stations in downtown Roanoke as the Virginia Museum of Transportation. The museum has earned that title, being
The Hiroshima Prefectural Art Museum (広島県立美術館, Hiroshima Kenritsu Bijutsukan) is an art museum founded in 1968. It was reconstructed in 1996. It is located near Shukkei-en in the Hiroshima City, Japan.
The Royal Ontario Museum (ROM) is Canada's largest museum of world culture and natural history, located in Toronto, Ontario. It is one of the largest museums in North America, welcoming over a million visitors every year. The museum is located north of Queen's Park in the University of Toronto, with its main entrance facing Bloor Street.
Founded in 1912, the museum has maintained close relations with the University of Toronto throughout its history, often sharing expertise and resources. The museum was originally under the direct control and management of the University of Toronto, until 1968, when it became an independent institution. Today, the museum is Canada's largest field-research institution, with research and conservation activities that span the globe.
With more than six million items and forty galleries, the museum's diverse collections of world culture and natural history are part of the reason for its international reputation. The museum contains notable collections of dinosaurs, minerals and meteorites, Near Eastern and African art, East Asian art, European history, and Canadian history. It also houses the world's largest collection of fossils from the Burgess Shale
The Huntington Railroad Museum is a railroad museum located in Bowie, Maryland.
The museum is owned by the municipal government and is located in the Bowie railroad station. It hosts several displays featuring Bowie's railroad history, including artifacts and photographs.
A 1922 Norfolk and Western Railroad caboose is located on the museum grounds. There is no admission charge to the museum which is handicapped accessible.
The City of Bowie purchased the buildings that comprise the museum from the railroad and located them together on the current museum site in 1992. These buildings were then restored in collaboration with the Huntington Heritage Society.
The buildings are located at 8614 Chestnut Avenue, near the intersections of 11th Street, close to the rail line. The City of Bowie maintains six sites in its museum system, all of which have been listed on the National Register of Historic Places since 1998.
The Menil Collection, located in Houston (Texas, USA) refers either to a museum that houses the private art collection of founders John de Menil and Dominique de Menil, or to the collection itself. Dominique was an heir to the Schlumberger oil-drilling fortune, and John was an executive of that company.
The Renzo Piano-designed museum opened to the public in June 1987 and houses John and Dominique de Menils' privately-assembled collection of twentieth-century art, including over 15,000 paintings, sculptures, prints, drawings, photographs, and rare books. It includes the early to mid-twentieth century works of Yves Tanguy, René Magritte, Max Ernst, Man Ray, Marcel Duchamp, Henri Matisse and Pablo Picasso among others. The museum also maintains an extensive collection of pop art and contemporary art from Jackson Pollock, Andy Warhol, Mark Rothko, Robert Rauschenberg, Vija Celmins and Cy Twombly, among others. Also included in the museum's permanent collection are Antiquities and works of Byzantine, Medieval and Tribal art.
The Menil Collection is open to the public, and admission is free. The Museum is open Wednesday through Sunday 11 am to 7 pm. It is located near the University of
The National Museum in Thailand is the main museum on the history of the Thai culture. The main museum is located in Bangkok on Na Phrathat Road next to the Sanam Luang, not far from Wat Phra Kaew.
In 1926 King Prajadhipok created the Royal Institute of Art, Literature and Archaeology, which then opened the museum in Bangkok at the Wang Na palace. Today there are 38 branch museums spread all over the country.
The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA) is a modern art museum located in San Francisco, California. A nonprofit organization, SFMOMA holds an internationally recognized collection of modern and contemporary art and was the first museum on the West Coast devoted solely to 20th century art. The museum’s current collection includes over 26,000 works of painting, sculpture, photography, architecture, design, and media arts. The building complex was designed by Swiss architect Mario Botta.
SFMOMA's Research Library was established in 1935 and contains extensive resources pertaining to modern and contemporary art, including books, periodicals, artists’ files, and lecture recordings. The museum also houses a restaurant, Caffè Museo, and a coffee bar run by the Blue Bottle Coffee Company.
SFMOMA was founded in 1935 under director Grace L. McCann Morley as the San Francisco Museum of Art. For its first sixty years, the museum occupied the fourth floor of the War Memorial Veterans Building on Van Ness Avenue in the Civic Center. A gift of 36 artworks from Albert M. Bender, including The Flower Carrier (1935) by Diego Rivera, established the basis of the permanent collection. Bender
Sports Legends Museum at Camden Yards is a non-profit sports museum in Baltimore, Maryland, United States, owned and operated by the Babe Ruth Birthplace & Museum. It opened on May 14, 2005, with the daughter of celebrated baseball player Babe Ruth in attendance. The 22,000-square-foot (2,044 m) museum is adjacent to the main gate of Oriole Park at Camden Yards and has artifacts and interactive exhibits profiling Maryland’s sports history. Exhibits include such area teams as the Baltimore Orioles, Baltimore Ravens, Baltimore Colts, University of Maryland, Baltimore Elite Giants, Baltimore Black Sox, and the Baltimore Blast.
The museum is housed in the former Camden Station, originally constructed in 1857 by the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad (B&O) as its main passenger station in Baltimore. After being vacant since the 1980s, the depot's exterior was restored in the 1990s as part of the development of the Camden Yards Sports Complex. Later interior renovations and remodeling were made to accommodate the building's adaptive reuse as a sports museum. Geppi's Entertainment Museum, which opened in September 2006, is located on the upper level of the building, directly above Sports Legends
The Byzantine and Christian Museum (Greek: Βυζαντινό και Χριστιανικό Μουσείο) is situated at Vassilissis Sofias Avenue in Athens, Greece. It was founded in 1914 and houses more than 25,000 exhibits with rare collections of pictures, scriptures, frescoes, pottery, fabrics, manuscripts and copies of artifacts from the 3rd century AD to the late medieval era. It is one of the most important museums in the world in Byzantine Art. In June 2004, in time for its 90th anniversary and the 2004 Athens Olympics, the museum reopened to the public after an extensive renovation and the addition of another wing.
The gallery is situated on Vassilissis Sofias Avenue 22, down the street from the Hilton Athens. It can be reached with the Athens Metro at the Evangelismos station.
The Eldred World War II Museum is located in Eldred, Pennsylvania, 80 miles south of Buffalo, New York and 175 miles north east of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Established in May 1996, the museum has continually expanded from one room to three stories. The Eldred World War II Museum is a non-profit organization that offers visitors an array of exhibits and information about World War II.
The Eldred World War II Museum is home to several permanent displays. Mitchell Paige Hall, named after Medal of Honor Recipient USMC Col. Mitchell Paige, features many of Paige's war souvenirs and personal items including Paige's dress whites and Medal of Honor.
The European and Pacific theaters are highlighted in multiple displays throughout the museum.
Highlights are a submarine display with an authentic World War II periscope, and the "Tank Mountain" interactive display in which visitors can operate remote-controlled tanks on mountainous terrain.
Visitors can enter a life-sized European command post equipped with period communications equipment. Throughout the museum dioramas bring the conflict to life for visitors. A section on the Eastern Front details the conflict between Russia and Germany that
The Germanisches Nationalmuseum is a museum in Nuremberg, Germany. Founded in 1852, it houses a large collection of items relating to German culture and art extending from prehistoric times through to the present day. With current holdings of about 1.2 million objects, the Germanisches Nationalmuseum is Germany's largest museum of cultural history.
Formerly the Germanisches Museum, it was founded by a group of individuals led by the Franconian baron, Hans von und zu Aufsess, whose goal was to assemble a "well-ordered compendium of all available source material for German history, literature and art".
The buildings incorporate the remaining structures of the former Nuremberg Charterhouse, dissolved in 1525 and used for a variety of secular purposes until in 1857 what was left of the premises, by then badly dilapidated, was given to the Museum.
The Jewish Museum of New York, an art museum and repository of cultural artifacts, is the leading Jewish museum in the United States. With over 26,000 objects, it contains the largest collection of art and Jewish culture outside of museums in Israel. The museum is housed at 1109 Fifth Avenue, in the former Felix M. Warburg House, along Museum Mile on the Upper East Side of Manhattan in New York City.
While its collection was established in 1904 at the Jewish Theological Seminary of America, the museum did not open to the public until 1947. It focuses both on artifacts of Jewish history and on modern and contemporary art. Its permanent exhibition, Culture and Continuity: The Jewish Journey, is supplemented by rotating exhibitions and special exhibitions.
The collection that seeded the museum began with a gift of 26 Jewish ceremonial art objects from Judge Mayer Sulzberger to the Jewish Theological Seminary of America on January 20, 1904, where it was housed in the seminary's library. The collection was moved in 1931, with the Seminary, to 122nd and Broadway and set aside in a room entitled 'The Museum of Jewish Ceremonial Objects'. The collection was subsequently expanded by major
The Musée du Louvre (French pronunciation: [myze dy luvʁ])—in English, the Louvre Museum or simply The Louvre—is the world's most visited art museum, one of the world's largest museums, and a historic monument. A central landmark of Paris, France, it is located on the Right Bank of the Seine in the 1st arrondissement (district). Nearly 35,000 objects from prehistory to the 19th century are exhibited over an area of 60,600 square metres (652,300 square feet).
The museum is housed in the Louvre Palace (Palais du Louvre) which began as a fortress built in the late 12th century under Philip II. Remnants of the fortress are visible in the basement of the museum. The building was extended many times to form the present Louvre Palace. In 1682, Louis XIV chose the Palace of Versailles for his household, leaving the Louvre primarily as a place to display the royal collection, including, from 1692, a collection of antique sculpture. In 1692, the building was occupied by the Académie des Inscriptions et Belles Lettres and the Académie Royale de Peinture et de Sculpture, which in 1699 held the first of a series of salons. The Académie remained at the Louvre for 100 years. During the French
The National Museum of African Art is an African art museum located in Washington, D.C., United States. The museum is one of nineteen under the wing of the Smithsonian Institution. The museum, which was started in 1964, was originally located at the Frederick Douglass House in the Capitol Hill neighborhood of Washington, D.C. In 1979 the museum was transferred over to the Smithsonian and relocated to the National Mall. It opened in its current location, as one of two institutions, mostly underground, in the quadrangle complex behind the Smithsonian Institution Building (the Castle), in 1987.
In 1964, Warren M. Robbins founded the Museum of African Art. It was a privately funded African art museum at the Frederick Douglass House, in Washington, D.C. Robbins owned the building. Robbins, who was a former American Foreign Services officer, was the first museum director. The museum showcased traditional African art and had educational programs about African art and culture. The museum consisted of nine row homes with twelve galleries, a library and a small auditorium. Robbins, who collected African art while serving overseas, sought to "foster an understanding African art in the U.S."
The National Museum of the United States Air Force (formerly the United States Air Force Museum) is the official museum of the United States Air Force located at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base 6 miles (9.7 km) northeast of Dayton, Ohio. The NMUSAF is the world's largest and oldest military aviation museum with more than 360 aircraft and missiles on display. The museum draws over 1.3 million visitors each year making it one of the most frequently visited tourist attractions in Ohio. Admission to the museum is free.
The museum dates back to 1923 when the Engineering Division at Dayton's McCook Field first collected technical artifacts for preservation. In 1927 it moved to then-Wright Field and was housed in a succession of buildings. In 1954 as the Air Force Museum it was housed in its first permanent facility, Building 89 of the former Patterson Field in Fairborn, which had been an engine overhaul hangar, and many of its aircraft were parked outside and exposed to the weather. It remained there until 1971 when the current facility was first opened. Not including its annex on Wright Field proper, the museum has more than tripled in square footage since its inception in 1971.
The Norwegian Railway Museum (Norwegian: Norsk Jernbanemuseum) is the national railway museum in Norway. Museum headquarters, administration offices and main exhibition hall are situated in the city of Hamar. The museum is operated by the Norwegian National Rail Administration.
The Spaulding Wooden Boat Center (SWBC), in Sausalito, California, is a living museum where one can go back in time to experience the days when craftsmen and sailors used traditional skills to build, sail or row classic wooden boats on San Francisco Bay.
The center offers tours, classes and special events, as well as sails on the center's fleet of wooden boats. The center is staffed by master craftsmen, history experts, longtime sailors and volunteers committed to preserving and sharing the Center's maritime heritage.
The SWBC is a 501(c)(3) non-profit and tax-exempt California public benefit corporation.
The mission of the Spaulding Wooden Boat Center is to restore and return to active use significant, historic wooden sailing vessels; preserve and enhance our working boatyard; create a place where people can gather to use, enjoy, and learn about wooden boats; and educate others about wooden boat building skills, traditions and values.
The SWBC was originally built as the Spaulding Boatworks on the Sausalito waterfront in 1951 by Myron Spaulding, concert violinist, renowned sailor, and yacht designer and builder.
In 2002 Myron Spaulding’s widow Gladys left the Spaulding Boatworks
The United Nations Art Collection is a collective group of artworks and historic objects donated as gifts to the United Nations by its member states, associations, or individuals. These artistic treasures and possessions, mostly in the form of “sculptures, paintings, tapestries and mosaics”, are representative “arts of nations” that are contained and exhibited within the confines of the United Nations Headquarters in New York City, USA, and other duty stations, making the UN and its international territories a "fine small museum".
Member states follow a protocol for presenting official gifts to the United Nations. Procedures, speeches, and ceremonies, such as the unveiling of these gifts, are conducted and coordinated by the Protocol and Liaison Service. Ideally, every member nation can only present one offering, and member nations are responsible for the installation of the offered artifacts.
The official gifts to the United Nations by its member states epitomize the ideals, significance and values of the UN as an international organization.
In 1964, a 15 foot by 12 foot stained glass window by Marc Chagall was donated to the United Nations by its own staff members and by Chagall
The Viking Ship Museum (Danish: Vikingeskibsmuseet) in Roskilde is the Danish national museum for ships, seafaring and boatbuilding in the prehistoric and medieval period.
Around the year 1070, five Viking ships were deliberately sunk at Skuldelev in Roskilde Fjord in order to block the most important fairway and to protect Roskilde from enemy attack from the sea. These ships, later known as the Skuldelev ships, were excavated in 1962. They turned out to be five different types of ships ranging from cargo ships to ships of war.
The Viking Ship Museum overlooks Roskilde Fjord and was built in 1969 especially to exhibit the five newly-discovered ships. In the late 1990s excavations for an expansion of the museum uncovered a further 9 ships including the longest Viking warship ever discovered, at 36 meters.
The California Palace of the Legion of Honor (often abbreviated Legion of Honor) is a part of the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco (FAMSF). The name is used both for the museum collection and for the building in which it is housed.
The Legion of Honor was the gift of Alma de Bretteville Spreckels, wife of the sugar magnate and thoroughbred racehorse owner/breeder Adolph B. Spreckels. The building is a three-quarter-scale version of the Palais de la Légion d'Honneur also known as the Hôtel de Salm in Paris by George Applegarth and H. Guillaume. It was completed in 1924.
The museum building occupies an elevated site in Lincoln Park in the northwest of the city, with views over the Golden Gate Bridge. Most of the surrounding Lincoln Park Golf Course is on the site of a potter's field called the "Golden Gate Cemetery" that the City had bought in 1867. The cemetery was closed in 1908 and the bodies were relocated to Colma. During seismic retrofitting in the 1990s, however, coffins and skeletal remains were unearthed.
The plaza and fountain in front of the Palace of the Legion of Honor is the western terminus of the Lincoln Highway, the first road across America. The terminus marker
The Edgar Allan Poe Museum is a museum located in Richmond, Virginia, dedicated to American writer Edgar Allan Poe. Though Poe never lived in the building, it serves to commemorate his time living in Richmond. The museum holds one of the world's largest collections of original manuscripts, letters, first editions, memorabilia and personal belongings. The museum also provides an overview of early 19th century Richmond, where Poe lived and worked. The museum features the life and career of Edgar Allan Poe by documenting his accomplishments with pictures, relics, and verse, and focusing on his many years in Richmond.
The Museum is housed in the "Old Stone House", built circa 1740 and cited as the oldest original building in Richmond. It was built by Jacob Ege, who immigrated from Germany to Philadelphia in 1738 and came to the James River Settlements and Col. Wm. Byrd's land grant (now known as Richmond) in the company of the family of his fiancée, Maria Dorothea Scheerer, whom he later married; the house was a "Home for the Bride." (One of Jacob's nephews, George Ege, was a member of the United States House of Representatives from Berks County, Pennsylvania.) Dendrochronology
The Military Gallery (Russian: Военная галерея) is a gallery of the Winter Palace in Saint Petersburg, Russia. The gallery is a setting for 332 portraits of generals who took part in the Patriotic War of 1812. The portraits were painted by George Dawe and his Russian assistants Alexander Polyakov and Wilhelm August Golike.
The top-lit barrel-vaulted hall in which the gallery is accommodated was designed by architect Carlo Rossi and constructed from June to November 1826. It replaced several small rooms in the middle of the main block of the Winter Palace - between the White Throne Hall and the Greater Throne Hall, just a few steps from the palace church. The gallery was opened in a solemn ceremony on 25 December 1826.
Less than ten years after its completion, it was destroyed by fire in 1837. The fire burned slowly and Dawe's portraits were saved from the flames. The architect Vasily Stasov recreated the hall exactly as it had been before.
During the Soviet era, the gallery collection was enriched with four portraits of palace grenadiers, the special troops created in 1827 to guard the house for veterans of the Patriotic War. The portraits were also painted by George Dawe, in 1828.
Preus Museum is the national museum for photography in Norway and is situated in Horten. It was originally founded by the Preus family as a private museum, but the collection was acquired by the Norwegian government in 1995.
In 2001, the museum moved to a former naval facility in Karljohansvern. The facilities have been adapted for museum use based on the work of architect Sverre Fehn.
The Birger Sandzén Memorial Gallery is located in Lindsborg in McPherson County, Kansas. The memorial art gallery is located in "Little Sweden", a place where Swedish immigrants founded the town. The gallery is dedicated to Birger Sandzén, who was a Swedish born painter. He produced most of his work in the United States where he worked as an art professor at the Bethany College in Lindsborg. Sandzén painted many landscape scenes, including depictions of the American Old West, the Rockies, and Yellowstone National Park. The gallery has oils, watercolors, and prints by Sandzén.
Birger Sandzén Memorial Gallery 401 N. First St. Lindsborg, Kansas 67456
The hours of the gallery are from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m., Tuesday through Sunday, and closed on Monday and major holidays.
The Tokorozawa Aviation Museum (所沢航空発祥記念館, Tokorozawa Kōkū Hasshō Kinenkan) is a museum located in the city of Tokorozawa, Saitama dedicated to the history of aviation in Japan. It contains aircraft and other displays (many of which are interactive) and an IMAX theatre. Located on the site of Japan's first airfield which started operations in 1911 with a flight by Yoshitoshi Tokugawa, the original single runway is still visible and has been incorporated into a larger multifunction park adjacent to the museum.
The museum is located near Kōkū-kōen Station on the Seibu Shinjuku Line, approximately 30 to 45 minutes from central Tokyo.
The Art Institute of Chicago (AIC) is a renowned, encyclopedic art museum located in Chicago's Grant Park. The Art Institute has one of the world's most notable collections of Impressionist and Post-Impressionist art in its permanent collection. Its diverse holdings also include significant American art, Old Masters, European and American decorative arts, Asian art and modern and contemporary art. It is located at 111 South Michigan Avenue in the Chicago Landmark Historic Michigan Boulevard District. The museum is associated with the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and is overseen by Director and President Douglas Druick. At one million square feet, it is the second largest art museum in the United States behind only the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City.
In 1866, a group of 35 artists founded the Chicago Academy of Design in a studio on Dearborn Street, with the intent to run a free school with its own art gallery. The organization was modeled after European art academies, such as the Royal Academy, with Academians and Associate Academians. The Academy's charter was granted in March 1867.
Classes started in 1868, meeting every day at a cost of $10 per month. The
The Astley Green Colliery Museum is a museum run by the Red Rose Steam Society in Astley near Tyldesley in Greater Manchester, England. (grid reference SJ70509996) Before becoming a museum, the site was a working colliery that produced coal from 1912 to 1970; it is now protected as a Scheduled Monument. The museum occupies a 15-acre (6 ha) site by the Bridgewater Canal which has the only surviving pit headgear and engine house on the Lancashire Coalfield.
Astley Green Colliery exploited deep coal seams of the Manchester Coalfield underneath the peat bog known as Chat Moss, and was driven by the high demand for coal during the late 19th and early 20th centuries and the exhaustion of supplies of coal in the Irwell Valley. Shaft sinking began in 1908 by the Pilkington Colliery Company, a subsidiary of the Clifton and Kersley Coal Company, and the pit began production in 1912. In 1928 the colliery was amalgamated with other local collieries to form Manchester Collieries. The mine was modernised when the coal industry was nationalised in 1947. Astley Green Colliery was closed in 1970 and was subsequently opened to the public as a museum.
Astley Green Colliery has the only surviving
The Glyptothek is a museum in Munich, Germany, which was commissioned by the Bavarian King Ludwig I to house his collection of Greek and Roman sculptures (hence γλυπτο- glypto- "sculpture", from the Greek verb γλύφειν glyphein "to carve"). It was designed by Leo von Klenze in the Neoclassical style, and built from 1816 to 1830. Today the museum is a part of the Kunstareal.
The Glyptothek was commissioned by the Crown Prince (later King) Ludwig I of Bavaria alongside other projects, such as the neighboring Königsplatz and the building which houses the State Collection of Greek and Roman Antiquities, as a monument to ancient Greece. He envisioned a "German Athens", in which the ancient Greek culture would be remembered; he had this built in front of the gates of Munich.
The layout of the Königsplatz complex was designed by the architects Karl von Fischer and Leo von Klenze in 1815, the latter arranged it in the style of a forum, with the Glyptothek on the north side. Colorful frescoes and stuccos made by distinguished artists such as Peter von Cornelius, Clemens von Zimmermann, and Wilhelm von Kaulbach adorned the walls of the museum.
In the few years between 1806 and the opening of
The Peshtigo Fire Museum is a museum in Peshtigo, Wisconsin pertaining to the 1871 Peshtigo Fire and to other local history. There were 11,555 visitors to the museum in 2000. The museum is located adjacent to the Peshtigo Fire Cemetery, where the charred remains of over 350 people were buried in a mass grave. The cemetery is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The memorial at the cemetery was the first official state historical marker authorized by the State Historic Society of Wisconsin.
Few items survived the fire, since only one house under construction using green wood was left unburned. A featured item in the museum's collection is the Church tabernacle that local Roman Catholic priest Father Peter Pernin saved by submerging in the Peshtigo River. The tabernacle survived the fire unblemished. Pernin published a book called "The Great Peshtigo Fire: An Eyewitness Account", which was republished by the Wisconsin Historical Society in 1971. The book documents Pernin's account of the tabernacle submersion in the river, rescue, and horrific accounts of discoveries during and after the fire. Other Peshtigo fire items include a small burned Bible and a melted glass
The Clink was a notorious prison in Southwark, England which functioned from the 12th century until 1780 either deriving its name from, or bestowing it on, the local manor, the Clink Liberty (see also the Liberty of the Clink). The manor and prison were owned by the Bishop of Winchester and situated next to his residence at Winchester Palace. The Clink was possibly the oldest men's prison and probably the oldest women's prison in England.
The origins of the name "The Clink" are uncertain, but it is possibly onomatopoeic and derives from the sound of striking metal as the prison's doors were bolted, or the rattling of the chains the prisoners wore.
The name has become slang as a generic term for prison or a gaol cell.
There has been a prison owned by the Bishop of Winchester in one form or another since the year 860, although at that time it would only have been one cell in a priests' college. By 1076 an archbishop had listed the types of punishment allowed, scourging with rods, solitary confinement, and bread and water in silence.
The building of a chapel and mansion at Southwark was begun in 1107 by the Bishop of Winchester, but was not completed until 1144, by his successor.
Duwamish was one of the most powerful fireboats in the United States several times over her 75-year working life. She is the second oldest vessel designed to fight fires in the USA, after the Edward M Cotter, in Buffalo, New York.
Duwamish was built in 1909 in Seattle for the Seattle Fire Department in Richmond Beach, Washington. She was powered by "double vertical (compound) marine steam engines" capable of driving her at 10.5 knots (19.4 km/h; 12.1 mph). She was equipped with three American LaFrance steam piston pumps rated at a capacity of 3,000 US gallons per minute (0.189 m/s) each. She was originally designed to ram and sink burning wooden vessels, as a last resort, and was equipped with a ram bow for doing so.
On July 30, 1914, Duwamish was involved in fighting the fire on the Grand Trunk Pacific dock. In the 1930s, as a cost-saving measure, the Seattle City Council directed that Duwamish be used as a tug to push the city's garbage scow.
After an upgrade in 1949, the pumps delivered a total of 22,800 US gallons per minute (1.438 m/s). This capacity was only exceeded in 2003 by the Los Angeles Fire Department's Warner Lawrence, which delivers 38,000 US gallons per minute
The Macleay Museum in Sydney, Australia, is a natural history museum located on the main campus of the University of Sydney. Admission is free and the museum open to the public. Hours of admission are 10:00am to 4:30pm Monday to Friday, and 12:00pm to 4:00pm on the first Saturday of the month. The museum is closed on public holidays and Sundays.
The building in which the museum is housed was built off Science Lane (within the University of Sydney) in 1887. The collections of the Macleay Museum are based largely on the efforts and acquisitions of the Macleays, one of the pre-eminent families in colonial Sydney: Alexander Macleay, William Sharp Macleay and William John Macleay.
The strengths of the collection lie in entomology, ethnography, scientific instruments, and historic photographs. Many of the biological specimens in the collection represent rare or extinct species, while some of the specimens have historic and cultural value as they were collected by explorers like Charles Darwin and Nicholas Miklouho-Maclay.
The George Masters Exhibition Space of the museum is devoted to temporary exhibitions. Overall, the museum houses one of the most important natural history and
The Alaska State Troopers Museum is a small museum in downtown Anchorage, Alaska. It is operated by the Fraternal Order of Alaska State Troopers. The museum commemorates the Alaska State Troopers and features a variety of historical memorabilia, including a restored 1952 Hudson Hornet patrol car.
The House of the County or Casa do Condado is since 2007 the museum of Vila Pouca de Aguiar in Portugal. It includes a collection of cultural goods constituted by archaeological and ethnographic materials of great value from the region.
The House of the County or 'Casa do Condado' is the place of birth of Doctor Martiniano Ferreira Botelho.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art (colloquially The Met), located in New York City, is the largest art museum in the United States with among the most significant art collections. Its permanent collection contains more than two million works, divided among nineteen curatorial departments. The main building, located on the eastern edge of Central Park along Manhattan's Museum Mile, is by area one of the world's largest art galleries. There is also a much smaller second location at "The Cloisters" in Upper Manhattan that features medieval art.
Represented in the permanent collection are works of art from classical antiquity and Ancient Egypt, paintings and sculptures from nearly all the European masters, and an extensive collection of American and modern art. The Met also maintains extensive holdings of African, Asian, Oceanic, Byzantine, and Islamic art. The museum is also home to encyclopedic collections of musical instruments, costumes and accessories, and antique weapons and armor from around the world. Several notable interiors, ranging from 1st-century Rome through modern American design, are permanently installed in the Met's galleries.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art was founded
The Museum of Evolution Warsaw (In Polish: Muzeum Ewolucji) is the display area of the natural history museum in Warsaw, Poland. It is the public front of the Muzeum i Instytut Zoologii or Zoology Museum and the Instytut Paleobiologii or Paleobiology Institute. It is based at the Palace of Culture and Science.
The Queens Museum of Art (QMA) is an art museum and educational center located in Flushing Meadows-Corona Park in the borough of Queens in New York City, United States.
The Queens Museum of Art is located in Flushing Meadows Corona Park in Queens, New York. It is housed in the New York City Building that was constructed for the 1939 World’s Fair and hosted the United Nations General Assembly 1946-50. Founded in 1972, the museum houses the well known Panorama of the City of New York, a scale model of the five boroughs built for the 1964 World’s Fair.
Situated in the most diverse county in the United States, the museum has focused on outreach and access for a wide range of audiences. The Museum is known for international contemporary art exhibitions that reflect the hyper-diversity of the borough. The museum’s Education Department is the first in America to employ art therapists in a dedicated, fully accessible classroom, while the Public Events department has hired community organizers to work on local improvement initiatives.
Employing a multifaceted strategy of outreach, the Queens Museum is simultaneously a fine arts collecting museum, historical site, community center, and
The Shelburne Falls Trolley Museum is a small railroad museum in Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts, United States.
The museum (SFTM) is dedicated to preserving and operating car number 10 of the former Shelburne Falls and Colrain Street Railway. This is a combination passenger-baggage trolley car built by the Wason Manufacturing Company of Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1896 and is the last known trolley car from the Shelburne Falls & Colrain Street Railway.
In 1992 Marshall Johnson donated car number 10 (which his father had bought and saved when the Shelburne Falls & Colrain Street Railway shut down, decades earlier!) to a small group of people who restored the car back to working order.
The museum also has a small assortment of equipment that is not related to the Shelburne Falls & Colrain Street Railway like an ex-Central Vermont caboose, a Central Vermont handcar, and other railroad and trolley equipment.
The Shelburne Falls Trolley Museum is located in the old Buckland Freight yard.
42°35′58″N 72°44′20″W / 42.599517°N 72.738836°W / 42.599517; -72.738836
Blists Hill is an open air museum, one of ten museums operated by the Ironbridge Gorge Museum Trust, built on a former industrial complex located in the Madeley area of Telford, Shropshire, England. The museum attempts to recreate the sights, sounds and smells of a Victorian Shropshire town in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
In the 18th and 19th centuries, Blists Hill was an industrial region consisting of a brick and tile works, blast furnaces and coal, iron and fire clay mines operated by the Madeley Wood Company. A short section of the Shropshire Canal ran across the site to the Hay Inclined Plane, which transported boats up and down the 207 ft (63 m) tall incline from Blists Hill to Coalport.
Blists Hill Victorian Town, originally called Blists Hill Open Air Museum, was opened in 1973, and has been slowly growing ever since. The museum's buildings fall into one of three categories: buildings that were already part of the industrial site (e.g. the brickworks); buildings that simply represent a generic type (e.g. the sweet shop), some adaptively reusing existing premises on site or being replicas of those still standing elsewhere; and original buildings that have been
The Edgar Allan Poe House and Museum, located at 203 Amity St. in Baltimore, Maryland, is the former home of American writer Edgar Allan Poe in the 1830s. Now open as a museum, the small unassuming structure is a typical row home, and also houses the Edgar Allan Poe Society of Baltimore. It was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1972. Due to a loss of a subsidy from the city of Baltimore, the Museum may soon have to close its doors.
The brick home, then numbered 3 Amity St., and now numbered 203 Amity Street, is assumed to have been built in 1830 and rented by Poe's aunt Maria Clemm in 1832. Clemm was joined in the home with her ailing mother, Elizabeth Cairnes Poe, and her daughter Virginia Clemm. Edgar Allan Poe moved in with the family in 1833 around the age of 23, after leaving West Point. Virginia was 10 years old at the time; Poe would marry her three years later, though their only public ceremony was in 1836.
The house was rented using pension money that Elizabeth collected thanks to her husband, David Poe Sr., who was a veteran of the American Revolutionary War. The home is small and Poe's room on the top floor has a ceiling with a sharp pitch which is six feet high
The National Museum of Ethnology (Dutch: Rijksmuseum voor Volkenkunde or RMV) is a museum about ethnology in the Netherlands is located in the university city of Leiden.
The institution which was at first called the "Museum Japonicum". It was the first museum in Europe which was designed to demonstrate that collecting the artefacts of man could mean more than the mere accumulation of curiosities. From the very outset, this innovative institution incorporated at least four basic principles: collecting, scientific research, presentation to the public, and educational guidance.
In the early 1830s, Philipp Franz von Siebold abandoned the political turmoil of revolutionary Belgium for the relative calm of the University of Leiden. A few years later, Seibold's Japanese collection of about 5,000 objects became the heart the new museum's holdings. Siebold's home in Leiden—and the objects he brought to Europe after eight years in Japan—was opened to the public in the early 1830s. The Dutch crown had previously purchased the smaller collections of Jan Cock Blomhoff in 1826 and Johannes Gerhard Frederik van Overmeer Fischer in 1832. These which were merged with what Siebold bestowed on King
The National Museum of Pakistan (Urdu: قومی عجائب گھر پاکِستان ) is located in Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan.
National Museum of Pakistan was established in Frere Hall on April 17, 1950, replacing the defunct Victoria Museum. Frere Hall itself was built in 1865 as a tribute to Sir Bartle Frere, a Commissioner of Sind during the 19th century. Once the Museum was inaugurated then the Government of Pakistan deemed it wise to constitute an Advisory Council in 1950 with a primary duty to counsel the Museum on the issues of enriching its collection through new acquisitions and purchase of antiquities and works of Arts.The Museum was shifted to the present premises (located in Burnes Garden, Dr. Zia-ud-din Road) in 1970.
The basic objective of establishing National Museum was to collect, preserve, study, and exhibit the records of the cultural history of Pakistan and to promote a learned insight into the personality of its people.
In 1970 there were only four galleries in the Museum. However, at present there are a total of 11 Galleries in the Museum including an exquisite “Quran Gallery”. As a matter of fact National Museum has more than 300 copies of the Quran (all are exactly the same), out
The Salvador Dali Museum in St. Petersburg, Florida, United States, houses the largest collection outside Europe of the works of the artist Salvador Dalí and is located on the Downtown St. Petersburg waterfront. On April 18, 2012, the AIA's Florida Chapter placed the building on its list of Florida Architecture: 100 Years. 100 Places as the Dali Museum.
Shortly before marrying in 1942, A. Reynolds Morse & Eleanor R. Morse attended a Dalí retrospective at the Cleveland Museum of Art. Intrigued by the artist’s subject matter, and impressed by his draftsmanship, they bought their first painting a year later. The purchase began a 40-year relationship as patrons and friends of Dalí that resulted in a comprehensive collection of original Dalí work.
Until 1971, the Morses displayed their collection in their Cleveland, Ohio, home. When they loaned over 200 pieces to a Dalí retrospective in 1965, they realized that 25 years of collecting produced a mini-retrospective that needed a permanent home.
In 1971, with Dalí presiding over the opening, the Morses opened a museum adjacent to their office building in Beachwood, Ohio. By the end of the decade with an overwhelming number of visitors, the
The Pavillon de Flore is a section of the Palais du Louvre in Paris, France. Its construction began in 1595, during the reign of Henry IV, and has had numerous renovations since. The structure stands along the south face of the Louvre Museum, near the Pont Royal. The Pavillon de Flore was built to extend the Grande Galerie, which formed the south face of the Palais du Louvre, to the Palais des Tuileries, thus linking the two palaces.
The Pavillon played a role in the French Revolution, as many of the executive committees, including the infamous Committee of Public Safety, met there during the Reign of Terror. The structure formed the corner edifice of a combined Palais du Louvre and Palais des Tuileries complex until the Palais des Tuileries was destroyed during the Paris Commune insurrection in 1871. Tuileries' destruction affected the aesthetic relationship between the Palais du Louvre and the Arc de Triomphe, as it could now be seen that the two structures were not on the same axis.
Construction began in 1595, using the design of Jacques Androuet II du Cerceau who worked in cooperation with the architect Louis Métezeau. The project was part of a larger plan designed to
The Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, originally Cincinnati Union Terminal, is a passenger railroad station in the Queensgate neighborhood of Cincinnati, Ohio, United States. After the decline of railroad travel, most of the building was converted to other uses, and now houses museums, theaters, and a library.
Cincinnati was a major center of railroad traffic in the late 19th and early 20th century, especially as an interchange point between railroads serving the Northeastern and Midwestern states with railroads serving the South. However, intercity passenger traffic was split among no fewer than five stations in Downtown Cincinnati, requiring the many travelers who changed between railroads to navigate local transit themselves. The Louisville and Nashville Railroad, which operated through sleepers with other railroads, was forced to split its operations between two stations. Proposals to construct a union station began as early as the 1890s, and a committee of railroad executives formed in 1912 to begin formal studies on the subject, but a final agreement between all seven railroads that served Cincinnati and the city itself would not come until 1928, after intense
The Madison Museum of Bathroom Tissue was established in 1992, and closed in 2000. The museum was co-founded by Carol Kolb and was located at 305 N. Hamilton in Madison, Wisconsin, USA, in a second-floor apartment three blocks from the state capitol.
At its peak, the MMBT's permanent collection contained approximately 3,000 rolls of toilet paper. The toilet paper's origins ranged from the bathrooms of other museums, like the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Guggenheim, to American tourist destinations like Wall Drug and Graceland. The museum also had European, African, Australian, Canadian, and Mexican toilet paper as well as a collection of toilet paper from bars and restaurants located in Madison. The Manufacturers Wing contained a collection of retail samples donated by toilet paper manufacturers, many with headquarters in Wisconsin's Fox River Valley paper-producing area.
The museum closed its doors in December 2000 when the remaining live-in staff vacated the address to move away from Madison. The collection currently resides in Elgin, IL, kept in storage by new owners Caleb and Tracy Hanson.
Prudence Crandall House, also known as Elisha Payne House and as the Prudence Crandall School for Negro Girls, is a historic house in Canterbury, Connecticut. It is notable for having been the home of Prudence Crandall, the abolitionist and educator, and the school which she ran from 1832 until 1834 when it was closed by mob violence. The building is now home to the Prudence Crandall Museum. For her brave actions at this home and school, Prudence Crandall is Connecticut's official state heroine.
It was built in 1805 by or for one Elisha Payne.
Architecturally, the "house is a notable example of what has been termed the 'Canterbury type' because of several similar examples in the vicinity. It shows the peculiar roof form of gable on hip with twin chimneys, a triangular pediment at the eaves above a projecting pavilion at center of the facade, which carries a Palladian window lighting the stair hall at second floor level and an elaborate entrance doorway."
The main cornice around the entire house includes modillion blocks just above a Greek fret. The two front corners of the house sport "fluted pilasters on high bases", which "also flank the central pavilion, framing also in
The Institute of Contemporary Art or ICA is a contemporary art museum located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA. The museum is associated with the University of Pennsylvania, and is located on its campus. The Institute is one of the country's leading museums dedicated to exhibiting the innovative art of our time. Its current director is Claudia Gould. Ingrid Schaffner is its current senior curator.
Since its founding in 1963, ICA has established a reputation for identifying artists of promise who later emerge in the international spotlight. The ICA has exhibited the first museum shows of Andy Warhol, Laurie Anderson, Agnes Martin, and Robert Indiana. There is no permanent collection at the ICA, but new exhibits are shown three times a year, with 12 shows annually. ICA offers educational programs, artist talks, lectures, films and tours. Recently featured artists include Gillian Wearing, Yoshitomo Nara, John Armleder, Douglas Blau, Robert Crumb, Kate Gilmore, Barry LeVa, and Odili Donald Odita.
The current modern gallery building was built in 1990 and designed by Adele Naude Santos.
The Institute of Contemporary Art at the University of Pennsylvania is a leader in the presentation
The Qantas Founders Outback Museum is a transport museum at Longreach, Queensland, Australia. The museum is home to a decommissioned Qantas Boeing 747-200, which can be observed by the general public. It also holds the airline's first jet, a Boeing 707-138.
The Boeing 707 was restored at Southend Airport in England in mid 2006 and returned to Australia in December 2006. It was flown to Longreach on 10 June 2007. It had previously been owned by a Saudi prince, but had not been flown for 6 years before its restoration.
The SPARK Museum of Electrical Invention (formerly the American Museum of Radio and Electricity) is an interactive museum located in Bellingham, Washington, which offers educational experiences for audiences of all ages through galleries and public programs that illustrate the development and use of electricity, radio and the related inventions that changed the course of human history. The museum features a collection of artifacts showcasing four centuries of human innovation from 1580 into the 1950s.
The museum began in 1985 as an informal collection of radio sets, spare parts, schematics, recordings, and vintage magazines and manuals owned by a Bellingham resident, Jonathan Winter Winter's collection continued to grow, and by 1998, the Bellingham Antique Radio Museum was officially established, with the more than 800 radio sets from Winter's collection forming the core of the museum's collection.
The museum took on the name "American Museum of Radio and Electricity" in 2001 when it moved into its 23,000-square-foot (2,100 m) facility and John Jenkins, a former sales and marketing manager at Microsoft, retired and became co-curator of the museum. Jenkins added his collection to
The Lady Lever Art Gallery was founded in 1922 by Sunlight Soap magnate, William Lever, 1st Viscount Leverhulme, and dedicated to the memory of his wife.
Set in the attractive garden village of Port Sunlight, Merseyside, England, also created by Lord Lever, the gallery is famous for its British 18th-century and 19th-century paintings, 18th-century furniture and an outstanding collection of Wedgwood.
The Grade II listed gallery is part of National Museums Liverpool.
The collection includes:
The Lenbachhaus in Munich contains an art museum and is part of Munich's "Kunstareal" (the "art area").
The Lenbachhaus was built as a Florentine-style villa for the painter Franz von Lenbach between 1887 and 1891 by Gabriel von Seidl. Some of the rooms of the villa still have kept their original design.
The city of Munich acquired the building in 1924, and today, the Lenbach Haus houses the city's gallery. The Lenbachhaus was expanded 1927-1929 by Hans Grässel and again 1969-1972 by Heinrich Volbehr and Rudolf Thönessen. The latest wing was closed to the public in 2009 to allow the expansion and restoration of the Lenbachhaus by Norman Foster. Construction started May, 2009, and the scheduled reopening is Spring 2013. Currently, the house is not accessible to the public. The architect has decided to place the new main entrance on Museumsplatz in front of the Propylaea.
The gallery contains a variety of works by Munich painters and contemporary artists, in styles such as The Blue Rider and New Objectivity.
The gallery displays masterpieces by Munich artists such as Jan Polack, Christoph Schwarz, Georges Desmarees ("Countess Holstein" 1754), Wilhelm von Kobell, Georg von Dillis,
The Natural History Museum is one of three large museums on Exhibition Road, South Kensington, London, England (the others are the Science Museum, and the Victoria and Albert Museum). Its main frontage is on Cromwell Road. The museum is an exempt charity, and a non-departmental public body sponsored by the Department for Culture, Media and Sport.
The museum is home to life and earth science specimens comprising some 70 million items within five main collections: Botany, Entomology, Mineralogy, Palaeontology and Zoology. The museum is a world-renowned centre of research, specialising in taxonomy, identification and conservation. Given the age of the institution, many of the collections have great historical as well as scientific value, such as specimens collected by Darwin. The Natural History Museum Library contains extensive books, journals, manuscripts, and artwork collections linked to the work and research of the scientific departments. Access to the library is by appointment only.
The museum is particularly famous for its exhibition of dinosaur skeletons, and ornate architecture — sometimes dubbed a cathedral of nature — both exemplified by the large Diplodocus cast which
The University of Oregon Museum of Natural and Cultural History, commonly known as the UO Natural History Museum, is an American natural history museum at the University of Oregon in Eugene. Located near historic Hayward Field on the east side of the UO campus, it is the largest natural history museum between Seattle and San Francisco and a center for archaeological and paleontological research in the Pacific Northwest and the wider world. The museum headquarters and public spaces are located at 1680 East 15th Avenue in a distinctive and beautiful building inspired by the design of Pacific Northwest Native longhouses.
The museum traces its origins to the creation of the University of Oregon (UO) in 1876, when state geologist Thomas Condon was hired as one of the first three UO professors, bringing his extensive fossil collection with him. The Oregon State Legislative Assembly created the Oregon State Museum of Anthropology (OSMA) at the UO in 1935, under the direction of archaeologist Luther Cressman. In 1936, the Condon Museum and State Museum of Anthropology were folded into the newly created UO Museum of Natural History, also directed by Luther Cressman. Since Cressman retired
The Wiscasset, Waterville and Farmington Railway is a 2 ft (610 mm) gauge railway. The line was operated as a for-profit company from 1895 until 1933 between the Maine towns of Wiscasset, Albion, and Winslow, but was abandoned in 1936. Today, about two miles of the track in the town of Alna has been rebuilt and is operated by the non-profit Wiscasset, Waterville and Farmington Railway Museum as a heritage railroad offering passenger excursion trains and hauling occasional cargo.
The line began operating to Weeks Mills on February 20, 1895, as the Wiscasset and Quebec Railroad. The line was reorganized in 1901 as the Wiscasset, Waterville and Farmington Railway following the inability to negotiate a crossing of the Belfast and Moosehead Lake Railroad near Burnham Junction. The reorganized WW&F completed a branch line from Weeks Mills to the Kennebec River at Winslow but failed to negotiate a connection with the Sandy River Railroad at Farmington, and therefore never reached Quebec.
The WW&F hauled potatoes, lumber, and poultry along with other general freight and passengers. Freight tonnage in 1914 was 43% outbound lumber, 16% outbound potatoes and canned corn, 14% inbound feed and
The World Carrot Museum is a virtual museum that attempts to collect and present information on all aspects of carrots. The museum does not currently have a brick and mortar existence but operates only as a website. It was initiated and continues to be curated by John Stolarczyk of Skipton, England.
A virtual museum whose mission is to educate, inform and amuse visitors through the collection, preservation, interpretation and exhibition of objects relating to the Carrot.
The museum contains information on history, nutrition, cultivation, recipes, trivia, cooking and storage tips, collectibles, games and toys as well as description of carrots as they exist in the wild. It gives an extensive history of the carrot including a timeline, showing how its colour has changed over the millennia, from white or purple to the ubiquitous orange.
It also reports of the resurgence of popularity of the carrot during World War Two rationing.
Lots of information about the nutritional properties of this healthy vegetable and its effects on bodily functions. It includes interesting recipes and cooking/preparation tips.
Read all about how to cultivate carrots and deal with common pests.
It also reports
The Australian War Memorial is Australia's national memorial to the members of all its armed forces and supporting organisations who have died or participated in the wars of the Commonwealth of Australia. The memorial includes an extensive national military museum. The Australian War Memorial was opened in 1941, and is widely regarded as one of the most significant memorials of its type in the world.
The Memorial is located in Australia's capital, Canberra. It is the northern terminus of the city's ceremonial land axis, which stretches from Parliament House on Capital Hill along a line passing through the summit of the cone-shaped Mount Ainslie to the northeast. No continuous roadway links the two points, but there is a clear line of sight from the front balcony of Parliament House to the War Memorial, and from the front steps of the War Memorial back to Parliament House.
The Australian War Memorial consists of three parts: the Commemorative Area (shrine) including the Hall of Memory with the Tomb of the Unknown Australian Soldier, the Memorial's galleries (museum) and Research Centre (records). The Memorial also has an outdoor Sculpture Garden. The Memorial is currently open daily
The JEATH War Museum is one of two war museums in Thailand about the Death Railway built from 1942 to 1943 by Allied POWs under the direction of the Japanese. The museum was founded in 1977 by the chief abbot of Wat Chaichumpol Venerable Phra Theppanyasuthee. It is located on the grounds of a temple at the junction of the Khwae Yai and Khwae Noi rivers in Kanchanaburi. The acronym JEATH stands for the primary nationalities involved in the construction of the railway: Japanese, English, Australian, American, Thai and Holland.
The portion of the museum depicting the construction of the Death Railway is meant to recreate the quarters used by Allied POWs. It includes a prehistoric view on the province as well as the Miss Thailand contest room.
Tourist photos are not permitted in the museum.
The East Troy Electric Railroad Museum is a railroad museum located in East Troy, Wisconsin.
In addition to static displays, the museum operates a heritage railroad. Several vintage trolley cars that once ran on the city and suburban lines of Milwaukee are now operated over seven miles of former Milwaukee Electric Railway and Light Company tracks that were originally built in 1907. This line connects to the Canadian National Railway (formerly Wisconsin Central) in Mukwonago, Wisconsin, where some light freight is interchanged for industries using access to the museum's trackage.
Hermitage Amsterdam is a dependency of the Hermitage Museum of Saint Petersburg on the Amstel river in Amsterdam. The dependency is located at the former Amstelhof, a classical style building from 1681. The dependency has been displaying small exhibitions in a side building next to the Amstelhof since 24 February 2004. The full museum was opened on 19 June 2009.
It is currently the largest dependency of the Hermitage Museum, with the total area of the building numbering 12,846 square metres (138,270 sq ft), and the exhibition area 2,172 square metres (23,380 sq ft) (two big exhibition halls and exhibition rooms).
The building was opened in 1682 as a retirement home for elderly women, and was named Diaconie Oude Vrouwen Huys (English: Deanery Home for Old Women). The building is located on the east bank of the river Amstel. Since 1817, the home was open for both elderly men and women, and it was renamed Diaconie Oude Vrouwen- en Mannenhuis (English: Deanery Home for Old Men and Women). The building was first named Amstelhof (English: Amstel Court]) in 1953.
For centuries, the building was used as a retirement home. Due to modernizations in healthcare, the building was no longer
Luxor Museum is located in the Egyptian city of Luxor (ancient Thebes). It stands on the corniche, overlooking the west bank of the River Nile, in the central part of the city.
Inaugurated in 1975, the museum is housed in a small, purpose-built building. The range of artifacts on display is far more restricted than the country's main collections in the Museum of Antiquities in Cairo; this was, however, deliberate, since the museum prides itself on the quality of the pieces it has, the uncluttered way in which they are displayed, and the clear multilingual labeling used.
Among the most striking items on show are grave goods from the tomb of Tutankhamun (KV62) and a collection of 26 exceptionally well preserved New Kingdom statues that were found buried in a cache in nearby Luxor Temple in 1989. The royal mummies of two pharaohs - Ahmose I and Ramesses I - were also put on display in the Luxor Museum in March 2004, as part of the new extension to the museum, which includes a small visitor centre. A major exhibit is a reconstruction of one of the walls of Akhenaten's temple at Karnak. One of the featured items in the collection is a calcite double statue of the crocodile god Sobek and
The Macau Science and Culture Centre (in Portuguese, Centro Científico e Cultural de Macau, CCCM) is based in Lisbon, Portugal.
The Centre was established through the initiative of governments of Portugal and Macau (under Decree-Law no. 85/95, 28 April 1995). It has been created to encourage the study of Macanese history, culture and society and to promote its dissemination. It especially aims to promote Portuguese-Chinese relations.
The Centre is composed of various departments covering:
The Macau Science and Culture Centre is open to researchers, especially those from Portugal and China. It aims to partner with universities, libraries, research centres and museums. An associated museum at the site is also open to the general public, presenting the history of Macau on the ground floor and decorative arts of Macau on the upper floor.
The Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Company and Museum is located in Portland, Maine, United States. The organization was founded in 1993 and contains a collection of rolling stock and artifacts from the 2 ft (610 mm) gauge narrow gauge railroads that ran in the state of Maine in the late 19th century and early 20th century.
The organization operates a 1½ mile long railroad that runs along the waterfront of Casco Bay and parallels Portland's Eastern Promenade. A variety of restored locomotives and coaches are used to run passenger services on the railroad.
The Miami Science Museum is an attraction located in the city of Miami, Florida USA. The museum itself also contains the Space-Transit Planetarium, Weintraub Observatory and a wildlife center. The museum is currently working to transplant the museum from its current location to Park West at Bicentennial Park in Downtown Miami along with the Miami Art Museum. The museum broke ground for the new museum in February 2012, the grand opening is expected in 2015.
The Miami Science Museum is served by the Miami Metrorail at the Vizcaya Station.
The Museum first started as "The Junior Museum of Miami" and was a private non-profit organization established in 1949. It was located inside a house on the corner of Biscayne Boulevard and 26th Street. The Museum grew so rapidly that in 1952 it relocated to the Miami Women's Club building on Bayshore Drive. When it arrived at the new location it was renamed "Museum of Science and Natural History".
In 1953, the Guild of the Museum of Science was formed adding the efforts of volunteer assistance to the staff, operation of the Museum Store, as well as tours and outreach programs.
The museum began to outgrow its new home again and a special committee
The Netherlands Architecture Institute (NAI) is a cultural institute for architecture and urban development, comprising a museum, an archive plus library, and a platform for lectures and debates. The NAI was established in 1988 and has been based in Rotterdam since 1993.
The NAI is a private organisation with a government brief, which is to manage the collection of archives that document the history of Dutch architecture. Moreover, as a sector institute for architecture it is also tasked with supporting the professional field. The building also houses a bookshop and a cafe.
The idea of establishing a national architecture museum came about in 1912 when the Amsterdam architects’ association Architectura et Amicitia was obliged to rent an extra room in Hotel Parkzicht in Amsterdam to store its archive of drawings and models. Architect J.H.W. Leliman was a key advocate of an architecture museum. A committee comprising J. Ingenohl, J.H. de Groot and W.A.E. van der Pluym as members was set up to look into the possibilities of such a museum. In 1915, A et A members suggested storing the collection at the Rijksacademie in Amsterdam, and housing it in an independent museum at a later date.
The Oconaluftee Indian Village is a replica of an 18th century eastern Cherokee community located in Cherokee, North Carolina, USA.
This "living museum" is operated by the Cherokee Historical Association. Guides take visitors through the village explaining the history and culture of the Cherokee and also demonstrate the making of such items as arrowheads, baskets, and blowguns.
Pendon Museum, located in Long Wittenham near Didcot, Oxfordshire, England, displays scale models of typical scenes on the Great Western Railway (GWR) of the 1920s centred on working scale model railways.
The main display and ongoing project at Pendon is a scale representation of the Vale of White Horse as it was in the inter-war period. The scene is centred around the 'typical' village of Pendon Parva, which is served by a railway station on the main London to Bristol GWR main line that runs through the Vale, and another on the M&SWJR that became one of the constituent companies of the GWR in 1923. The topography and the village layout is fictional, but every building and significant feature is an exact model of a real building from the Vale of White Horse.
On the ground floor of the museum a model representing a Great Western Railway branch line on Dartmoor, originally built in 1955 to showcase the trains being built for the Vale scene, is operated for visitors. The main focus of the Dartmoor scene is a model of Brunel's timber Walkham Viaduct built by R. Guy Williams.
The museum includes displays of individual models, modelling methods and railway artefacts. The museum also
The Riverside and Great Northern Railway (R&GN) is a heritage railroad in Wisconsin.
It operates train excursions on its 15 inch gauge track located in Wisconsin Dells. The railway is operated by the Riverside and Great Northern Preservation Society and includes the former shops of Sandley Light Railway Works.
The railroad was started in Janesville, Wisconsin, as a demonstration railroad for Sandley locomotives. In 1952 the Sandleys were forced from Riverside Park, where they were running. Elmer and Norman (father and son) Sandley relocated to the former right-of-way of the Milwaukee and La Crosse Railroad, which was abandoned in favor of a route with a smoother grade 500 feet (152 m) to the west.
The Sandleys built their factory, a replica and C&NW depot (scaled down), and a train line to demonstrate their products. They built about 15 locomotives and over 30 pieces of rolling stock. Trains that once ran at the Brookfield Zoo in Chicago and the Knoxville Zoo were produced at the Dells facility. The locomotives and rolling stock currently running at the Milwaukee Zoo were made here as well.
In the early 1980s, new locomotive and rolling stock orders dropped off and Norman was
The Asian Art Museum of San Francisco is a museum in San Francisco, California, United States. It has one of the most comprehensive collections of Asian art in the world.
The museum owes its origin to a donation to the city of San Francisco by Chicago millionaire Avery Brundage, who was a major collector of Asian art. The Society for Asian Art, incorporated in 1958, was the group that formed specifically to gain Avery Brundage's collection. The museum opened in 1966 as a wing of the M. H. de Young Memorial Museum in Golden Gate Park. Brundage continued to make donations to the museum, including the bequest of all his remaining personal collection of Asian art on his death in 1975. In total, Brundage donated more than 7,700 Asian art objects to San Francisco.
Until 2003, the museum shared a space with the de Young Museum in Golden Gate Park. As the museum’s collection grew, the facilities in Golden Gate Park were no longer sufficient to display or even house the collection. In 1987 Mayor Diane Feinstein proposed a plan to revitalize Civic Center which included relocating the museum to the Main Library. In 1995, Silicon Valley entrepreneur Chong-Moon Lee made a $15 million donation
The Atlanta Cyclorama and Civil War Museum is a civil war museum located in Atlanta, its most noted attraction being the Atlanta Cyclorama, a cylindrical panoramic painting of the American Civil War Battle of Atlanta. The museum is located in historic Grant Park, adjacent to Zoo Atlanta.
Visitors view the cylindrical painting from the inside, entering through an entrance in the floor. After being seated, the central cylinder rotates slowly affording a view of the entire painting. The painting at one time was the largest oil painting in the world, and if unrolled would measure 42 feet high by 358 feet long. It held this record until 2004, when it was surpassed in size by a mural at the Kalamazoo Air Zoo measuring 32 feet high by 800 feet long.
The painting depicts fierce fighting during the Civil War as Confederate defenders of Atlanta unsuccessfully counterattacked the Union army on July 22, 1864. The painting was commissioned after the end of the war as part of the political campaign of Vice Presidential candidate John A. Logan, who had commanded a large part of the Union forces in the battle. Thus, parts of the painting emphasize the heroism of Logan and other Union
The Burpee Museum of Natural History is located along the Rock River in downtown Rockford, Illinois, USA, at 737 North Main Street.
The museum was created as a Works Progress Administration project. It was established in 1941 and opened on May 24, 1942. The complex is made up of four buildings — the Manny Mansion, the Barnes Mansion, the Solem Wing, and the Water Lab.
The Solem Wing is the public portion of Burpee Museum. Built in the winter of 1998, the Solem Wing houses the museum's exhibits, meeting rooms, laboratories, gift shop, and the Mahlburg Auditorium. It is named after Robert H. Solem who was a major benefactor, patron, and friend of the museum.
The Manny Mansion was owned by John P. Manny and was built in 1852. Formerly the Burpee Art Museum, it is now attached to the south side of the Solem Wing and houses museum classrooms and offices.
Prior to the expansion, the museum was housed entirely in the Barnes Mansion. Built in 1893, the mansion was owned by industrialist William Fletcher Barnes. Today, the Barnes Mansion houses meeting rooms and the administrative offices.
The Water Lab (funded by Aqua Aerobic) is a lab facility along the Rock River in which students in
The Daejeon Museum of Art (also called the Daejeon Metropolitan Museum of Arts) is located near at 396 Mannyeon-dong, Seo-gu, the Expo Park in Daejeon, South Korea. It opened on April 15, 1998.
It has featured modern art from both domestic and foreign artists. Recent shows have included "The Horizen [sic] of Daejeon Art" [local art, featuring Cho Pyung-hwi and An Chi-in] and "The Exhibition of Park Seung-moo." The facility has a floor space of just over 8,400 m². It also includes an outdoor sculpture park.
Dorman Museum is a general museum located in Linthorpe within the borough of Middlesbrough and the ceremonial county of North Yorkshire, England. From its establishment in 1904 initial thematical leanings were towards the natural sciences, although galleries of the local Linthorpe Pottery, and of the history of industrial and wartime Middlesbrough, have since encroached on this emphasis. The remains of the original Victorian/Edwardian collection of stuffed and mounted animals is now in a single room, the Nelson Room, and appears to consist of the insect collections in the original cabinets, and various stuffed and mounted birds.
The museum was founded by Sir Arthur Dorman of the Dorman Long engineering company in honour of his son George Lockwood Dorman, who died of enteric fever at Kroonstad in the Second Boer War.
It is one of three institutions run by the Middlesbrough Museums & Galleries Service of Middlesbrough Borough Council along with the Captain Cook Birthplace Museum and Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art. Having undergone major refurbishment it reopened in 2003 and is home to a wide variety of collections.
The original collection included items such as a stuffed and
The Georgetown Loop Railroad is a narrow gauge heritage railroad located in the Rocky Mountains in Clear Creek County, Colorado, in the United States.
The railroad operates summer tourist trains between the communities of Georgetown and Silver Plume, a distance of 2 miles (3.2 km). The railroad route is 4.5 miles (7.2 km) long and ascends an elevation of 640 feet (195.1 m) through mountainous terrain along with trestles, cuts, fills, and a grand loop.
The Georgetown Loop Railroad was one of Colorado’s first visitor attractions. This spectacular stretch of narrow gauge railroad was completed in 1884 and considered an engineering marvel for its time. The thriving mining towns of Georgetown and Silver Plume lie 2 miles (3.2 km) apart in the steep, narrow canyon of Clear Creek in the Rocky Mountains west of Denver. Engineers designed a corkscrew route that traveled nearly twice that distance to connect them, slowly gaining more than 600 feet (183 m) in elevation. The route included horseshoe curves, grades of up to 4%, and four bridges across Clear Creek, including the massive Devil’s Gate High Bridge.
The Georgetown, Breckenridge, and Leadville Railroad had been formed in 1881 under
Historic Richmond Town is a living history village and museum complex in the neighborhood of Richmondtown, Staten Island, in New York City. It is located near the geographical center of the island, at the junction of Richmond Road and Arthur Kill Road.
It was formerly a county seat and commercial center which included the former courthouse of Richmond County, coterminous with the borough of Staten Island. The site also contains other former commercial and governmental buildings, as well as farm buildings and homes, some of which were relocated from other parts of Staten Island. Historic Richmond Town is a village comprising over 30 historic buildings and sites dating from the late 17th to the early 20th Century. Decker Farm, located about one mile from the center of Historic Richmond Town, features a farm stand and seasonal activities such as pumpkin picking.
The creation of Historic Richmond Town was the joint effort of many Staten Islanders, led by the vision of two local historians and preservationists: Loring McMillen and William T. Davis. Fueled by the same Depression-era passion for historic preservation which resulted in the creation of Colonial Williamsburg, these men
The Hong Kong Museum of History (Chinese: 香港歷史博物館; Mandarin Pinyin: Xiānggǎng Lìshǐ Bówùguǎn; Jyutping: Hoeng1 Gong2 Lik6 Si2 Bok3 Mat6 Gun2) is a museum which preserves Hong Kong's historical and cultural heritage. It is located next to the Hong Kong Science Museum.
The museum was established by the Urban Council in July 1975 when the City Museum and Art Gallery was split into the Hong Kong Museum of History and Hong Kong Museum of Art; some of the Museum of History's collections were on display at the City Museum and Art Gallery's original 1962 location at the City Hall.
In 1983, the Museum was moved to a temporary location (which now houses Hong Kong Heritage Discovery Centre) in Kowloon Park. It was moved to its present premises near Hong Kong Science Museum on Chatham Road South, Tsim Sha Tsui in 1998. It is currently managed by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department of Hong Kong Government.
The collections of the museum encompass the following fields: natural history, archaeology, ethnography and local history.
The museum runs three branch museums: Hong Kong Museum of Coastal Defence at Shau Kei Wan, Lei Cheng Uk Han Tomb Museum at Sham Shui Po, and Law Uk Folk Museum
The Kelham Island Museum is an industrial museum on Alma Street, alongside the River Don, in the centre of Sheffield, England. It was opened in 1982.
The island on which it is located is man-made, resulting from the construction of a mill race, in the 12th century, which diverted water from the River Don to power a corn mill belonging to the Lord of the Manor. It is reported that the island was subsequently named after the Town Armourer, Kellam Homer, who owned a grinding workshop on the neighbouring goit (mill race) in 1637.
Having remained meadowland for much of its existence, John Crowley's Iron Foundry was built on the site in 1829 and continued in operation until the 1890s. This building was replaced by a power station, in 1899, to provide electricity for the new fleet of trams in the city. These are the premises now occupied by the museum.
The museum houses exhibitions on science and Sheffield industry, including examples of reconstructed little mesters' workshops and England's largest surviving Bessemer converter. This object received an Engineering Heritage Award in 2004 from the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. (Henry Bessemer's pilot converter is on display at the
The Kyoto National Museum (京都国立博物館, Kyōto Kokuritsu Hakubutsukan) is one of the three formerly imperially-mandated art museums in Japan. The museum is located in Higashiyama Ward in Kyoto. The collections of the Kyoto National Museum focus on pre-modern Japanese and Asian art. The Museum is currently undergoing renovation and will reopen in 2013.
The Kyoto National Museum, then the Imperial Museum of Kyoto, was proposed, along with the Imperial Museum of Tokyo (Tokyo National Museum) and the Imperial Museum of Nara (Nara National Museum), in 1889, and construction on the museum finished in October, 1895. The museum was opened in 1897. The museum went through a series of name changes, in 1900 changing its name to the Imperial Household Museum of Kyoto, and once more in 1924 to the Imperial Gift Museum of Kyoto. The current name, the Kyoto National Museum, was decided upon in 1952.
The growth and development of today's museum has been an evolving process: history
The museum consists of several buildings, the most prominent being the Special Exhibition Hall (Main Exhibition Hall), designed by Katayama Tōkuma in 1895, and The Collections Hall (New Exhibition Hall), designed in 1966 by
The Lawrence Hall of Science (LHS) is a public science center featuring hands-on exhibits and activities. Located in the hills above the University of California, Berkeley campus, LHS is also a resource center for preschool through high school science and mathematics education.
Established in 1968 in honor of Ernest Orlando Lawrence, UC's first Nobel laureate, Lawrence Hall of Science also develops teaching materials and programs for students, teachers, families, and the general public.
In addition to the many permanent exhibits, the Lawrence Hall of Science features a constant rotation of traveling exhibits. The most recent exhibit is "Dinosaurs Unearthed" Past traveling exhibits include: Scream Machines: The Science of Roller Coasters, RACE: Are We So Different?, Facing Mars, Animal Grossology, Waterworks, Engineer It, Speed, Wild Music: Songs and Sounds of Life, Circus! Science at the Big Top, Grossology, My Home, Planet Earth, Big Dinos Return, and Candy Unwrapped.
In 2003, following the death of Lawrence’s widow, Molly Lawrence, the Lawrence family chose LHS to house his 1939 Nobel Prize in Physics. The medal was placed in a display case in the E.O Lawrence Memorial room, a
Liberty Science Center is an interactive science museum and learning center located in Liberty State Park in Jersey City, New Jersey.
The center, which first opened in 1993 as New Jersey's first major state science museum, has science exhibits, the largest IMAX Dome theater in the United States, numerous educational resources, and the original Hoberman sphere, a silver, computer-driven engineering artwork designed by Chuck Hoberman. The museum opened with another artistic exhibit that is related to the sciences, Jim Gary's Twentieth Century Dinosaurs sculpture exhibition, as the exhibit on the ground floor.
Liberty Science Center completed a twenty-two-month, $109 million expansion and renewal project on July 19, 2007. The expansion added 100,000 square feet (9,300 m) to the facility, bringing it to nearly 300,000 square feet (28,000 m). However the amount of exhibit space slightly decreased with the expansion as all the new space added is open space such as queue lines for the ticketing office. It also has state-of-the-art surround sound, and also one of the world's best picture screen in the IMAX dome.
Liberty Science Center's exhibitions include:
In July 2007, the new Jennifer
The Milwaukee Art Museum (MAM) is located on Lake Michigan in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.
Beginning around 1872, multiple organizations were founded in order to bring an art gallery to Milwaukee, as the city was still a growing port town with little or no facilities to hold major art exhibitions. Over the span of at least nine years, all attempts to build a major art gallery had failed. In 1881, exhibitions were held at Milwaukee's Exposition Hall, which was Milwaukee's primary event venue at the time. Shortly after that year, Alexander Mitchell donated all of her collection into constructing Milwaukee's first permanent art gallery in the city's history.
The art gallery, the Quadracci Pavilion, was designed by the Spanish architect Santiago Calatrava. The Reiman Bridge, also designed by Calatrava, connects to the pavilion and provides pedestrian access to and from downtown. With the exception of the temporary exhibition gallery, the galleries are contained in both the Saarinen building and a 1975 addition designed by local architect David Kahler. This addition was commissioned in 1969 to make room for other exhibits and donations.
The museum's history began in 1882 when the Milwaukee
The Museum of Romani Culture (Muzeum romské kultury in Czech) is an institution dedicated to the history and culture of the Romani people (Gypsies). It is situated in Brno, Czech Republic.
The Museum was founded in 1991 by members of the Czech Romani intelligentsia, led by Jana Horváthová, in the period of freedom which followed the Velvet Revolution in Czechoslovakia. During its early years, its location moved from one place to another and the institution struggled with financial problems. In December 2000, it moved to its present building on Bratislavská Street in Brno, which is the centre of the local Romani community. The museum is now financed from the state budget.
On December 1, 2005, the first permanent exhibition was opened.
The permanent exhibition covers 6 rooms with an area of 326 m². It is dedicated to the life, culture, and important events of the Romanis during their migration from India until the present day, with emphasis on the situation in Czech lands during the period 1945–1989.
Temporary exhibitions, mostly art and photography, are created from time to time.
In addition to the exhibitions, the museum is also a place of Romani research in Central Europe. With a
The Museum of Sydney, on the Site of First Government House is built on the ruins of the house of New South Wales' first Governor, Arthur Phillip on the present-day corner of Phillip and Bridge Street, Sydney. The original house, which was Australia's first Government House, was built in 1788 and exposed by archaeologists in 1983. The building was designed by Denton Corker Marshall architects. The museum was built as part of the Governor Phillip Tower development and is managed by the Historic Houses Trust of New South Wales.
The Museum of Sydney explores colonial and contemporary Sydney through objects, pictures and new digital media techniques. Panoramic views of Sydney - from 1788 until today - stretch across walls and video screens. Sydney's convict era is explored in a giant showcase of goods and chattels recovered from more than 25 archaeological digs.
When it was commissioned, the project was called the First Government House Museum. Whilst the museum building was being built in November 1993, the New South Wales Minister for the Arts announced that the museum would be known as the Museum of Sydney on the Site of First Government House, described in the press at the time as
National Folk Museum of Korea is a national museum of South Korea, located within the grounds of the Gyeongbokgung Palace in Jongno-gu, Seoul, and uses replicas of historical objects to illustrate the history of traditional life of the Korean people.
The museum was established on 8 November 1945 by the U.S. Government and opened on 25 April 1946 at the City Administration Memorial Hall. When the museum was merged with National Museum of Korea, its collection of 4,555 artifacts was moved to the latter's Mt Namsan site. In 1975, when the National Museum moved onto the grounds of Gyeongbokgung Palace, it moved along with it into the Modern Art Museum Building. In 1993 it opened in its present site, which was the former site of the National Museum of Korea. The building's design is based on various historical buildings around South Korea.
The museum has three main exhibition halls, with over 98,000 artifacts: History of Korean People features materials of everyday life in Korea from prehistoric times to the end of the Joseon Dynasty in 1910; Korean Way of Life, which illustrates Korean villagers in ancient times; and Life Cycle of the Koreans, which depicts the deep roots of
The Nehru Museum of Science and Technology is a museum in Kharagpur, West Bengal, India. It was founded in 1990 at the Hijli Detention camp building, later the IIT-Kharagpur Heritage Building, which is now named as Hijli Saheed Bhavan. The imposing building, bearing resemblance to the Byzantine style of architecture, was used by the British rulers of India to detain the freedom fighters during the 1930s.
Although there were few other detention camps around the country in those days, the Hijli detention camp was the only one to witness the death of two detainees by police firing within jail compound. The incident led to strong protest, to register their indignation by prominent national figures like Rabindranath Tagore, Subhash Chandra Bose and many others. Soon after independence, the building was used to house the first Indian Insititute of Technology (known initially as the Higher Technical Institute).
The museum has many indoor exhibits which include technical models collected from various institutes and organisations across India. The park outside the museum contains 14 open-air demonstrations and outdoor exhibits including a hunter plane, and a steam engine. The museum has an
Norsk Folkemuseum, the Norwegian Museum of Cultural History at Bygdøy in Oslo, is a large open air museum. Norsk Folkemuseum is one of Norway’s largest museum of cultural history.
The Norwegian Museum of Cultural History is situated near several other museums, including the Viking Ship Museum; the Fram Museum; the Kon-Tiki Museum; and the Norwegian Maritime Museum;.
It was established in 1894 by librarian and historian, Hans Aall (1867-1946). It contains over 150 buildings which have been relocated from different districts of Norway. Reidar Kjellberg became Director of the museum in 1947 and remained museum director until he retired in 1974.
Among its more significant buildings are Gol stave church from the 13th century which incorporated was into the Norwegian Folk Museum in 1907. The Gol Stave Church is one of five medieval buildings at the museum, which also includes the Rauland cabin (Raulandstua) from the 14th century, and the 18th century tenement building relocated from historic Wessels gate 15 in Oslo. In 1951, the Sami collection in the Ethnographic Museum of the University of Oslo was transferred to thr Norsk Folkemuseum.
The museum also possesses a large photographic
The Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum - The Museum of the Chicago Academy of Sciences is a nature museum located in Chicago, Illinois. The museum, which opened in a new facility in October 1999, is located at the intersection of Fullerton Parkway and Cannon Drive in Lincoln Park. The museum focuses on the natural history of the Chicago region and child and adult education. In addition, it has a popular live butterfly house.
The Museum is operated by the Chicago Academy of Sciences, which had previously been located at Lincoln Park's century old Matthew Laflin Memorial Building. The Academy was founded in 1857 by young prominent American naturalists, such as Robert Kennicott and William Stimpson. It was Chicago’s first museum dedicated to nature and science, and developed one of the finest natural history collections in the United States in the mid-19th century, but that collection was lost in the Great Chicago Fire of 1871. The museum was rebuilt but lost its home again in the financial turmoil of the 1880s. The museum then built a building in Lincoln Park in 1898, which became the model for the Chicago Park District's museum-in-the-parks program. The old museum attracted many visitors
The Pietrarsa railway museum is situated between the suburb of Naples and San Giorgio a Cremano, of which the former village of Pietrarsa forms a part. It lies south of Naples in southern Italy just to the side of the Naples–Portici railway line, the first one in Italy. It is served by the Pietrarsa-S.Giorgio a Cremano station to which it is connected by a pedestrian subway.
The museum is located on the premises of the former metal foundry of the Kingdom of Naples, a plant that produced most of the boilers for locomotives and steam-driven ships in the kingdom in the first half of the 19th century. With the unification of Italy, the construction of steam boilers was taken over by industry in the north and the Pietrarsa workshops were relegated to the role of a repair facility for the railways. It served in that capacity until the 1970s when the facility was rendered obsolete by advances in diesel and electrical technology.
The museum contains original engines as well as scale models incorporated into a display of the history of trains in Italy. The displays include a copy of Bayard, the first locomotive in Italy, which started its run on the Naples–Portici railway line on 3 October
Radstock museum in Radstock, Somerset has a range of exhibits which offer an insight into North Somerset life since the nineteenth century.
The museum was originally opened in 1989 in barns in Haydon, and moved to its current site in the restored and converted Victorian Market Hall, a grade II listed building dating from 1897 which was opened on July 10th 1999 by Loyd Grossman.
Many of the exhibits relate to the now disused local Somerset coalfield and geology. Other areas include aspects of local history including the school and shops, and industries such as agriculture, a forge and carpenter's shop.
Artefacts and memorabilia of the Somerset Coal Canal, Somerset and Dorset and Great Western Railways are also on display.
The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum (often referred to as "The Guggenheim") is a well-known art museum located on the Upper East Side of Manhattan in New York City. It is the permanent home of a renowned and continuously expanding collection of Impressionist, Post-Impressionist, early Modern and contemporary art and also features special exhibitions throughout the year. The museum was established by the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation in 1939 as the Museum of Non-Objective Painting, under the guidance of its first director, the artist Hilla von Rebay. It adopted its current name after the death of its founder, Solomon R. Guggenheim, in 1952.
Designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, the cylindrical museum building, wider at the top than the bottom, was conceived as a "temple of the spirit" and is one of the 20th century's most important architectural landmarks. The building opened on October 21, 1959, replacing rented spaces used by the museum since its founding. Its unique ramp gallery extends from just under the skylight in the ceiling in a long, continuous spiral along the outer edges of the building until it reaches the ground level. The building underwent extensive expansion and
Yerba Buena Center for the Arts (YBCA) is a multi-disciplinary contemporary arts center in San Francisco, California, United States. Located in Yerba Buena Gardens, YBCA features visual art, performance, and film/video that celebrates local, national, and international artists and the Bay Area's diverse communities. YBCA programs year-round in two landmark buildings—the Galleries and Forum by Japanese architect Fumihiko Maki and Theater by American architect James Stewart Polshek.
The center has been used for the launch of new products by Apple Inc., including iPods and the iPad.
The idea of building a conference center, under the name Yerba Buena Center, in downtown San Francisco was a further development of the idea stemming from the late 1950s to redevelop the city center, particularly the industrial areas that were gradually falling into disuse. At the heart of the proposal was the vision of the city transforming from an industrial to a tourist-conventioneering city. The idea of the Yerba Buena Center itself first emerged in the early 1960s. At that time there was a concern about how development could occur in the downtown area. The South of Market area offered hundreds of
The Zigong Dinosaur Museum is located near the Prefecture-level city of Zigong, China, in the township of Dashanpu. The museum sits on top of a large concentration of a diverse dinosaur assemblage. The museum claims the largest number of dinosaur fossils in the world and covers 25,000 square meters with a display area of 3,600 square meters.
In 1980s, vast quantities of dinosaur fossils were excavated in the Middle Jurassic Dashanpu Formation, 7 km north-east from downtown Zigong, including a dinosaur named after the township, Dashanpusaurus. Because of the unique and articulated (intact) bone remains, Zigong is important to paleontologists and dinosaur enthusiasts. The Zigong Dinosaur Museum (自貢恐龍博物館) was established in 1987, becoming the first museum based almost entirely on dinosaurs in Asia. Mounted specimens include Omeisaurus, Gigantspinosaurus, Yangchuanosaurus, Huayangosaurus and Xiaosaurus.