Mines are locations where materials are extracted from the ground.
More about Best Mine of All Time:
Best Mine of All Time is a public top list created by Listnerd on Rankly.com on November 27th 2012. Items on the Best Mine of All Time top list are added by the Rankly.com community and ranked using our secret ranking sauce. Best Mine of All Time has gotten 2.726 views and has gathered 624 votes from 624 voters. Only owner can add items. Just members can vote.
Best Mine of All Time is a top list in the General category on Rankly.com. Are you a fan of General or Best Mine of All Time? Explore more top 100 lists about General on Rankly.com or participate in ranking the stuff already on the all time Best Mine of All Time top list below.
If you're not a member of Rankly.com, you should consider becoming one. Registration is fast, free and easy. At Rankly.com, we aim to give you the best of everything - including stuff like the Best Mine of All Time list.
Get your friends to vote! Spread this URL or share:
The Black Thunder Coal Mine is a surface coal mine in the U.S. state of Wyoming, located at 43°40′N 105°18′W / 43.667°N 105.3°W / 43.667; -105.3 in the Powder River Basin which contains one of the largest deposits of coal in the world. Black Thunder is the second most productive mine in the United States and one of the largest in the world, providing the U.S. with 8 percent of its coal supply. In 2007, the mine produced 86,196,275 short tons (78.2 million metric tonnes) of coal, nearly 20 percent of Wyoming's total coal production, and higher than 23 other individual coal producing states.
Black Thunder’s dragline excavator is the biggest in the world and cranks out enough coal to load up 25 miles of railroad cars per day. please verify. Draglines are not used to dig coal but only strip overburden. Black Thunder operates 6 draglines, not just one. Coal is excavated by shovels and loaded into trucks.
In 2009, the America’s Power Factuality Tour stopped at the Black Thunder Coal Mine to report on its role in generating electricity in the United States.
The mine was opened in 1977, and run by ARCO Coal until it was acquired in 1998 by Arch Coal. For most of its existence, Black
Bardh open-cast coal mine is lignite based coal mine in Kosovo operatied by Kosovo Energy Corporation (KEK).
The open-cast coal mines of Bardh and Mirash cover a working surface area of 10 km2 and if all the external dump sites from 1956-1991 are included, the mine will cover a total surface area of 11 km2. Coal extraction has been developed in two coal mines, with a projected output target of 16.7 million tons of coal per year, not including the removal of 28 millions m3 of overburden. The coal is mined by using a rotor excavator and transportation to the generating plants ("Kosovo A" and "Kosovo B") is on conveyor belts. Until the end of 1998, 226,260,825 tons of coal had been mined in Kosovo, representing 1.58% of the estimated geological deposits and 1.96% of the total exploitable reserves.
The capacity, of the coal mining equipment installed in Bardh, is 8.2 x 106 t/year for coal and 14 x 106 m3/year for overburden. In order to achieve projected targets, two systems have been installed for coal mining and three systems for the removal of the overburden which use nine bucket wheel excavators linked to automatic conveyer belts and three stacker spreaders. This same
Birch Tor and Vitifer mine was a tin mine on Dartmoor, Devon, England. Located in the valley of the Redwater Brook, to the east of the B3212 Moretonhampstead to Princetown road, below the Warren House Inn, the mine was worked between the mid–18th century and 1925.
In medieval times, or even before, the area later occupied by this mine was at the centre of the most extensive surface mining operations on Dartmoor, and today it is still scarred by the waste heaps left by stream working and numerous gullies of open cast mining.
Strictly speaking, Birch Tor mine on the eastern side of the Redwater Brook valley and Vitifer mine on the west were separate mines, but for most of their working lives they were operated under the same management, so they are usually considered together. The first documentary reference to "Vitifer Mine" was in 1750, and to "Burch Tor Bounds" in 1757. By the 1780s Vitifer was being operated by the Dartmoor Mining and Smelting Company, and in 1796 it was said to be employing 40 men. A few years later it was reported that the mine had a 36 ft (11 m) water wheel for pumping water out of the mine, and it had a half-mile long adit that had taken nearly four years to
Nanisivik Mine was a zinc-lead mine in the company town of Nanisivik, Nunavut, 750 km (470 mi) north of the Arctic Circle on Baffin Island. It was Canada's first mine in the Arctic. The mine first opened on 15 October 1976 and permanently closed in September 2002 due to low metal prices and declining resources. Mine reclamation began in April 2003
The mine was served by a port and dock located about 2.7 km (1.6 mi) north. It was used for shipping concentrate from the site, and receiving supplies (73°04′08″N 084°32′57″W / 73.06889°N 84.54917°W / 73.06889; -84.54917 (Nanisivik Dock (Nanisivik Mine))). It is currently used by the Canadian Coast Guard for training.
The mine also had its own airport (Nanisivik Airport) located about 7 km (4.3 mi) southwest and it is still in operation as the main airport for Arctic Bay. The airport is about 19 km (12 mi) directly southeast of Arctic Bay but the road between them is 32 km (20 mi).
The Roşia Poieni copper mine is a large open pit copper mine in the centre of Romania, 90 km northwest of Alba Iulia and 484 km north of the capital, Bucharest. The mine is owned by CupruMin a state owned company.
Roşia Poieni represents the largest copper reserve in Romania and the second largest in Europe having estimated reserves of 1.5 billion tonnes of ore grading 0.36% copper. The mine produces around 11,000 tonnes of copper a year and the mineral deposit represents 65% of the total copper reserves in Romania. Geographically the mine is located in the Apuseni Mountains, 7 kilometres (4.3 mi) south of the Arieş River in Lupşa commune. The access to the site is made through a south-west industrial haul road from Cornii Valley that crosses the National Road no. 74 Alba-Iulia – Zlatna – Abrud when entering Abrud and through a north industrial haul road from Musca Valley that crosses the National Road no. 75 Campeni – Turda in Musca village, Lupşa commune. The Rosia Poieni deposit was developed between the sixth and eight decade of the 20th Century within the Abrud-Musca-Bucium area (the Golden Quadrilateral) from Apuseni Mountains of the Metaliferi Mountains. It is enclosed by
Silverwood Colliery was a colliery situated between Thrybergh and Ravenfield in Yorkshire, England. Originally called Dalton Main, it was renamed after a local woodland. It was owned by Dalton Main Collieries Ltd..
Dalton Main Collieries Limited became a public company which was floated on the London Stock Exchange in December 1899. The purpose of the company was to buy out the business of Roundwood Colliery, purchase land at Silverwood, between Thrybergh and Ravenfield, and sink a new deep colliery there. These installations were to be connected to a boat staithe on the River Don by a railway. The first shaft commenced sinking in 1900 and coal was being worked by 1904.
The railway, from Roundwood Colliery, became known as John Brown's Private Railway after the company which became sole owners of the Dalton Main Collieries from 1909. There was also a line which ran from Silverwood, past Ravenfield, and down to join the existing line just north of Anston.
Shortly after 8 a.m. on 3 February 1966, miners starting their shift went down the pit to board the "Paddy mail". It was normal practice for the ‘man-rider’ to be followed by a second train which carried equipment. On this day the
The Tummalapalle Mine is a uranium mine in Tumalapalli village located in Kadapa of the Indian state of Andhra Pradesh. Results from a research conducted by the Atomic Energy Commission of India in 2011 made the analysts conclude that this mine might have one of the largest reserves of uranium in the world.
On July 19, 2011, Secretary of Department of Atomic Energy, Dr. S. Banerjee who is also the Chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission of India confirmed on reserves of 49,000 tonnes and suggested that they could be even three times larger which would make Tummalapalle the mine with the world's largest uranium deposits. The uranium purification plant is ready, and is expected to begin production by the end of 2011.
This finding substantially increased India’s capability of producing energy from nuclear plants. As of 2011, India was producing about 3% of its energy from nuclear plants. These findings suggest that this output can be increased to more than 30% by 2050. This domestic uranium find would not only boost India's nuclear energy plans but also help to reduce costs by switching from expensive sources of power like coal.
On Aug 23, 2007 The Cabinet Committee on Economic
The Thunderbox Gold Mine is a gold mine 41 km south-east of Leinster, Western Australia. It is currently owned by Norilsk Nickel and has been in care and maintenance since 2007.
Norilsk acquired the mine in June 2007, when it took over Lionore Mining.
The Thunderbox gold deposit is a relatively recent discovery by Western Australian gold mining standards, having been located through drilling in mid-1999. The deposit was jointly owned by Lionore (60%) and Dalrymple Resources (40%).
The owners conducted a feasibility study in 2001 and predicted a mine life of five years and a gold resource of 850,000 ounces, to be mined in an open-pit operation. The company moved the processing plant from Mount Todd to the mine and first gold production was achieved at the end of 2002.
In mid-2003, Lionore and Dalrymple announced a merger of the two companies, with the new entity continuing to be called Lionore.
After good results in the mine's first two years of operation, Thunderbox suffered a difficult 2005, with lower-than-expected production in the second half of the year. Water shortages and equipment reliability issues were two of the main reasons for the decline in production, but write-downs
Mount Morgan Mine was a copper, gold and silver mine in Queensland, Australia. Mining began at Mount Morgan in 1882 and continued until 1981. Over its lifespan, the mine yielded approximately 262 tonnes of gold, 37 tonnes of silver and 387,000 tonnes of copper.
The Mount Morgan Mine also operated assay laboratories, brickworks, foundry, power house and workshops (including carpentry, electrical and plumbing) as part of its operations. The Mount Morgan Mine also contained Fireclay Caverns excavated to provide clay for the mine brickworks.
Wealth from the Mount Morgan mine funded Persian oil exploration, establishing the Anglo-Persian Oil Company, which became BP in 1954. Wealth from the Mount Morgan mine was also bequeathed in 1912 to establish the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research.
In 1882, a syndicate was created to open a gold mine at Ironstone Mountain, 39 km south of Rockhampton, Queensland. The syndicate comprised William Knox Darcy (later influential in establishing the Anglo Persian Oil Company), Walter Russell Hall (later influential in establishing the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research), Thomas Skarratt Hall, and Thomas, Frederick and
The Ok Tedi Mine is an open-pit copper and gold mine in Papua New Guinea located near the headwaters of the Ok Tedi River, in the Star Mountains Rural LLG of the North Fly District of the Western Province of Papua New Guinea. Discharges from the mine have caused widespread and diverse harm, both environmentally and socially, to the 50,000 people who live in the 120 villages downstream of the mine.
The mine is operated by Ok Tedi Mining Limited (OTML) which is majority owned by the PNG Sustainable Development Program Limited (PNGSDPL). Prior to 2002, it was majority owned by BHP Billiton—the largest mining company in the world since a merger in 2001.
Located in a remote area of PNG, above 2,000 m (6,600 ft) on Mount Fubilan, in a region of high rainfall and frequent earthquakes, mine development posed serious challenges. The town of Tabubil was built to serve the mining operation.
Before mining operations Mount Fubilan was a copper mountain with a gold cap.
Exploratory drilling in the area began in the 1970s, and was run by the Kennecott Copper Corporation.
In the early 80s, BHP (now BHP Billiton) secured a mining lease and in 1984, began exploiting a gold cap on the mountain using
Căpeni Coal Mine is an open-pit mining exploitation, one of the largest in Romania located in Baraolt, Covasna County with estimated coal reserves of 8.4 million tonnes. The legal entity managing the Căpeni mine is the Ploieşti National Coal Company which was set up in 1957.
Benxihu (Honkeiko) Colliery (simplified Chinese: 本溪湖煤矿; traditional Chinese: 本溪湖煤礦), located in Benxi, Liaoning, China, was first mined in 1905. It started as an iron and coal mining project under joint Japanese and Chinese control. As time passed, the project came more and more under Japanese control. In the early 1930s, Japan invaded the north east of China and Liaoning province became part of the Japanese controlled puppet state of Manchukuo. The Japanese forced the Chinese to work the colliery under very poor conditions. Food was scarce and workers did not have sufficient clothing. Working conditions were harsh and diseases such as typhoid and cholera flourished. Typically miners worked 12 hour shifts or longer. The Japanese controllers were known to beat workers with pick handles and the perimeter of the mine was fenced and guarded. Many describe the work as slave labour.
On April 26, 1942, a gas and coal-dust explosion in the mine killed 1,549, 34% of the miners working that day, making it the worst disaster in the history of coal mining.
The explosion sent flames bursting out of the mine shaft entrance. Miners' relatives rushed to the site but were denied entry by a cordon
Pyhäsalmi Mine, the deepest metal mine in Europe (having depth of 1,444 metres or 4,738 feet) is located at the Pyhäjärvi municipality in the south of Oulu province, Finland. The zinc and copper mine is owned by Inmet Mining, a Canadian mining corporation.
In 1958 a local farmer discovered gossan ore during a well construction. Shortly after a sample was delivered to Outokumpu Corporation for analysis and a more thorough geological survey was commenced, revealing a rich volcanogenic massive sulfide ore deposit (VMS-deposit) rich in zinc and copper. In 1959 a decision was made to open a new mine in the area and after few years of construction the mine was opened on March 1, 1962.
Pyhäsalmi mine was worked as an open cast pit until 1967, when underground mining operations commenced. In 1975, open cast mining was stopped. During the years the underground mine has been made gradually deeper. The so-called Olli Shaft was completed in 1985, making the mine 730 metres (2,400 ft) deep. New ore was discovered yet deeper, and a depth of 1,050 metres (3,440 ft) was reached in 1996. Later a new shaft, called Timo Shaft was built to exploit the ore deposit between 1,050 and 1,440 metres (3,445
Bürentsogt Tungsten Mine (also Buren-Tsogt, Burentsogt) is the mine and settlement in Mönkhkhaan sum (district) of Sükhbaatar Province in eastern Mongolia. This mine is 41 km SW from sum center .
Tungsten production was mainly by a joint venture of Mongolia and the former East Germany. Tungsten ore reserves at Burentsogt reported will be depleted in 1 to 2 years
Tungsten artisanal mining is present
The Radomiro Tomić mine is open pit mine that extracts oxide minerals at 3,000 meters (9,800 ft) above sea level in the Andes mountains near to Chuquicamata mine and Calama in northern Chile's Antofagasta Region.
Although this deposit was discovered in the 1950s, its operations started only in 1995, after Codelco updated the feasibility studies for its exploitation and acquired the technology necessary to exploit it profitably.
Today, Chilean Copper Corporation (Codelco) controls the mine. Until 1999, Radomiro Tomić was referred to as "Codelco Chile Division Radomiro Tomić", since then, (Codelco) has renamed it "Codelco Norte".
Shireoaks Colliery was a coal mine situated on the edge of the village of Shireoaks, near Worksop in North Nottinghamshire, close by the Yorkshire border.
The Duke of Newcastle owned mineral rights in much of North Nottinghamshire and the original shaft was sunk in 1861. Although the colliery was situated adjacent to the main line of the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire Railway, an agreement was reached with the railway company, as owners of the Chesterfield Canal, for a short link to serve the colliery and to ship coal to the River Trent at West Stockwith.
The Shireoaks Colliery Company was formed in 1867 and, in due course, had mining interests throughout the area, including those at Steetley, Whitwell and Clowne.
In 1917 the colliery company gained a lease from the Estates of the 10th Duke of Leeds to mine top hard coal from below the villages of North Anston, South Anston and Thorpe Salvin.
In 1945, the Shireoaks Colliery Company was sold to United Steel Companies and on nationalisation came under the control of the National Coal Board. The pit closed in 1991.
Raglan Mine is a large nickel mining complex in the Nunavik region of northern Quebec, Canada. It is located approximately 100 kilometres (62 mi) south of Deception Bay. It is owned and operated by Toronto, Ontario based Xstrata Nickel (formerly Falconbridge Ltd.), a division of Swiss-based Xstrata plc. The mine site is located in sub-arctic permafrost of the Cape Smith Belt, with an average underground temperature of −15 °C (5 °F).
The complex operates the Kattiniq/Donaldson Airport 22 kilometres (14 mi) from the mine site. There is a gravel road leading from the mine site to the seaport on Deception Bay. It is the only road of any distance in the province north of the 55th parallel. As the complex is remote from even the region's Inuit communities, workers must lodge at the mine site, typically for weeks at a time. From the mine site employees are flown to Rouyn-Noranda, or in the case of Inuit employees, their home community. Ore produced from the mine is milled on-site then trucked 100 km (62 mi) to Deception Bay. From Deception Bay the concentrate is sent via cargo ship during the short shipping season (even by ice breaker it is only accessible 8 months of the year) to Quebec
The Erzberg mine is a large open pit mine located in Eisenerz, Styria, in the central-western part of Austria, 60 km north-west of Graz and 260 km south-west of the capital, Vienna. Erzberg represents the largest iron ore reserves in Austria having estimated reserves of 235 million tonnes of ore. The mine produces around 2,153,000 tonnes of iron ore/year.
The Bielszowice coal mine is a large mine in the south of Poland in Ruda Śląska, Silesian Voivodeship, 267 km south-west of the capital, Warsaw. Bielszowice represents one of the largest coal reserve in Poland having estimated reserves of 284.2 million tonnes of coal. The annual coal production is around 4 million tonnes.
Lady Windsor Colliery was a coal mine located in the village of Ynysybwl in South Wales. Opened in 1884, it closed in 1988, 104 years later.
David Davies began test bores in the early 1880s at Graigddu (English - Black Rock), which proved positive. Colliery development began in 1884 by Plymouth Estates, later to become the Ocean Coal Company, with many of the early workers from Davies home village of Llandinam, Montgomeryshire. The shafts Nos.1 and 2 each 689 yards deep, with the first coal produced in 1886.
As with most coal mining areas in the South Wales Coalfield, a local community immediately sprang up around the colliery at Ynysybwl. 300 houses were built in typical South Wales Valleys terraced fashion by the mine owners in order to house workers and their families, with most built on the opposing (Western) side of the valley.
The high grade of coal produced was ideal for maritime uses, and was hence bought by various shipping concerns including the Admiralty and Cunard Line. This spurred Davies purchase of the rival Harris-owned Deep Navigation Colliery in 1893, which from 1914 for a period provided electricity supply to Lady Windsor.
During its peak period the colliery
The Mirash and Bardh open-cast coal mines are lignite coal mines in Kosovo operatied by the Kosovo Energy Corporation (KEK).
The two mines cover a working surface area of 10 km (3.9 sq mi) and, if all the external dump sites from 1956-1991 are included, the mine will cover a total surface area of 11 km (4.2 sq mi).
Coal extraction has been developed in two coal mines, with a projected output target of 16.7 million tons of coal per year, not including the removal of 28 millions cubic metres of overburden. The coal is mined by using a rotor excavator and transportation to the generating plants ("Kosovo A" and "Kosovo B") is on conveyor belts. Until the end of 1998, 226,260,825 tons of coal had been mined in Kosovo, representing 1.58% of the estimated geological deposits and 1.96% of the total exploitable reserves.
The projected production of this coal mine has been set at 8.6 million tons per year for coal, and 14 million m per year for overburden. In order to reach this target the equipment in the mines includes 11 bucket wheel excavators linked to automatic conveyor belt systems and four stacker spreaders. This same equipment has been in operation for the past 15-37 years.
The Honeymoon Mine will be Australia's fourth uranium mine and Australia's second operating in-situ recovery mine. The mine is owned by Uranium One. The uranium deposit belongs to the palaeochannel type.
The mine has been forcibly shut down by government authorities as of 10 July 2012 due to an unexplained combustion of yellowcake whilst packing barrels for shipment. Details viewable at:
Husnicioara Coal Mine is an open-pit mining exploitation, one of the largest in Romania located in Husnicioara, Mehedinţi County. The legal entity managing the Husnicioara mine is the National Company of Lignite Oltenia which was set up in 1997.
The exploitation has two open pits Husnicioara - Vest, Zegujani that produced 3.1 million tonnes of lignite in 2008. The mine has around 700 workers and is endowed with five bucket-wheel excavators, three spreaders, one mixed machine and four deposits spreader. The total proven recoverable reserves of the mine amount to 67 million tonnes of lignite.
El Salvador mine (The Savior) is a combined open pit and underground copper mine in Chile, it is owned by the state owned copper mining company Codelco. The mine is located in the company town of El Salvador.
The El Salvador mine was originally owned by Anaconda Copper and opened in 1959, in the 1970s with the nationalization of the copper industry in Chile, control of the mine was turned over to the newly formed, state owned copper mining company Codelco.
Codelco had planned to close the El Salvador mine in 2011, but extended the mine life by an additional 15–20 years. El Salvador operates as Codelco's smallest mine with the highest cash costs.
The El Salvador mine was developed by Anaconda Copper. Production at the mine began in 1959, and was intended to replace production of the company's Potrerillos mine, which would be closing due to a decline in ore quality. Production from the El Salvador would increase Chile's total output of copper about 450,000 tons of copper per year, rather than a decrease in production, out of satisfaction and relief, the company renamed the mine El Salvador, Spanish The Savior. When President Salvador Allende nationalized the Chilean copper mining
Thornton Quarry is one of the largest aggregate quarries in the world, located in Thornton, Illinois just south of Chicago. Work at the quarry began in 1924 by Colonel Hodgkins, and since 1938 has been operated by the Material Service Corporation. The quarry is 1.5 miles (2.5 km) long, 0.5 miles (1 km) wide, and 400 feet (125 m) deep. Gallagher Asphalt Corporation has been operating on the grounds of the quarry since 1928. A dryland dike carries Interstate 80/Interstate 294/Tri-State Tollway over the quarry.
As part of the Chicago Deep Tunnel project, both Thornton Quarry and McCook Quarry will serve as reservoirs to reduce the backflow of stormwater and sewage from Chicago area rivers into Lake Michigan. Thornton Transitional Reservoir contributes a 3.1-billion-US-gallon (12,000,000 m) capacity to the system, and is expected to contribute 7.9 billion US gallons (30,000,000 m) when the system is completed in 2014.
The quarry contains Silurian reefs which formed when the Michigan Basin was covered in sea water more than 400 million years ago.
Universal Colliery was a coal mine located in the town of Senghenydd in the Aber Valley, roughly four miles north-west of the town of Caerphilly. It is within the county borough of Caerphilly, traditionally within the county of Glamorgan, Wales.
Opened in 1891, it became a ventilation facility for the Windsor Colliery before complete closure in 1988.
Senghenydd, along with its neighbouring town Abertridwr, make up the majority of the Aber Valley, and became urbanised in the 1890s, when the Universal (1891) and Windsor collieries were sunk in the region, along with the 1891 opening of the Rhymney Railway's Senghenydd extension branch.
The Windsor Colliery was closed in November 1986.
Universal Colliery suffered the first of two major gas and coal dust explosions on 24 May, 1901. Damage was sustained to both shafts, resulting in a restricted rescue attempt, and 81 of the 82 men working in the mine were killed.
On the 14 October, 1913, Senghenydd suffered from what would become the very worst mining disaster in Britain's history, when a second gas explosion occurred, resulting in the loss of 439 lives. Nevertheless, many of the surviving miners went back to help their workmates who
The Wiluna Gold Mine is an active gold mine in Western Australia near the town of Wiluna. The mine was active from 1984 until its closure in 2007; when it was put into care and maintenance; and again since late 2008.
After commissioning from its recent upgrade the mine should have resumed full operations before the end of 2008; however, delays in the comissoning had forced the owner, APEX Minerals, to raise more money and postpone this date. The company announced on 5 March 2009 that full production had resumed.
The mine is located on the native title of the Ngaanyatjarra aboriginal people.
The mine consists of several open pits, the largest being East Pit which was mined until July 2007 and again in late 2008 and early 2009, and three underground operations. Two of those, Happy Jack and East Lode, are older workings, the third, Bulletin decline was also mined until July 2007 and has since reopened. Bulletin and its extensions, Calais and Woodley decline were the sites of an underground drilling program during the mines closure in 2007 and 2008. There was then approx. 15 km of underground workings at the mine. Most of the open pits are flooded with salt water. Only one of them, the
The Challenger Mine is a gold mine in the Far North of South Australia, 165 km west of the Stuart Highway and 740 km north-west of Adelaide. It is operated by Kingsgate Consolidated Ltd.
The ore body was first discovered in 1995. The mine was initially an open pit commenced in 2002 and converted to underground mining in 2005.
It produced 43,547 troy ounces of gold in the year to 30 June 2005 and 108,080 ounces in 2006.
The mine has a reserve of 512,000 ounces of gold from a resource of 1 million ounces of gold as of June 2007. The mine village houses up to 250 personnel who work on a fly-in fly-out roster. Henry Walker Eltin is the underground mining contractor.
Production figures of the recent past were:
The Iacobeni mine is a large mine in the north of Romania in Suceava County, 96 km southwest of Suceava and 340 km north of the capital, Bucharest. Iacobeni represents the third largest copper reserve in Romania having estimated reserves of 200 million tonnes of ore grading 0.4% copper. The mine also has one of the largest manganese reserves in Romania estimated at 2.5 million tonnes of ore with an annual production of around 70,000 tonnes.
The Letseng diamond mine, found in the landlocked Southern African kingdom of Lesotho, is owned by Gem Diamonds, Ltd. and the government of Lesotho, and at an elevation of 3,100 m (10,000 ft) it is the world's highest diamond mine.
It is characterised by extremely low grade ore (less than 2 carats (400 mg)/hundred tons) and is well known for producing huge diamonds, having the highest percentage of large diamonds (greater than 10 carats (2.0 g)), giving it the highest dollar value per carat of any diamond mine. The world average is roughly US$81 per carat, while Letseng averaged over US$1,894 per carat for the first six months of 2007.
Unusual for Africa, and due to the elevation, temperatures at the mine drop to -20 °C, and snowfalls are common in winter.
On the 4th of October 2006 the 603 carat (121 g) white diamond, the Lesotho Promise was unearthed, and is the largest reported find this century and the 15th largest diamond ever found. The stone is an exceptional colour, rated D, the top colour for diamonds.
Previously the largest diamond found at Letseng was the 601 carat (120 g) Lesotho Brown, recovered in 1967.
On September 13, 2007 Gem Diamonds, Ltd. announced that it found
Hemerdon Mine, alternatively known as the Hemerdon Ball or Hemerdon Bal Mine, is a historic tungsten and tin mine. It is located 11 km (7 miles) NE of Plymouth, near Plympton, in Devon, England. It lies to the north of the villages of Sparkwell and Hemerdon and adjacent to the large china clay pits near Lee Moor. The mine, which has been out of operation since 1944, except for the brief operation of a trial mine in the 1980s, hosts one of the largest tungsten and tin deposits in the world.
The Hemerdon Ball granite is an outlying cupola intrusion surrounded by Devonian slates, known regionally as killas. Fractures in the granite and killas have been penetrated by mineralising fluids containing metallic ores in the area around the Hemerdon mine. Two types of vein are discernible with three different orientations. Quartz and quartz-feldspar veins form a stockwork with minor mineralisation, whilst greisen bordered veins are found in a sheeted vein system with wolframite and minor cassiterite mineralisation.
The mineralisation begins at surface and extends to depths of at least 400 metres (1,300 ft). The vein system is hosted in a dyke like granite body, extending from the Hemerdon
Comăneşti Coal Mine is an open-pit mining exploitation, one of the largest in Romania located in Comăneşti, Bacău County with estimated coal reserves of 8.4 million tonnes. The legal entity managing the Comăneşti mine is the Ploieşti National Coal Company which was set up in 1957.
Ebenezer Colliery was a coal mine located at Coal Point, New South Wales, Australia.
Reverend Lancelot Edward Threlkeld began mining at the south west point of Coal Point near Toronto in 1840, after the failure of his aboriginal mission.
The mine was worked by hand and the skips run on wooden rails. The coal was loaded into vessels from a large wooden jetty. Due to the shallow channel at Swansea the coal was taken to a coal loading and storage depot at the head of Lake Macquarie, known as Reid's Mistake, where it was loaded upon ocean going vessels.
Threlkeld's mine pre-dated the Australian Agricultural Company (AA Co) monopoly on coal mining, however Threlkeld found it difficult to attract miners, to compete against the AA Co monopoly and the Governor of New South Wales George Gipps refused to supply convicts. Threlkeld's estate was sold at auction to the mortagee in 1844 to repay outstanding debts.
The mine was worked further under lease by Henry R. Whittell and later by Ralph M. Robey, although it was often not worked. It was worked as South Hetton Colliery as late as 1906.
The Bear Valley Strip Mine is an abandoned coal strip mine located in Coal Township, Northumberland County, to the southwest of the town of Shamokin, Pennsylvania. It lies in the Western Middle Field of the Anthracite belt in the Ridge-and-Valley Appalachians, where the Pennsylvanian Llewellyn Formation is exposed. The property is owned by the Reading Anthracite Company.
The coal and other overlying rock has been removed by mining down to a resistant sandstone bed, revealing the three-dimensional structures of folding and faulting caused by the Alleghany Orogeny. Students of geology have visited the location for decades due to the quality of exposures.
The central anticline in the valley is often called the "Whaleback".
The sequence of structural deformation is outlined as follows:
The Dobreşti mine is a large mine in the northwest of Romania in Bihor County, 55 km southwest of Oradea and 629 km north of the capital, Bucharest. Dobreşti represents the largest bauxite reserve in Romania having estimated reserves of 10 million tonnes.
Kingsbury Colliery was a coal mine in Kingsbury, Warwickshire which operated between 1897 and 1968.
It was opened in 1897 and changed the nature of the village almost overnight from a predominantly agriculturally based community to a mining village, and helped Kingsbury's expansion. Coal extracted from Kingsbury Colliery was used mainly for industry in nearby Birmingham, although the Lurghi Gas Plant at Coleshill was also a major customer.
The colliery operated throughout the first half of the 20th century, and in 1904 the village of Piccadilly was built close by to house some of the mine's workers. Following the pit's closure in 1968, some of the land was used for the construction of the Kingsbury Oil Terminal.
In 2009 a memorial wall was built in Piccadilly to remember those who worked in both Kingsbury Culliery, and the neighbouring Dexter Colliery. The wall contains the names of all the miners who worked at both mines. The centrepiece of the wall is a miner's lamp that is always lit to commemorate those who have died and those who remember working down the mines.
Notable people who have worked at the colliery include the footballer Sid Ireland.
One of the largest active underground mines in the world. 1910 run by Wolfram Mining and Smelting Cº Limited until 1928 when it became the Beralt Tin and Wolfram Cº Limited. This continued till 1973, when it became the Beralt Tin and Wolfram Portugal, SA. Closed briefly in 1994-5, it is still open with about 130 employees.
Monkwearmouth Colliery (or Wearmouth Colliery) was a major North Sea coal mine located on the north bank of the River Wear, located in Sunderland. It was the largest mine in Sunderland and one of the most important in County Durham in northeast England. First opened in 1835 and in spite of the many accidents at the pit, the mine was the last to remain operating in the County Durham Coalfield. The last shift left the pit on December 10, 1993, ending over 800 years of commercial coal mining in the region. The Colliery site was cleared soon afterwards, and the Stadium of Light, the stadium of Sunderland A.F.C., was built over it, opening in July 1997 to replace nearby Roker Park.
Telfer is a minesite in the Pilbara region of Western Australia, within the Great Sandy Desert. Telfer was previously the state's most isolated town, located 1,300 kilometres (808 mi) north-east of the state capital Perth. The gold and copper mine is run by Newcrest Mining, and is the second-largest gold mine in Australia.
Telfer receives an average annual rainfall of approximately 300mm, despite the fact that it lies relatively close to the Indian Ocean. This location leaves the community vulnerable to tropical cyclones. For example, Cyclone Graham affected the area in early 2003, delivering 163mm of rain. Severe Tropical Cyclone Laurence also passed over the mine site in December 2009.
Newmont Mining first made a claim to the deposit in 1972; however, this is disputed by Jean-Paul Turcaud to this date.
The town of Telfer, non-existent until then, was built by Newmont in 1976 and named after A.H. Telfer, a former under secretary for mines in Western Australia. The town grew to a peak of almost 1,000 inhabitants in the early 1990s, with services like a supermarket, a police station, a bank, a community hall, a library and a number of sporting facilities being available.
Thurcroft Colliery was a coal mine situated in the village of Thurcroft, near Rotherham, South Yorkshire, England.
In 1902 the Rother Vale Colliery Company leased the rights to work coal from below the Thurcroft Estates which were owned by Messrs. Marrian (of Sharrow Hall, Sheffield) and Binns, but it was not until 7 years later that they began sinking a shaft.
Problems were encountered within a year when they found water which needed to be pumped from the workings and caused a delay in reaching the coal seam. The Barnsley seam, which is of good quality coal had been thrown out of its normal alignment, and expected, position by a geological fault which not discovered until the shaft was sunk.
Delays meant that no coal was produced until 1913.
The colliery was nationalized in 1947, becoming part of the National Coal Board, and was closed on 6 December 1991.
The Cavnic mine is a large mine in the northwest of Romania in Maramureş County, 26 km southwest of Baia Mare and 576 km north of the capital, Bucharest. Cavnic represents the largest lead and zinc reserve in Romania having estimated reserves of 2.5 million tonnes of lead and 8 million tonnes of zinc.
Motru Coal Mine is an open-pit mining exploitation, one of the largest in Romania located in Motru, Gorj County. The legal entity managing the Motru mine is the National Company of Lignite Oltenia which was set up in 1997.
The exploitation has two open pits Lupoaia, Roşiuţa that produced 6.6 million tonnes of lignite in 2008. The mine has around 2,300 workers and is endowed with 13 bucket-wheel excavators, seven spreaders, two mixed machines and two deposits spreader. The total proven recoverable reserves of the mine amount to 108 million tonnes of lignite.
The Anvil Hill Coal Mine is proposed for the upper Hunter Valley in New South Wales. There is strong support for and against the coal mine within the Hunter Valley and other areas. The coal mine will be managed by Centennial Coal with Mines operator expected to be Thiess. The mine will provide coal mostly for the production of electricity. It currently has contracts for providing coal to Bayswater / Liddell power stations in the Upper Hunter for 12 years, commencing in 2008.
Supporters state that the local communities exist because of mining historically attracting workers to the area and that a new mine will lead to further employment in the local area along with state wide economic benefit. Environmental activists have utilised arguments against removing current landholders, potential loss of flora and fauna diversity and climate change to argue against the mines approval.
The proposed mine EA (environmental assessment) was provided to the Department of Planning in June 2006. On the 7th of June the NSW Planning Minister Frank Sartor approved the proposed mine, stating that not going ahead with the mine would make no overall difference to climate change and thus would slow down
The Canatuan mine is wholly owned and operated by TVI Resource Development (TVIRD). TVIRD is the Philippine operating affiliate of TVI Pacific (TVI), a resource company based in Calgary, Alberta. TVIRD is 40% owned by TVI, with the remaining 60% ownership held by a number of Philippine residents and companies.
This mine has been the source of some controversy regarding environmental impacts and indigenous peoples' rights, but is also strongly defended by the owner and members of the local population as a good example of environmentally and socially responsible mining activities in the developing world.
The Canatuan mine is based on a copper/zinc massive sulphide mineral deposit located in Zamboanga del Norte province on the island of Mindanao in the Philippines. The area is situated approximately 27 kilometres east of the town of Siocon on the Zamboanga Peninsula.
TVIRD holds a Mineral Production Sharing Agreement (MPSA) with the Philippine government, effective October 23, 1996 and covering an area of 508 hectares within Canatuan. Canatuan is part of the claimed ancestral domain of one of the many sub-tribes of the Subanon tribe known to populate the Zamboanga Peninsula and
The Cripple Creek & Victor Gold Mine, formerly and historically the Cresson Mine, is an active gold mine located near the town of Victor, in the Cripple Creek mining district in the US state of Colorado. It is the largest current producer of gold in Colorado. It is fully owned and operated by AngloGold Ashanti through its subsidiary, the Cripple Creek & Victor Gold Mining Company (CC&V).
The mine is an open pit operation. The gold is recovered from the ore by heap leaching. CC&V's heap leach pad is one of the biggest in the world.
The ore is in altered and brecciated volcanic and volcanoclastic rocks of Oligocene age and predominantly quartz latite composition. The Cripple Creek volcanic complex is surrounded by Precambrian gneiss, granite, and quartz monzonite. The gold occurs as disseminated micrometre-size free gold and as gold-silver tellurides. Gangue minerals include pyrite, quartz, and fluorite.
Gold mining in the district begun in the 1890s, mostly as underground operations, chasing high grade veins. Over 23 million ounces of gold have been recovered from the district since 1890. At 2012 prices ($1600 per troy ounce ), this would be worth around US$ 37 billion.
Llancaiach Colliery was a coal mine in the South Wales Valleys, located just to the north of the village of Nelson and just to the south of Llancaiach Fawr Manor.
It was opened by Thomas Powell in 1811, and from 1841 was served by the bespoke Llancaiach Branch line of the Taff Vale Railway.
The mine closed in 1887..
The San José Mine (Spanish: Mina San José) is a small copper-gold mine located near Copiapó, Atacama Region, Chile. The mine is mostly known for its 2010 collapse which trapped 33 miners 700 metres (2,300 ft) underground. Its workings are reached by a long sloping roadway with many spiral turns (a diagram shows ten turns), not by a vertical mineshaft.
The San José Mine is located 45 kilometers northwest of Copiapó. It began to be operated in 1889. In 1957, Jorge Kemeny Letay, a Hungarian immigrant founded the San Esteban Mining Company (Spanish: Compañía Minera San Esteban).
According to Terra, the mine's annual sales surpassed 20 million dollars.
Between 2003 and 2010, several mining accidents occurred in the mine, causing at least three deaths. In 2007, a geologist was killed in the mine, and led to its closure. It was reopened in May 2008 by SERNAGEOMIN – Servicio Nacional de Geología y Minería (National Geology and Mining Service). In July 2010, miner Gino Cortés lost one of his legs in an accident.
Compañía Minera San Esteban (English: San Esteban Mining Company) advised national authorities on 5 August 2010 that a collapse had occurred at 14:00 local time, and rescue efforts
The Bunder project is Rio Tinto's first and most advanced diamond mining venture in India. The Bunder project comprises a cluster of eight lamproites (volcanic rock), located in the Bundelkhand region of Madhya Pradesh, 500 km south east of Delhi.Rio Tinto discovered the Bunder deposit in 2004 as part of a regional exploration reconnaissance programme which commenced in 2002. A Prospecting License was executed in September 2006, which allowed exploration activities to continue, and an order of magnitude study was commenced to evaluate the economic viability of the eight diamondiferous lamproites. The Order of Magnitude Study determined the Bunder deposit to have an inferred resource of 27.4 million carats. As a result, Rio Tinto has identified a diamond resource seven times richer than the Panna mine (also located in Madhya Pradesh), with a likely production rate at least 20 times greater than at the Panna mine. Madhya Pradesh would therefore rank, in terms of volume and value, in the top ten diamond producing regions in the world. Rio Tinto has applied for a mining lease and has constructed a state of the art sample plant, to process bulk samples of ore on the project site. The
El Toqui mine is a zinc-gold mine in Chile. The mine is owned by Breakwater Resources through its wholly owned subsidiary company Sociedad Contractul Minera el Toqui. The mine was purchased from Barrick Gold Corporation in 1997.
Kiveton Park Colliery was a coal mine in the village of Kiveton Park, near Rotherham, South Yorkshire, England. Until 1845 Kiveton was a rural village, the main work being in agriculture. In that year a railway was built through the district which connected Sheffield with Worksop, Retford and Grimsby. This became part of the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire Railway and gave a major transport system which, almost 20 years later, saw coal, mined at many locations along the line, being sold to merchants in the Manchester area and in the port of Grimsby.
In 1864 Carrington and Company leased rights to mine coal in the area around Kiveton, sinking beginning on 6 June 1866 and the Barnsley seam being reached on 5 December 1867, just over 400 yards (370 m) below the surface. The company bore their name until 1873 when the Kiveton Park Colliery Company was founded. Initially gas was obtained from the Beighton Gas Company but in the 1870s the company began to make their own. This lasted until 1956 when it drew its supply from the grid.
A new shaft, sunk in 1886 to reach the Thorncliffe seam, reached its target at a depth of almost 700 yards (640 m). This coal was used for coking
The Morupule Colliery is a coal mine located in Palapye, Botswana, and owned and operated by Debswana, a partnership between the government of Botswana and De Beers. Founded in 1973 to supply the Bamangwato Concessions, Ltd copper and nickel mine, operations have expanded considerably since then to supply a number of regional power plants and industries, especially the nearby Morupule Power Station. A small wash plant wash, with a production capability of 120 tonnes per hour, was commissioned in January 2008 to supply a higher quality coal to local and regional consumers. This project was supported by the Botswana government as a means of stimulating the local economy, producing a less polluting form of coal than the run-of-mine coal, and to provide an alternative to the unsustainable use of wood for cooking and heating.
A major expansion to the colliery is planned for 2010 and 2011. The primary purpose of the expansion is to supply coal to the adjacent Botswana Power Corporation B phase 1 power station (600 MW) that is under construction in 2010 and 2011. The power station is required to allow Botswana to become self-sufficient in power generation (in 2010, around 84% of the
The Dutchess Quarry Cave Site is located along NY 17A in the Town of Goshen in Orange County, New York. It is midway between the village of Goshen and Florida, at the junction of Quarry Road (Orange County Route 68), built into the side of a 580-foot (177 m) hill known as Mount Lookout.
In the 1960s, archaeologists digging at the site found caves with artifacts left by hunter-gatherers 12,000 years ago, during the last Ice Age. A Paleo-Indian fluted point, a very rare stone tool, was among them. At the time of its discovery it was the oldest such site east of the Mississippi.
The site has been at the center of a battle between local archaeologists and the Pleasant Valley-based Dutchess Quarry and Supply Company, which actively produces dolomite gravel on the site. The company's operations have expanded in recent years to meet growing demand in the region, moving its activities closer to the cave site than they were when first discovered. It monitors the caves closely when it needs to do blasting, and the county has established a preserve on the most important 20 acres (4 ha) of the 177-acre (71 ha) site. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1974, with the
SX 510/810 OS Ref. Reopened in 1806, mining for lead, but closed by 1900. Shafts 840', 576', 480' and 30' in 1966. Many shafts filled in by military exercises. One stark Engine House house (preserved) remains, but another was apartently blown up. Refining operations carried out about 1960. Other atempts to get stream tin in about 1952.
Koffiefontein Mine is a diamond mine situated in the Free State province, about 80 km from Kimberley, South Africa. It is one of the many Kimberley mines of which Kimberley mine, de Beers mine, Dutoitspan, Bultfontein and Wesselton are its more famous neighbours.
The mine was opened in 1870 and consisted of 1200 claims and worked at a large scale in the beginning of the century. However several sources quote it to have a poor yield: 4 to 5 carat (800 to 1000 mg) in 100 loads and according to Streeter the mines were not profitable at all by the end of the 19th century. Streeter also noted that in particular the diamonds of the Koffiefontein and Jagersfontein were of the "first water"; meaning of very good clarity.
There was little on the surface to mark the position of these deposits, some deposits were slightly raised above the surface, some showed a small depression, and it was only after mining started that the extent of the deposits became clear.
The mine has been closed several times in its history and never became a large production site. The total production of the mine was 7.3 million carats (1460 kg), and the largest gem weighed 139 carats (27.8 g). The mine was most
Long Meg Mine is a disused gypsum mine just north of Little Salkeld, Cumbria in the area known as Cave Wood Valley. It was operated between 1880 and 1976.
The Long Meg Plaster Company Ltd. was established in 1880, driving an underground drift upon which operations commenced in 1885. In 1886 a standard gauge extension line was connected to the site from the Settle-Carlisle Railway (a distance of around 0.35 km). The workforce in this year is recorded as being 12 (all Surface), the name of the mine Long Meg Drift and agent A.K.Busby.
In 1902 the workforce is recorded as being 26 (12 Underground and 14 Surface). By 1914 however this figure had dropped to 6 (4 Underground and 2 Surface) and the mine was abandoned on an unknown date in 1914/1915. The operator at this time was the Carlisle Plaster and Cement Company Ltd.
The mine was re-opened in 1922 for the extraction of anhydrite by the Long Meg Plaster and Mineral Company Ltd. This was purchased in 1939 by the British Plaster Board Ltd. (now known as British Gypsum). Until its closure in January 1976 its workforce fluctuated between 12 and 29 (4 and 22 Underground; 4 and 18 Surface).
The 1 millionth tonne of anhydrite was shipped to
Longannet coal mine was a deep mine complex in Fife, Scotland.
Longannet was the remnant of three mines, established in the 1960s. Built on the north side of the Firth of Forth, east of Kincardine, it connected with the Bogside, Castlehill and Solsgirth Collieries, forming a single, five miles long, tunnel. They provided fuel for the nearby, 2,400MW Longannet Power Station.
The Bogside Colliery closed in the 1980s, and by the early 1990s, the Castlehill and Solsgirth coal reserves were exhausted. Production continued from the Castlebridge area. On privatisation of the coal industry, the complex passed into the ownership of Mining Scotland and later Scottish Coal (Deep Mine) Ltd. In the late 1990s, new "roadway" tunnels were driven to access a coal seam beneath the Forth, downstream of the Kincardine Bridge. When production from Castlebridge ceased, in 2000, the northern side of the complex was sealed off and flooded. Dams were constructed, isolating the old workings from the active Kincardine working.
In March 2002, millions of gallons of water flooded into the underground workings. The 15 people below ground at the time were in another part of the mine and all were evacuated
The Bełchatów coal mine is a large mine in the centre of Poland in Bełchatów, Łódź Voivodeship, 150 km west of the capital, Warsaw. Bełchatów represents one of the largest coal reserve in Poland having estimated reserves of 1,930 million tonnes of coal. The annual coal production is around 50 million tonnes.
The Gidgee Gold Mine is a gold mine in Western Australia, 82 km north of the town of Sandstone. The mine was, until recently, owned by APEX Minerals NL, but purchased by Panoramic Resources in February 2011. The mine is currently in care and maintenance.
The mine was scheduled to reopen in late 2008 but delays experienced forced APEX to postpone this date to mid-2010. Gidgee is part of a three mine production strategy, together with the Wiluna Gold Mine and the Youanmi Gold Mine.
The mine is located in the Gum Creek Greenstone Belt. Its name is derived from the nearby Gidgee Station.
While in operation under Australian Resources Limited, liquidated in October 1999, the company had to close the mine because of financial difficulties. Abelle Limited took over Gidgee in October 1999 and resumed production in February 2000.
Under Abelle, mining was mainly carried out in the South Woodya, Donkey Well and Wahoo open pit and the Swan Bitter underground operation. At the end of 2002, Abelle ceased mining in open pit operations at Gidgee, the only ore now coming from the Swan Bitter underground operation. As a consequence of reduced ore production, milling was reduced to a two weeks on, one
The Randalls Gold Mine is a gold mine, recently developed, located 36 km east-north-east of Kambalda, Western Australia, near Mount Monger Station. The project is currently owned and developed by Integra Mining and started production in September 2010.
Mt Monger Station is home to an already operational mine, the Daisy Milano Gold Mine.
Integra began purchasing the area of their project in October 2003, when the Aldiss Gold Project was acquired. In March 2005, it expanded it through the purchase of the Randalls Project.
The company conducted an exploration program on its leases and purchased the processing facilities of the New Celebration Gold Mine in March 2006 for A$ 3.0 million. Integra removed the processing plant by May 2008 and placed it in storage.
The company completed a native title agreement with the Central Eastern Goldfields Aboriginal People in September 2009, securing a mining lease for the Salt Creek deposit.
Originally, the company planned to produce 75,000 ounces of gold per annum, but extended this target to 90,000 in June 2010 by sourcing ore from other open pit operations on its lease, mainly the Salt Creek deposit. An increase to 100,000 ounces is planned by
SX 475/725 OS Ref. 1 mile S of Tavistock. Engine shaft 340 yards S x E of Brook Mill. 80 yards S of Engine shaft were 3 or 4 shafts within a distance of 150 yards. 1966. In July 1880, three miners were drowned when the River Tavy entrered the workings.
The Jankowice coal mine is a large mine in the south of Poland in Rybnik, Silesian Voivodeship, 294 km south-west of the capital, Warsaw. Jankowice represents one of the largest coal reserve in Poland having estimated reserves of 211.7 million tonnes of coal. The annual coal production is around 8.56 million tonnes.
The São Domingos Mine is a deserted open-pit mine in São Domingos, Alentejo, Portugal. This site is one of the volcanogenic massive sulfide ore deposits in the Iberian Pyrite Belt, which extends from the southern Portugal into Spain. The Romans mined in the São Domingos area for gold and silver for about 400 years. Mining stopped here when the Romans left.
In 1854 Nicolau Biava, an Italian miner from Piedmont, staked a claim to the mine; ownership then passed to a French syndicate. In 1855 mining was resumed, as the international demand for copper grew during the Industrial Revolution. In 1859 the mining concession was leased for 50 years to an English mining company, Mason and Barry, because of their industrial mining expertise. The nearby port of Pomarão was inaugurated the same year. Known as Pomaron in England, this inland port was specially constructed on the River Guadiana, which here forms the border with Spain, to serve the mine. In 1862 an 11-mile (18 km) railway, of three foot-six inch gauge, was opened connecting the mine to Pomarão. From Pomarão ore was exported, mostly to England, by ship. Pomarão was destroyed in a disastrous flood on 6–8 December 1876, and
Main shaft 720'. One of the oldest underground workings around Tavistock, discovered during the construction of the Tavistock Canal tunnel to Morwhelham. Inclined shaft by entrance to the canal tunnel was already disused in 1828.New companies took over, first 1842-6, then in 1850 another company drove an adit 1800' into the hill. Productive gain in 1880
Four Mile is a proposed uranium mine in Australia. The proposed mine is sited in the far north of the state of South Australia, around 600 kilometres (370 mi) north of the state capital, Adelaide and 10 kilometres (6 mi) from the existing Beverley uranium mine.
When operational, Four Mile will be Australia's first new uranium mine in nearly ten years and it is claimed it will be the tenth-largest uranium mine in the world.
Four Mile will be the fifth uranium mine in Australia and is the largest uranium deposit discovered in Australia in the past 25 years. In June 2009, Alliance Resources announced that the deposit contained 28,000 tonnes (31,000 short tons) of uranium oxide and the ore was graded at ten times that of Olympic Dam mine and double that of the Ranger mine in the Northern Territory. The mine life is expected to be at least 15 years.
The proposed mine is a joint venture between Quasar Resources Pty Ltd, who own 75 per cent of the project and Alliance Resources Ltd, who own the remaining 25 per cent. Quasar Resources is affiliated with Heathgate Resources Pty Ltd, owner and operator of the nearby Beverley mine.
Mining is proposed to be an in-situ leach operation, pumping
Ladyshore Colliery, originally named Back o' th Barn, was situated on the Irwell Valley fault on the Manchester Coalfield in Little Lever, then in the historic county of Lancashire, England. Founded by Thomas Fletcher Senior, the colliery opened in the 1830s and mined several types of coal. It became infamous as a result of the owners' stand against the use of safety lamps in the mines. Women and children worked in the mines, under poor conditions.
Closed in 1949, it was the last colliery to remain in use by the canal. Only the colliery office (now a house) and the stables have survived.
Coal mining had its own terminology, whilst some terms were common in all areas, some were used only in the Lancashire Coalfield. Following are some terms used in Ladyshore Colliery, taken from Weep Mother Weep.
Ladyshore Colliery was situated in the Irwell Valley, on two sides of the Manchester Bolton & Bury Canal. The colliery was opened in the 1830s and originally had three pits, Ladyshore, Victoria and Owl Hole. The deepest was Owl Hole, which reached 55 fathoms (101 m).
The geology of the Irwell Valley made coal easier to mine; thrown upwards by the fault, the Coal Measures were often to be
Nunnery Colliery was a coal mine close to the city centre of Sheffield, South Yorkshire. The mining company, known as The Waverley Coal Company, also worked High Hazels Colliery about 3 miles (5 km) further east.
Mining started on the Nunnery site in 1868 and it is claimed that its coal supplied half the houses in Sheffield.
The colliery was nationalised in 1947 becoming part of the National Coal Board and closed in August 1953, its reserves said to be exhausted.
On 3 December 1923 an accident caused by the breaking of a rope hauling an underground Paddy Mail train, carrying ninety men and thirty boys, seven people were killed and around fifty others injured.
The 500-yard (460 m)-long rope was 19 months old but, the management stated that there was no guidance in the Mines Act (or elsewhere) as to the life, or required strength, of a rope. A section of the broken rope was submitted for examination to a local testing company and Dr C. H. Desch, Professor of Metallurgy at Sheffield University. The strain on the rope was at its highest level when the coal was being drawn, and one of the mysteries of the accident was that it occurred when the men were in the train and the strain would
The Mount Morgans Gold Mine is a gold mine located 37 km west-south-west of Laverton, Western Australia.
It is operated by Range River Gold, who purchased the mine from Barrick Gold in May 2009. The mine, having closed in 1998, reopened in December 2009.
The mine should not be confused with the Mount Morgan Gold Mine at Mount Morgan, Queensland.
Gold was discovered at Mount Morgans in 1896 and, up until 1952, 328,000 ounces of gold at 15 g/t of were produced, mostly in underground mining at the Westralia deposit. Alf Morgans, later to become Premier of Western Australia for just 32 days, was responsible for the development of the Mount Morgans mineral field.
In a second activities period, from 1988 to 1997, the mine produced 917,000 ounces at 3.2 g/t, now mostly from open pit operations. Mining at Mount Morgans ceased in 1998. The processing plant of the mine was later removed.
The current site, was originally owned by Plutonic Resources, a major Australian gold mining and exploration company. Homestake Mining Company purchased Plutonic in April 1998 for more than $1.0 billion, and, in turn, Homestake was acquiered by Barrick Gold at the end of 2001. Barrick then sold the mine to
Aston Colliery was a small coal mine sunk on Aston Common, within Rotherham Rural District but six miles east of Sheffield in the 1840s. In 1864 its workings were taken over and developed by the North Staveley Colliery Company, part of the Staveley Coal and Iron Company, based in North Derbyshire.
A small coal mining operation commenced in the 1840s on Aston Common, south of Rotherham and east of the city of Sheffield, between Aston (in South Yorkshire) and Beighton (then in Derbyshire but now part of South Yorkshire).
In 1864 the workings of the Aston colliery were taken over and developed by the North Staveley Colliery Company, who not only extended the coal workings but built housing, a chapel and reading room for its workers. This increased the population of the parish of Aston by 672 between 1861 and 1871, an increase of over 70% (As a Sheffield and Rotherham commuter town the 1991 total was over 14,000).
Cadia Mine is a large open cut gold and copper mine located about 20 kilometres south of the regional city of Orange, New South Wales, Australia. The mine has been developed throughout the 1990s and is a major employer in the region with an expected lifespan of several decades. Cadia is the second largest open cut mine in Australia after the Super Pit at Kalgoorlie. Large mineral deposits are also being uncovered from the more recently developed Ridgeway underground mine which is adjacent to the Cadia Mine.
The mine is operated by Newcrest Mining. Cadia-Ridgeway is one of three gold mines Newcrest currently operates in Australia, the other two being Telfer in Western Australia and Cracow in Queensland. A fourth gold mine owned by the company is the Gosowong Mine in Indonesia.
In May 2007, due to the prolonged drought which was likely to adversely affect production in the near future, the company approached Orange City Council requesting to use some of the town water supply. Orange City Council subsequently agreed to allow a supply initially from Gosling Creek Reservoir and then if necessary from Lake Canobolas. The two main water supplies for Orange, Suma Park Dam and Spring Creek
El Mochito mine is an underground zinc and silver mine in Honduras that is owned by Nyrstar. The mine is located near the municipality of Las Vegas in northwest section Honduras . At approximately 88 km (55 mi) northeast of the mine, the closest major city is San Pedro Sula, which also acts as the commercial centre of the country.
The deposit was discovered in 1938. Rosario Resources Corporation purchased the property in 1943 and began production in 1948. American Pacific Mining Corporation purchased the property in September 1987, and in March 1990, Breakwater Resources acquired American Pacific, and the mine.
In August 2011, Nyrstar successfully completed its acquisition of Breakwater Resources, the owner of the El Mochito Mine in Honduras.
Gatsuurt Gold Mine is an open-pit gold mining site in Mongolia located about 110 km (70 mi) N of the capital Ulaanbaatar in Mandal sum (district) of Selenge Province in northern Mongolia. Gatsuurt gold mine is 35 E from Boroo Gold Mine.
Gatsuurt is 100% owned by the Canadian mining company, Centerra Gold.
Oxide and refractory ore from the Gatsuurt deposit will be processed at the Boroo facility.
The Bingham Canyon Mine, also known as the Kennecott Copper Mine, is an open-pit mining operation extracting a large porphyry copper deposit southwest of Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, in the Oquirrh Mountains. It is the deepest open-pit mine in the world. The mine is owned by Rio Tinto Group, an international mining and exploration company headquartered in the United Kingdom. The copper operations at Bingham Canyon Mine are managed through Kennecott Utah Copper Corporation which operates the mine, a concentrator plant, a smelter, and a refinery. The mine has been in production since 1906, and has resulted in the creation of a pit over 0.75 miles (1.21 km) deep, 2.5 miles (4 km) wide, and covering 1,900 acres (770 ha). According to Kennecott, it is the world's largest man-made excavation. It was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1966 under the name Bingham Canyon Open Pit Copper Mine.
Minerals, in the form of copper ore, were first discovered in Bingham Canyon in 1848 by two brothers, Sanford and Thomas Bingham, sons of Erastus Bingham, Mormon pioneers of September 1847, who grazed their family's and other's cattle and horses there. They reported their find to their leader,
Sala Silver Mine (Swedish: Sala silvergruva) is a mine in Sala Municipality, in Västmanland County in Sweden. The mine was in continuous production from the 15th century until 1908. Additional mining occurred in 1950-1951 and also in 1945-1962 in Bronäs Mine, located nearby. The Sala ore is mainly known for its high silver content though the ore also contained economic amounts of lead and zinc. The zinc was hosted by the mineral sphalerite while lead was hosted by the mineral galena. Silver occurred as a native phase rarely but was mainly hosted by complex antimonides and sulphosalts, dispersed in the matrices of galena and sphalerite, invisible to the naked eye but visible in microscope. The silver content in typical galena-dominated Sala ore was about 0.15% to 1%, the latter being one of the highest contents of silver in galena ever reported. In the sphalerite-dominated ore, the silver content is only about 0.015-0.02%, which was still enough to exploit and would even be at present days, given that a sufficient tonnage of metallurgically advantageous ore could be found.
The mine has had three major heyday, the main one in early 16th century, a second less significant one in the
The Venetia Diamond Mine is South Africa's largest producer of diamonds. It is situated close to the South African town of Alldays in the Limpopo province and is located within the 360 km² Venetia Limpopo Nature Reserve.
The open-pit mine is one of De Beers’ six remaining diamond mines in South Africa and the only major diamond mine to be developed in the country during the past 25 years. As such, the mine represents one of De Beers’ single biggest investments in South Africa. The mine was opened in 1992 by Harry Oppenheimer, a former De Beers chairman.
In 2004 the mine had 955 employees and recovered 7,187,300 carats (1437.5 kg) of diamonds from 5,871,000 metric tons of ore.
The Kolope River flows 8 km to the west of the mine. Surface water storage dams have been built on two of its tributaries.
Hatfield Colliery also known as Hatfield Main Colliery is a recently re-opened colliery in the Doncaster unitary authority, and historically part of South Yorkshire. It is next to the Doncaster-Goole railway, just east of Hatfield and Stainforth railway station. It is in the South Yorkshire Coalfield.
In December 1910 the Hatfield Main Colliery Company was formed by Emerson Bainbridge. On 11 September 1916 the first main shaft was completed, followed on 1 April 1917 by the second shaft.
In January 1927 it was bought by the Carlton Main Colliery Company. In January 1947 it became part of the National Coal Board. In 1967 the Hatfield and Thorne collieries were merged, becoming separate again in February 1978. They were merged again on 1 February 1986. On 18 November 1993, a time of many pit closures, it was announced the combined pit would close, which took place on 3 December 1993, when under ownership of British Coal.
On 4 January 1994, a team from the pit's management announced they wanted to re-open the pit, forming Hatfield Coal Company Ltd on 25 January 1994. The first coal was dug on 7 July 1994. In its first year of operation the company made a profit of £2.4 million. On 9
Bedwas Navigation Colliery was a coal mine that was located in the small Welsh village of Bedwas. Situated 2 miles north of Caerphilly, the colliery opened in 1913 and in 1939 produced 675,000 tonnes of coal in single year.
The colliery closed after the miners' strike of 1984 - 1985.
In 1909 the Bedwas Colliery Company leased 1,475 acres of land, on the slopes of Mynydd y Grug just outside the village of Trethomas. As the best and easiest mineral rights had already been taken, Bedwas was forced to go deep, and called on the proven continental experience of Austrian Edmund L. Hann (cousin of meteorologist Julius von Hann), to design the colliery, having previously designed Penallta Colliery. To sink the shaft the company used the same experience formula, engaging mining contractor Fred Piggott from Caerphilly (the former owner of a mansion that is now The Caerphilly and District Miners' Hospital), to be responsible for the entire sinking.
Two shafts were sunk through the Mynyddislwyn seam, down to the Rhas Las (English - Black Vein) and thence, by a cross-measure, to the lowest coal seam then known in the Caerphilly area, the Hard Vein, known later as the Lower Black Vein. The two
The Catoca diamond mine is the fourth largest diamond mine in the world, and is located in Angola. The mine is owned by a consortium of international mining interests, including Endiama (the state mining company of Angola) (32.8% ownership), Alrosa of Russia (32.8%), Odebrecht of Brazil (16.4%), and the Diamond Finance CY BV Group (16.8%). The mine is located on a kimberlite pipe.
The mine had production of 1.8 million carats (360 kg) in 2000 and 2.6 million carats (520 kg) in 2001. Catoca management has been actively expanding capacity at the mine, such that the owners plan to extract as much as 5 million carats (1,000 kg) in 2005. The mine's production is 35% gem quality, compared to a global average of 20%; the diamonds produced at Catoca have an average value of $75 to $100 USD per carat (375 to 500 $/g). Estimated reserves are 60 million carats (12,000 kg).
The diamonds from Catoca Mining Society topped the sales of 2009, with a net profit of 70 million US Dollar, resulting from a gross production of 122.6 million US Dollar, Angop. The information is contained in an annual report from the company released in September 2011. According to the source, the sales reached 7.050.521
The Slate Mine in Honister [also known as Honister slate mine] is a mine which produces the famous Westmorland green slate and is now also used as a tourist attraction situated in the Lake District National Park in the north of England. The earliest reference to quarrying at this location is from 1728.
In 1870 underground workings existed under Honister Crag, with intermediate workings on the opposite side of the valley at Yew Crags. There were also smaller-scale underground workings on Dubbs Moor, together with a small opencast quarry — opencast quarrying had been carried on at Honister since the late 17th century. Slate from the Honister workings was at one time dragged on sleds down steep paths that traversed the cliffs to the top of Honister Pass (The Hause), but packhorse teams had been used to remove finished product from the opencasts for a great many years prior to 1830. In 1879 new owners installed self-acting inclines to serve both the Honister and Yew Crags mines; these were remarkable and costly feats of engineering but they enabled far more efficient production. The incline serving the Dubbs Quarry was cleverly designed to lift product up the side of the valley from
The New Acland Mine is located adjacent to Acland township, about 10 km north of Oakey on the Darling Downs in Queensland, Australia. It contains more than 500 million tonnes of coal that is removed by the open cut method. The mine is owned and operated by New Hope Coal and part of the Wallon Coal Measures. The mine began operations in 2002. It was officially opened on 13 March 2003 by Premier Peter Beattie. New Acland Mine supplies Swanbank Power Station, Tarong Power Station and both domestic and international markets.
To supply Tarong Power Station beyond 2010 the Queensland Government has indicated its preferred fuel source will be New Acland connected by a conveyor belt. Local reaction to property resumptions, workmen access and building activities was not well received.
Mine owners have been investigating the feasibility of a coal liquefaction and coal gasification processors at New Acland Mine.
Stage 2 of the mine was opened on the 21 March 2007 by Anna Bligh. A total of 300 staff were expected to be working at the New Acland Mine in 2009, producing 4.2 million tonnes of coal a year. 60% of the coal was exported.
In 2010, Stage 3 was undergoing an environmental impact
The Pniówek coal mine is a large mine in the south of Poland in Pniówek, Silesian Voivodeship, 190 km south-west of the capital, Warsaw. Pniówek represents one of the largest coal reserve in Poland having estimated reserves of 101.3 million tonnes of coal. The annual coal production is around 5.16 million tonnes.
The Premier Mine is an underground diamond mine owned by Petra Diamonds. It is situated in the town of Cullinan, 40 kilometres east of Pretoria, Gauteng Province, South Africa. Established in 1902, it was renamed the Cullinan Diamond Mine in November 2003 in celebration of its centenary. The mine rose to prominence in 1905, when the Cullinan Diamond — at the time the largest gem diamond ever — was discovered here. It is also the only significant source of blue diamonds in the world.
De Beers, the world's largest diamond producer, said on Thursday 22 November 2007 it had sold its historic Cullinan mine to a consortium led by Petra Diamonds.
The Cullinan Diamond is the largest rough gem-quality diamond ever found, at 3,106.75 carats (621.35 g). It was found by Frederick Wells, surface manager of the Premier Diamond Mining Company in Cullinan, Gauteng, South Africa, on January 25, 1905. The stone was named after Sir Thomas Cullinan, the owner of the diamond mine.
In May 2008, a sparkling shield-shaped 101.27 carats (20.25 g) diamond (about the size of a pingpong ball) mined from the Premier Mine sold for more than $6.2 million at Christie's in Hong Kong. Cut from a 460 carats
To develop coal seams in the area the Sheffield Coal Company opened a new colliery between Swallownest and Beighton, at that time on the borders of Rotherham Rural District and Derbyshire but now just within the borough of Rotherham. The company, which became part of the United Steel Companies in 1937, already owned other collieries in the area, particularly the Birley Collieries and that at Aston Common, known as North Staveley Colliery.
Brookhouse was not opened until 1929 and linked with its neighbours underground. The site also included coke ovens and by-products plants supplying metallurgical coke to the iron and steel industry, particularly those in Scunthorpe.
The colliery passed to the National Coal Board on nationalisation in 1947 and was closed in 1985.
After closure the site became part of a long held plan by Rotherham Borough Council, Sheffield City Council and North East Derbyshire District Council to create the northern extension to the Rother Valley Country Park. The first part of the plan, the southern part of which was commenced in 1976, was to extract coal by opencasting from the area before commencement of landscaping.
The Brunner Mine was a coal mine on the West Coast of the South Island in New Zealand.
The Brunner Mine was one of several mines situated on the banks of the Grey River, at an area known as "Coal Gorge" between the townships of Stillwater and Taylorville. The town of Brunner (formerly Brunnerton) is nearby.
Coal was discovered on the West Coast by Nelson surveyor Thomas Brunner "during the most arduous of his journeys in search of more agricultural land". The coal was of extremely high quality and it did not take long before it attracted interest. And, of course, "The West Coast had the added attraction of gold mining and it seems that the employment opportunity offered by coal mining was in the difficult economic times not one to be turned down".
In March 1896 an explosion deep in the mine killed all 65 miners inside, and was labelled the worst mining disaster in New Zealand’s history. It seemed most likely that the explosion was caused by firedamp, a common hazard in coal mines, where a pocket of methane gas is accidentally ignited and explodes.
Today all that visibly remains of the mine and its related industry are the remains of the old coke ovens on the north side of the
Bullcroft Colliery was a coal mine situated by the village of Carcroft north of Doncaster. The Bullcroft Colliery Company was formed in April 1908 and sinking of the shafts commenced immediately. In January 1909, at a depth of 100 feet (30 m), a water course yielding over 1,000 US gallons (3,800 L) per minute was struck, it was capped back and sinking continued but only a month later, at 180 feet (55 m), another water course, big enough to be described as a "subterranean river", was struck - too much for the steam operated pumps to cope with. Electric pumps were brought in to cope with the flow but even with a capability of 6,250 US gallons (23,700 L) per minute they couldn't cope and sinking was stopped so the full situated could be assessed.
It was decided to withdraw the pumps and freeze the ground. Commencing January 1910 the first freeze was unsuccessful and a second, after the shafts had iron "tubbing" installed, commenced in February 1911. This was successful and sinking recommenced finally reaching the coal measures in December 1911.
The colliery worked normally until 1968 when it was joined to Brodsworth Colliery by a 550 yard drift and a 1,800 yard long conveyor made it
The Certej Mine is a large open pit mine in the west of Romania in Hunedoara County, 12 km north of Deva and 382 km north of the capital, Bucharest. Certej represents a large gold and silver deposit with estimated reserves of 2.1 million oz of gold and 12 million oz of silver. The project is owned by the Toronto based company European Goldfields.
The project will involve the mining and processing of 3 million tonnes of ore per annum over an open pit life of eleven and a half years. The open pit is expected to yield approximately 160,000 oz of gold and 820,000 oz of silver per year in doré, reflecting an average total process recovery of 81% for gold and approximately 75% for silver.
The Dannemora mine at Dannemora, Sweden was one of the most important iron ore mines in Sweden. The mine was closed by its owners SSAB in 1992. It may have been open since the 13th century, but the first documentary reference was in 1481. The mine supplied all the ironworks making oregrounds iron by the Walloon process (using a blast furnace and finery forge), such as Österby and Leufsta (now Lövsta). Their products were particularly pure iron, due the manganese content of the iron ore. This made it the best material for conversion to blister steel, the main variety of steel made in Great Britain between the 1610s and the 1850s. The mine has a depth of 640 metres.
Joachim Piper renewed the mining privileges at Dannemora in 1532 and devoted substantial resources to the mine, mainly producing iron but also other minerals. the ownership structure changed in 1545, and a dozen wealthy individuals entered as the owners, so that a number of Germans and even the king Gustav Vasa took part. The Germans were most interested in the export of pig iron but the King persuaded them to start production of wrought iron. It lasted only a few years and following a related bankruptcy, the king took
The South Waratah Colliery was a coal mine located at Kotara South, in New South Wales Australia.
The Waratah Coal Company sank its first shaft in 1873 to mine coal from the Victoria Tunnel Seam. A colliery branch line, known as the Gully Line or Raspberry Gully Line, was opened on 24 October 1876 and extended from the Scholey Street Junction to the Colliery for the transportation of the coal from the mine to coal loading facilities at the Port of Newcastle.
A town of grew from the influx of miners from the mine to the south and was named after Charles Smith, the manager of the Waratah Coal Company in the 1870s, and became known as Charlestown.
During a strike at the mine in 1888, eight houses were built in Charlestown for strike breakers. The houses became known as Scab Row. During a confrontation with strike breakers, Alfred Edden, president of the Waratah colliery lodge was arrested. He later became member for the electoral district of Kahibah in 1894.
The Borehole Seam was mined until 1906 and the Wave Hill Seam commenced in 1951. The colliery was closed in 1961 and demolished in 1969.
Lake Macquarie City Council has created a short heritage trail depicting a brief history of
Câmpulung Coal Mine is an open-pit mining exploitation, one of the largest in Romania located in Câmpulung, Argeş County with estimated coal reserves of 16.5 million tonnes. The legal entity managing the Câmpulung mine is the Ploieşti National Coal Company which was set up in 1957.
The Jas-Mos coal mine is a large mine in the south of Poland in Jastrzębie-Zdrój, Silesian Voivodeship, 260 km south-west of the capital, Warsaw. Jas-Mos represents one of the largest coal reserve in Poland having estimated reserves of 34.1 million tonnes of coal. The annual coal production is around 3.95 million tonnes.
The Murcki coal mine is a large mine in the south of Poland in Katowice, Silesian Voivodeship, 260 km south-west of the capital, Warsaw. Murcki represents one of the largest coal reserve in Poland having estimated reserves of 228.2 million tonnes of coal. The annual coal production is around 3.8 million tonnes.
Jilţ Coal Mine is an open-pit mining exploitation, one of the largest in Romania located in Mătăsari, Gorj County. The legal entity managing the Jilţ mine is the National Company of Lignite Oltenia which was set up in 1997.
The exploitation has two open pits Jilţ Sud, Jilţ Nord that produced 7 million tonnes of lignite in 2008. The mine has around 2,400 workers and is endowed with 15 bucket-wheel excavators, seven spreaders, two mixed machines and one deposit spreader. The total proven recoverable reserves of the mine amount to 285.8 million tonnes of lignite.
Kittilä mine, also known as Suurikuusikko mine, is a gold mine in Kittilä, in the Lapland Province of Finland. The mine is owned and operated by Agnico-Eagle Mines Limited and is located 55 kilometres (34 mi) north of Kittilä. Exploration began in 1986, and production started in 2008. The mine is composed of two open pits, with the proceeds of the operation funding an underground mining operation, accessed by a ramp from surface and utilizing both transverse and longitudinal long-hole stoping methods. The mine utilizes on-site concentrating to produce Doré bars for shipment off-site for refinement, and is scheduled to produce 150,000 ounces (4,300,000 g) of gold in 2009.
In 1986 gold was discovered near the town of Kittilä. The Geological Survey of Finland initiated exploration which resulted in a discovery of gold mineralization. Diamond drilling continued up to 1991, when exploration ended. In 1998 the property was sold to Svenska Platina AB, a junior mining company which was a subsidiary of Riddarhyttan Resources AB. Permitting for an open pit mine began in 2002, with a mining licence and permit secured in 2003. Agnico Eagle purchased a stake in Riddarhyttan (at the time
The Oraşu Nou mine is a large mine in the northwest of Romania in Satu Mare County, 45 km northeast of Satu Mare and 641 km north of the capital, Bucharest. Oraşu Nou represents the largest bentonite reserve in Romania having estimated reserves of 25 million tonnes.
Wheal Jane is a disused tin mine near Baldhu and Chacewater in West Cornwall, England, United Kingdom. The area itself consisted of a large number of mines.
Wheal Jane was probably seriously worked for tin from the mid-18th century. Given the complexity of ore formation near granitic emplacements, amounts of arsenic, copper, silver and zinc were also worked at some time.
Around 1885, most of the nearby mines became uneconomic. Wheal Jane was able to struggle on for a few years, principally due to its arsenic revenue, but it too succumbed around 1895. It re-opened in 1906 as part of Falmouth Consolidated, with a modernisation and cost reducing agenda, but it was to close again within a decade. Work recommenced at low intensity in the run up to World War II but interest was turning to more modern processing techniques to recover more tin from what was already available and the old mine spoil was re-worked until 1946.
It was re-opened again in 1969 and much development work was done underground and in improving the surface processing facilities and ownership eventually passed to Rio Tinto Zinc.
Like the remainder of Cornwall's tin mines (Geevor, Pendarves and South Crofty), it was
Bradford Colliery was a coal mine on the Central Manchester Coalfield in Bradford, Manchester then in the historic county of Lancashire, England. Although part of the Manchester Coalfield, the seams of the Bradford Coalfield correspond more closely to those of the Oldham Coalfield. The Bradford coalfield is crossed by a number of fault lines, principally the Bradford Fault, which was reactivated by mining activity in the mid-1960s.
Coal had been mined at Bradford since at least the early 17th century, when the area around the pits was largely rural; it became increasingly built-up and industrialised as nearby Manchester expanded during the 19th century. Coal was transported from the colliery by canal and railway, but most was consumed locally by the adjacent Bradford Ironworks. In the mid-20th century a 469-yard (420 m) underground tunnel was dug to supply coal directly to the Stuart Street Power Station.
Damage to buildings in the area around the colliery caused by subsidence led to it becoming uneconomic despite its sitting on large reserves of high-quality coal, and it was closed in 1968. The site was cleared and is now occupied by the City of Manchester Stadium.
The Hachinohe mine (八戸鉱山, Hachinohe Kōzan) is an open-pit mine in Hachinohe, Aomori Prefecture, Japan. It is mined for limestone and currently operated by the Sumimetal Mining Company.
The mine is the lowest point in Japan at 160 meters below sea level, and digging still continues. It is known locally as the "Hachinohe Canyon."
Centralia Coal Mine is an open-pit coal mine, owned by the Canadian based TransAlta Corporation. The mine is currently shut down. Also referred to as the TransAlta Centralia Mining (TCM) operation, the coal mine is located approximately 5 miles (8 km) northeast of the city of Centralia, in Lewis County, in the US state of Washington. Together with Centralia Power Plant, it was bought in May 2000 by TransAlta for $554 million dollars – $101 million for the mine and $453 million for the power plant.
The Centralia Coal Mine was Washington state's largest coal mine. The mined coal was supplied exclusively to the adjacent coal-fired Centralia Power Plant, which is operated by TransAlta Centralia Generation LLC and the coal mine was operated by TransAlta Centralia Mining. Prior to May 2000, the mine was owned and operated by PacifiCorp.
The Centralia Mine completed its 31st year of production in 2001, producing 4,624,245 short tons (4,195,044 metric tons) of subbituminous coal, 354,481 short tons more than it produced in 2000. The mine's average annual production over 1997–2001 was 4.4 million short tons per year; average annual production over the life of the mine was 4.3 million short
Mes Aynak ("little copper well") is a site 25 miles (40 km) southeast of Kabul, Afghanistan, located in a barren region of Logar Province. The site contains the world’s second largest copper deposit, as well as the remains of an ancient settlement with over 200 Buddha statues, stupas and a 100-acre (40 ha) monastery complex. It is also considered a major transit route for insurgents coming from Pakistan.
As the name suggests, the presence of copper at Mes Aynak has been known about for some time, while the site's archaeological wealth has been known about since the 1960s.
After the United States military destroyed an Al-Qaeda training camp at Khost in August 1998, a new camp was established at Mes Aynak. It was partially abandoned after the Taliban granted al Qaeda permission to open the al Farouq camp in Kandahar. It offered a full range of instruction, including an advanced commando course taught by senior al-Qaeda member Sayf al Adl.
In November 2007, a 30-year lease was granted for the copper mine to the China Metallurgical Group (MCC) for $3 billion, making it the biggest foreign investment and private business venture in Afghanistan’s history. Allegations have persisted that
Pleasley Colliery is a former English coal mine. It is located to the NW of Pleasley village which sits astride the River Meden on the Nottinghamshire/Derbyshire border.
The colliery is located to the NW of Pleasley village which sits astride the River Meden on the Nottinghamshire/Derbyshire border. It lies 3 miles (4.8 km) north of Mansfield and 9 miles (14.5 km) south of Chesterfield. From the south it commands a prominent position on the skyline, although less so now than when the winders were in operation and both chimney stacks were in place. The colliery is situated at about 500 ft (152m) above sea level and is aligned on a NE-SW axis following the trend of the river valley at this point.
The grounds are now a nature reserve consisting of footpaths and lakes. The colliery is currently (2010) undergoing renovation to transform it into a mining museum.
It was sunk in the 1870s and produced coal until 1983. By some miracle it escaped complete demolition after closure and it still retains its headstocks, engine-houses and steam winders, one of which was installed in 1904 by Lilleshall Co. Ltd. and the other in 1922 by Markham & Co. Ltd. Pleasley Colliery is now a Scheduled
Sherman Mine is a large abandoned open pit mine in Temagami, Ontario, Canada. It was a major producer of iron ore. The mine was the source of a multi-ton boulder of banded iron formation and was mined from 1967 until 1990 by Cleveland-Cliffs Iron Company. This 2.2 billion year old formation consists of thin layers of sediment that were deposited in a marine environment and subsequently metamorphosed. Sherman Mine is the largest open pit mine in Temagami, consisting of seven open pits known as the East Pit, South Pit, North Pit, West Pit and the Turtle Pits.
Its mineralogy records a time in the early Earth's history when the atmosphere and oceans contained significantly less oxygen than their present day counterparts.
The Strongman Mine was an underground coal mine north of Greymouth on the West Coast of New Zealand from 1938 to 2003.
On 19 January 1967 a gas explosion in the mine killed 19 miners.
In 1994 the original mine was replaced by the Strongman 2 mine further up the Nine Mile valley. The Strongman 2 mine closed in 2003.
Sutton Colliery was a colliery situated in the village of Stanton Hill about 2 km north west of Sutton-in-Ashfield, Nottinghamshire.
It was first sunk in 1874 and was closed in 1989.
Sutton Colliery was known locally as "Brierley Colliery" (possibly renamed by the Staffordshire colliers who moved here from the Brierley Hill area), or the "Bread and Herring Pit" because of the poor condition of the colliery.
Two small diameter shafts were originally sunk in 1874 to a depth of 183 metres by the Stanton Iron and coal company. In the period 1896-1902 the shafts were widened to 4.27 metres diameter and sunk to below the low main seam horizon at a depth of 425 metres. Both shafts were brick lined throughout except for 18metre of tubing at the top hard horizon in no1 shaft.
The no1 shaft(upcast) then commenced winding from the deep hard seam at 359m,with an intermediate inset at the top hard level. At the same time no2 shaft(downcast) commenced winding from the low main seam horizon. The first coals were produced from the top hard and Dunsil seams which were worked until 1922 and 1916 respectively. The available resources of the deep hard and low main seams to the south west of the shafts
The TauTona Mine or Western Deep No.3 Shaft, is a gold mine in South Africa. At some 3.9 kilometers (2.4 mi) deep it is currently home to the world's deepest mining operations.
The mine is one of the three Western Deep Levels mines of the West Wits gold field west of Johannesburg. The mine is near the town of Carletonville. TauTona neighbours the Mponeng and Savuka mines, and TauTona and Savuka share processing facilities. All three are owned by AngloGold Ashanti. The mine was originally built by the Anglo American Corporation with its 2 km (1.2 mi) deep main shaft being sunk in 1957. The name TauTona means "great lion" in the Setswana language. The mine began operation in 1962. It is one of the most efficient mines in South Africa and remains in continuous operation even during periods when the price of gold is low. Since its construction two secondary shafts have been added bringing the mine to its current depth. The mine today has some 800 km (500 mi) of tunnels and employs some 5,600 miners. The mine is a dangerous place to work and an average of five miners die in accidents each year. The mine is so deep that temperatures in the mine can rise to life threatening levels. Air
Warren Vale Colliery was a coal mine, also known as Piccadilly Colliery, situated alongside Warren Vale Road, between Rawmarsh and Swinton, South Yorkshire, in the valley of the Collier Brook, which runs east, for about two miles towards Kilnhurst.
Sinking of the colliery commenced in the late 1840s with production commencing towards the end of 1850. The colliery was owned by Earl Fizwilliam, and was worked by Wakefield – based agents J. & J. Charlesworth & Company. Coal was worked from two seams, the 5 ft. seam was worked at a depth of 90 yards, the 9 ft. seam being found at 127 yards. These seams were connected by a shaft.
The colliery was rail connected to another Charlesworth operation, Kilnhurst Colliery and so to the main line railway (The Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire Railway, Sheffield to Doncaster line). Some small buildings are still standing on the site (2007) and the track of the railway towards Kilnhurst is now a footpath.
Following closure part of the site became the works of Bessacarr Caravans.
The colliery had been operating for less than a year when, in December 1851 an accident took place. The Underground Steward went to inspect the workings just prior to
Maltby Main Colliery is a coal mine situated on the eastern edge of the township of Maltby, South Yorkshire, some 7 miles east of Rotherham. It is presently (2008) the only colliery in production in the Metropolitan Borough of Rotherham.
The first shafts at Maltby Main Colliery were sunk in 1910, and the first coal produced four years later. Situated in a wooded area on Tickhill Road the colliery was some distance from the township of Maltby and in order to gain a workforce the colliery company commissioned the building of Maltby Model Village, an estate of 1000 houses. The colliery was opened by the Maltby Main Colliery Company, a subsidiary of the Sheepbridge Iron and Coal Company. Prior to nationalisation the owners were given as Amalgamated Denaby Collieries Ltd.
A explosion in the pit occurred 28 July 1923, resulting in 27 deaths.
The two shafts were deepened in the ten years from 1951 and this allowed horizontal access to the Barnsley seam. This also gave access to a new Swallow Wood seam. By 1969 the Barnsley seam was considered exhausted and production went over to Swallow Wood. In 1981 a major project commenced to mine the Parkgate seam. Costing £180,000,000 the first coal
Prigoria Coal Mine is an open-pit mining exploitation, one of the largest in Romania located in Prigoria, Gorj County. The legal entity managing the Prigoria mine is the CEN Craiova which was set up in 2004.
Wath Main Colliery was a coal mine situated in the Dearne Valley, close by the township of Wath-upon-Dearne, South Yorkshire, England. The colliery was operated by the Wath Main Coal Company Limited.
Sinking of the first of its two shafts began in 1873, the workings reaching the highly-prized Barnsley seam three years later. To gain access to lower reserves the shafts were deepened, first in 1912 to reach the Parkgate seam and then, in 1923, to the Silkstone seam.
The colliery became part of the National Coal Board on nationalization in 1947 and it was amalgamated, along with other local collieries, with the adjacent Manvers Main Colliery on 1 January 1986. Closure came on 25 March 1988.
The site has been reclaimed and now contains Wath Country Park, which in May 2007 was sold off to developers to form a new housing development. The park lasted just 10 years.
The Baffinland Iron Mines Corporation, is working to develop a large open pit iron mine in the Mary River area of Baffin Island, Nunavut, Canada.
Iron ore was first discovered in the Mary River area by Murray Edmund Watts (founder of Watts, Griffis and McOuat Limited) and Ron Sheardown, in 1962. But exploitation of the ore body waited for an increase in the price of ore. According to the Railway Gazette International the ore in this ore body is sufficiently pure that it will not be necessary to conduct any processing before shipping it to market.
The corporation expects to sell the ore in Europe at no less than $67 per tonne for lump ore and $55 per tonne for fines. The corporation expects to produce 18 million tonnes per year for 20 years or more, and to pay down the cost of building the mine within the first 3 to 7 years.
In 2008 a 150,000 tonne sample was shipped to Europe for testing. The ore was transported to Milne Inlet, where it was carried by barges to a freighter waiting off-shore.
Australian newspaper The Age reported that due to the financial crisis of 2007 Baffinland needed to secure an emergency loan of C$43.8 million, in order to ship enough supplies for the workers
SX 42/73 OS Ref. Once the biggest copper mine in the world. Founded by Josiah Hitchins in 1844 on land leased from the Duke of Bedford. Numerous unsuccessful attempts made to rework the tips over the years. A number of investors benefited from being shareholders in the mine including the father and uncle of William Morris (of the Arts and Crafts Movement) who between them held almost 30% of the stock. William Morris himself inherited some of the shares and bought several pre raphaelite paintings and financed the Oxford and Cambridge Magazine with income from Devon Great Consols. Even the "Red House" was partially financed with income from the stock.
Harworth Colliery is a mothballed coal mine in the Bassetlaw area of north Nottinghamshire. It has recently been abandoned due to troubles at the seam. UK Coal, who own and maintain the mine, are waiting for a contract to make it worth investing money to open up a new seam. Bassetlaw has at the moment no working pits; the nearest is Maltby Main Colliery in South Yorkshire.
The mothballing of the pit brings an end to 86 years of mining in Bassetlaw.
Work began on sinking the shaft in 1913, when the Northern Union Mining Company was set up. This was with an investment in German equipment and men, but with the start of the First World War (1914-1918) the German workers were interned and the company's assets were impounded by the Government, and so construction was halted.
Later in 1917 the pit was bought by Messrs. Barber, Walker & Co. for £80,100, becoming full owners in 1921 after the war repayments scheme. The sinking of the shafts was started with preliminary works in 1919, but the first real sinking started in 1921. Water problems were encountered but this was overcome with the solidification of the ground with liquid cement grout. On the 29 October 1923 the shaft sinkers
The Krupiński coal mine is a large mine in the south of Poland in Suszec, Silesian Voivodeship, 448 km south-west of the capital, Warsaw. Krupiński represents one of the largest coal reserve in Poland having estimated reserves of 34.8 million tonnes of coal. The annual coal production is around 3 million tonnes.
Nine Mile Point colliery was a coal mine at Cwmfelinfach in the South Wales Valleys, originally known as "Coronation Colliery", and constructed between 1902 and 1905. The deepest shaft was 1,176 feet deep. Seven men were killed on 13th August 1904 during the establishment of the mine.
It was renamed Nine Mile Point as that was the distance of the tramroad from the edge of Lord Tredegar's boundary in Newport to the colliery.
At its peak it employed 2,105 men, who lived mainly in the surrounding villages of Wattsville and Cwmfelinfach. In 1935, 164 men "stayed down" in a "sit in" protest, the first ever in the South Wales coalfield, over the use of scab labour.
In 1929 riots broke out at the colliery. The reasons for the riot were to be found in the employment of blackleg labour, with more than 700 villagers and miners rioting at the time, taking several days for police to disperse and maintain control.
The colliery closed in 1964.
The Oyu Tolgoi mine (Mongolian: Оюу Толгой, also Oyuu Tolgoi, Turquoise Hill) is a combined open pit and underground mining project in Khanbogd sum within the south Gobi Desert, approximately 235 kilometres (146 mi) east of the Ömnögovi Province capital Dalanzadgad. The site was discovered in 2001 and is being developed as a joint venture between Ivanhoe Mines, Rio Tinto and the Government of Mongolia. The mine is under construction as of 2010 and scheduled to begin production in 2013.
The Oyu Tolgoi mining project is the largest financial undertaking in Mongolia's history and is expected upon completion to account for more than 30% of the country's gross domestic product. Copper production is expected to reach 450,000 tonnes (500,000 short tons) annually. Financing for the project has come in part from the Rio Tinto Group and an investment agreement between Ivanhoe Mines and the government of Mongolia.
Canadian-based Ivanhoe Mines discovered the gold-copper ore deposit in 2001 in the Gobi Desert of Mongolia. It is in an area known as Oyu Tolgoi (Mongolian for Turquoise Hill), where in the time of Genghis Khan outcropping rocks were smelted for copper. By 2003 there were 18
The Huanuni tin mine is a Bolivian mine 60 km south of Oruro on the way to Potosí, the Villa Imperial de Potosí, as the city was known in colonial times. The mine is situated in Bolivia's mining heartland. It was originally owned from the turn of the 20th century by Don Vicente J. Orlandini, who belonged to one of Bolivia's famous tin mining families, and also owner of El Porvenir-Cataricahua; the mine was later sold to Simón Iturri Patiño, the leading tin baron. After the Catavi Mine, which was the largest underground tin mine in the world from 1930 to the late 1940s, Huanuni took its place until the end of the 20th century. Thousands of Bolivian mine workers still go underground every day. It was discovered by chance, and was mined for a while simply by axes as tools and burros (donkeys) as transport.
Due to the mining activities, the average lifespan of a person from the local community is about 46 years old.
Clipstone Colliery is a coal mine situated near the village of the same name on the edge of an area of Nottinghamshire known as “The Dukeries” because of the number of stately homes in the area. The colliery was owned by the Bolsover Colliery Company and passed to the National Coal Board in 1947.
The colliery was sunk to exploit the Barnsley seam or “Tophard”, as it known locally. In the 1950s the shafts were deepened to over 1000 yards (920 m) to exploit other seams.
The colliery was closed by British Coal, as the National Coal Board had become, in 1993 and reopened by RJB Mining (now UK Coal) in April 1994, the licence to dig for coal being limited to the Yard seam which is located at a depth of 957 yards (870 m). The colliery was finally closed in April 2003.
The headstocks of the colliery are regarded as the tallest in Europe and the third tallest in the world. They are Grade 2 Listed structures and can be seen all over the district. They are expensive to keep in good repair and there have been a number of appeals, as yet to no avail, to demolish them. But however the clipstone headstocks are nearly demolished now and no one knows what will happen in the future.
Fence Colliery was a small colliery sunk at the lower end of the village of Fence, South Yorkshire, England alongside the main Sheffield to Worksop road in the 1840s, shortly before the opening of the North Midland Railway through the Rother Valley.
The original coal pit at Fence, a small village within Rotherham Rural District alongside the main Sheffield to Worksop road. started operations in the 1840s.
In 1862 the Fence Colliery Company was formed to purchase the colliery, this leading to a period of development of the colliery and the building of houses for its workers. These were built along Falconer Lane, on the opposite side of the main road to the colliery, and are still in use.
Fence colliery closed as a coal producing unit in 1904, coal from its reserves being brought to the surface at Orgreave, but it was retained as a pumping station. Nationalisation came in 1947 and in the 1950s the site became home to the National Coal Boards divisional workshops, finally closing in the 1990s. After a short period of inactivity the site was redeveloped as Ley's Cast Iron Foundry, being relocated from Dronfield.
Early Kai Point Coal Open Cast Workings In 1983, after an extensive drilling programme, further reserves at this site were discovered. Earlier the Barclay Seam was mined (this has now been worked out). Currently, the Kaituna Seam is being mined. This seam, which varies from between 13 - 18 metres thick, is a black lignite verging on to a sub bituminious coal. At the floor of the Kaituna Seam the workings are about 110 metres (360 feet) below the original ground level. The changes and developments in the opencast mining business, due mainly to the increase in the size and power of the earth-moving, machinery, resulted in less time being needed to extract the overburden. In this open cast mine, the material overlying the coal seam is removed by a 76 tonne hyraulic excavator and this spoil is dumped by three off-highway 40 tonne dump trucks back into the area from where the coal had previously been mined. Explosives are occasionally used to break up the overburden, but they are not used at all on the coal. The coal is then extracted and transported to the screening plant, which still occupies its original site the the eastern end of Berry Street, where it is crushed, screened and sold
The San Cristobal mine in Lipez, Potosí Department, Bolivia is an open-pit silver, lead and zinc mine near the town of San Cristóbal, Potosí. The mine, operated by Sumitomo Corporation, produces approximately 1,300 metric tons of zinc-silver ore and 300 tons of lead-silver ore per day, as of August 2010, by processing 40,000 to 50,000 tons of rock. It is one of Bolivia's largest mining facilities and, according to Sumitomo, the world’s sixth-largest producer of zinc and third-largest producer of silver. It is located in southwestern Bolivia and hosts approximately 450 million ounces of silver and 8 billion pounds of zinc and 3 billion pounds of lead contained in 231 million tonnes of open-pittable proven and probable reserves. As the ore body is open both at depth and laterally, reserve expansion potential is considered excellent. The mine has been in various stages of development since the early 1980s but only recently came into full operation.
The San Cristóbal mine was formerly developed by Apex Silver Mines Ltd. of Denver, Colorado, a company founded in 1993. In September 2006, Sumitomo Corporation of Japan acquired a 35% share of the facility in a financing deal. The
The Zeche Zollern II/IV (translated: Zollern II/IV Colliery) is located in the northwestern suburb of Bövinghausen of Dortmund, Germany. The Gelsenkirchener Bergwerks-AG projected Zollern in 1898 as a model colliery.
Ground up construction began in 1898 on a new site. Most of the buildings of the colliery were built in solid brickwork by the architect Paul Knobbe and were completed in 1904 with the central engine house, in which the most up-to-date generators and machinery used in the colliery were housed. The architecture and state-of-the-art technology support the transition of Gothic-revival to Art Nouveau and the industrialization of the early 1900s.
Due to deadline pressure, the central engine house was built in iron framework construction with infilling of red brickwork, planned and executed by the Gutehoffnungshütte. The Art Nouveau styled main entrance was designed by the Berlin architect Bruno Möhring, it shows a lead glazing of blue, green and-glass. Counterpart of the main entrance is the big control board of polished marble in brass mounting, with a brass clock hanging from above.
Other buildings on the site include administration bureaus, blacksmith's shop and
Cwmystwyth mines are located in Cwmystwyth, Ceredigion, Wales.
Cwm Ystwyth is considered the most important non-ferrous metal mining site in Wales providing a premier example of mining heritage in Ceredigion. Within the site there is evidence for all phases of mining activity; from the Bronze Age, through the medieval period, to its revival in the 18th century and the peak of activity with a subsequent decline in the late 19th and the early 20th century. It has been designated as a Scheduled Ancient Monument. The site also features prominently in the Upland Ceredigion Landscape of Historic Interest.
Silver, lead and zinc have been mined in the valley of the River Ystwyth since Roman times, an activity that reached its peak in the 18th century. The largest of the very many mines was Cwmystwyth Mine. It is reputed that the average age at death of the miners in Cwmystwyth was 32, largely because of acute lead poisoning. There is no longer any active metal mining in the Ystwyth valley.
Water was extensively used during the silver and lead mining process to extract the ore. In the case of Cwm Ystwyth mine, much of the water was brought in by contour hugging leats from several miles
The Kanichee Mine, also less commonly known as the Ajax Mine, is an abandoned base metal and precious metal mine, located in the Temagami region of northeastern Ontario, Canada. It is near the small unincorporated community of Temagami North, accessed by the Kanichee Mine Road from Highway 11. The Kanichee Mine zone has been explored and mined discontinuously from as early as 1910. During the 20th century, it operated and closed down at least three times, with the most recent being from 1973 to 1976. To date, the discontinuous operation of Kanichee Mine has produced 4.2 million pounds of metal.
The Kanichee area is associated with an igneous intrusion that has been termed the Kanichee layered intrusive complex. This roughly oval-shaped intrusive complex is part of a volcanic belt characterized by felsic and mafic metavolcanic rocks called the Temagami greenstone belt. Kanichee is among one of the three most notable mines in the volcanic belt, others include the Sherman Mine in Chambers and Strathy townships and the Copperfields Mine on Temagami Island in Lake Temagami.
Exploration work was done in the area prior to 1920 with the construction of trenches and two shafts. Between 1933
Kellingley Colliery is one of the newest of the few deep coal mines left in Britain today. It is situated at Beal in North Yorkshire, about 1.5 miles (2.4 km) east of Knottingley in West Yorkshire, on the A645, although the postal address is Knottingley, West Yorkshire, and 3.6 miles (5.8 km) east of Ferrybridge power station. The siting was mainly influenced by the close proximity of road, rail and canal routes. The workings extend into West Yorkshire. The colliery is owned and operated by UK Coal.
Kellingley employs about 800 people. In March 2004, the pit received £7.2 million from the Coal Investment Aid Scheme.
Exploratory boreholes sunk in the 1950s established that there were up to seven workable seams of coal at Kellingley. Sinking the two shafts started in earnest in 1960. Sandy and porous geology down to about 600 feet (180 m) was waterlogged and about 36 boreholes around each shaft position had subzero temperature brine pumped through them which froze the ground down to about 640 feet (200 m). The sinking personnel then had to work in subzero temperatures until the shafts were sunk below this frozen ground. The shafts were eventually sunk to a depth of around 870 yards
Roşia – Peşteana Coal Mine is an open-pit mining exploitation, one of the largest in Romania located in Rovinari, Gorj County. The legal entity managing the Roşia - Peşteana mine is the National Company of Lignite Oltenia which was set up in 1997.
The exploitation has three open pits Roşia, Peşteana Nord, Peşteana Sud-Urdar that produced 7.2 million tonnes of lignite in 2008. The mine has around 2,900 workers and is endowed with 19 bucket-wheel excavators, 12 spreaders, one mixed machine and three deposits spreader. The total proven recoverable reserves of the mine amount to 112 million tonnes of lignite.
The Wilberg Mine (also known as the Cottonwood/Wilberg Mine; MSHA ID No. 42-00080) is a coal mine in Emery County, Utah, approximately 12 miles (19 km) northwest of Orangeville, just north of State Route 29, at the northern terminus of State Route 57. The mine is operated by the Energy West Mining Company (out of Huntington) and owned by PacifiCorp Energy(a division of power utility company PacifiCorp).
Most of the coal is shipped by truck to Hunter Power Plant, a coal-fired power plant owned by PacifiCorp's Rocky Mountain Power division, just south of the town of Castle Dale.
The Wilberg Mine is located at 39°19′16″N 111°07′23″W / 39.32111°N 111.12306°W / 39.32111; -111.12306 (39.321078°, -111.122948°) with its entrance at an elevation of 7,602 feet (2,317 m).
The mine was started by Cyrus Wilberg in September 1949. In October 1968, the mining rights were bought by Peabody Coal Company, who idled the mine except for limited exploratory mining until March 1974, when energy prices saw a sharp rise. Utah Power & Light (UP&L) (now operated as Rocky Mountain Power a division of PacifiCorp) purchased the rights to the mine on April 18, 1977, and then contracted out operating the mine
The Kiruna mine is the largest and most modern underground iron ore mine in the world. The mine is located in Kiruna in Norrbotten County, Lapland. The mine which is owned by Luossavaara-Kiirunavaara AB, a large Swedish mining company, has an annual production capacity of over 26 million tonnes of iron ore. In 2008 the mine produced 27.5 million tonnes of iron ore. The Kiruna mine has an ore body which is 4 kilometres (2.5 mi) long, 80 metres (260 ft) to 120 metres (390 ft) thick and reaching a depth of up to 2 kilometres (1.2 mi). Since mining began at the site in 1898, the mine has produced over 950 million tonnes of ore.
The Kiruna orebody was formed around 1.6 billion years ago following intense volcanic activity. Iron-rich solutions precipitated the iron on to a syenite porphyry footwall. Then the ore bed was covered by further volcanic deposits, quartz porphyry, and sedimentary rocks. Later the whole body was tilted to its current dip of 50 to 60°. Having a grading of more than 60% iron and an average of 0,9% phosphorus, the ore contains a very pure magnetite-apatite mix.
The original reserve of the Kiruna mine was around 1.8 billion tonnes of ore. In the beginning, surface
Lupeni Coal Mine is an underground mining exploitation, one of the largest in Romania located in Lupeni, one of six cities in the Jiu Valley region of Hunedoara County. The legal entity managing the Lupeni mine is the National Hard Coal Company which was set up in 1998. The mine has reserves of 23.6 million tonnes of coal.
Tamarack mine is a copper mine located north of Calumet, Michigan. The first shaft was started in 1882 and five shafts were eventually mined. In 1966 six-year-old Ruth Ann Miller fell into shaft #4 and a rescue was impossible.
The Zofiówka coal mine is a large mine in the south of Poland in Jastrzębie-Zdrój, Silesian Voivodeship, 307 km south-west of the capital, Warsaw. Zofiówka represents one of the largest coal reserve in Poland having estimated reserves of 87 million tonnes of coal. The annual coal production is around 3.7 million tonnes.
Aldwarke Main Colliery was a coal mine sunk in the Don Valley, near Rotherham, South Yorkshire, England.
The name "Aldwarke" refers to an area in the Don Valley about 2 miles north of Rotherham, South Yorkshire stretching to the outskirts of the village of Kilnhurst. To its west is Parkgate, to its east the villages of Dalton and Thrybergh. The washlands of the river Don (known locally as "The Wash") was crossed by a toll road which was freed of toll in the late 1980s.
Coal gathering at Aldwarke goes back to the 17th century with documents relating to tenants rights of way over the grounds and the river Dunne (Don) at Aldwarke ford, on both sides of river; and to any person fetching coals from pits. Earlier records still refer to charkcole (charcoal) to be cut in Rounde woodde near Aldwarke Manor house.
The colliery was sunk on a triangular section of land, to its west the main line of the Midland Railway, to the east the Mexborough to Sheffield line of the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire Railway and to its south the road, known as Aldwarke Lane, a toll road across the lands of the manor of Aldwarke linking Parkgate to Dalton, near Rotherham. The colliery was linked to both
The Brockman 4 mine is an iron ore mine located in the Pilbara region of Western Australia, 60 kilometres north-west of Tom Price. The mine, located near the existing Brockman mine, is scheduled to open in 2010.
The mine is fully owned and operated by Rio Tinto Iron Ore and will be one of thirteen iron ore mines the company operates in the Pilbara.
The Hamersley Range, where the mine is located, is, with 80% of all identified iron ore reserves in Australia, one of the major iron ore provinces in the world.
The mine is serviced by the Boolgeeda Airport.
Brockman 4 is located approximately 25 km south of the Brockman 2 mine. The mine, which cost US$1.520 billion to build, is initially scheduled to produce 22 million tonnes annually, with a doubling of capacity planned by 2012. This is to help achieve Rio Tinto's goal of raising iron ore production from the Pilbara from 220 million tonnes annually (as of 2010) to 330 million.
The ore body is approximately 15 km long and up to 3 km wide, comprising the hills to the south of the Boolgeeda Creek Valley. Mining incorporates a fleet of fifteen Komatsu 830E haul trucks. The ore is processed on site in the plant to produce lump (
Gresford Colliery was a coal mine located a mile from the North Wales village of Gresford, near Wrexham, Wales.
The Gresford coalfield runs from Point of Ayr, on the Flintshire coast, down to the Shropshire border. Although coal mining records date back to the 15th Century, it was not industrially exploited until the 18th Century. By 1900, over 12,500 North Wales miners produced three million tonnes a year.
Industrialist Henry Dennis of Ruabon, and his son Henry Dyke Dennis, began a coal mine near Gresford in 1907. The site was located on the edge of the Alyn Valley, between the Shrewsbury and Chester Railway (later the GWR Birkenhead to London Paddington line), and the old main road between Wrexham and Chester.
The Dennis' company United Westminster & Wrexham Collieries took four years to sink two mile-deep shafts, the Dennis (downcast) and the Martin (upcast), located 50 yards (46 m) apart. The mine was one of the deepest in the Denbighshire coalfield, with the Dennis shaft reaching a depth of about 2,264 feet (690 m) and the Martin shaft about 2,252 feet (686 m).
The first coal was produced from June, 1911, with full production reached before the outbreak of World War I.
Orgreave Colliery was a coal mine situated adjacent to the main line of the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire Railway about 5 miles (8.0 km) south east of Sheffield. The colliery is within the parish of Orgreave, from which it takes its name.
The opening, by the Sorby family, of Dore House Colliery in 1820 saw the beginning of coal mining in the area around Orgreave. The first shaft of Orgreave Colliery itself being sunk in 1851.
Just over a mile east in the Rother Valley below the village of Fence a colliery was commenced in 1842. This colliery was bought and the Fence Colliery Company founded in 1862. In 1870 this company acquired Orgreave from the Sorby family and in 1875 its Directors leased land in the area from the Duke of Norfolk. In the same year the Fence Colliery Company was renamed Rother Vale Collieries Limited, owning Orgreave and Fence collieries, later sinking a new colliery at Treeton. Fence colliery was connected underground to Orgreave from 1887 and coal was drawn there from 1904.
Following the First World War Orgreave was acquired by the United Steel Companies who used the coal obtained to supply the new Orgreave Coking and By Products plant. Metallurgical
Tara Mines is a zinc and lead mine near Navan, County Meath, Ireland. In the Navan ore body Tara is an underground mine where the orebody lies between 50 and 900 metres below the surface.
The deposit was discovered in 1970 by Derek Michael Romer, development started in 1973 and production began in 1977. Tara Mine is operated by Boliden. It is the largest zinc mine in Europe and the fifth largest in the world producing 200,000 tonnes of zinc concentrate and 40,000 tonnes of lead concentrate annually. The mine life extends past 2015.
The planning conditions for the Tara mines included.
Broken ore is delivered to one of five underground crushers and reduced in size to less than 150mm before being carried by conveyor to a 3,600t capacity storage bin of at the base of the production shaft. Skip loading and hoisting are automatic, and ore is supplied, at an hourly rate of 570 tonnes, to the surface coarse ore storage building, with a 30,000t capacity, known as the Tepee. The concentrates are shipped via Dublin Port to Boliden's smelters in Kokkola, Finland and Odda, Norway and to other smelters throughout Europe. Tara Mines is connected by railway to Drogheda via Navan, where daily loads
The Sungun copper mine is located in East Azarbaijan, Iran, in Varzaqan county, 75km north west of the provincial town of Ahar. It is the most important geologic and industrial feature in the area and is the largest open-cast copper mine in Iran and is in the primary stages of extraction.
The reserves are estimated to be as much as 995 million tons of copper ore. The ore is processed directly at a concentration plant at the mine. The capacity of the concentration plant is 170,000 tons of copper concentrates, with plans to expand to 300,000 tons.
The Book Cliff Mines were coal mines located near Grand Junction, Colorado. They closed in 1925.
By the time Grand Junction was three years old it had become apparent to its citizens that they needed a good coal supply if the town was to grow and prosper. Early in 1884 an experienced coal miner by the name of George W. Smith set out to locate a mine that would adequately supply the city’s needs. In a remote and unexplored canyon of the Book Cliffs twelve miles from town he found a huge body of coal. Smith and several other men developed the discovery into what became known as the Book Cliff Mine. Two years later another coal mine was opened a half a mile north of the Book Cliff coal mine; it was called the Grand Valley Mine. Both mines were purchased by William Thomas Carpenter in the summer of 1888 and under his Grand Valley Fuel Company they were improved and further developed. He built the Little Book Cliff Railway to serve the mines. A small community of miners took root near the mines and the U.S. post office established a branch there during June 1890 officially dubbing the settlement Carpenter, Colorado.
One of Carpenter’s first improvements was the installation of a gravity
The Permanente Quarry is a limestone quarry in Cupertino, California. The quarry is a limestone and aggregate mining operation and cement plant, owned by Lehigh Southwest Cement, a subsidiary of HeidelbergCement. Located in the foothills above Cupertino on the northeast slopes of Black Mountain, the quarry runs east-west parallel to the upper watershed of Permanente Creek to the south and to Permanente Ridge and Rancho San Antonio Open Space Preserve to the north.
The limestone rock found in the Permanente Creek valley and on the summit of Black Mountain is relatively unique in the Bay Area. Microfossils in the limestone deposits suggest that the mountain originated as a seamount at 22 degrees north in the tropical Pacific about 100 million years ago and was transported to Los Altos by the Pacific Plate. These rocks occur as jagged gray boulders and outcrops just southwest of the radio towers on the summit of Black Mountain, as well as in the Permanente Quarry. Calera is the Spanish word for 'limekiln', reflecting how limestone was burned historically to produce lime, an key ingredient for mortar.
The quarry was originally founded by Henry J. Kaiser as the Kaiser Permanente
Mostyn Colliery was a pioneering coal mine in Flintshire, North Wales, which was owned in the later part of its operating life by the influential Mostyn family. The mine was located on the banks of the River Dee.
The Welsh writer Thomas Pennant wrote that the mines at Mostyn were established as far back as 1261, during the reign of Edward I. Records show that in 1294, together with a stone quarry, the mine had a value of £5 annually, and in 1423 were worth on their own £3 6s 8d.
In the early years, coal was removed from the colliery site by boats, which approached the quayside at high water. However, the changing river bed meant that a partial canal was dug to ensure safe passage.
Records show that Thomas Cowper and Richard Mason of London leased Mostyn Colliery in 1594. Records suggest that by the 17th century Mostyn was possibly the largest colliery on the Western seaboard of Britain. It certainly seems to have been the most profitable in the North Wales Coalfield.
In 1602 Cowper and Mason sold the remaining 13-year lease to Roger Mostyn for £70, beginning the colliery's association with what was to become one of North Wales' most influential families. He immediately began a
The New Oakleigh Mine is the last remaining coal mine in the Moreton Basin. The mine is located north of Rosewood in South East Queensland.
Coal is extracted from the open pit by trucks, excavators and front-end loaders.
New Hope Coal the owners of the mine, were to cease operations sometime around 2009. However mining activity continued in 2010.
Penallta Colliery was a coal mine, located close to Hengoed in the Rhymney Valley in the South Wales Valleys. A coal mine which in 1935 held the European record for coal wound in a 24-hour period, it is now the site of an original redevelopment project which will make use of the former pit head buildings.
Situated near Hengoed, in 1905 Powell Duffryn began the sinking of Penallta colliery, and had employed 291 men by 1908. The two shafts Nos.1 (downcast 783 yards (716 m)) and 2 (upcast 750 yards (690 m)), and at the time were the deepest in the South Wales Coalfield. The first coal was raised in 1909, with the railway served by the Cylla branch which connected it to both the Rhymney Railway from the Ystrad Mynach north junction, and the Newport, Abergavenny and Hereford Railway. By 1923 there were 2,395 men employed, producing from the Six Feet seam, and at peak production during the 1930s, there were in excess of 3,200 men employed. In 1930 it produced 975,603 tons, and in 1935 it held the European record for coal winding.
In 1947, the mine was nationalised as part of the governments post-World War II regeneration scheme, and became owned by the National Coal Board. Investment was
Disused mine near Tavistock, Devon. Murrays Shaft 480' and 2 shafts 200 yards W x N of Murrays. "Shaft 310 E of Rixhill Engine Shaft. Adit 246 yards east of shaft". A small built in tunnell which is perhaps a way to the shaft or just a drain , it lies by the farm. Maybe a flue ?. Small built in tunnel. Slag heaps, otherwise nothing. Small dips.
The Crandall Canyon Mine, formerly Genwal Mine, was an underground bituminous coal mine in northwestern Emery County, Utah.
The mine made headline news when six miners were trapped by a collapse in August 2007. Ten days later, three rescue workers were killed by a subsequent collapse. The six miners were later declared dead and their bodies were never recovered.
The Crandall Canyon Mine is located at 39°27′36″N 111°10′03.5″W / 39.46°N 111.167639°W / 39.46; -111.167639 (39.460000°, -111.167639°) with its entrance at an elevation of 7,835 feet (2,388m).
The mine is located in Emery County, Utah in the Wasatch plateau coal field. The mine is located about 140 miles (225 km) south of Salt Lake City, 34 miles (55 km) southeast of Fairview, and about 15 miles (24 km) west north-west of Huntington. The mine is located in Crandall Canyon about 1.25 miles (2 km) west of its junction with the main highway road, State Route 31, which runs through Huntington Canyon.
The Manti-La Sal National Forest surrounds the mine. The mine conducts surface operations on 10 acres (40,000 m²) of disturbed land within the forest. The permit area for the mine covers an area of more than 5,000 acres (20 km)
The Crucea – Botuşana mine is a large mine in the northeast of Romania in Suceava County, 145 km southeast of Suceava and ca. 400 km north of the capital, Bucharest. Crucea - Botuşana represents the second largest uranium reserve in Romania having estimated reserves of 150,000 tonnes of high grade metal.
The Dikulushi mine is a copper mine and silver mine in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. It is located some 23 kilometres (14 mi) west of Lake Mweru and 50 kilometres (31 mi) north of Kilwa in the Moero Sector of Pweto Territory, Katanga Province.
The mine came into production in October 2002 and was then owned by the leading DRC copper company Anvil Mining within some 10% Community Trust involvement. The mine has a total of 481,000 tonnes of proven mineral reserves and over 650,000 estimated. While the mine was operational, heavy trucks carrying concentrate crossed Lake Mweru on a large motorised pontoon ferry from Kilwa to Nchelenge, a distance of 44 kilometres (27 mi), from where they drove 2,500 kilometres (1,600 mi) to a copper smelter in Tsumeb, Namibia.
In October 2004 there was a small-scale uprising in Kilwa which was brutally suppressed by FARDC soldiers of the 62nd Brigade. Anvil Mining Congo was accused of providing logistical support to the troops. The company published a statement by the Traditional Chiefs of Moero Sector that firmly denied any involvement by Anvil in the massacre and that praised the company for the benefits it had brought to the region. As of
The Tagebau Garzweiler is a large open-pit mine (German: Tagebau) in the German federated state of North-Rhine Westphalia. It is operated by RWE and used for mining lignite. The mine currently has a size of 48 km² and got its name from the village of Garzweiler which previously existed at this location.
The mine is located west of Grevenbroich and exploitation is progressing towards Erkelenz. Mining was originally limited to the 66.0 km² area Garzweiler I located east of motorway A 44. Mining in the 48.0 km² Garzweiler II sector started in 2006 and will it will take until around 2045 to fully exploit both sectors. The lignite is used for power generation at nearby power plants such as Neurath.
Motorways A 44 and A 61 crossing the planned mine area are also affected. The A 44 was closed in 2005, dismantled in 2006 and traffic rerouted to the widened A 61 and A 46 motorways. From 2017 onwards the A 61 will be closed and traffic diverted to a newly built A 44.
The Prominent Hill Mine is a major copper, silver and gold mine in north west South Australia, 130 km south-east of Coober Pedy, which has been developed by Oxiana Limited, later to become OZ Minerals. The deposit is an iron oxide copper gold style mineralisation.
The mine has cost A$1.15 billion to develop, and it is projected to produce 100,000 tonnes of copper and 115,000 oz of gold in concentrates a year.
Oxiana Limited decided to develop the mine in August 2006, having first got involved in the project in 2003 and having bought its partner, Minotaur Exploration Limited in 2005.
The mine went into production in February 2009. The development includes an open-pit mine, a conventional grinding and flotation processing plant, construction of a permanent village to accommodate the workforce and construction of a haulage road, power line and bore field. Studies for underground development are underway.
Resources of the deposit are 152.8 Mt at 1.18% Cu, 0.48 g/t Au and 2.92 g/t Ag plus 38.3 Mt at 1.17 g/t Au of non-sulfide ore.
In contrast to the Olympic Dam deposit, an iron oxide copper gold deposit of similar age about 200 km to the southeast of Prominent Hill, uranium values do
Roundwood Colliery was a coal mine situated in the Don Valley, about 2 miles north of Rotherham, South Yorkshire, England on the borders of Rotherham and Rawmarsh.
Coal gathering in the Aldwarke area, lands of the old manor which stretch across the Don Valley from Parkgate to Thrybergh, goes back to the 17th century with documents relating to tenants' rights of way over the grounds and the river Dunne (Don) at Aldwarke ford, on both sides of river; and to any person fetching coals from pits. Earlier records still refer to charkcole (charcoal) to be cut in Rounde woodde near Aldwarke Manor house. It is from Rounde woodde that this colliery takes its name.
The Deep Mine, named Roundwood, was set a short distance north of Aldwarke Main Colliery between the main line of the Midland Railway, north of Parkgate and Rawmarsh and the Mexborough to Sheffield line of the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire Railway, north of Parkgate and Aldwarke. It was established in the early 1860s and had connections to both railways and to staithes alongside the river Don.
In 1880 the colliery was listed as being owned by Cooper, Sellars and Company, becoming The Roundwood Colliery Company by 1896.
The Tenke Fungurume Mine holds one of the world's largest known copper and cobalt resources. The deposits are located within two concessions totaling over 1,500 square kilometres (580 sq mi) in the Katanga Province of the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).
The mining project is a partnership led by Freeport-McMoran Copper and Gold, the Lundin Mining Corporation and the government of the Democratic Republic of Congo, through Gécamines. As of September 2009 Freeport-McMoRan operated the mine and held 58.8%, Lundin held 24.8% and Gécamines (La Générale des Carrières et des Mines) held the remaining 17.5%. The contract had yet to be reviewed by the government under a "revisitation" process started earlier that year. Tenke Fungurume is the largest copper mine in the DRC. The first phase at the mine cost US$1.8bn to build.
The first copper cathode was produced in March 2009, and the plant was working at planned capacity by September 2009. In the third quarter of 2009 the cobalt plant and the sulphuric acid plant were commissioned. It is expected that the operation will produce 250,000,000 pounds (110,000,000 kg) of copper metal and 18,000,000 pounds (8,200,000 kg) of cobalt annually.
The Toi gold mine (Japanese: 土肥鉱山, also 土肥金山) was an important gold mine of Japan, located within the city of Toi, Izu Peninsula, Shizuoka Prefecture.
Small-scale gold mining is said to have started at Toi around 1370 during the period of the Ashikaga Bakufu. The gold mine was operated on a large scale from the time of Tokugawa Ieyasu in the late 16th century. Several mines were open in 1577, but Tokugawa Ieyasu endeavored to their development from 1601. He put the exploitation of the mine under the responsibility of Gold Mine Minister (金山奉行) Ōkubo.
Toi was one of several goldmines of the Izu Peninsula, such as Yugashima or Nawaji, totaling about 60 gold mines in Izu alone. The gold and silver produced by these mines permitted the production of Tokugawa coinage, and allowed for the prosperity of the Tokugawa. The city of Toi itself became highly prosperous, with numerous trades flooding in to service the workers and the administration at the gold mine, so that Toi became known as "Toi Sengen" (土肥千軒, "Toi of the 1,000 shops").
The mine became less productive as it became flooded. Workers were killed because of the exhausting conditions due to seeping hot springs, and poor oxygen
Windsor Colliery was a coal mine in the village of Abertridwr, Caerphilly.
Opened in 1895, it amalgamated with the Nantgarw Colliery in 1974, and closed in 1986. Ty'n y Parc (Welsh for "house on the park") housing estate now occupies the site.
The sinking of two shafts of the Windsor Colliery commenced in 1895 by the Windsor Colliery Co. Ltd, to a depth of around 2,018 feet. The first coal was raised in 1902, with the workings connected underground to the Universal Colliery in Senghenydd for ventilation purposes. The mine was serviced by the Senghenydd branch line of the Rhymney Railway.
On June 1, 1902, a platform collapsed in the mine, tipping nine men into 25 feet of water, which had gathered in the sump. Three managed to escape drowning by clinging onto floating debris, but the other six lost their lives.
The colliery suffered from the 1920s economic downturn, as manpower slipped from 2,550 men in 1925 (the same year as maximum output of 2,550 tons of coal) to 860 ten years later. As a result, the colliery was taken over in the early 1930s by Powell Duffryn Steam Coal Company. Ownership passed to the National Coal Board in 1946.
During 1976, it became linked underground to the
Big Dan Mine is an abandoned underground mine in Northeastern Ontario, Canada. It is located about 1 km (0.62 mi) southwest of Net Lake and just west of the Ontario Northland Railway in east-central Strathy Township. It is named after Dan O'Connor, who first claimed the site in the 1890s.
Mining operations began at the site in the early 1900s, making Big Dan one of the oldest mines in Temagami. Gold and silver were the mine's primary commodities, while arsenic was a secondary commodity. A forest fire destroyed much of the mining infrastructure on the site in 1907. Active mining operations on the site ceased following the fire, but mineral exploration has occurred there periodically since. Mineral exploration at Big Dan remained idle from the early 1970s to the early 1990s as a result of a land claim dispute applied by Temagami First Nations.
The mine consists of two shafts, an open cut and an adit. It is surrounded by a large boreal forest that covers much of the Temagami region. Basalt is the primary rock type at Big Dan, forming part of the Arsenic Lake Formation, the site's major geologic feature. A small zone of deformation intersects the local basaltic bedrock, which is the
The Janina coal mine is a large mine in the south of Poland in Libiąż, Silesian Voivodeship, 350 km south-west of the capital, Warsaw. Janina represents one of the largest coal reserve in Poland having estimated reserves of 841 million tonnes of coal. The annual coal production is around 2.8 million tonnes.
The Megalopoli Mine is a large lignite and coal open-pit mine owned by the Public Power Corporation of Greece that began in the early-1970s after the completion of the Megalopoli Power Plant. It mined approximately 40 km² or 40,000 ha of which 25 to 30 km² or 25,000 to 30,000 ha of land have been mined with a timespan of 37 years, it is the largest mine in the Peloponnese and Southern Greece and is ranked near Amyntaio and after Ptolemaida.
Coal is shipped on the west side, the shipping truck-only roads are in the middle of the mine.
The mine began in the 1970s and continues to expand until the plant closure in which the date is not yet set. The mine removed the settlement of Psatha 2 km east to near Megalopoli and Anthochori in which the moving the settlement is unknown. It also changed the Alfeios River course to south and west of the mines in which used to run through Psatha as well as another river to the northeast and at that time formed a tributary at Tripotamo in which it receives the settlement name. The expansion of the mine removed the Megalopoli-Vastas Road, the Megalopoli-Sparta Road and the GR-7 to the south and east, at that time, the mine became the largest in all of
The Mobile Land Mine (originally named Beetle) was a British World War 2 remote controlled tracked explosive device. It was wire guided and powered by two electric motors.
The Mobile Land Mine was designed by Metropolitan-Vickers 1940. Among other trials a Mobile Land Mine was waterproofed and equipped with floats allowing it to be used against landing craft.
The design was not a success and only 50 were built.
The Public Quarry at Government Island in Stafford County, Virginia is the principal source of Aquia Creek sandstone, a building stone used in many of the early government buildings in Washington, D.C., including the U.S. Capitol and the White House. A quarry was established just off the Potomac River at Wigginton's Island on Aquia Creek by George Brent after 1694, providing stone for tombstones and to houses and churches in northern Virginia, including Gunston Hall, Christ Church in Alexandria, Virginia, Mount Airy in Richmond County, Virginia, and Aquia Church, as well as steps and walkways at George Washington's Mount Vernon. Washington selected Aquia sandstone as the primary material for use in Washington's government buildings. Acting on the government's behalf, the Wigginton's Island quarry was purchased by Pierre Charles L'Enfant in 1791, becoming known afterward as Government Island.
Use of the stone declined as its susceptibility to weathering was observed, and the quarry became worked out and derelict after the U.S. Civil War. The property was sold by the U.S. Government in 1963.
The property was acquired by Stafford County as a county park and opened to the public on
The Tilly Foster Mine was an iron mine two miles west of the village of Brewster, New York, along Route 6.
The Tilly Foster Mine was named after Tillingham Foster, who bought the land that the mine was on from George Beale. After Foster's death in 1842, the property passed through several hands before it came into the possession of Harvey Iron and Steel Company. The mine opened in 1853 and employed large numbers of Irish and Italian immigrants. The jobs available at the mine played a large part in bringing immigrants to the town of Southeast. Workers were known by numbers rather than names, because the names of immigrants were considered too difficult to pronounce.
The mine reached its peak of production in the 1870s. It was 600 feet (180 meters) deep. There were 300 miners employed and they were producing 7,000 tons (14,000,000 pounds) of ore per month. The main minerals were magnetite and chondrodite. The iron ore was loaded up on a train to New York City. Large quantities of Bessemer ore. were shipped to Scranton, Pennsylvania, and used to make steel rails for the Lackawanna Steel Company.
From 1887 to 1889 the mine was made into an open pit, at the time the largest man-made
The Yubileinaya mine is a coal mine in the Kemerovo Oblast area of Siberia, Russia. The mine is operated by Yuzhkuzbassugol, part owned by the Evraz Group who plan to take full ownership.
On May 24, 2007, a methane explosion at the mine killed 38 miners and injured a further 7, one of whom subsequently died. Investigators believe that the explosion was caused by a spark from a damaged cable.
The Bluebird Gold Mine is a gold mine located 15 km south-south-west of Meekatharra, Western Australia.
The mine was owned by Mercator Gold PLC, who placed it on care and maintenance after the company went into administration in October 2008. In January 2011, the mine was sold to Australian mining company Reed Resources for A$26.7 million. The company hopes to reopen the mine by late 2012.
The mine was owned by St Barbara Mines Ltd from 1991 to October 2005, when St Barbara sold it to Mercator, for A$18 million in cash and shares and an $3 million environmental bond. At the time of the purchase, Mercator already owned a number of exploration leases in the area.
St Barbara spent A$ 30 million on the mine in the early 2000s on upgrading plant and developing its surface and underground operations. Mining at Bluebird was suspended in May 2004. St Barbara subsequently sold the mine to Mercator Gold for A$38 million.
Mining resumed under Mercator in the fourth quarter of 2007. The company planned to produce 90,000 ounces of gold in its first year, rising to 120,000 in 2008. Mining was carried out at the Surprise and the Bluebird open pit.
Mercator announced on 25 September 2008, that
The Granny Smith Gold Mine is a gold mine located 20 km south of Laverton, Western Australia near Mount Weld.
It is operated by Barrick Gold and, since the beginning of 2008, part of its Yilgarn South operation, which consists of Granny Smith, the Lawlers Gold Mine and the Darlot-Centenary Gold Mine.
The Granny Smith gold deposit was discovered in 1979.
Construction of the mine took place in the late 1980s.
The project was originally owned by Delta Gold Ltd, which became Auriongold Ltd in February 2002. Aurion was taken over by Placer Dome Inc in 2003, who already held a 60% interesst in the mine, and Placer Dome in turn by Barrick Gold in March 2006.
A large amount of ore processed at Granny Smith originated from the Wallaby deposit, approximately 10 km west of the mine, and was hauled to the Granny Smith mill for processing. Open pit mining at Wallaby ceased in September 2006, followed by a ramp up of underground mining at the location.
In February 2009, Barrick signed a Memorandum of understanding with Crescent Gold to purchase ore from their Laverton Gold Mine and mill it at Granny Smith. In January 2010, an agreement was signed with Range River Gold to purchase ore from the
Lochend Colliery was a mine located at Speers Point, New South Wales, Australia.
William Brooks began mining coal at the foot of the Munibung Hill near Speers Point in 1843. The coal was carried by trolleys on a small gauge tram line to a jetty at Speers Point. The coal could either be collected from the jetty or it could be transported to the head of Lake Macquarie, known as Reid's Mistake for collection. The mine ceased operations in 1847.
The Budureasa mine is a large mine in the northwest of Romania in Bihor County, 100 km (62 mi) southeast of Oradea and 478 km (297 mi) north of the capital, Bucharest. Budureasa represents the largest magnesium reserve in Romania and the largest in Europe having estimated reserves of 20 million tonnes.
Buzwagi Gold Mine is an open pit gold mine in the Shinyanga Region of Tanzania, located 6 kilometres southeast from the town of Kahama. It is operated by African Barrick Gold.
It is one of four gold mines African Barrick Gold, a subsidiary of Barrick Gold, operates in Tanzania, the other three being Tulawaka, Bulyanhulu and the North Mara Gold Mine. In the financial year 2009, the four operations produced a combined amount of 716,000 attributable ounces of gold.
Gold mining in Tanzania in modern times dates back to the German colonial period, beginning with gold discoveries near Lake Victoria in 1894. The first gold mine in what was then Tanganyika, the Sekenke Mine, began operation in 1909, and gold mining in Tanzania experienced a boom between 1930 and World War II. By 1967, gold production in the country had dropped to insignificance but was revived in the mid-1970s, when the gold price rose once more. In the late 1990s, foreign mining companies started investing in the exploration and development of gold deposits in Tanzania, leading to the opening of a number of new mines.
Barrick acquired Buzwagi, alongside Tulawaka, as part of its acquisition of Pangea Goldfields Inc. in
New Stubbin Colliery was a coal mine situated in the township of Rawmarsh near Rotherham, South Yorkshire, England. The colliery was situated in a deep valley. Along one side at the top of the valley runs Haugh Road, Rawmarsh and on the other a lane known locally as “Greasbrough Tops”.
The first sod of the new colliery development was cut by Viscount Milton, son of Earl Fitzwilliam, on November 14, 1913 and it took until 1915 to complete the sinking. The pit was situated on the Wentworth Estates of Earl Fitzwilliam and was owned, until nationalization by Earl Fitzwilliam's Collieries Co. Ltd. It was sunk to reach the Parkgate seam and replace the nearby Old Stubbin pit which also worked the Barnsley seam. Following nationalization the colliery came under the control of the National Coal Board.
The colliery was connected to the national rail system by a single track railway, which pre-dated the colliery being built to serve earlier workings, and which ran down the Stubbin Incline to the Greasbrough Canal, a landsale site and a connection to the Great Central Railway at Rotherham Road and the Midland Railway between Rotherham Masborough and Parkgate. In Parkgate, adjacent to the
Treeton Colliery was a coal mine situated in the village of Treeton, near Rotherham, South Yorkshire, England.
Work on the sinking of Treeton Colliery commenced, with all due ceremony, in October 1875. Trade, at the time, was in a poor state and the company were short of capital so work was suspended three years later not being resumed until March, 1882.
The colliery was owned by the Rother Vale Collieries Limited which was founded in the same year, bringing together the new workings with collieries at Fence and Orgreave. This became part of the United Steel Companies Limited following the end of World War I.
From its beginnings until 1965 Treeton worked the Barnsley seam and the High Hazels seam until the following year. After nationalisation it was decided to increase the output of the Wathwood seam and to reopen the Swallow Wood seam which had fallen into disuse in 1947. This came on stream in 1972 and lasted until the colliery closed on 7 December 1990. These two seams produced house coal.
The colliery was situated adjacent to the North Midland Railway line at Treeton and connected with this. It was also connected to the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire Railway by a
Wyllie Colliery was located in the Sirhowy Valley, South Wales.
The coal mine was sunk by the Tredegar Iron and Coal Company and opened in 1926. The colliery was named after a director of the company, Alexander Wyllie. Wyllie village was built to house many of the miners working at the pit.
The colliery remained open for 42 years before closing in 1968.
The Grandview Mine, also known as the Last Chance Mine, was operated by Pete Berry from 1892 until 1901 in what later became Grand Canyon National Park. The Grandview Mine Historic District includes what remains of the mine shafts and machinery as well as the ruins of a stone house and sleeping shanty. Physical evidence, including low stone walls and construction debris, suggests that several wood structures were also originally present on the site.
Pete Berry established Last Chance Mine on Horseshoe Mesa in 1892. He constructed the four-mile Grandview Trail down to the copper mine, and in 1893 began hauling ore out by mule. Although the ore was over 70% pure copper and won a prize at the Columbian Exposition in Chicago, the mine did not prove profitable, and in 1901 Berry and his partners sold it to the Canyon Copper Company, who operated it until 1907. The mine was then acquired by William Randolph Hearst, who sold it to the National Park Service in 1940.
The mineralization at the mine is secondary copper minerals in a breccia zone along a monocline flexure in Navajo Sandstone. Redwall Limestone is bleached, brecciated and marbleized. Grandview is the type locality for
The Halemba coal mine is a large mine in the south of Poland in Ruda Śląska, Silesian Voivodeship, 273 km south-west of the capital, Warsaw. Halemba represents one of the largest coal reserves in Poland, having estimated reserves of 120 million tonnes of coal. The annual coal production is around 3.36 million tonnes.
In a mining explosion in November 2006, 23 miners died. A similar accident happened in 1990, when 19 miners died, and 20 were injured.
The explosion happened 21 November, 16:30 Polish time, at depth 1030m. The rescue action was hindered due to high concentration of methane and high temperature.
The cause of explosion was reported to be ignition of methane.
Polish president Lech Kaczyński declared national mourning in Poland from 23 November to 25 November.
SX 765/752 Ordnance Survey Refs1 adit 350 yards NNW of Bagtor Cottages existed in 1966. In a nearby gulley was also a shaft about 10m deep. Various slag heaps and a caved in tunnel 400 yards west of Bagtor cottages.
The Khewra Salt Mine (or Mayo Salt Mine) is located in Khewra, north of Pind Dadan Khan, an administrative subdivision of Jhelum District, Punjab, Pakistan. It is Pakistan's largest and oldest salt mine and the world's second largest. It is a major tourist attaction, drawing up to 250,000 visitors a year. Its history dates back to its discovery by Alexander's troops in 320 BC, but it started trading in the Mughal era. The main tunnel at ground level was developed by Dr. H. Warth, a mining engineer, in 1872, during British rule. After partition the Pakistan Mineral Development Corporation took over the mine, which still remains the largest source of salt in the country, producing more than 350,000 tons per annum of about 99% pure halite. Estimates of the reserves of salt in the mine vary from 82 million tons to 600 million tons.
The Khewra Salt Mine is also known as Mayo Salt Mine, in honour of Lord Mayo, who visited it as Viceroy of India. The mine is a part of a salt range that originated about 800 million years ago, when evaporation of a shallow sea followed by geological movement formed a salt range that stretched for about 300 kilometers. The salt reserves at Khewra were
The Băiţa mine is a large open pit mine in the northwest of Romania in Bihor County, 123 km southeast of Oradea and 737 km north of the capital, Bucharest. Băiţa represents the largest uranium reserve in Romania having estimated reserves of 450,000 tonnes of high grade metal of which around 300,000 tonnes were already mined.
The Băiţa mine uranium reserve represents the largest surface uranium deposit in the world.
Whitewood is an Albertan coal mine located just north of Lake Wabamun, about sixty-five kilometres west of Edmonton, Alberta. Owned by the TransAlta Corporation of Calgary, the mine has been run by Luscar Ltd. (Edmonton) since that company acquired the extraction contract from Fording Coal Ltd. (Calgary) in 2003.
Opened in 1962, the Whitewood mine operates on a "strip" model, harvesting approximately 2.8 megatonnes of sub-bituminous coal per annum. Most of this thermal coal is used for steam-driven power generation at the Wabamun, Sundance, and Keephills power plants, but a small amount of coal is sold to the residents of Parkland County for personal uses.
Development of the mining site at Whitewood and the seismic testing done there in the 1980s have allowed geologists to establish the timeframe and geologic phases associated with the formation of the mine's coal bed. Analysis has shown that there are six distinct coal seams present at Whitewood, with deposits from the late Cretaceous found at the deepest intervals, and with Early Tertiary formations found closest to the top.
A few layers of bentonitic gangue appear throughout the coal, most notably a three-metre seam near the
The Bolesław Śmiały coal mine is a large mine in the south of Poland in Łaziska Górne, Silesian Voivodeship, 172 km south-west of the capital, Warsaw. Bolesław Śmiały represents one of the largest coal reserve in Poland having estimated reserves of 50 million tonnes of coal. The annual coal production is around 2.13 million tonnes.
The Emma Silver Mine was a pocket lode situated at Alta near Cottonwood Canyon which was worked very briefly, but became a major fraud case involving British investors who had been misled by forged reports by respected minerologists of the unlimited amounts of silver that were to be found in the mine. Involved in the case, amongst others, were Albert Grant MP in England, and General Schenck who follwing a successful career, was then US Minister in the Embassy in London. Trevor William Park became invoilved in the mine in March 1871. The mine was producing silver ore and together with General Henry H Baxter they bought the mine 50/50 and set up the "Emma Silver Mining Company of New York". In Autumn 1871 they decided to sell the mine in London, at a time when the number of miners employed at the mine fell from 100 to about 12. A new super intendent was employed by Park and Baxter to prepare the mine for inspection by geologists who were to issue their reports to support the sale of the mine, and at this point no others were allowed to enter the mine, which was patrolled by an armed guard. Effectively the walls of the mine were plastered with silver to mislead the experts, who may have been bribed in the process. On arriving in Britain, Park and Baxter had difficulty selling the mine until they got the support the the US Minister /Ambassador in London, Robert C Schenck, who managed to open the right doors to begin selling the mine for $5,000,000 in London. The connection made by Schenck with Albert Grant MP was fundamental, although there was apparently a "consideration" of £100,000 for Grant involved in the matter.
The Tagebau Hambach is a large open-pit mine (German: Tagebau) in Niederzier and Elsdorf, North-Rhine Westphalia, Germany. It is operated by RWE and used for mining lignite. Begun in 1978, the mine currently has a size of 33.89 km² and is planned to eventually have a size of 85 km². It is the deepest open pit mine with respect to sea level, where the ground of the pit is 293 metres (961 ft) below sea level.
High Hazels Colliery was a coal mine situated between the parish of Catcliffe, near Rotherham, and the parish of Handsworth, near Sheffield. It was adjacent to the main line of the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire Railway between the stations of Darnall and Woodhouse.
The original colliery was owned by Thomas Coupland Hounsfield, a merchant who, until 1900, lived in Paris. In that year he leased the colliery to the Waverley Coal Company, who were already working Nunnery Colliery nearer to the city centre. The pit was small, with, in 1896, only 123 workers. High Hazels No.3 pit was the eastern-most colliery of the Waverley group and situated slightly to the east of the other shafts.
In 1947, on nationalisation, the colliery became part of the National Coal Board.
The site was also home to coke ovens and by-products plant which was served by a 28” gauge railway on which operated 3 locomotives:
The locomotives and system were cut up when the coke ovens closed.
East of Sheffield by Roger Milnes. "Forward" - The journal of the Great Central Railway Society, No.16, July 1984. ISSN-0141-4488 (This article also uses unpublished material researched for "East of Sheffield" from various
Kumtor Gold Mine is an open-pit gold mining site in Issyk Kul Province of Kyrgyzstan located about 350 km (220 mi) southeast of the capital Bishkek and 80 km (50 mi) south of Lake Issyk-Kul near the border with China.
Kumtor is 100% owned by the Canadian mining company, Centerra Gold, through its wholly owned subsidiary, Kumtor Gold Company. The mine started operation in Q2 1997 and produced more than 5.8 million ounces (180,000 kg) of gold through the end of 2006. However, in mid June 2012, the Kyrgyz Parliament issued a resolution to review Kumtor’s compliance with relevant operational, environmental, health and safety and community standards. Stopping short of voting to nationalise the Kumtor mine, lawmakers instead directed the government to revise the contract, which gives Kyrgyzstan a 33% stake in the company while Centerra retains full ownership of the mine and its output.
Located in Tian Shan mountains at more than 4,000 m (14,000 ft) above sea level, Kumtor is the second-highest gold mining operation in the world after Yanacocha gold mine in Peru.
The mine was linked to a major environmental incident in 1998 when a truck carrying 1,762 kg of sodium cyanide (a chemical used
La Caridad Mine is a large open-pit copper mine in Nacozari, Sonora, Mexico. It is operated by the Mexican Copper Company (Mexicana de Cobre, S.A.), which is a part of Grupo Mexico, the largest copper producer in Mexico. The mine lies approximately 8 miles (13 km) east of Nacozari de Garcia.
Although the mine was worked in the 1800s, it was closed about 1948, and did not reopen until 1979.
In 1985 the mine was producing over 72,000 metric tons of ore per day. In addition to copper, it produced silver as a byproduct, in 1995 that amounted to over 77 tons of silver. The mine was repurchased by investors from the Mexican government in 1988. The mine employed approximately 3,000 workers in 2000. In 2006 the mine was shut down due to labor strikes.
The Mountain Pass rare earth mine is an open-pit mine of rare earth elements (REEs) on the south flank of the Clark Mountain Range and just north of the unincorporated community of Mountain Pass, California, United States. The mine, owned by Molycorp Inc., once supplied most of the world's rare earth elements. The facility is currently undergoing expansion and modernization, and expected to be back up to full production in 2012.
The Mountain Pass deposit is in a 1.4 billion year old Precambrian carbonatite intruded into gneiss, and contains 8% to 12% rare earth oxides, mostly contained in the mineral bastnäsite. Gangue minerals include calcite, barite, and dolomite. It is regarded as a world-class rare-earth mineral deposit. The metals that can be extracted from it include:
Known remaining reserves were estimated to exceed 20 million tons of ore as of 2008, using a 5% cutoff grade, and averaging 8.9% rare earth oxides.
The bastnäsite ore was finely ground, and subjected to froth flotation to separate the bulk of the bastnäsite from the accompanying barite, calcite, and dolomite. Marketable products include each of the major intermediates of the ore dressing process: flotation
The Cloudbreak mine is an iron ore mine located in the Pilbara region of Western Australia, 89 kilometres west-south-west of Nullagine, in the Chichester Range.
The mine is fully owned and operated by the Fortescue Metals Group, FMG, and is one of three iron ore mines the company operates in the Pilbara, the other two being Christmas Creek mine (located 50 kilometres east of Cloudbreak.) and the Solomon Project respectively.
Fortescue is the third-largest iron ore mining company in the Pilbara, behind Rio Tinto and BHP Billiton.
Fortescue acquired the Cloudbreak and Christmas Creek tenements during 2003. The company begun constructing port facilities at Port Hedland in February 2006, followed by a A$3.2 billion capital raising in August 2006 to finance its projects. Construction on the mine itself began in October 2006.
Fortescue began mining at Cloudbreak in October 2007. Iron ore production at the mine began in 2008 and, in its first full year of operation, the mine produced 28 million tonnes of iron ore.
The ore from the mine is processed on site before being loaded onto rail. The product is then transported to the coast at Port Hedland through the Fortescue railway, where it is
Frickley & South Elmsall Colliery was opened by the Carlton Main Colliery Company Ltd in 1903 in South Elmsall, in Yorkshire, England.
The first sod was cut on 23 April 1903 of shafts No.1 and No.2 and the Barnsley Bed was hit on 23 May 1905 at a depth of 606m. Sumps were established at a depth of 624m in the Dunsil seam. Both shafts were 7m in diameter and brick lined throughout. South Elmsall Colliery situated in the same curtilage as Frickley, was sunk during 1920–23 reaching the Shafton seam at a depth of 218m. This No.3 shaft was 4.26m in diameter and brick lined throughout.
Despite being located in South Elmsall, the colliery was sunk within the land of Frickley Hall, part of the small Hamlet of Frickley, hence the Frickley name.
The Carlton Main Colliery Company was a model employer with strong views on the welfare of its workers. Its Welfare schemes included a hospital, maternity home, medical service, recreation ground, swimming baths and miners institute. The colliery saw the birth of Frickley Colliery F.C. later Frickley Athletic F.C. in 1910.
The Barnsley seam was worked until 1934 by hand-got tub stalls when mechanical conveying was introduced at the coal face. During
The Mount Whaleback mine is an iron ore mine located in the Pilbara region of Western Australia, 6 kilometres west of Newman.
The mine is majority-owned (85 percent) and operated by BHP Billiton, and is one of seven iron ore mines the company operates in the Pilbara. The company also operates two port facilities at Port Hedland, Nelson Point and Finucane Island, and over 1,000 kilometres of rail in the Pilbara.
BHP Billiton is the second-largest iron ore mining company in the Pilbara, behind Rio Tinto and ahead of the Fortescue Metals Group. As of 2010, BHP employs 8,000 people in its Pilbara operations.
The Mount Whaleback deposit was discovered in 1957 by Stan Hilditch but not publicised until 1960, when the Australian Government lifted the embargo on iron ore exports it had put in place because of concerns the mineral was in short supply. The first mine to develop was the Goldsworthy mine in 1965 and a railway line, the Goldsworthy railway, as well as port facilities at Finucane Island were constructed. On 1 June 1966, the first shipment of iron ore from the Pilbara left on board of the Harvey S. Mudd.
BHP's operations in Newman date back to 1968, when the Mount Whaleback mine
The Pyne Mine was a vertical shaft iron ore mine operated by the Woodward Iron Company and located near the Lacey's Chapel community outside Bessemer, Alabama in Shades Valley. It was, along with Woodward's Songo Mine, one of only two shaft mines dug in the Birmingham District, and the last ore mine to operate in the region, closing in 1971.
Drilling began for the mine's 1,280 feet (390 m), concrete-lined vertical shaft in 1918 a few miles south of the Tennessee Coal, Iron and Railroad Company's Muscoda mines. The slope mines built near the ridge of Red Mountain were depleting the most accessible parts of the Clinton formation ore seams. Pyne was built over a "down dip" in the seam, beyond the lower extent of the Muscoda tunnels.
Operations ceased after only a few years of production due to the post-war drop in demand. The shaft was left to flood and the surface works closed down. With the renewed demands of World War II the mine was reopened in 1942.
A 163 feet (50 m) tall headframe was erected over the shaft to operate two hoists, one for ore skips and another for men and materials, riding in double-decker cages. The hoist cables were fed from massive cable-drum winches located
Rovinari Coal Mine is an open-pit mining exploitation, the largest in Romania, located in Rovinari, Gorj County. The legal entity managing the Rovinari mine is the National Company of Lignite Oltenia which was set up in 1997.
The exploitation has four open pits Tismana I, Tismana II, Gârla - Rovinari Est and Pinoasa that produced 8 million tonnes of lignite in 2008. The mine has around 3,000 workers and is endowed with 23 bucket-wheel excavators, 14 spreaders, three mixed machines and one deposits spreader. The total proven recoverable reserves of the mine amount to 180 million tonnes of lignite.
Sărmăşag Coal Mine is an open-pit mining exploitation, one of the largest in Romania located in Sărmăşag, Sălaj County with estimated coal reserves of 10.6 million tonnes. The legal entity managing the Sărmăşag mine is the Ploieşti National Coal Company which was set up in 1957.
South Crofty is a metalliferous tin and copper mine located in the village of Pool, Cornwall, England UK. An ancient mine, it has seen production for over 400 years, and extends almost two and a half miles across and 3,000 feet (910 m) down and has mined over 40 lodes. Evidence of mining activity in South Crofty has been dated back to 1592, with full-scale mining beginning in the mid-17th century. The mine went into serious decline after 1985 and eventually closed in 1998. After several proposed developments for the site, its future is currently uncertain.
South Crofty Mine, at Pool between Camborne and Redruth, is an ancient tin mine. For several centuries its shallow workings exploited copper rather than the deeper tin mineralisation. References implying mining, rather than streaming, occur in the area as early as 1592, and clearly by the mid-17th century mining was well established. During this period part of the mine which today is known as South Crofty was then called Penhellick Vean. The first really significant developments came in 1710 when Francis Bassett obtained a lease of Penhellick Vean and a drainage adit was begun. Over the next twenty years these shallow workings
The Fimiston Open Pit, colloquially known as the Super Pit, is Australia's largest open cut gold mine. The Super Pit is located off the Goldfields Highway on the south-east edge of Kalgoorlie, Western Australia. The pit is oblong in shape and is approximately 3.5 kilometres long, 1.5 kilometres wide and 360 metres deep. At these dimensions, it is large enough to be seen from space.
The Super Pit is owned by Kalgoorlie Consolidated Gold Mines Pty Ltd, a company owned 50/50 by Barrick Gold Corporation and Newmont Mining Corporation. The mine produces 850,000 ounces (28 tonnes) per year of gold, and employs around 550 employees directly on site.
Originally consisting of a number of small underground mines, consolidation into a single open pit mine was attempted by Alan Bond, but he was unable to complete the takeover. The Super Pit was eventually created in 1989 by Kalgoorlie Consolidated Gold Mines Pty Ltd.
Barrick Gold acquired its share of the mine in December 2001, when it took over Homestake Mining Company . Newmont became part-owner of the mine three months later, when it acquired Normandy Mining in February 2002.
Most of the good gold mined in the Super Pit occurs within ore
The Toquepala mine is a large porphyry copper mine in the Tacna Province, Tacna Department, Peru. The mine is an open-pit mine producing copper, molybdenum, rhenium and silver with minor gold and zinc.
The Toquepala mine and the Ilo smelter were opened in 1960 by Southern Peru Copper Corporation, then a subsidiary of ASARCO. A Solvent extraction/electrowinning (SX/EW) facility was added in 1995. ASARCO's stake in Southern Peru Copper, now 54.2%, passed to Grupo Mexico, when that company purchased ASARCO in 1999. The mine and smelter are now operated by Southern Copper Corporation, a subsidiary of Grupo Mexico.
In 2009, Toquepala produced about 127,000 tons of copper in sulfide concentrates, all smelted at Ilo, with a copper recovery of 97.4%. Toquepala also produced 38,000 tons of copper cathodes from the SX/EW plant.
As of the end of 2009, Toquepala reported about 13 million tons of copper contained in proven and probable ore reserves, at an average grade of 0.47% Cu. The projected stripping ratio for this ore is about 2.6:1.
Tower Colliery (Welsh: Glofa Tŵr) was the oldest continuously working deep-coal mine in the United Kingdom, and possibly the world, and the last mine of its kind to remain in the South Wales Valleys. It was located near the villages of Hirwaun and Rhigos, north of the town of Aberdare in the Cynon Valley south Wales.
With coal located so close to the surface, it was known by locals to be possible to drift mine coal from Hirwaun common. This activity increased from 1805, until in 1864 the first drift named Tower was started, named after the nearby Crawshay's Tower, a folly built in 1848 and named for Richard Crawshay.
In 1941, a new shaft was sunk to a depth of 160 metres. From 1943 until closure, this shaft was used as the main "return" ventilation shaft and for the transport of men. In 1958 Tower No. 3 was driven to meet the No. 4 colliery workings, and was used as the main "intake" airway, conveying coal to the surface and transporting materials into the mine working areas.
The Aberdare branch of the Merthyr line continued north from Aberdare railway station to the colliery. While passenger services terminate in Aberdare, freight services operated several times a day along this
Yorkshire Main Colliery was a coal mine situated within the village of Edlington, south west of Doncaster, South Yorkshire, England.
The colliery was created by the Staveley Coal and Iron Company, which bought land in Edlington and leased the right to exploit the coal reserves under this and adjoining land from the Battie-Wrightson of Cusworth estate in several transactions in 1909 and 1910. William Wrightson of Cusworth had acquired the Edlington estate in 1803 from the Molesworth family, which had owned it since the late seventeenth century.
Two shafts were sank in 1909 and 1910. The new colliery, originally known as "Edlington Main" had a name change in September 1911 and became "Yorkshire Main". It reached the Barnsley seam at a depth of 905 yards in July 1911, however this was on a fault. The main seam was relocated in October 1912. Extraction of the Dunsil seam, about 18 yards lower, began in the 1950s, and the Swallow Wood seam in the 1970s. Plans had also been made to open up the Parkgate seam, but these were abandoned when the mine was closed in 1985.
The Colliery first produced a million tons of coal in 1923 and in 1939 it achieved a record output of 1,138,512
The Jackson Mine is an open pit iron mine located northwest of intersection of Business Route M-28 and Cornish Town Road in Negaunee, Michigan. It was designated a Michigan State Historic Site in 1956 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1971. The Jackson Mine was the first iron mine in the Lake Superior region, and as the Lake Superior Mining Institute put it, the mine "is attractive in the iron ore region of Michigan and the entire Lake Superior region, because of the fact it was here that the first discovery of iron ore was made, here the first mining was done, and from its ore the first iron was manufactured." Multiple other mines soon followed the Jackson's lead, establishing the foundation of the economy of the entire region.
In 1844, government surveyor Douglass Houghton tasked his deputy, William A. Burt, with leading a party into Michigan's Upper Peninsula to fully survey the land. On September 19, 1844, Burt noted odd compass fluctuations while surveying in the area of Teal Lake (near present-day Negaunee, Michigan). He asked his men to investigate, and they discovered rock outcroppings that proved to contain iron ore, later known as the Marquette
Kilnhurst Colliery, formerly known as either Thrybergh or Thrybergh Hall Colliery, was situated on the southern side of the village of Kilnhurst, near Rotherham, South Yorkshire, England.
The earliest colliery on the site, known as Thrybergh or Thrybergh Hall Colliery, worked the Barnsley seam from 1858, and was the site of a serious accident in 1863. The brickworks, along with the local pottery, was served by a branch of the South Yorkshire Railway from 1850, this becoming a through line linking Sheffield and Doncaster from 1864. From its sinking this line also served the colliery. The railway junction from the main line was known as Thrybergh Colliery Junction until the early days of the 20th century when the line to Thrybergh (Silverwood Colliery) was opened and the old signal box replaced.
The colliery was connected underground with two other mining operations, Warren Vale Colliery and Warren House Colliery. A standard gauge railway line connected Kilnhurst Colliery to Warren Vale, a continuance of the line which served Kilnhurst brickworks.
Through its lifetime the colliery had three owners. First came Wakefield-based J. & J. Charlesworth who developed the workings with the
The Sośnica-Makoszowy coal mine is a large mine in the south of Poland near Gliwice and Zabrze, Silesian Voivodeship, 267 km south-west of the capital, Warsaw. Sośnica-Makoszowy represents one of the largest coal reserve in Poland having estimated reserves of 180 million tonnes of coal. The annual coal production is around 4.27 million tonnes.
The Ashio Copper Mine, Ashio, Tochigi prefecture, Japan became very significant from the end of the 19th century to the mid-20th century. It was the site of major pollution in the 1880s and the scene of the 1907 miners riots.
The Ashio mine has been in existence at least since 1600 when it belonged to the Tokugawa shogunate. At that time it produced about 1,500 tons annually, although this declined when the mine was closed in 1800. It became privately owned in 1871 following the industrialisation initiated by the Meiji restoration. By 1877 it became the property of Furukawa Ichibei, and by the 1880s production had increased dramatically, reaching 4,090 tons by 1885, 78 per cent of the total output of the Furukawa mines and 39 per cent of Japan's copper production.
The Ashio mine was shut down in 1973.
The Ashio Copper Mine Incident is the name given to the environmental disaster that occurred as a result of the Ashio mining operations in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. From 1880 onwards, people living along the Watarase and Tone rivers downstream of the mines noticed the water changing colour and the fish dying. Within a decade, the fish population had been almost
The Boundary Red Mountain Mine of Whatcom County, Washington, United States, consists of 6 patented lode claims survey in 1902 and patented under patent number 39545. The property is privately owned. The lode claims include Rocky draw lode, Klondike lode, Mountain Boy Lode, Glacier Lode, Climax lode, & Climax Ext No. 1 lode. Located in Whatcom County, Washington, U.S.A., the mine is approximately ½ mile south of the Canadian Border. It is within close approximation of the currently active Lone Jack Mine.
Geology: The gold veins of the Boundary Red Mountain Mine are mainly fissure quartz veins.
The Camp Bird Mine is a famous and highly-productive old gold mine located between Ouray and Telluride, Colorado. The mine is within the Sneffels-Red Mountain-Telluride mining district in the San Juan Mountains.
It was discovered by Thomas F. Walsh in 1896, and is (or was) owned by the Federal Resources Corp. The mine produced about 1.5 million troy ounces of gold, and 4 million troy ounces of silver, from 1896 to 1990. At 2009 prices, Camp Bird's production would be worth over US$1.5 billion. Walsh sold the property for US$ 5.2 million in 1902. Walsh's daughter, Evalyn Walsh McLean, later purchased the Hope Diamond. Walsh died in 1909.
Camp Bird is named after the "Camp Birds", probably Rocky Mountain jays, that ate many a miner's lunch. Telluride native David Lavender related his experiences working at the Camp Bird Mine in the 1930s in his classic memoir One Man's West.
C.W. McCall sang "Way out in Colorado, in the Camp Bird Mine, down deep in the darkness, on level nine..." The song moved the mine's founding to 1892 to make the rhyme work and added a ghost.
The Camp Bird Mine filed for a permit to resume mining in late 2007, but remains inactive as of August 2008.
Kipushi Mine (formerly Prince Léopold Mine) is an underground mine in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, near the town of Kipushi in the province of Katanga. The was an active producing mine between 1925 and 1993, as of 2006 there was an estimated 16.9 million tons of ore in the measured and indicated categories, with a grade averaging of 16.7% zinc and 2.2% copper.
Nantgarw Colliery was a coal mine located in the village on Nantgarw, Mid Glamorgan located just north of Cardiff.
Opened in 1910, it closed in 1986. The site is now redeveloped as the industrial estate Parc Nantgarw.
Craig Yr Allt Colliery was situated south of Nantgarw village. However, whenever the Taff River flooded, water frequently entered its workings, and it was abandoned in 1878.
Thomas Taylor of Pontypridd began the development of Nantgarw colliery in May 1910, near the base of the Caerphilly Syncline seam. The sinking of the twin shafts in 1911 reached the coal seam at a depth of more than 850 yards in 1915, placing them 2000 ft below sea level and making Nantgarw the deepest pit to be sunk in the South Wales Coalfield up to that time.
Connected to the Rhymney Railway via the Coryton Line, the mine was sold to the Taff Rhondda Navigation Steam Coal Co in 1924. The 850 men were redeployed in 1927 after geographical difficulties were encountered and the pit abandoned. Bought by Powell Duffryn Steam Coal Co Ltd, following further development attempts it was put into "care and maintenance."
Powell Duffryn designed a development scheme in 1937, but work was suspended when
Nariin Sukhait Coal Mine (Mongolian: Нарийн Сухайтын чулуун нүүрсний уурхай) is in Gurvan tes sum (district) of Ömnögovi Province in Southwest Mongolia. This mine is 25 km SE from sum center and 56 km N of Shivee Khuren - Seke crossing point on Mongolian-Chinese border.
Three companies operate at Nariin Sukhait Mine as an independent coal producers, namely, Mongolyn Alt Corporation LLC , Mongolia; and Mongolian-Chinese JV "Qinhua-MAK-Nariin Sukhait" LLC; as well as South Gobi Energy Resources Inc (a subsidiary of Ivanhoe Mines Inc), through its local subsidiary South Gobi Sands LLC.
Nariin Sukhait is reported to hold about 380 million mt of resources of high-rank, low-ash, low-sulphur metallurgical and steam coal , of which 220 million mt of resources belong to the licenses of Mongolyn Alt Corporation LLC and 160 million mt of coal is delineated under the licenses of South Gobi Energy Resources Inc.
In 2008 the mine produced and sold about 1.9 million mt of coal in total (2005 - 1.7 million mt) of which Mongolian-Chinese JV "Qinhua-MAK-Nariin Sukhait" LLC exported 1.2 million mt; Mongolyn Alt Corporation LLC marketed 0.635 million mt; and South Gobi Energy Resources Inc sold
Voivozi Coal Mine is an open-pit mining exploitation, one of the largest in Romania located in Popeşti, Bihor County with estimated coal reserves of 3.9 million tonnes. The legal entity managing the Voivozi mine is the Ploieşti National Coal Company which was set up in 1957.
SX 508/795. Mary Tavy, Devon. Many shafts filled in (1966). One at SX505/797is about 1050' deep and was covered ovver in 1966. Wheal Caroline Shaft is 50-80' deep, Hope Shaft 100 to 120' deep. Brentons Stack (Engine House)n and many arsenic houses, long flues. One Engine House blown up in 1954.
East Rand Proprietary Mines (ERPM) is a 100-year-old underground gold mining operation on the Witwatersrand Basin at Boksburg, to the east of Johannesburg. The mine employs 2,740 people. It was the deepest mine in the world until 2008 at 3,585 metres depth, slightly more than the TauTona mine, also in South Africa, which was 3,581 metres at the time (in 2008 the TauTona mine completed a digging project that extended the depth of the mine by several hundred metres.)
Recent production figures:
Almy was a coal mining camp in Uinta County, Wyoming, near the town of Evanston. In 1881 an explosion killed 38 miners in the Central Pacific Mine, marking the first mine explosion west of the Mississippi River. Another explosion killed 13 in 1886, and a third explosion in Red Canyon in 1895 killed 61 miners, the third worse mining disaster in Wyoming history. Following the second explosion, the Wyoming territorial legislature established the office of the state mining inspector, which subsequently shut down the Almy mines in 1900 after it was deemed too dangerous to mine there.
On March 4, 1881, gases in the Central Pacific Mine number 3 exploded, killing 38 miners. On March 10, the Cheyenne Weekly Leader reported the disaster:
A terrific explosion occurred last night between 9 and 10 o'clock in the Central Pacific mine, killing 35 Chinamen and 3 white men. The mine was opened in 1869 and is nearly worked out. It is mine No. 3, Nos. 1 and 2 having-been worked out. About 200 men worked in the mine by day and 8S many as 75 at night. Nearly the whole force was Chinamen. A fire had been raging in the mine for 5 years, but it had been hemmed in by stone walls. The supposition is that
The Beverley Mine is Australia's third uranium mine and Australia's first operating in-situ recovery mine. It is located 35 km from Lake Frome at the northern end of the Flinders Ranges in South Australia and opened in 2001. Beverley Uranium Mine was discovered by one of Bill Siller's companies and was named after his wife—Beverley Siller.
Beverley is a paleaochannel uranium deposit. The uranium mineralisation (mainly coffinite) is hosted by loose sands in the channel of a former river. The ore bearing horizon is now at a depth of about 100 to 150m. The deposit is estimated to contain 21,000 tonnes of uranium oxide for a mine life of 15 to 30 years. Uranium is extracted by in-situ leaching, involving the injection of a fluid containg sulphuric acid and hydrogen peroxide into the ore-bearing permeable horizon to mobilise the uranium. The fluid is then recovered and uranium is extracted at a central plant using ion-exchange. The final concentrate is trucked to Port Adelaide and then shipped to oversea customers.
In August 2008, federal approval was given to Heathgate Resources for a greater area to be accessed for mining in order that the pre-approved volume of material could be
Kensington mine is a gold mine located 45 mi (72 km) north of Juneau, Alaska. The mine is owned by Coeur Alaska Inc., a subsidiary company of Coeur d'Alene Mines.
In 1928 the mine halted operations, and since then Coeur Alaska has attempted to resume operations. In order to resume operations Coeur Alska required a permit to dispose of tailings created by the milling of ore from the mine. A permit was acquired in 2005 from the United States Army Corps of Engineers to dispose of the tailings in Lower Slate Lake. Following the Army Corps permitting of the tailings disposal a lawsuit was filed by a group of environmental non-governmental organizations, the Alaskan court sided with the mining company. The decision was appealed and overturned by the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. Following the successful appeal it was brought before the Supreme Court who found in favor of the company by a vote of 6-3.
Levant Mine and Beam Engine is a National Trust property at Trewellard, Pendeen, near St Just, Cornwall, England, UK. Its main attraction is that it has the world's only Cornish beam engine still operated by steam on its original site. There is also a visitor centre, a short underground tour, and a cliff-top footpath that leads to Botallack Mine.
The property is on the site of the former Levant Mine, established in 1820 and closed in 1930, where tin and copper ores were raised. The mine reached a depth of about 600 metres. It got the nickname "mine under the sea", because tunnels were driven up to 2.5 km from the cliffs under the sea.
The Mount Tom Price mine is an iron ore mine located in the Pilbara region of Western Australia, near Tom Price.
The mine is fully owned and operated by Rio Tinto Iron Ore and is one of twelve iron ore mines the company operates in the Pilbara. In the calendar year 2009, the combined Pilbara operations produced 202 million tonnes of iron ore, a 15 percent increase from 2008. The Pilbara operations accounted for almost 13 percent of the world's 2009 iron ore production of 1.59 billion tonnes.
The Hamersley Range, where the mine is located, contains 80 percent of all identified iron ore reserves in Australia and is one of the world's major iron ore provinces.
Rio Tinto's iron ore operations in the Pilbara began in 1966, with the Mount Tom Price mine opening that year. Mount Tom Price was the companies first mine to open in the Pilbara. The mine has an annual production capacity of 28 million tonnes of iron ore, sourced from open-pit operations. The ore is processed on site before being loaded onto rail. Ore from Mount Tom Price, like Brockman, Paraburdoo, Channar, Eastern Range, Marandoo and Yandicoogina are transported as lump and fines ore product from the mines to Dampier via
Rotherham Main Colliery was situated in Canklow, about 0.5 miles south of Rotherham town centre in the Rother Valley. The area was the site of an ancient crossing of the river set below the crag on which were Canklow Woods, an ancient woodland area.
The first shaft was commenced in 1890 with the pit going into production in 1894. The owners of the colliery and later the coke ovens and by-products plant were Sheffield-based steel makers John Brown and Company who also built houses for their workers and a school for the children of the colliers.
An accident occurred in 1891 when 8 miners fell 60 feet (18 m) from their wooden platform.
The colliery had problems, the area was prone to flooding but prior to World War I it employed around 2,000 miners. Following the General Strike in 1926 the colliery was virtually closed and needed just 300 employees to maintain it.
The colliery closed in 1954 and nowadays there are no signs of its existence, the last of what did remain being swept away under a road scheme which followed the Rother Valley linking the town's relief road to the M1 via Rother Way to Junction 33.
The colliery was linked to the main railway network by a branch line from the
Stockton Mine, on the Stockton Coal Field, is New Zealand's largest opencast mining operation. The entrance to the mine is at the former settlement of Stockton.
The mine is operated by Solid Energy, who obtained the Stockton Coal Mining Licence (CML) in 1987 for a period of 40 years. The coal field is situated between 5 to 10 kilometres linear distance south west of Stockton. The southernmost part of the coal field is only 5km away from the historic mining town of Denniston. The elevation of the coal field varies between 500 and 1100m above sea level.
The extracted coal is transported from the mine to an aerial ropeway near Stockton. The coal is transported to Ngakawau using this ropeway, doing away with the dangerous railway operation that plagued the Millerton and Denniston Inclines. From Ngakawau, most of the coal is transported by rail to Lyttelton, where it is exported via ship to steel makers in Japan, India, China, South Africa and Brazil. Parcels of coal are barged from Westport to Port Kembla, New South Wales in Australia.
While the Stockton mining has created local jobs, the environmental impact has created some resistance against extending the operation to include the
Waleswood Colliery was a coal mine situated between Swallownest and Wales Bar, near Rotherham, South Yorkshire, England. The colliery was adjacent to the Rotherham to Clowne road and the main line of the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire Railway about 2 miles east of Woodhouse.
The first shaft was sunk in the 1880s when the colliery was owned by Skinner and Holford Limited. In 1947 the colliery and its associated by-product plant passed to the National Coal Board, the colliery being closed the following year. As the collieries in the area became inter-connected it was retained as a pumping station. The coke ovens and by-products plant closed in 1962.
Many of the colliery buildings have been retained and now form the basis of an industrial estate.
Read more about Waleswood Colliery and its neighbours Kiveton Park and West Kiveton at http://www.kivetonwaleshistory.co.uk
During its lifetime the colliery had four steam locomotives, never more than two at any one time.
Download Alan Rowles' 'Railways of Kiveton and Wales' at http://www.kivetonwaleshistory.co.uk/#sections/publications/ and see photos of the Waleswood locomotives in the site's photo archive.
East of Sheffield by
The Wilberg Mine is a mine in Emery County, Utah, operated by the Emery Mining Company and owned by Utah Power & Light. It is most notable for the fire on 19 December 1984 which claimed 27 lives, 18 miners and 9 company officials.
The fire was caused by a faulty air compressor, which was allowed to run unattended in an area that was not fire-proofed.
Abercynon Colliery was a coal mine located in Abercynon, South Wales. Opened in 1889, it closed in 1988.
The colliery was developed at a cost of £270,000 from 1889, by the Dowlais Iron Company, to feed a new steel works in Cardiff. Initially known as the Dowlais Cardiff Colliery, the two shafts were sunk to the Nine Feet coal seam at depths of 740 yards (South - upcast) and 753 yards (North - downcast).
18 men lost their lives during development, including eight on the 23rd of January 1893, and six on the 9th of September 1895. An underground haulage accident on 28th of April 1906 cost the lives of five men.
In 1903 the pit passed into the hands of Guest Keen and Nettlefolds Ltd, at which point it employed 2,502 men. By 1923 the colliery was producing from the Six Feet, Nine Feet and Upper Four Feet seams, employing 2,794 men. In 1931 it was taken over by Welsh Associated Collieries, who were absorbed into Powell Duffryn Company Ltd. in 1936.
Post World War II, nationalisation took place on 1 January 1947, but the returning miners wanted better conditions, and many choose to commute to work at the newly developed Treforest Trading Estate. Now only employing 1,100 men, the vacancies
Albion Colliery was a coal mine in South Wales Valleys, located in the village of Cilfynydd, one mile north of Pontypridd.
The Albion Steam Coal Co. began sinking in 1884 at Ynyscaedudwg Farm. Its two shafts opened in August 1887; 19 feet in diameter, they were sunk 33 yards apart to a depth of 646 yards.
Tragedy struck the colliery with mining accidents three times in just ten years:
Albion was the scene of the second worst disaster in the South Wales Coalfield, after the later disaster at the Universal Colliery at Senghenydd in 1913.
At 4 o'clock on Saturday 23 June 1894, a massive explosion on the Groves level caused by the ignition of coal dust following an explosion of firedamp, killed 290 men and boys. Of the 125 horses underground, only 2 survived. Despite 16 men emerging from the disaster with their lives, only five of these survived.
The bodies brought to the surface were initially assessed and stored in the colliery's stable hayloft, that acted as a temporary morgue. Many were so badly mutilated that identification was virtually impossible, and there was several instances of corpses being carried to the wrong houses. Another source of confusion was that nobody knew the
Berbeşti Coal Mine is an open-pit mining exploitation, one of the largest in Romania located in Berbeşti, Vâlcea County. The legal entity managing the Berbeşti mine is the National Company of Lignite Oltenia which was set up in 1997.
The exploitation has four open pits Seciuri, Olteţ, Berbeşti-Vest, Panga that produced 2.5 million tonnes of lignite in 2008. The mine has around 1,800 workers and is endowed with 13 bucket-wheel excavators, seven spreaders, one mixed machine and five deposits spreader. The total proven recoverable reserves of the mine amount to 67 million tonnes of lignite.
The Big Bell Gold Mine is a gold mine located at Big Bell, 24 km north-west of Cue, Western Australia. The mine was owned and operated by Harmony Gold at the time of its closure in June 2003, having produced 2.6 million ounces of gold during its lifetime, but was sold to Aragon Resources Limited in January 2010.
The mine was, for a short time in 2008, owned by Monarch Gold Mining Company Ltd, who went into administration in June 2008. Big Bell never entered production under Monarch's ownership.
The historical Big Bell mine produced 730,000 ounces of gold at 4.04 g/t from 1904 to 1955. The mine was a very big, low grade ore deposit at Paton's Find, and was developed by the Premier Gold Mining Company in the 1930s. With the closure of the mine in the mid-1950s, the town of Big Bell declined and was virtually deserted.
The mine reopened in the 1980s, then owned jointly by ACM Limited and Placer Pacific, having been described as Australia's biggest unexploited gold deposit at the time.
The mine was later owned by Normandy Mining, until October 1999, when New Hampton Goldfields Limited acquired Big Bell for A$12 million in cash and A$17 million in shares. New Hampton was taken over by
Boroo Gold Mine is an open-pit gold mining site in Mongolia located about 110 km (70 mi) WNW of the capital Ulaanbaatar in Bayangol and Mandal sums (districts) of Selenge Province in northern Mongolia. Gatsuurt Gold Mine is 35 E from Boroo Gold Mine.
Boroo is owned by the Canadian mining company, Centerra Gold Inc.. It began commercial production in March 2004 and produced more than 1.5 million ounces (46 t) of gold through the end of 2010. The Boroo mine was the first hard-rock gold mine established in Mongolia and the largest foreign investment in the country at the time it began production. Boroo is estimated to have increased the entire country's GDP by 5-7%.
Brooketon Colliery was one of the underground coal mines in Brunei. It is no longer in production and has reverted to its natural state (i.e. overgrown with secondary forest).
The Brooketon Colliery is located in Serasa. It is located to the north of the roundabout where Jalan Muara meets the Muara Tutong Highway about one and a half miles away from Muara Town centre.
Coal was first reported in Brunei Darussalam near Muara as early as 1837. in Serai Pimping. The Muara coalmine was first mined commercially in 1883, when William Cowie was given the concession rights to mine the coal in exchange for $1,200 per year. However, Cowie later sold his rights to Rajah Charles Brooke and the Rajah renamed the mine Brooketon (Brooke Town). Between 1889 to 1924, it was operated by the Sarawak government of Rajah Charles Brooke. Annual exports of coal varied between 10,000 to 25,000 tons annually and in those 33 years of operation, more than 650,000 tons were exported. At first it was opencast until it became harder and underground mining was introduced.
Brooketon Colliery was strategic as it was very near to Muara where then and now there is a safe deep-water anchorage to which the mine was
East Wheal Rose was a metalliferous mine about a kilometre south east of the village of St Newlyn East, which is about 5 km inland from Newquay on the north Cornwall coast, United Kingdom. The country rock at the mine was killas and its main produce was lead ore (galena), but as is usual when mining this mineral, commercial quantities of silver and zinc were also found and sold.
The two main lodes, called Middleton's Lode and East Lode, trended north-south. The ore they contained was in places very soft and loose and the killas was also not a particularly strong rock, necessitating extensive underground timbering, particularly in the shafts. Records show that the mine had more than twenty shafts on the two lodes, and the deepest workings were at 150 fathoms (900 ft).
The mine was sited in the valley of a small stream at the point where it opens out into a natural bowl and is virtually surrounded by hills. The outlet from this bowl is through a narrow ravine through which the stream flows into the River Gannel. Just after noon on 9 July 1846 there was an unusually heavy thunderstorm which lasted an hour and a quarter. Captain Middleton, the mine manager, reported that within five
Eylesbarrow mine was a tin mine on Dartmoor, Devon, England that was active during the first half of the 19th century. In its early years it was one of the largest and most prosperous of the Dartmoor tin mines, along with Whiteworks and the Birch Tor and Vitifer mines. Its name has several variant spellings, such as Eylesburrow, Ailsborough, Ellisborough, Hillsborough etc. It was also known as Wheal Ruth for a short period around 1850. The extensive remains lie to the north of the River Plym, less than a mile north-east of Drizzlecombe, on the southern shoulder of the hill called Eylesbarrow on top of which are two prominent Bronze Age barrows.
The country rock of the mine is granite. The large mining sett (about 3 miles by 2 miles) is crossed by many tin-bearing lodes which are substantially vertical and trend east-north-east. Most of the mine's excavations were made into just three of these lodes and were relatively shallow. The formation of the lodes was accompanied by extensive metasomatism which converted much of the plagioclase feldspar in the surrounding granite into the soft mineral kaolinite, and made excavation easier than it would have been in unaltered rock.
The Hastings Mine is a mineral extraction site approximately 4.5 miles (7.2 km) northeast of the city of Vallejo, Solano County, California. The Hastings site on Sulfur Springs Mountain was used for extraction of cinnabar until the year 1930. The Hastings Mine is classified as a medium priority mine from the standpoint of environmental oversight. In the last inspection of the Hastings Mine in 1997, sediments in a drainage below the mine were found to contain ten parts per million of mercury; furthermore, spring water below the mine exhibited a water concentration of .31 micrograms per liter (a violation of the State of California standard for receiving waters of .05 micrograms per liter). Miles of underground shafts were driven in the course of working the quicksilver deposits in the area. In 1989, Earth Metrics reviewed old 1918 maps of workings of the Hastings and St. John's Mines and found that mine shafts were not driven into the site prior to the year 1918.
Principal ongoing impact is from mercury contamination of spring water flowing beneath the site; moreover, historical analysis has shown that the volume of spring water itself has been greatly reduced from levels of a
Manvers Main Colliery was a coal mine, sunk on land belonging to the Earl Manvers and was situated on the northern edge of the township of Wath-upon-Dearne, between that town and Mexborough, in the Dearne Valley, South Yorkshire, England. Within the complex was the Regional headquarters and laboratories of British Coal.
Manvers was, in fact, a complex of collieries, the original sinkings being known as "Old Manvers", the later sinkings as "New Manvers", and a coke and by-products plant. The first shaft was sunk in the late 19th century and this was followed by the second shaft, sunk between 1900 and 1901, and later a third shaft was added.
The Manvers Main Colliery Company was also responsible, in 1911, for the sinking of two shafts at Barnburgh, a village about two miles north east. The collieries were connected by a private railway.
Between 1920 and 1934, the manager of the coke-oven, washery and brickworks departments at Manvers Main was Cornelius Finn, who during this period (1923-24) was also president of the Coke Oven Managers Association.
On 4 March 1945, the colliery suffered an accident which caused the death of five underground workers. The cause was an explosion of
Oakdale Colliery was a coal mine located in the Sirhowy Valley, one of the valleys of South Wales.
In the early years of the twentieth century the need for coal was growing both in America and Europe, and local business men in Wales were looking for new opportunities to fill the demand.
Among these were a group known as the Tredegar Iron and Coal Company, made up of wealthy industrialists from the Maclaren, Markham, Pochin, Whitworth and Wyllie families. They decided to create a group of collieries in the Sirhowy Valley, which explorations had told them contained rich seams of " black gold." One of these was at the small rural hamlet of Rhiw Syr Dafydd.
Work began clearing the site for the new colliery at Ty Mellyn, Oakdale, with the sinking of the pit in 1907. Waterloo shaft followed in 1911.
The shafts, North (upcast), and South, were 626 and 650 yards deep respectively, and were the largest diameter shafts in South Wales at the time.
Opened in 1911, the colliery was owned by the Oakdale Navigation Collieries Ltd, a subsidiary of the Tredegar Iron Company. At its peak in 1938 it employed a workforce of 2,235, when production reached one million tons per year.
Oakdale was linked
The Rolling Mill Mine was a drift portal coal mine in operation in Johnstown, Cambria County, Pennsylvania, operating from approximately 1856 until 1931. It was originally owned by the Cambria Iron Company and was developed in the Westmont hillside across the Conemaugh River from the company's rolling mill. Its portal was near the confluence of the Stonycreek River and Little Conemaugh River. It supplied the bulk of the coal used in the iron and steel making taking place in the city, producing an average of 3,000 tons a day in 1902, and primarily employed recent immigrants from Central and Eastern Europe.
On Thursday, July 10, 1902, at approximately 11:00 a.m., a powerful explosion occurred in the Klondike section of the mine, and ultimately 112 miners, 84 of whom were immigrants from England, Poland and Slovakia, lost their lives. The explosion was attributed to what miners refer to as firedamp, a methane gas mixture. Killed immediately were those miners working in the Klondike section. Many other miners, as well as the vast majority of mine animals, were killed by an asphyxiating gas called afterdamp that spread through the mine as they fled to the Millcreek Portal, several
Rubislaw Quarry was opened in 1740 and is located at the Hill of Rubislaw in the west end of the Scottish city of Aberdeen. In 1778, Aberdeen city council sold it to a businessman, as it was not thought to be a source of good building material. However, over the next 200 years, an estimated six million tonnes of granite were excavated from the quarry, giving Aberdeen the name of 'The Granite City'. Rubislaw Quarry is one of the biggest man-made holes in Europe.
John Smith and Archibald Simpson were architects who constructed some of Aberdeen's best known buildings from granite in the early 19th century. Waterloo Bridge in London, the terrace of the Houses of Parliament and the Forth Rail Bridge were also constructed with granite from Aberdeen. Matthew Forster Heddle found the quarry a good source for the minerals tourmaline and beryl.
Today, the fine grey granite from the quarry is visible in the majority of Aberdeen's buildings, but Rubislaw quarry has been closed since 1971. Although the quarry is 142 m deep and has a diameter of 120 m it has been neglected and is now filled with water. It has never been marketed as a tourist attraction. The quarry is inaccessible, hidden by
The Samira Hill Gold Mine (fr. Mine d'Or du Mont Samira) is a Gold mine in Téra Department of the Tillabéri Region in Niger. Opened in late 2004, it is the first industrial scale gold mine in the nation, and while operated by a Canadian/Moroccan consortia, the government of Niger owns both a 20% stake in its operation, and functions under government concession. The mine, and the possibility that other gold concessions will follow, is projected to be an important component of future export revenue for the West African state.
Exploitable deposits of gold have long been known to exist in Niger in the region between the Niger River and the border with Burkina Faso, and artisanal gold mining has previously taken place in the area. The Namaga concession upon which the Mine was built, is hoped to be the first mine to produce gold from the Tera greenstone belt which surrounds Koma Bangou, the country’s largest artisanal mining site. Koma Bangou was first discovered by ONAREM (l'Office National des Resources Minieres, the Nigerien government's mining company) in 1985.
The mine is operated by Moroccan headquartered SML (Societe des Mines du Liptako), a joint venture between Canadian Societe
The Shannopin mine was located in Greene County, Pennsylvania in the area of Bobtown which is in Dunkard Township. It roughly covered 8,200 acres (33 km) and mined the Pittsburgh coal seam from 1926 until 1993. It closed in 1993 and is currently in bond forfeiture status with Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection.
Currently, the mine is filling with water which is resulting in an acid mine drainage discharge into Dunkard Creek. The mine pool in the Shannopin Mine is rising at over one foot per month. In addition, the grounds are used as a dumping location by local people and seems to be an open location.
Şotânga Coal Mine is an open-pit mining exploitation, one of the largest in Romania located in Şotânga, Dâmboviţa County with estimated coal reserves of 5.01 million tonnes. The legal entity managing the Şotânga mine is the Ploieşti National Coal Company which was set up in 1957.
The Sunrise Dam Gold Mine is located 55 km south of Laverton, Western Australia. It is fully owned by AngloGold Ashanti. In 2007, it accounted for 11% of the company's production.
The mine is currently the company's only Australian operation. A second Australian project, the Tropicana Gold Mine, is in development and scheduled to open in 2013.
The gold deposit at Sunrise Dam was discovered in August 1988 and gold mining operations started in 1995, mining ore in an open pit, the Mega Pit, which, in 2008, had reached a depth of 440 metres. In March 1997, the first gold was poured at the mine. In 1999, AngloGold acquired the mine through a takeover of Acacia Resources Ltd, a move that also gained it a 33% stake in the Boddington project, which it sold in early 2009 for $1.5 billion. Acacia, formerly Billiton PLC, was delisted from the Australian Stock Market on 11 January 2000.
In 2003, underground operations commenced.
In 2006, AngloGold signed a contract for conversion of its diesel power generators to liquefied natural gas as a cost-saving matter as well as to protect the environment.
In the June quarter of 2009, the mine produced 94,000 ounces of gold, a slight reduction to the
The Tarmoola Gold Mine is a gold mine located 29 km north-west of Leonora, Western Australia. The mine has been placed in care and maintenance since September 2004, when a pit wall failure forced its closure.
It is owned by St Barbara Limited. Apart from Tarmoola, St Barbara also operates the Marvel Loch Gold Mine and the Gwalia Gold Mine.
All three mines were previously owned by the now defunct mining company Sons of Gwalia Limited. Sons of Gwalia went into administration on 30 August 2004 and the company's gold mining operations were sold to St Barbara in March 2005 for A$38 Million, having been valued by the Sons of Gwalia directors at A$120 Million. While Marvel Loch was operational before and after the sale, the Gwalia mine was already placed in care and maintenance at the time of the transaction. A fourth mine, the Carosue Dam Gold Mine, ceased operation in June 2005 and has since been sold by St Barbara.
The mine, opened in May 1990, was discovered and developed by Mount Edon Mines until April 1997, when it was taken over by jointly by Camelot Resources and the Teck Corporation through Reachwest Pty Ltd for A$158 million.
Camelot Resources was renamed Pacmin Mining in June
The Tömörtiin Ovoo Zinc Mine (Mongolian: Төмөртийн овоо, heap of iron) is a mining and dressing plant in the Sükhbaatar sum (district) of Sükhbaatar Province in eastern Mongolia. This mine is 40 km W from the sum center and 13 km N from the province capital Baruun-Urt.
It was officially put into production on August 28, 2005, with 300,000 tons ore dressed and 80,000 tons zinc concentrate produced per year. Zinc concentrate is transported from the mining site to the transfer railway station Sainshand and exported via the Trans-Mongolian Railway.
It was calculated in 1980 that the deposit possesses 70,572,290 tons of ore with an average grade of 13.67% of zinc by B+C reserve category which is equivalent to 1,034,860 tons of metallic zinc. In 1997 the Mongolian company Metallimpex LLC and China-based NFC entered into a Cooperation Agreement to jointly mine the deposit and established Tsairt Mineral LLC, a Mongol-Chinese Joint Venture.
Warren House Colliery was a coal mine situated to the north of Rawmarsh, near Rotherham, South Yorkshire, England.
The colliery, within lands owned by Earl Fitzwilliam was opened in the early 19th century and closed in, or shortly after, the First World War. The pit was leased to Wakefield-based agents J. J. Charlesworth & Company. The colliery was connected underground with two other local Charlesworth pits, Warren Vale Colliery and Kilnhurst Colliery.
Some remains of the colliery buildings and one of the spoil heaps still remain after almost 100 years after closure.