Top List Curated by Listnerd
  • Public list
  • Nov 27th 2012
  • 1.831 views
  • 619 votes
  • 619 voters
  • 7%
Best Building complex of All Time

More about Best Building complex of All Time:

Best Building complex of All Time is a public top list created by Listnerd on rankly.com on November 27th 2012. Items on the Best Building complex of All Time top list are added by the rankly.com community and ranked using our secret ranking sauce. Best Building complex of All Time has gotten 1.831 views and has gathered 619 votes from 619 voters. O O

Best Building complex of All Time is a top list in the Arts & Design category on rankly.com. Are you a fan of Arts & Design or Best Building complex of All Time? Explore more top 100 lists about Arts & Design on rankly.com or participate in ranking the stuff already on the all time Best Building complex of All Time top list below.

If you're not a member of rankly.com, you should consider becoming one. Registration is fast, free and easy. At rankly.com, we aim to give you the best of everything - including stuff like the Best Building complex of All Time list.

Get your friends to vote! Spread this URL or share:

Items just added

    1
    Pulkovo International Airport

    Pulkovo International Airport

    • Buildings In Complex: Pulkovo-1
    Pulkovo Airport (Russian: Аэропо́рт Пу́лково, Aeroport Pulkovo) (IATA: LED, ICAO: ULLI) is an international airport serving Saint Petersburg, Russia. It consists of two terminals, Pulkovo-1 (serving mostly domestic flights) and Pulkovo-2 (international flights), which are located about 20 km (12 mi) and 17 km (11 mi) south of the city centre, respectively. The airport serves as a hub for Rossiya Airlines (formerly Pulkovo Aviation Enterprise), and as focus city for Nordavia. In 2011 roughly 9.6 million passengers travelled through Pulkovo airport, making it the 4th busiest airport in Russia. Originally it was named Shosseynaya Airport, by the name of a nearby railroad station. Construction began in January 1931, and was completed on June 24, 1932, with the first aircraft arriving at 17:31 that day, after a two-and-a-half hour flight from Moscow carrying passengers and mail. During the Second World War the airport was the frontline in the Nazi Siege of Leningrad. There were no flights between 1941 and 1944. The nearby Pulkovo hills were occupied by the Nazis and were used by the long-range artillery for daily bombardments of Leningrad. The airport was cleared of the Nazis in January
    7.00
    7 votes
    2
    Sera Monastery

    Sera Monastery

    Sera Monastery (Tibetan: སེ་ར་, Wylie: Se-ra; Chinese: 色拉寺; pinyin: Sèlā Sì) is one of the 'great three' Gelukpa university monasteries of Tibet, located 1.25 miles (2.01 km) north of Lhasa. The other two are Ganden Monastery and Drepung Monastery. The origin of the name 'Sera' is attributed to a fact that the site where the monastery was built was surrounded by wild roses (se ra in Tibetan language) in bloom. The original Sera monastery is located in Lhasa, Tibet, about 5 kilometres (3.1 mi) north of the Jokang and is responsible for some 19 hermitages, including four nunneries, which are all located in the foot hills north of Lhasa. The Sera Monastery, as a complex of structures with the Great Assembly Hall and three colleges, was founded in 1419 by Jamchen Chojey of Sakya Yeshe of Zel Gungtang (1355–1435), a disciple of Tsongkhapa. During the 1959 revolt in Lhasa, Sera monastery suffered severe damage, with its colleges destroyed and hundreds of monks killed. After the Dalai Lama took asylum in India, many of the monks of the Sera Monastery who survived the attack moved to Bylakuppe in Mysore, India. After initial tribulations, they established a parallel Sera Monastery with
    6.71
    7 votes
    3
    United Nations Headquarters

    United Nations Headquarters

    The headquarters of the United Nations is a complex in New York City. The complex has served as the official headquarters of the United Nations since its completion in 1952. It is located in the Turtle Bay neighborhood of Manhattan, on spacious grounds overlooking the East River. Its borders are First Avenue on the west, East 42nd Street to the south, East 48th Street on the north and the East River to the east. Turtle Bay is occasionally used as a metonym for the U.N. headquarters or for the U.N. as a whole. The United Nations has three additional, subsidiary, regional headquarters or headquarter districts. These are located in Geneva (Switzerland), Vienna (Austria), and Nairobi (Kenya). These adjunct offices help represent UN interests, facilitate diplomatic activities, and enjoy certain extraterritorial privileges, but only the main headquarters in New York contains the seats of the principal organs of the UN, including the General Assembly and Security Council. All 15 of the United Nations' specialized agencies are located outside New York at these other headquarters or in other cities. Though it is in New York City, and part of the United States, the land used by the United
    6.57
    7 votes
    4
    Coney Island Hospital

    Coney Island Hospital

    Coney Island Hospital is a public hospital located in Brooklyn, New York City. It is owned by the New York City Health and Hospitals Corporation. In 1875, Coney Island Hospital began as a first aid station on the oceanfront beach near West Third Street. Most cases were feet cut by broken bottles. On May 12, 1902, a small wooden building, one and one half stories high, on Sea Breeze Avenue, was rented to serve as an emergency hospital during the summer months. It was called the Sea Breeze Hospital but officially known as Reception Hospital, an annex of the Kings County Hospital. It had 20 beds and facilities for emergency treatment. Patients requiring more were taken to Kings County Hospital, about seven miles away, in a horse-drawn ambulance. Rapid population growth called for a large and permanent hospital. In 1908, construction of a 100-bed hospital was started, north of Coney Island Creek and east of Ocean Parkway. On May 18, 1910, it dedicated. Coney Island Hospital consisted of six buildings, namely; Main Hospital Building, Nurses Home, Employees Dormitory, Laboratory Building, Power Plant and Laundry Building. Population growth continued and so in 1954 the two white brick
    7.33
    6 votes
    5
    San Nicola

    San Nicola

    • Buildings In Complex: Bell Tower, San Nicola, Pisa
    San Nicola is a church in Pisa, Tuscany, Italy. San Nicola is mentioned for the first time, together with the annexed convent, in 1097. In 1297-1313 the Augustinians enlarged it, perhaps under design by Giovanni Pisano (eastern side). In the 17th century the edifice was restored with the addition of altars and the Sacrament Chapel by Matteo Nigetti (1614). The façade features pilaster strips, blind arches and lozenges, and is decorated with 12th century intarsia. The interior houses the panels of Madonna with Child (by Matteo Traini, 14th century) and of St. Nicholas Saving Pisa from the Plague (15th century), canvases by Giovanni Stefano Marucelli and Giovanni Biliverti, a Crucifix by Giovanni Pisano, a Madonna with Child by Nino Pisano and an Annunciation by Francesco di Valdambrino. A covered passage connects the church to the Torre De Cantone and, from it, to the Palazzo delle Vedove: it was used by the Medici gentlewoman residing in the latter to reach the church without walking in the streets. The octagonal bell tower, the second most famous in the city after the Leaning Tower, most likely dates to 1170. There is no proof, but, as in the case of its other more famous
    7.33
    6 votes
    6
    Belvedere

    Belvedere

    • Buildings In Complex: Lower Belvedere
    The Belvedere is a historical building complex in Vienna, Austria, consisting of two Baroque palaces the Upper and Lower Belvedere, the Orangery, and the Palace Stables. The buildings are set in a Baroque park landscape in the 3rd district of the city, south-east of its centre. It houses the Belvedere museum. The grounds are set on a gentle gradient and include decorative tiered fountains and cascades, Baroque sculptures, and majestic wrought iron gates. The Baroque palace complex was built as a summer residence for Prince Eugene of Savoy. The Belvedere was built during a period of extensive constructions in Vienna, which at the time was both the imperial capital and home to the ruling dynasty. This period of prosperity followed on from the commander-in-chief Prince Eugene of Savoy's successful conclusion of a series of wars against the Ottoman Empire. On 30 November 1697, one year after commencing with the construction of the Stadtpalais, Prince Eugene purchased a sizable plot of land south of the Rennweg, the main road to Hungary. Plans for the Belvedere garden complex were drawn up immediately. The prince chose Johann Lukas von Hildebrandt as the chief architect for this project
    8.40
    5 votes
    7
    Auckland City Hospital

    Auckland City Hospital

    The Auckland City Hospital is Auckland's main hospital and the largest hospital in New Zealand, as well as one of the oldest medical facilities of the country. It is a publicly funded hospital, run by the Auckland District Health Board since 2001. Located in the suburb of Grafton, east of the CBD, it has 3,500 rooms and provides a total of 710 beds. As New Zealand's largest hospital, the emergency department alone sees about 47,000 patients annually (over 55,000 as of 2008), of which 44% are treated as in-patients. Colocated with its emergency department is the children's emergency department, which sees another 30,000 patients annually, making the campus one of the busiest in Australasia. The hospital is a research and teaching facility as well, providing training for future doctors, nurses, midwives and other health professionals. Rare or complex medical conditions from all over New Zealand may get referred here. The hospital is closely associated with Starship Children's Health, a separate subsidiary facility on the same grounds, located just to the northwest of the City Hospital. Originally, a timber hospital occupied the Auckland City Hospital site from 1846 to 1877, providing
    7.17
    6 votes
    8
    Stuttgart Trade Fair

    Stuttgart Trade Fair

    Messe Stuttgart is an exhibition centre and trade fair next to Stuttgart Airport, 7 miles south of Stuttgart, Germany. It is the ninth biggest trade fair in Germany. The new exhibition grounds, which were completed in 2007, are right next to the A8 autobahn (motorway). The centre is accessible from Stuttgart Flughafen/Messe station on the local suburban railway network. Buses also travel to the trade fair from nearby Esslingen, Göppingen, Reutlingen and Tübingen. As part of the Stuttgart 21 Project, there are plans to link the trade fair and airport to the proposed Stuttgart–Wendlingen high-speed railway between Stuttgart and Ulm by 2019. Stuttgart exhibition centre encompasses seven standard halls measuring 10,500m² and a high hall with a net display area of 26,800m² which is also designed to cater for sports events and concerts. The exhibition centre also includes a communication and events centre, the Internationale Congresscenter or ICS, which includes a congress hall (4900m²), a congress room (2600m²) and conferencing facilities encompassing 25 meeting rooms. One of the most striking features of Stuttgart Messe is its huge car park which spans the A8 Autobahn. The car park has
    8.20
    5 votes
    9
    Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center

    Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center

    The Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center is a performing arts complex on the campus of the University of Maryland, College Park. The 318,000-square-foot (29,500 m) facility houses six performance venues; the UM School of Music; and the UM School of Theatre, Dance, and Performance Studies. It also houses the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library. The Center operates under the auspices of the University of Maryland College of Arts and Humanities. Opened in 2001, the Center presents an annual performance season of music, dance and theatre featuring visiting artists and student/faculty artists from the performing arts academic programs. In addition, each season includes multiple engagement events – most of them free of charge – that give artists and audiences greater opportunities to interact. The Center also rents performance and meeting space to community groups. The Clarice Smith Center is located on the northern side of the University of Maryland campus, off University Boulevard (MD-193) and Stadium Drive in Prince George’s County, Maryland. The Center is directly across the street from Capital One Field at Byrd Stadium and the 800-space Stadium Drive parking garage. The Center
    8.00
    5 votes
    10
    Esposizione Universale Roma

    Esposizione Universale Roma

    EUR is a residential and business district in Rome, Italy located south of the city centre. The area was originally chosen in 1930s as the site for the 1942 world's fair which Benito Mussolini planned to open to celebrate twenty years of Fascism; the letters EUR standing for Esposizione Universale Roma. The project was originally called E42 after the year in which the exhibition was planned to be held. EUR was also designed to direct the expansion of the city towards the south-west and the sea, and to be a new city centre for Rome. The planned exhibition never took place due to World War II. Most of the area is property of EUR S.p.A., a company owned by the Ministry of Economy and the Rome municipality. The complex was planned to be home to a World Fair to celebrate the twentieth anniversary of the March on Rome and the beginning of the Fascist era. The autonomous agency responsible for organization and construction of the project, the E42 (Esposizione 1942), was created on 26 December 1936. The general commissioner of the agency, Vittorio Cini, presented a list of the most prominent Italian architects available to Mussolini. The list included Adalberto Libera, Enrico Del Debbio,
    8.00
    5 votes
    11
    Keele Campus

    Keele Campus

    The Keele Campus of York University in Toronto, Canada, occupies roughly 1 square kilometer of land and is situated between Jane Street to the west, Keele Street to the east, Steeles Avenue West to the north and Finch Avenue West to the south. The campus itself is located in North York (formerly the City of North York), now a census division within the City of Toronto. It is the largest post-secondary campus in Canada at 457 acres. The main facilities of the central part of the campus are connected by heated walkways for the safety and convenience of students and staff. Vari Hall, primarily given over to lecture halls, was designed by Raymond Moriyama and constructed in the early 1990s to put a "new face" on the campus. The facility is named for George and Helen Vari, Hungarian refugees and businesspersons who helped finance the building. The three-story rotunda has become a popular place for social gatherings as well as a common protest site. Most of Ross consists of faculty offices, particularly of those affiliated with Arts. It was named for Dr. Murray G. Ross, the university's founding president. There are several small classrooms in the lower floors of the building, as well
    7.80
    5 votes
    12
    Detroit Zoo

    Detroit Zoo

    The Detroit Zoo is located about 2 miles (3.2 km) north of the Detroit city limits at the intersection of Woodward Avenue, 10 Mile Road, and Interstate 696 in Royal Oak and Huntington Woods, Michigan, USA. The Detroit Zoological Society (DZS), a non-profit organization, operates both the Detroit Zoo and the Belle Isle Nature Zoo, located in the city of Detroit. The DZS is responsible for the care and feeding of more than 3,300 animals representing 280 species. The first Detroit Zoo opened in 1883 on Michigan and Trumbull Avenues, across from the then site of Tiger Stadium. A circus had arrived in town, only to go broke financially. Luther Beecher, a leading Detroit citizen and capitalist, financed the purchase of the circus animals and erected a building for their display called the Detroit Zoological Garden. The zoo closed the following year and the building converted into a horse auction. The Detroit Zoological Society was founded in 1911, but the zoo's official opening did not occur until August 1, 1928. At the opening ceremony, acting Mayor John C. Nagel was to speak to the gathered crowd. Arriving late, Nagel parked his car behind the bear dens and as he came rushing around
    8.75
    4 votes
    13
    Kulturforum

    Kulturforum

    The Kulturforum is a collection of cultural buildings in Berlin, Germany. It was built up in the 1950s and 60s at the edge of West Berlin, after most of the once unified city's cultural assets had been lost behind the Berlin Wall. The Kulturforum is characterized by its innovative modernist architecture; several buildings are distinguished by the organic designs of Hans Scharoun, and the Neue Nationalgalerie was designed by Mies van der Rohe. Today, the Kulturforum lies immediately to the west of the redeveloped commercial node of Potsdamer Platz. Among the cultural institutions housed in and around the Kulturforum are:
    8.75
    4 votes
    14
    Project

    Project

    A project in business and science is typically defined as a collaborative enterprise, frequently involving research or design, that is carefully planned to achieve a particular aim. Projects can be further defined as temporary rather than permanent social systems that are constituted by teams within or across organizations to accomplish particular tasks under time constraints. The word project comes from the Latin word projectum from the Latin verb proicere, "to throw something forward" which in turn comes from pro-, which denotes something that precedes the action of the next part of the word in time (paralleling the Greek πρό) and iacere, "to throw". The word "project" thus actually originally meant "something that comes before anything else happens". When the English language initially adopted the word, it referred to a plan of something, not to the act of actually carrying this plan out. Something performed in accordance with a project became known as an "object". At school, educational institute and independent work than is involved in a normal essay assignment. It requires students to undertake their own fact-finding and analysis, either from library/internet research or from
    6.50
    6 votes
    15
    World Financial Center

    World Financial Center

    • Buildings In Complex: Two World Financial Center
    The World Financial Center is a complex of office buildings located across West Street from the World Trade Center site in Lower Manhattan in New York City. Overlooking the Hudson River, the World Financial Center is home to offices of various companies including Merrill Lynch, RBC Capital Markets, Nomura Group, the Wall Street Journal, American Express, Dow Jones, and Brookfield Properties, among others. The World Financial Center is owned by Toronto-based Brookfield Properties, except for the spaces occupied by American Express, which is owned by the American Express Company. The World Financial Center also serves as the corporate headquarters for Brookfield Properties, which has its headquarters located in Three World Financial Center. The World Financial Center also has its own zip code, 10281. The building's original developer was Olympia and York of Toronto, Canada. Designed by César Pelli, with Adamson Associates, the complex was built by Olympia and York between 1985 and 1988 on landfill used to build Battery Park City. The fill material came from dirt excavated during the building of the World Trade Center, as well as garbage, dirt and debris. In the September 11 attacks
    6.50
    6 votes
    16
    Palace

    Palace

    • Buildings In Complex: Grand Palace
    A palace is a grand residence, especially a royal residence or the home of a head of state or some other high-ranking dignitary, such as a bishop or archbishop. The word itself is derived from the Latin name Palātium, for Palatine Hill, one of the seven hills in Rome. In many parts of Europe, the term is also applied to ambitious private mansions of the aristocracy. Many historic palaces are now put to other uses such as parliaments, museums, hotels or office buildings. The word is also sometimes used to describe a lavishly ornate building used for public entertainment or exhibitions. The word "palace" comes from Old French palais (imperial residence), from Latin Palātium, the name of one of the seven hills of Rome. The original "palaces" on the Palatine Hill were the seat of the imperial power while the "capitol" on the Capitoline Hill was the religious nucleus of Rome. Long after the city grew to the seven hills the Palatine remained a desirable residential area. Emperor Caesar Augustus lived there in a purposely modest house only set apart from his neighbours by the two laurel trees planted to flank the front door as a sign of triumph granted by the Senate. His descendants,
    7.40
    5 votes
    17
    Royal Lodge

    Royal Lodge

    • Buildings In Complex: Royal Chapel of All Saints
    The Royal Lodge is a house in Windsor Great Park in Berkshire, England, half a mile north of Cumberland Lodge and 3 miles (4.8 km) south of Windsor Castle. It was the Windsor residence of Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother from 1952 until her death there in 2002. Since 2004 it has been the official residence of H.R.H. The Duke of York. The Lodge dates originally from the mid-seventeenth century, there being a house on the site by 1662. By 1750 the small Queen Anne style brick house was being used in conjunction with the adjacent dairy. By this time it was known variously as the Lower Lodge, to distinguish it from Cumberland Lodge, then known as the Great Lodge, or the Dairy Lodge. From the mid-eighteenth century it was home to the military topographer and artist Thomas Sandby (brother of the better known Paul), as Deputy Ranger of the Great Park. The house was then known as the Deputy Ranger’s House. It was enlarged by 1792, and was the home of Joseph Frost, the Park Bailiff, and then of the General Superintendent of Farms, after Sandby’s death. George, Prince of Wales (later King George IV), planned to rebuild Cumberland Lodge, after he had become Prince Regent. He used the Lower
    7.40
    5 votes
    18
    China Pavilion

    China Pavilion

    The China Pavilion is part of the World Showcase within Epcot at Walt Disney World Resort in Florida. Its location is between the Norway and Germany pavilions. Visitors enter the China Pavilion through a large Chinese gate. The courtyard is dominated by a replica of the Temple of Heaven, which contains the entrance to "Reflections of China", a Circle-Vision 360° movie exploring China's history and scenery, as well as a museum containing several ancient Chinese artifacts. The courtyard is bordered by shops selling Chinese merchandise, and two Chinese restaurants. The pavilion is decorated with ponds, crossed by bridges. Chinese acrobats also perform frequently in the pavilion. The pavilion served as the backdrop for the music video of the song "Reflection", performed by a then-unknown Christina Aguilera, from the 1998 Disney film Mulan.
    8.50
    4 votes
    19
    Plum Island Animal Disease Center

    Plum Island Animal Disease Center

    • Buildings In Complex: Building 101
    Plum Island Animal Disease Center (PIADC) is a United States federal research facility dedicated to the study of animal diseases. It is part of the DHS Directorate for Science and Technology. Since 1954, the center has had the goal of protecting America's livestock from animal diseases. During the Cold War a secret biological weapons program targeting livestock was conducted at the site. This program has been the subject of controversy. The center is located on Plum Island, off Connecticut, near the northeast coast of Long Island in New York state. During the Spanish-American War, the island was purchased by the government for the construction of Fort Terry, which was later deactivated after World War II and then reactivated in 1952 for the Army Chemical Corps. The center comprises 70 buildings (many of them dilapidated) on 840 acres (3.4 km). Plum Island has its own fire department, power plant, and water treatment plant. Any wild mammal seen on the island is killed on sight. However, as Plum Island was named an important bird area by the New York Audubon Society, it has successfully attracted different birds. Plum Island had placed osprey nests and bluebird boxes throughout the
    8.50
    4 votes
    20
    The Arts Centre, Melbourne

    The Arts Centre, Melbourne

    • Buildings In Complex: Hamer Hall, Melbourne
    Arts Centre Melbourne, originally known as The Victorian Arts Centre and briefly officially called The Arts Centre, is a performing arts centre consisting of a complex of theatres and concert halls in the Melbourne Arts Precinct, located in the inner Melbourne suburb of Southbank in Victoria, Australia. It was designed by architect Sir Roy Grounds, the masterplan for the complex (along with the National Gallery of Victoria) was approved in 1960, and construction of the Arts Centre began in 1973 following some delays. The complex opened in stages, with Hamer Hall opening in 1982, and the Theatres Building opening in 1984. The Arts Centre is located by the Yarra River and along St Kilda Road, one of the city's main thoroughfares, and extends into the Melbourne Arts Precinct. Major companies regularly performing in the theatres include Opera Australia and The Australian Ballet, the Melbourne Theatre Company and Melbourne Symphony Orchestra. The Arts Centre also hosts a large number of Australian and international performances and production companies. The Arts Centre is listed on the Victorian Heritage Register. The Arts Centre site has long been associated with arts and entertainment
    9.67
    3 votes
    21
    Naper Settlement

    Naper Settlement

    • Buildings In Complex: Martin Mitchell Mansion
    Naper Settlement, established in 1969, is a 12-acre (49,000 m) outdoor history museum accredited by the American Association of Museums that consists of a collection of thirty historical buildings and structures from the Naperville, Illinois area. Many buildings were moved here from their original locations and refurbished in a style fitting of their time periods that range from 1831 when Naperville was founded through the early 20th century. Visitors can come for hands-on activities and tours led by museum educators in period costume. The settlement is situated on land bequeathed to the City of Naperville in 1936 by Caroline Martin Mitchell. The Martin Mitchell Mansion, known to the original owners as Pine Craig, is a historic residence. The 12-room house was built with materials from Naperville businesses and stone from DuPage River quarries. George Martin II was the son of an immigrant from Scotland and made his fortune by taking advantage of local resources. His first venture was agriculture, cultivating a farm and gradually expanding his land holdings to 1,000 acres. Martin then developed a limestone quarry along the DuPage until 1869. He made his riches after he co-founded
    7.20
    5 votes
    22
    Thanksgiving Point

    Thanksgiving Point

    Thanksgiving Point is a 501(c)(3) educational institute and associated museum complex and estate garden in Lehi, Utah. It is funded by contributions, admissions, and profits from its retail operations, and concessions. The current logo is a stylized version of its establishing landmark, a water tower. Like many attractions in Utah, Thanksgiving Point is usually closed on Sundays. Approximately 1.45 million people visit Thanksgiving Point each year. Thanksgiving Point was founded in 1996 by Alan and Karen Ashton. Alan Ashton co-founded software company WordPerfect with Bruce Bastian in Provo, Utah in 1979. The company's financial success gave the Ashtons a desire to give something back to the community. On February 14, 1995, the Ashtons purchased land in Lehi, Utah that was the site of the historic Fox Family Farm. Although initially planned as a place for their family to ride horses and care for farm animals, the goal became to create a destination for the community to enjoy nature and culture. Agricultural practices of the area were memorialized in Farm Country and ancient dinosaur fossils were collected for the Museum of Ancient Life. Golf, shopping, and dining were added for
    7.20
    5 votes
    23
    University of Notre Dame

    University of Notre Dame

    • Buildings In Complex: Alumni Hall
    The University of Notre Dame du Lac (or simply Notre Dame /ˌnoʊtərˈdeɪm/ NOH-tər-DAYM) is a Catholic research university located in Notre Dame, an unincorporated community north of the city of South Bend, in St. Joseph County, Indiana, United States. The name of the university, "Notre Dame," is French meaning "Our Lady," a Catholic honorific salutation in reference to the Virgin Mary, the patron saint of the university. It was founded by Father Edward Sorin, CSC, who was also the school's first president. It was established as an all-male institution on November 26, 1842, on land donated by the Bishop of Vincennes, Indiana. The university first enrolled women undergraduates in 1972. As of 2012 about 47 percent of the student body was female. Due to Notre Dame's Catholic character many Holy Cross priests serve the school (most notably the president of the university), its explicit commitment to the Christian faith, numerous ministries funded by the school, and the architecture around campus, especially the Main Building's gold dome topped by a golden statue of St. Mary, a replica of the Lourdes grotto, the 134-foot-tall (41 m) mosaic of Christ on the side of the Hesburgh Library
    7.20
    5 votes
    24
    Granada Studios Tour

    Granada Studios Tour

    Granada Studios Tour was an entertainment theme park at the Granada Studios complex in Castlefield, Manchester which operated from 1988 to 1999. The park was located in the heart of Manchester city centre adjacent to the Granada House building. The tour attracted over 5 million visitors, but visitor numbers were waning by the late 1990s and Granada Television had to prioritise other economic problems such as the failure of ONdigital. As a result the Granada Studios Tour closed to the general public in 1999 and for good in 2001. The park was the brainchild of Granada producer David Plowright, who had long been interested in developing the land around the Granada Studios complex in Manchester. There was scope to the plans as the studio facilities were only used for filming once a week, allowing visitors and production to work harmoniously. Furthermore much of the land that Granada owned was derelict and underused, with Plowright believing that such land should be cultivated. Plowright's aim was to create a 'Hollywood-on-the-Irwell', a reference to the River Irwell which runs through Manchester. The Granada Group hierarchy which was the parent of Granada Manchester were pessimistic
    8.00
    4 votes
    25
    Mall of the Emirates

    Mall of the Emirates

    • Buildings In Complex: Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates
    The Mall of the Emirates is a shopping mall in the Al Barsha district of Dubai, United Arab Emirates. It was developed by Majid Al Futtaim Properties under the leadership of its CEO, Peter Walichnowski, who was also the developer of "Bluewater" near London, Europe's most successful shopping mall. The mall was designed by the American architectural firm, F+A Architects. Prior to the opening of the Dubai Mall (the world's largest mall), the Mall of the Emirates was the second largest shopping mall in the Middle East, slightly smaller than City Stars mall. It contains approximately 2,400,000 square feet (220,000 m) of shops and the entire mall forms a total of approximately 6,500,000 square feet (600,000 m). on September 1, 2010 the new extension to the mall will open, adding more than 40 luxury stores. In a global perspective, the World's second largest shopping mall, the South China Mall in Dongguan, China, contains approximately 7,100,000 square feet (660,000 m) of shopping space in a complex that totals approximately 9,600,000 square feet (890,000 m). The Mall of the Emirates, saw overall footfall increase by an estimated 1.3 percent to 31 Million in 2010, and Dubai’s second
    8.00
    4 votes
    26
    One Rincon Hill

    One Rincon Hill

    • Buildings In Complex: One Rincon Hill South Tower
    One Rincon Hill is an upscale residential complex on the apex of Rincon Hill in San Francisco, California, United States. The complex, designed by Solomon, Cordwell, Buenz and Associates and developed by Urban West Associates, consists of two skyscrapers that share a common townhouse podium. One tower, One Rincon Hill North Tower, is planned to reach a height 495 feet (151 m) with 45 stories. The other tower, One Rincon Hill South Tower, is 60 stories and stands 641 feet (195 m) tall. The South Tower contains a number of unique elements, such as high-speed elevators for moving residents effectively, and a large water tank designed to help the skyscraper withstand strong winds and earthquakes. Both skyscrapers and the townhomes contain a total of 709 residential units. The building site, located right next to the western approach of the San Francisco – Oakland Bay Bridge, formerly contained a clock tower. The clock tower was demolished shortly after the city approved the One Rincon Hill project. Construction of the townhomes and the South Tower lasted from 2005 to 2008, but was stopped for brief periods of time due to seismic concerns and a construction accident. As the South Tower
    8.00
    4 votes
    27
    Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre

    Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre

    Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre, in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada, is a large teaching hospital affiliated with Dalhousie University. Administratively it is part of the Capital District Health Authority. The current hospital is an amalgamation of four formerly independent hospitals and health care centres; the Victoria General Hospital, the Camp Hill Medical Centre, the Cancer Treatment Research Foundation, and the Nova Scotia Rehabilitation Centre. The former Halifax Infirmary and Camp Hill Hospital had previously merged to form the Camp Hill Medical Centre in 1988. The Halifax Infirmary was established by the Sisters of Charity of Saint Vincent de Paul in 1886 with a new building constructed at the intersection of Queen and Morris Streets in 1903. The Sisters of Charity operated the hospital until it was taken over by the provincial government in 1973. Until 1973, the Halifax Infirmary functioned largely as the city's Roman Catholic hospital. The building was closed when the present Halifax Infirmary on Summer Street opened in 1998; the "new Infirmary" has consolidated all emergency and outpatient services for the Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre, eliminating
    8.00
    4 votes
    28
    Ramakrishna Mission Narendrapur

    Ramakrishna Mission Narendrapur

    Ramakrishna Mission Vidyalaya, Narendrapur (Bengali: রামকৃষ্ণ মিশন বিদ্যালয়, নরেন্দ্রপুর) is a unit of Ramakrishna Mission Ashrama, Narendrapur, which is a branch of Ramakrishna Mission with headquarters at Belur. Started in North Calcutta (Pathuriaghata), India, immediately after the Bengal Famine of 1943, it first served as a home for the poor and for orphan boys. Since its relocation in 1957 to its present site in the southern suburbs of Kolkata, near Garia, it has grown into a huge complex. It has more than 2,000 resident students and occupies about 150 acres (0.61 km) of land dotted with flower gardens, green fields, mango groves and lakes. The completely residential school (affiliated to West Bengal Council of Higher Secondary Education and West Bengal Board of Secondary Education) was established in 1958. Its faculty members, fondly referred to as dada (elder brother), pursue spirit Swami Vivekananda's idea of education being the "manifestation of the perfection already in man." The school teaches students to be independent and self-sufficient, receptive, tolerant, and respectful of nature and instills values and a sense of purpose for the greater common good of the world.
    8.00
    4 votes
    29
    Shaniwar Wada

    Shaniwar Wada

    Shaniwarwada (Marathi: शनिवारवाडा pronunciation (help·info)) is a palace fort in the city of Pune in Maharashtra, India. Built in 1746, it was the seat of the Peshwa rulers of the Maratha Empire until 1818 when the Peshwas surrendered to the British. The fort itself was largely destroyed in 1828 by an unexplained fire, but the surviving structures are now maintained as a tourist site. Following the rise of the Maratha Empire, the palace became the centre of Indian politics in 18th century. Peshwa Baji Rao I, prime minister to Chattrapati Shahu, king of the Maratha empire, laid the ceremonial foundation of his own residence on Saturday, January 10, 1730. It was named Shaniwarwada from the Marathi words Shaniwar (Saturday) and Wada (a general term for any residence complex). Teak was imported from the jungles of Junnar, stone was brought from the nearby quarries of Chinchwad, and Lime (mineral) was brought from the lime-belts of Jejuri. Shaniwarwada was completed in 1732, at a total cost of Rs. 16,110, a very large sum at the time. The opening ceremony was performed according to Hindu religious customs, on January 22, 1732, another Saturday chosen for being a particularly auspicious
    8.00
    4 votes
    30
    Thorntoun house and estate

    Thorntoun house and estate

    Thorntoun School was opened by Barnardo's in September 1971 for children with emotional difficulties aged 11 to 16 years. The school closed in 1990 and Thorntoun is now a Nursing Home. The complex lies between the villages of Springside (North Ayrshire) and Crosshouse, Kilmarnock in East Ayrshire, Scotland. The old Thorntoun mansion house was demolished in the late 1940s, leaving the West Lodge, some of the home farm outbuildings, the stables and the walled garden as 'memorials' to the ancient history of the site. Many fine trees remain from the estate policies and the surviving gardens are very well maintained (2007). An entrance with a slight deviation from the old course has been created to serve the large modern buildings which house the nursing home. In 1823 the historian Robertson describes "Thornton" as being "situated about half way betwixt Irvine and Kilmarnock: the manor or place (palace) is an elegant modern mansion, set down on the brow of a considerable height, overlooking, from amid its fine old timber and more recent plantings, a great expanse of rich country." In 1866 James Paterson, another historian, brought up locally, gives 'Thorntoun' as "This property,
    8.00
    4 votes
    31
    Collins Place

    Collins Place

    Collins Place is a shopping and office complex in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. Built in 1981, it comprises two office buildings (35 and 55 Collins Street) and a shopping mall in between. Also located at 35 Collins Street is The Sofitel Melbourne at level 35 and above. It was initially constructed with the assistance of American Vincent Ponte, the AMP Society and ANZ Bank, the New York firm of Architects, I. M. Pei and Partners and the Melbourne firm of Bates, Smart and McCutcheon as associate architects. Collins Place was built in seven stages, taking approximately ten years to complete at a cost of A$270 million dollars. The complex opened in May 1981. 35 and 55 Collins Street's office buildings were built in the modern style of the 1980s offices. Both towers were built on a square plan at 45 degree angles to the Hoddle Grid. At 35 Collins Street the Sofitel Hotel occupies the top 15 floors. In the Collins Place shopping area theres a food court and cinemas. 35 Collins Street 55 Collins Street
    6.80
    5 votes
    32
    Hindu Temple of Atlanta

    Hindu Temple of Atlanta

    • Buildings In Complex: Hindu Temple of Atlanta - Shiva Temple
    Hindu Temple of Atlanta (Telugu: వేంకటేశ్వరస్వామి గుడి), a temple of the Hindu god Venkateswara, built in 1990, is located in the city of Riverdale near Atlanta, Georgia. Built in the traditional South Indian style, it is frequented by followers of Hinduism in the Greater Atlanta area. The Hindu temple has two complexes - one complex with Lord Venkateswara as the presiding deity and the other with Lord Shiva as the presiding deity. In addition to the presiding deity, both complexes have shrines for other deities.
    6.80
    5 votes
    33
    Rova of Antananarivo

    Rova of Antananarivo

    The Rova of Antananarivo /ˈruːvə/ (Malagasy: Rovan'i Manjakamiadana [ˈruvn manˌdzakəmiˈadə̥n]) is a royal palace complex in Madagascar that served as the home of the sovereigns of the Kingdom of Imerina in the 17th and 18th centuries, as well as the rulers of the Kingdom of Madagascar in the 19th century. Its counterpart is the nearby fortified village of Ambohimanga, which served as the spiritual seat of the kingdom in contrast to the political significance of the Rova in the capital. Located in the central highland city of Antananarivo, the Rova occupies the highest point on Analamanga, formerly the highest of Antananarivo's many hills. Merina king Andrianjaka, who ruled Imerina from around 1610 until 1630, is believed to have captured Analamanga from a Vazimba king around 1610 or 1625 and erected the site's first fortified royal structure. Successive Merina kings continued to rule from the site until the fall of the monarchy in 1896, frequently restoring, modifying or adding royal structures within the compound to suit their needs. Over time, the number of buildings within the site varied. Andrianjaka founded the Rova with three buildings and a dedicated tomb site in the early
    6.80
    5 votes
    34
    Houston Center

    Houston Center

    Houston Center is a retail and office complex in Downtown Houston, Texas, United States. It is owned and operated by subsidiaries of Crescent Real Estate Equities Co. (NYSE: CEI). The three towers in Houston Center have almost 3,400,000 square feet (320,000 m) of Class A office space. The buildings in Houston Center include: Texas Eastern Corporation bought 32 blocks of land in Downtown Houston for $50 million. Texas Eastern razed the existing buildings and proposed building Houston Center, a large office space development. Texas Eastern planned to build elevated walkways, people movers, and underground garages. Houston Center was one of the largest private development projects ever, however only a small portion of the plan was realized, leaving a large swath of downtown Houston covered in parking lots and vacant land. Panhandle Eastern Corporation acquired Houston Center when Texas Eastern was sold to Panhandle for $2.5 billion in stock in June 1989. Later that year Panhandle sold Houston Center to JMB Realty for $400 million; Panhandle planned to use the money from the sale to reduce its debt, which it accumulated from the merger. Panhandle planned to move out of the 900,000
    9.00
    3 votes
    35
    Towers of Chevron Renaissance

    Towers of Chevron Renaissance

    The Towers of Chevron Renaissance are the three–tower residential resort sits above the Chevron Village, a cosmopolitan retail, dining and entertainment complex just meters away from most famous patrolled beach in Surfers Paradise, city of Gold Coast, Australia. The $400 million project of Chevron Renaissance combines Chevron Renaissance Shopping Centre and Towers of Chevron Renaissance has been widely recognized as a major catalyst in revitalizing the heart of the Gold Coast, and it has unique extensive lifestyle facilities, quality permanent and holiday accommodation and a wide range of shopping, dining and entertainment attractions. Opened in October 2000, the Chevron Village has transformed the centre of Surfers Paradise with its elegant and welcoming village–style, cosmopolitan cafes, fashion boutiques and a range of specialty stores along palm–fringed boulevards and central piazza. The architectural innovation in three towers of apartments features city living by the beaches in the sky. Facilities include private theatre, residents' club, health centre, gym facilities, indoor and outdoor swimming pools. The resort sits of three apartment towers are managed by Accor hotel
    9.00
    3 votes
    36
    Drepung Monastery

    Drepung Monastery

    Drepung Monastery (Wylie: 'bras spungs dgon ),(literally “Rice Heap” monastery), located at the foot of Mount Gephel, is one of the "great three" Gelukpa university monasteries of Tibet. The other two are Ganden and Sera. Drepung is the largest of all Tibetan monasteries and is located on the Gambo Utse mountain, five kilometers from the western suburb of Lhasa. Freddie Spencer Chapman reported, after his 1936-37 trip to Tibet, that Drepung was at that time the largest monastery in the world, and housed 7,700 monks, "but sometimes as many as 10,000 monks." Since the 1950s, Drepung Monastery, along with its peers Ganden and Sera, have lost much of their independence and spiritual credibility in the eyes of Tibetans since they operate under the close watch of the Chinese security services. All three were reestablished in exile in the 1950s in Karnataka state in south India. Drepung and Ganden are in Mundgod and Sera is in Bylakuppe. It was founded in 1416 by Jamyang Choge Tashi Palden (1397–1449), one of Tsongkhapa's main disciples, and it was named after the sacred abode in South India of Shridhanyakataka. Drepung was the principal seat of the Gelugpa school and it retained the
    7.75
    4 votes
    37
    Grand Palace

    Grand Palace

    • Buildings In Complex: Boromphiman Hall
    The Grand Palace (Thai: พระบรมมหาราชวัง, RTGS: Phra Borom Maha Ratcha Wang) is a complex of buildings at the heart of Bangkok, Thailand. The palace has been the official residence of the Kings of Siam (and later Thailand) since 1782. The king, his court and his royal government were based on the grounds of the palace until 1925. The present monarch, King Bhumibol Adulyadej (Rama IX), currently resides at Chitralada Palace, but the Grand Palace is still used for official events. Several royal ceremonies and state functions are held within the walls of the palace every year. Construction of the palace began on 6 May 1782, at the order of King Buddha Yodfa Chulaloke (Rama I), the founder of the Chakri Dynasty, when he moved the capital city from Thonburi to Bangkok. Throughout successive reigns, many new buildings and structures were added, especially during the reign of King Chulalongkorn (Rama V). By 1925 the king, the Royal Family and the government were no longer permanently settled at the palace, and had moved to other residences. After the abolition of absolute monarchy in 1932 all government agencies completely moved out of the palace. In shape, the palace complex is roughly
    7.75
    4 votes
    38
    Toronto-Dominion Centre

    Toronto-Dominion Centre

    • Buildings In Complex: Toronto-Dominion Bank Tower
    The Toronto-Dominion Centre, or T-D Centre, is a cluster of buildings in downtown Toronto, Ontario, Canada, consisting of six towers and a pavilion covered in bronze-tinted glass and black painted steel. It serves as the global headquarters of the Toronto-Dominion Bank, as well as providing office and retail space for many other businesses. Some 21,000 people work in the complex, making it the largest in Canada. The project was the inspiration of Allen Lambert, former President and Chairman of the Board of the Toronto-Dominion Bank, with Phyllis Lambert, recommending Ludwig Mies van der Rohe as design consultant to the architects, John B. Parkin and Associates and Bregman + Hamann, and the Fairview Corporation as the developer. The towers were completed between 1967 and 1991, with one additional building built outside the campus and purchased in 1998. Part of the complex, described by Philip Johnson as "the largest Mies in the world," was designated under the Ontario Heritage Act in 2003, and received an Ontario Heritage Trust plaque in 2005. As Ludwig Mies van der Rohe was given "virtually a free hand to create Toronto-Dominion Centre," the complex, as a whole and in its details,
    7.75
    4 votes
    39
    Wat Arun

    Wat Arun

    Wat Arun (Thai: วัดอรุณ, Thai pronunciation: [wát ʔarun], "Temple of the Dawn") is a Buddhist temple (wat) in the Bangkok Yai district of Bangkok, Thailand, on the Thonburi west bank of the Chao Phraya River. The full name of the temple is Wat Arun Ratchawararam Ratchawaramahawihan (วัดอรุณราชวรารามราชวรมหาวิหาร). Wat Arun is among the best known of Thailand's landmarks. The temple is so named because the first light of the morning reflects off the surface of the temple with pearly iridescence. Although the temple had existed since at least the seventeenth century, its distinctive prang (spires) were built in the early nineteenth century during the reign of King Rama II. A Buddhist temple had existed at the site of Wat Arun since the time of the Ayutthaya Kingdom. It was then known as Wat Makok, after the village of Bang Makok in which it was situated. (Makok is the Thai name for the Spondias pinnata plant.) According to the historian Prince Damrong Rajanubhab, the temple was shown in French maps during the reign of King Narai (1656–1688). The temple was renamed Wat Chaeng by King Taksin when he established his new capital of Thonburi near the temple, following the fall of
    7.75
    4 votes
    40
    Seattle Center

    Seattle Center

    Seattle Center is a park and arts and entertainment center in Seattle, Washington. The 74-acre (300,000 m) campus is the site used in 1962 by the Century 21 Exposition. It is located just north of Belltown in the Lower Queen Anne neighborhood. Seattle Center hosts many cultural, music and arts festivals. Major attractions include: Winterfest runs from the day after Thanksgiving to January 1. It is an annual celebration including ice skating, artistic and cultural performances, concerts, student showcases from area schools, storytelling, exhibits and movies. Winterfest also includes the Seattle trademark miniature train and village and New Year's Eve concert. Winterfest includes several collections of performances, such as: Other events include College Performance Series The College Performance Series premiered in the 2007 Winterfest. It features outstanding performing arts groups of Washington state colleges and universities. The project allows high-level college performers to contribute to the celebration, and to showcase the state's university community during the winter season. Seattle PrideFest is the Official Seattle Gay Pride Festival held annually at the Seattle Center over
    6.60
    5 votes
    41
    Aksarben Village

    Aksarben Village

    Aksarben Village is a new million sq ft mixed-use development located on the land of the old Ak-sar-ben coliseum and horse track in Midtown Omaha, Nebraska. There is over 750,000 sq ft (70,000 m) of space for research and business office and 250,000 sq ft (23,000 m) of retail and entertainment space. There are over 500 housing units and a 135 room hotel. There is also a 4.5-acre (1.8 ha) park that features a 90 ft (27 m) tall obelisk. After the Knights of Ak-Sar-Ben turned over the land to Douglas County in the 1990s, the county first tried to keep the horse track and coliseum open, but both failed. The land was then turned over to the Aksarben Future Trust who now owns the land. On June 26, 2005, plans were announced to turn the land into a pedestrian friendly mixed-use development combined with the south campus of University of Nebraska at Omaha, Aksarben Campus, and the already built First Data Campus. Construction began in 2006 and the first businesses began to open in 2008. Aksarben Village is home to some of Omaha's major companies. Blue Cross Blue Shield of Nebraska has built and is occupying a 10-story building that opened in 2010 to house their headquarters. First Data
    7.50
    4 votes
    42
    Ise Shrine

    Ise Shrine

    Ise Grand Shrine (伊勢神宮, Ise Jingū) is a Shinto shrine dedicated to goddess Amaterasu-ōmikami, located in the city of Ise in Mie prefecture, Japan. Officially known simply as Jingū (神宮), Ise Jingū is in fact a shrine complex composed of a large number of Shinto shrines centered on two main shrines, Naikū (内宮) and Gekū (外宮). The Inner Shrine, Naikū (also officially known as "Kotai Jingū"), is located in the town of Uji-tachi, south of central Ise City, and is dedicated to the worship of Amaterasu-ōmikami. The Outer Shrine, Gekū (also officially known as "Toyouke Daijingu"), is located about six kilometers from Naikū and dedicated to Toyouke no ōmikami, the deity of agriculture and industry. Besides Naikū and Gekū, there are an additional 123 Shinto shrines in Ise City and the surrounding areas, 91 of them connected to Naikū and 32 to Gekū. Purportedly the home of the Sacred Mirror, the shrine is arguably one of Shinto's holiest and most important sites. Access to both sites is strictly limited, with the common public allowed to see little more than the thatched roofs of the central structures, hidden behind four tall wooden fences. The high priest or priestess of Ise Shrine must come
    7.50
    4 votes
    43
    First Houses

    First Houses

    First Houses is a public housing project in Manhattan in New York City. The project consists of 122 three-room or four-room apartments in 8 four-story or five-story buildings, and is located on the south side of East 3rd Street between First Avenue and Avenue A, and on the east side of Avenue A between East Second Street and East 3rd Street. The neighborhood at one time was referred to as the Lower East Side, but is today considered to be the East Village. First Houses take their name from their distinction of being arguably the first public housing units constructed in the United States, opening for the first tenants on December 3, 1935. Victorian-era tenements existed on the site before they were cleared to build the project. The project was planned as a gut rehab, with every third tenement building torn down to provide extra light and air, but architect Frederick Ackerman and his engineers soon discovered that the 19th century tenements were too fragile to be reconstructed. So they were torn down and First Houses was built from scratch, employing re-used bricks and dozens of workers on relief paid for by the federal government. According to The New York Times on November 21,
    8.67
    3 votes
    44
    Long Beach Convention and Entertainment Center

    Long Beach Convention and Entertainment Center

    The Long Beach Convention and Entertainment Center is a convention center located in Long Beach, California. It was built on the site of the Long Beach Municipal Auditorium beginning in 1962. The primary venues of the complex include: The Long Beach Arena was the first building to be completed in the complex. Capacities are as follows: 11,200 for hockey, 13,609 for basketball, and either 4,550, 9,200 or 13,500 for concerts depending on the seating chart. The Arena has hosted various entertainment and professional and college sporting events, most notably the volleyball events of the 1984 Summer Olympic Games. For trade shows, the arena features 46,000 square feet (4300 m²) of space, with an additional 19,000 square feet (1800 m²) of space in the lobby and 29,000 square feet (2700 m²) in the concourse. Hanging from the arena's 77 foot (23 m) high ceiling is a center-hung scoreboard with four White Way "Mega Color" Animation Screens. There is an 11 by 15 foot SACO Smartvision LED Wall located on the south end of the arena. Long Beach Arena was the site of the first National Hockey League game involving an expansion team, as the Los Angeles Kings and the Philadelphia Flyers, both
    8.67
    3 votes
    45
    Ravinia Park

    Ravinia Park

    Ravinia Festival is the oldest outdoor music festival in the United States, with a series of outdoor concerts and performances held every summer from June to September. It has been the summer home of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra since 1936. Located in Highland Park, IL, the festival operates on the grounds of Ravinia Park, with a variety of outdoor and indoor performing arts facilities. The park takes its name from the ravines found nearby along the shoreline of Lake Michigan. In 1904, the A.C. Frost Company created Ravinia as an amusement park intended to lure riders to the fledgling Chicago and Milwaukee Electric Railroad. The amusement park boasted a baseball diamond, electric fountain and refectory or casino building with dining rooms and a dance floor. The prairie-style Martin Theatre (then called Ravinia Theatre) is the only building on the grounds that dates back to that original construction. When the park's existence became jeopardized following the railroad's bankruptcy, local residents (for the most part Chicago businessmen) formed a corporation in 1911 to purchase and operate the park. Music was a confirmed summer activity from then on, except for a brief hiatus
    8.67
    3 votes
    46
    Dendera Temple complex

    Dendera Temple complex

    Dendera Temple complex, (Ancient Egyptian: Iunet or Tantere)(19th century English spelling in most sources, including Belzoni was Tentyra). located about 2.5 km south-east of Dendera, Egypt. It is one of the best-preserved temple complexes in Egypt. The area was used as the sixth Nome of Upper Egypt, south of Abydos. The whole complex covers some 40,000 square meters and is surrounded by a hefty mud brick enclosed wall. Dendera was a site for chapels or shrines from the beginning of history of ancient Egypt. It seems that pharaoh Pepi I (ca. 2250 BC) built on this site and evidence exists of a temple in the eighteenth dynasty (ca 1500 BC). But the earliest extant building in the compound today is the Mammisi raised by Nectanebo II – last of the native pharaohs (360-343 BC). The features in the complex include The all overshadowing building in the Complex is the main temple, namely Hathor temple (historically, called the Temple of Tentyra). The temple has been modified on the same site starting as far back as the Middle Kingdom, and continuing right up until the time of the Roman emperor Trajan. The existing structure was built no later than the late Ptolemaic period. The temple,
    10.00
    2 votes
    47
    Kellogg Biological Station

    Kellogg Biological Station

    Kellogg Biological Station (KBS), Michigan State University's largest off-campus education complex, is located in Hickory Corners, Michigan (about 65 miles (105 km) from the main campus). Many of the facilities there were originally built by Will Keith Kellogg of Kellogg's cereal, after whom the station is named. KBS includes nearly 16.5 square kilometres of land and, together with nearby state lands and preserves, allows for large-scale studies by biologists. The National Science Foundation has a Long-Term Ecological Research site at KBS. KBS offers classes to undergraduate and graduate students in biology-related fields, including the Enhancing Linkages between Mathematics and Ecology (ELME) program, which consists of three weeks of mathematics and four weeks of field work. A prominent feature of the Biological Station is W.K. Kellogg’s Manor House. It is located at 3700 E. Gull Lake Drive, Hickory Corners, Michigan. Situated 110 feet (34 m) above Gull Lake, it has spectacular lake views. The Manor House was designed by the architectural firm of Benjamin and Benjamin. Built in 1925, the Manor House served as a summer home for W.K. Kellogg his second wife Dr. Carrie Staines. They
    10.00
    2 votes
    48
    Red Dragon Centre

    Red Dragon Centre

    The Red Dragon Centre is an indoor entertainment complex in southern Cardiff, the capital of Wales. It was originally known as the Atlantic Wharf Leisure Village, when it opened in 1997. The complex features restaurants, cafés, a Hollywood Bowl with arcade amusements, an Odeon multiplex cinema, a casino and an on-site car park. It is located in the Cardiff Bay area, opposite the Wales Millennium Centre. This is close to the A4232 and near Cardiff Bay railway station. It is directly served by Cardiff Bus routes 6 (Baycar) and 8 (via Grangetown, Central Station) to the city centre. The centre opened in 1997 as the Atlantic Wharf Leisure Village. The centre was renamed after the Cardiff radio station, Red Dragon FM, which has since been rebranded as Capital FM South Wales, whose studios are also in the complex. The multiplex cinema was originally managed by United Cinemas International (UCI). However, in 2004 Odeon and UCI were bought by private equity firm, Terra Firma, and the two companies were merged under the Odeon name. Current tenants include Grosvenor Casinos, Bella Italia, Hollywood Bowl, Odeon, Capital FM South Wales, Chiquito, Travelodge and Pizza Hut
    10.00
    2 votes
    49
    Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex & Expo Center

    Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex & Expo Center

    • Buildings In Complex: Pennsylvania State Farm Show Arena
    Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex & Expo Center is a large exhibition center and indoor arena in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. It is primarily used for concerts, agricultural exhibitions, the Pennsylvania Farm Show, and indoor football. The complex also hosts more than 200 other exhibits and trade shows every year. The Farm Show Complex is 60 acres (240,000 m), houses 24 acres (97,000 m) under roof, spread throughout 11 buildings including three arenas. The complex consists of the following components: The North, Northeast, Northwest and West Halls add another 187,600 square feet (17,430 m) of space. A large equine barn serves the Equine Arena. The Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex & Expo Center hosted the Harrisburg Heat of the Major Indoor Soccer League from 1991–2003, and the Harrisburg Hammerheads of the Continental Basketball Association from 1994-1995. In 2009, the Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex & Expo Center began hosting the Harrisburg Stampede of the American Indoor Football Association. In 2012 the Harrisburg Heat of the Professional Arena Soccer League will return to the Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex & Expo Center to play their home games. On February 3rd, 2012, there was a fatal
    5.50
    6 votes
    50
    Abu Simbel

    Abu Simbel

    The Abu Simbel temples are two massive rock temples in Abu Simbel (أبو سمبل in Arabic) in Nubia, southern Egypt. They are situated on the western bank of Lake Nasser, about 230 km southwest of Aswan (about 300 km by road). The complex is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site known as the "Nubian Monuments," which run from Abu Simbel downriver to Philae (near Aswan). The twin temples were originally carved out of the mountainside during the reign of Pharaoh Ramesses II in the 13th century BC, as a lasting monument to himself and his queen Nefertari, to commemorate his alleged victory at the Battle of Kadesh, and to intimidate his Nubian neighbors. However, the complex was relocated in its entirety in 1968, on an artificial hill made from a domed structure, high above the Aswan High Dam reservoir. The relocation of the temples was necessary to avoid their being submerged during the creation of Lake Nasser, the massive artificial water reservoir formed after the building of the Aswan High Dam on the Nile River. Abu Simbel remains one of Egypt's top tourist attractions. Construction of the temple complex started in approximately 1264 B.C. and lasted for about 20 years, until 1244 B.C.
    7.25
    4 votes
    51
    Fresno Convention & Entertainment Center

    Fresno Convention & Entertainment Center

    The Fresno Convention & Entertainment Center is a convention center located in Fresno, California. The four building complex was originally made up of three main venues when completed in 1966, and underwent several expansions with the latest additions in 1981 and 1999. Named after former Fresno mayor Arthur L. Selland, the Selland Arena is a 24,200 sq ft (2,250 m) multi-purpose arena with a seating capacity of more than 9,000. The facility is home to the Central Valley Coyotes of the af2 and was home to the Fresno State men's basketball program and Fresno Falcons hockey team. It has hosted various entertainment, concert, and college sporting events throughout the years, most notably WWE's Royal Rumble, WWF Fully Loaded, the 2000 Western Athletic Conference basketball tournament and Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey Circus. The numerous bands and artists that have played Selland Arena in concert include; Metallica, No Doubt, Korn, Garth Brooks, Tom Petty, Hilary Duff, Joe Bonamassa, Rush & Van Halen. Van Halen recorded their 1992 "Right Here Right Now" Live Home Video/DVD concert here over a two night sold out series of concerts May 14–15, 1992. Named after native Fresnan, novelist
    7.25
    4 votes
    52
    Wiener Stadthalle

    Wiener Stadthalle

    • Buildings In Complex: Wiener Stadthalle Hall B
    Wiener Stadthalle is an indoor arena, located in the 15th district of Vienna, Austria. It was designed by Austrian architect Roland Rainer and built from 1953–1958. The arena has an overall seating capacity of approximately 16,000 people. The arena comprises 6 halls: A and B (gymnasiums), C (ice arena), D (main hall, mostly for concerts), E (for smaller events) & F (for more intimate concerts). In 1974, the additional Stadthallenbad, a public swimming pool, was built. The arena hosts an annual tennis tournament, called Bank Austria-TennisTrophy. The arena has hosted concerts by many famous artists, spanning many different genres of music. Sting performed during his Symphonicities Tour on November 5, 2010, along with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
    7.25
    4 votes
    53
    Acropolis of Athens

    Acropolis of Athens

    • Buildings In Complex: Parthenon
    The Acropolis of Athens (Greek: Ακρόπολη Αθηνών) is an ancient citadel located on a high rocky outcrop above the city of Athens and containing the remains of several ancient buildings of great architectural and historic significance, the most famous being the Parthenon. The word acropolis comes from the Greek words ἄκρον (akron, "edge, extremity") and πόλις (polis, "city"). Although there are many other acropoleis in Greece, the significance of the Acropolis of Athens is such that it is commonly known as "The Acropolis" without qualification. The Acropolis was formally proclaimed as the preeminent monument on the European Cultural Heritage list of monuments on 26 March 2007. The Acropolis is located on a flat-topped rock that rises 150 m (490 ft) above sea level in the city of Athens, with a surface area of about 3 hectares. It was also known as Cecropia, after the legendary serpent-man, Cecrops, the first Athenian king. While the earliest artifacts date to the Middle Neolithic era, there have been documented habitations in Attica from the Early Neolithic (6th millennium BC). There is little doubt that a Mycenaean megaron stood upon the hill during the late Bronze Age. Nothing of
    8.33
    3 votes
    54
    Glasgow Science Centre

    Glasgow Science Centre

    Glasgow Science Centre is a visitor attraction located on the south bank of the River Clyde in Glasgow, Scotland. It is a purpose-built science centre composed of three principal buildings which are the Science Mall, an IMAX cinema and the Glasgow Tower. The Scottish tourist board, VisitScotland, awarded Glasgow Science Centre, located in the Clyde Waterfront Regeneration area, a five star rating in the visitor attraction category. As well as its main location, Glasgow Science Centre also manages the visitor centre at Whitelee Wind Farm, which opened to the public in 2009. The IMAX cinema was the first IMAX cinema to be built in Scotland. The single auditorium seats 370 in front of a rectangular screen measuring 62 feet by 82 feet and has the capability to show 3D films as well as standard 2D films in IMAX format. It opened to the public in October 2000, several months prior to the opening of the two other buildings. Opened to the public in June 2001, Glasgow Science Centre is part of the on-going redevelopment of Pacific Quay, an area which was once a cargo port known as Prince's Dock. The architects of the Glasgow Science Centre were Building Design Partnership, however the
    8.33
    3 votes
    55
    Cunninghamhead Estate

    Cunninghamhead Estate

    The Cunninghamhead Estate is in the 21st century mainly a residential caravan park with two private residences near Irvine, Scotland. It was once a private estate, owned by a sequence of recorded families since around 1418. The Mansion House, one of Britain's lost houses, was built in 1747; it was destroyed by fire in the early 1960s, whilst renovation work was being carried out. The old mansion and castle have been lost, however the stables are still a residence, whilst the Gardner's Cottage survive as ruins. From 1964, work was carried out, first to use the estate as a chicken farm and later as holiday and residential, caravan park and camping site, making most of the rural location. Circa 2003 the site was significantly redeveloped to become a residential caravan park exclusively for the use of retired and semi-retired persons. The previous name of the area was Woodhead, the name change to Cunninghamhead taking place before 1418; a charter dated 1346 from King David II to Godfrey de Ross refers to him as being 'of Coyninghamheid'. Cunninghamhead came into the Cuninghame family in the early 15th century when Robert married the Douglas heiress of that estate. From that time on,
    6.20
    5 votes
    56
    Arizona Center

    Arizona Center

    Arizona Center is a shopping center and office complex located in downtown Phoenix, Arizona. Arizona Center was designed by the Rouse Company (on its festival marketplace model, which worked to great success in other cities) and opened in the fall of 1990 to great fanfare and high expectations, as it was considered one of the original components of the ongoing downtown revitalization efforts in Phoenix taking place since the early 1990s. The expectations were high since it was developed by the same firm that created the highly successful Faneuil Hall Marketplace (Boston) and Harborplace (Baltimore). Arizona Center was expected to be a retail, dining and entertainment magnet which would jump-start interest in downtown redevelopment, but some critics felt suburban-oriented Phoenix was not ready to embrace a downtown development of this caliber. To some extent the critics were correct; many of the initial retailers struggled to attract customers, and by 2003, the large second-story food court, similar to those found in suburban shopping malls, was closed and reconfigured into the Phoenix regional office of Detroit-based architectural firm SmithGroup. Critics have also pointed out the
    9.50
    2 votes
    57
    Dubai Pearl

    Dubai Pearl

    • Buildings In Complex: Dubai Pearl Theater
    Dubai Pearl is a 1.85 million-square metre mixed-use development in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, that is currently under construction. It consists of four mixed-use towers connected together at the base and by a sky bridge at the top. The four towers will be 300 m (984 ft) and will have 73 floors each. Construction is set for completion in 2013. The structural design was carried out by Dubai based engineering firm eConstruct* Construction was started in 2008, and the project will cost $4 billion (Dh14.6 billion). Once completed Dubai Pearl will accommodate 9,000 residents and its commercial sector will employ 12,000 people.
    9.50
    2 votes
    58
    Embarcadero Center

    Embarcadero Center

    • Buildings In Complex: One Embarcadero Center
    Embarcadero Center is a commercial complex of five office towers and two hotels on a 9.8-acre (4.0 ha) site located off the Embarcadero in the financial district of San Francisco, California. The Trammell Crow, David Rockefeller and John Portman development was begun with Tower One in 1971, with the last off-complex extension, Embarcadero West, completed in 1989. The 4.8 million square feet (445,900 m²) office complex employs 14,000 people and contains retail, dining, and entertainment spaces, and a movie theatre.
    9.50
    2 votes
    59
    Royal Arsenal

    Royal Arsenal

    • Buildings In Complex: The Royal Laboratory
    The Royal Arsenal, Woolwich, originally known as the Woolwich Warren, carried out armaments manufacture, ammunition proofing and explosives research for the British armed forces. It was sited on the south bank of the River Thames in Woolwich in south-east London, England. The Warren in Tower Place was established as an Ordnance Storage Depot in 1671 on a 31-acre (13 ha) site. An ammunition laboratory (the Royal Laboratory) was added in 1695, and a gun foundry (the Royal Brass Foundry) was established in 1717. By 1777 it had expanded to 104 acres (0.4 km²). Shortly afterwards, convict labour was used to construct a 2.5-mile-long (4.0 km) (approximately) brick boundary wall, generally 8 feet (2.4 m) high. In 1804 this wall was raised to 20 feet (6.1 m) near the Plumstead road, and to 15 feet (4.6 m) in other parts. In 1814–16, convict labour was also used to dig a canal (the Ordnance Canal), which formed the eastern boundary. In 1805, during the reign of King George III, at the King's suggestion, it became known as the Royal Arsenal. By this time, Woolwich was already a busy military centre, with the Woolwich Dockyard to the west of the Arsenal, the Royal Military Academy and the
    9.50
    2 votes
    60
    Cultural Complex of the Republic

    Cultural Complex of the Republic

    The Complexo Cultural da República (Portuguese for "Cultural Complex of the Republic") is a cultural center located along the Eixo Monumental, in the city of Brasília, Brazil. It is formed by the National Library of Brasília and the National Museum of the Republic. Both buildings were designed by Pritzker Prize winning, Brazilian architect Oscar Niemeyer, and inaugurated at the opening of Brasília in 1960. The National Library of Brasília ("Biblioteca Nacional de Brasília" in Portuguese) occupies an area of 14,000 square metres (150,000 sq ft), consisting of reading and study rooms, auditorium and a collection of over 300,000 items. The National Museum of the Republic ("Museu Nacional da República" or the "Museu Nacional Honestino Guimarães" in Portuguese), consists of a 14,500 square metres (156,000 sq ft) exhibit area, two 780-seat auditoriums, and a laboratory. The space is covered with a dome with ramps leading to the entrance. The building is mainly used to display temporary art exhibits.
    7.00
    4 votes
    61
    St. Nicholas Houses

    St. Nicholas Houses

    St. Nicholas Houses is a public housing project in Central Harlem, in the borough of Manhattan, New York City. The project is located between Adam Clayton Powell Jr. Boulevard and Frederick Douglass Boulevard, spanning a superblock from 127th Street to 131st Street. The project consists of thirteen 14-story buildings containing 1,523 apartment units. St. Nicholas Houses, often called "St. Nick," were built in 1954 under the Taft-Ellender-Wagner Housing Act of 1949. When the houses initially began seeking applicants, World War II veterans received priority. The buildings are managed by the New York City Housing Authority. The site formerly consisted of city blocks with small attached homes in poor condition, and existing residents were removed via a slum clearance program. A school is curetnly being built in St.Nick
    7.00
    4 votes
    62
    Warren Wilson College

    Warren Wilson College

    Warren Wilson College (WWC) is a private four-year work college in the Swannanoa Valley, North Carolina, United States near Asheville. It is known for its curriculum of work, academics, and service, called "the Triad," which requires every student to work an on-campus job, perform at least one hundred hours of community service over four years and complete a requisite course of academic work in order to graduate. The college offers classes in 30 different departments with the most popular majors in Environmental Sciences, English, and Outdoor Leadership. Warren Wilson is one of the few colleges in the United States that requires on-campus students to work for the institution in order to graduate. It is part of the Work Colleges Consortium. The college is notable for its surrounding environment with a 300-acre (1.2 km) working farm, market garden, and 600 acres (2.4 km) of maintained forest which provides the community with 25 miles (40 km) of hiking trails. Warren Wilson College went through many phases before becoming what it is today. Its property, situated along the Swannanoa River, was purchased in 1893 by the Women's Board of Home Missions of the Presbyterian Church who were
    6.00
    5 votes
    63
    Al Fattan Marine Towers

    Al Fattan Marine Towers

    • Buildings In Complex: Al Fattan Tower
    The Al Fattan Marine Towers is a complex in the Dubai Marina section of Dubai, United Arab Emirates. The towers are located within Jumeirah Beach Residence, a 40-tower, 7,000 unit residential and hotel development which runs alongside Dubai Marina. The Al Fattan Marine Towers consist of two twin 50-story towers, the Al Fattan Tower, and the Oasis Beach Tower, consisting of serviced and residential apartments which have since been sold to individual investors and homeowners. Both towers stand at a height of 245 m (804 ft) and a roof height of 230 m (755 ft), and are the tallest buildings in Jumeirah Beach Residence. Construction of both towers was completed in 2006. Following completion the developer, Al Fattan Properties LLC built a 12-storey office and retail building on an adjacent plot between the towers and Dubai Marina restricting views of the marina from the towers. In 2012 Al Fattan commenced construction of two high-rise towers on the beach in front of the towers which will largely restrict seaviews from Al Fattan Marine Towers. All Fattan had earlier demolished a 10-story hotel on the site, the Oasis Hotel, which it had built about a decade earlier. Originally Al Fattan
    8.00
    3 votes
    64
    Jewish Museum of Florida

    Jewish Museum of Florida

    The Jewish Museum of Florida is located in two restored historic buildings that were formerly synagogues, at 301 & 311 Washington Ave., in Miami Beach, Florida. The main Museum building, at 301 Washington Ave., was built in 1936, is on the National Register of Historic Places, has Art Deco features, a copper dome, a marble bimah and 80 stained glass windows. The adjacent building located at 311 Washington, which served as Miami Beach's first synagogue, was purchased by the Museum in 2005 and restored in 2007 as a Museum expansion. The Museum’s core exhibit, MOSAIC: Jewish Life in Florida, includes more than 500 photos and artifacts that depict the Jewish experience in Florida since 1763. The Museum also has several temporary exhibits on display each year. The Museum mounts and hosts its own and traveling exhibitions; sponsors cultural and educational programs; houses a Collections & Research Center reflecting Florida Jewish history since 1763; and communicates Jewish history, values and issues to Jews and non-Jews alike in an informal manner. Miami Beach's first synagogue, the original home of Congregation Beth Jacob, was designed by architect H. Frasser Rose and built in 1929 at
    8.00
    3 votes
    65
    Liberty Place

    Liberty Place

    • Buildings In Complex: One Liberty Place
    Liberty Place is a skyscraper complex in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States. The complex is composed of a 61-story 945-foot (288 m) skyscraper called One Liberty Place, a 58-story 848-foot (258 m) skyscraper called Two Liberty Place, a two-story shopping mall called the Shops at Liberty Place, and the 14-story Westin Philadelphia Hotel. Prior to the construction of Liberty Place, there was a "gentlemen's agreement" not to build any structure in Center City higher than the statue of William Penn on top of Philadelphia City Hall. The tradition lasted until 1984 when developer Willard G. Rouse III of Rouse & Associates announced plans to build an office building complex that included two towers taller than City Hall. There was a great amount of opposition to the construction of the towers with critics believing breaking the height limit would lead to construction of many more tall skyscrapers, ruining the livability and charm of Center City. Despite the opposition, construction of One Liberty Place was approved and the first phase of the project began in 1985 and was completed in 1987. When One Liberty Place was completed, it was the tallest skyscraper in Philadelphia. Phase 2
    8.00
    3 votes
    66
    Pacific Place

    Pacific Place

    Pacific Place is a complex of office towers, hotels and a shopping centre situated at 88 Queensway, in Admiralty, Hong Kong. The latest phase, Three Pacific Place, is located at 1 Queen's Road East. The four-level mall is home to over 130 shops and boutiques and two major department stores, collectively offering an array of contemporary fashion and luxury brands. The complex is also home to three five-star hotels, a boutique hotel, three Grade-A office towers and 270 five-star serviced apartments. Pacific Place complex is owned and managed by Swire Properties, with the exception of the three hotels (Conrad Hong Kong, Island Shangri-La Hong Kong and JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong), in each of which it retains a 20% equity interest. Pacific Place was developed by Swire Properties. Phases One and Two were built on land formerly part of Victoria Barracks, one of the first military compounds in Hong Kong. The land was auctioned by the Hong Kong Government during redevelopment and was successfully bid for by Swire. It was purchased in two tranches in 1985 and 1986 for a total cost of US$1 billion. Phase One opened in 1988. The Conrad International Hotel was completed in 1991. Phase Three
    8.00
    3 votes
    67
    Shibuya Mark City

    Shibuya Mark City

    Shibuya Mark City (渋谷マークシティ, Shibuya Māku Shitī) is a facility located in Shibuya, Tokyo, owned by Shibuya Mark City company. There are two buildings, "East" (Hotel side) and "West" (Office side). It was built and opened on April 7, 2000, targeting mainly women, collaborating with Keio Corporation.
    8.00
    3 votes
    68
    The London Studios

    The London Studios

    The London Studios in Waterloo, Central London is a television studio complex formerly owned by London Weekend Television and is currently used for many ITV programmes. The studios are located in Central London and is situated on the South Bank between the Royal National Theatre and The IBM Building. The facilities are the main studios for ITV, with most in-house programming split between The London Studios and Granada Studios in Manchester. When LWT succeeded ATV for the London weekend ITV franchise in 1968, it bought Associated-Rediffusion's old studios at Wembley (now known as The Fountain Studios). These studios were originally film studios and dated back from the 1920s. Although successfully converted for TV in the 1950s, the new LWT wanted its own, new, modern studios and so designs were soon drawn up. The site for the development was chosen beside the new Royal National Theatre on the South Bank of the River Thames. It was purchased in 1969 and construction work, awarded to Higgs and Hill, commenced in 1970 with the centre opening for transmission in 1972, although it was not fully operational until 1974. It was originally called The South Bank Television Centre (a name that
    8.00
    3 votes
    69
    Colleges of the University of Oxford

    Colleges of the University of Oxford

    • Buildings In Complex: Merton College, Oxford
    The University of Oxford has 38 Colleges and 6 Permanent Private Halls (PPHs) of religious foundation. Colleges and PPHs are autonomous self-governing corporations within the university, and all teaching staff and students studying for a degree of the university must belong to one of the colleges or PPHs. These colleges are not only houses of residence, but have substantial responsibility for student teaching. Generally tutorials (one of the main methods of teaching in Oxford) and classes are the responsibility of colleges, while lectures, examinations, laboratories and the central library are run by the university. Most colleges take both graduates and undergraduates, but several are for graduates only. Undergraduate and graduate students may name preferred colleges in their applications. For undergraduate students, an increasing number of departments practise reallocation to ensure that the ratios between potential students and subject places available at each college are as uniform as possible. For the Department of Physics, reallocation is done on a random basis after a shortlist of candidates is drawn upon and before candidates are invited for interviews at the university. For
    6.75
    4 votes
    70
    Gateway Sports and Entertainment Complex

    Gateway Sports and Entertainment Complex

    • Buildings In Complex: Quicken Loans Arena
    The Gateway Sports and Entertainment Complex is a multipurpose campus located in downtown Cleveland, Ohio. It comprises two sports facilities, a transitional space known as Gateway Plaza, and two parking garages. The complex is primarily situated between East 9th Street to the east, Huron Road to the north (although Gateway North parking garage is across Huron), Ontario Street to the west, and Carnegie Avenue to the south. The sports venues are Progressive Field, which is the home of Major League Baseball's Cleveland Indians, and Quicken Loans Arena, home of the Cleveland Cavaliers of the National Basketball Association. The complex is owned by the city and is managed by the Gateway Economic Development Corporation of Greater Cleveland. The organization's board members are appointed by county and city leaders. The ballpark and arena were the first sports facilities in the United States to be constructed simultaneously at the same location. The siblings are connected to Tower City Center and the RTA Rapid Transit system via an underground walkway. The ballpark was completed first, opening on April 4, 1994, as Jacobs Field (now known as Progressive Field). It cost approximately $175
    6.75
    4 votes
    71
    Shaiba Towers

    Shaiba Towers

    • Buildings In Complex: Shaiba Tower 1
    Shaiba Towers is a twin tower residential apartment complex completed in 2008 in the TECOM Area of Dubai, United Arab Emirates. The taller tower, Shaiba Tower 1 is 155 m (509 ft) with 34 stories and 268 units, while Shaiba Tower 2 is 135 m (443 ft), with 28 stories and 268 units . The tower complex has common facilities that include a swimming pool, gyms, sauna, steam and other accommodations.
    6.75
    4 votes
    72
    Woodruff Arts Center

    Woodruff Arts Center

    • Buildings In Complex: Atlanta Symphony Hall
    Woodruff Arts Center is a major visual and performing arts center located in Atlanta. The center houses four arts divisions in one campus and not-for-profit organization. Opened in 1968, the Woodruff Arts Center is home to the Alliance Theatre, the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, the High Museum of Art, Young Audiences and the 14th Street Playhouse. In 1962, Atlanta suffered an unprecedented loss when an airplane, the Chateau de Sully, carrying the leaders of Atlanta’s arts and civic community crashed at the end of runway 8 attempting takeoff at Orly Airport. As the city grieved, it came together and used the devastating loss as a catalyst for the arts and built a fitting memorial to these victims. This led to the creation of the Atlanta Arts Alliance. The Memorial Arts Center, as the Woodruff was originally known, opened October 5, 1968. It was renamed the Woodruff Arts Center in 1982 to honor its greatest benefactor, Robert W. Woodruff. The art center also included the Atlanta College of Art, the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and the High Museum of Art. All three entities were combined into one corporation, then as now, unprecedented in this country. The Alliance Theatre was added in
    6.75
    4 votes
    73
    Azrieli Center

    Azrieli Center

    Azrieli Center is a complex of skyscrapers in Tel Aviv. At the base of the center lies a large shopping mall. The center was originally designed by Israeli-American architect Eli Attia, and after he fell out with the developer of the center David Azrieli (after whom it is named), completion of the design was passed on to the Tel Aviv firm of Moore Yaski Sivan Architects. The Azrieli Center is located on a 34,500 square meter site in Tel Aviv, Israel which was previously used as Tel Aviv's dumpster-truck parking garage. The $350,000,000 project revitalized the area. The Fain Towers are now expected to be built directly across HaShalom Road. The Azrieli Center Circular Tower, is the tallest of the three towers, measuring 187 m (614 ft) in height. Construction of this tower began in 1996 and was completed in 1999. The tower has 49 floors, making it the tallest building in Tel Aviv and the second tallest in Israel, after the Moshe Aviv Tower in Ramat Gan built in 2001. The top floor has an indoor observation deck and a high-end restaurant, and the 48th floor is home to Mr. Azrieli's personal office. Each floor of the Circular Tower has 84 windows, giving the tower more than 4,000
    9.00
    2 votes
    74
    Phipps Conservatory & Botanical Gardens

    Phipps Conservatory & Botanical Gardens

    Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens is a complex of buildings and grounds set in Schenley Park, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States (near the Carnegie Museums in Oakland). It is a City of Pittsburgh historic landmark and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The gardens were founded in 1893 by steel and real-estate magnate Henry Phipps as a gift to the City of Pittsburgh. Its purpose is to educate and entertain the people of Pittsburgh with formal gardens (Roman, English, etc.) and various species of exotic plants (palm trees, succulents, bonsai, orchids, etc.). Currently, the facilities house elaborate gardens within the thirteen room conservatory itself and on the adjoining grounds. In addition to its primary flora exhibits, the sophisticated glass and metalwork of the Lord & Burnham conservatory offers an interesting example of Victorian greenhouse architecture. The entrance pavilion of the Phipps Conservatory has silver-level LEED certification. In October 2003, Phipps announced an expansion project. The first phase, a green engineered Welcome Center topped by a neo-Victorian dome, was designed by IKM Incorporated, and completed in 2005. The
    9.00
    2 votes
    75
    Schloss Eggenberg

    Schloss Eggenberg

    • Buildings In Complex: Eggenberg Palace State Rooms
    Eggenberg Palace (German: Schloss Eggenberg) in Graz is the most significant Baroque palace complex in Styria. With its preserved accouterments, the extensive scenic gardens as well as some additional collections from the Universalmuseum Joanneum housed in the palace and park, Schloss Eggenberg counts among the most valuable cultural assets of Austria. With its construction and accouterment history, it exhibits the vicissitude and patronage of the one-time mightiest dynasty in Styria, the House of Eggenberg. In 2010, Schloss Eggenberg was recognized for its significance to cultural history in an expansion to the listing of the Graz Historic Old Town among UNESCO World Cultural Heritage Sites. The palace lies on the western edge of the Styrian capital of Graz in the Eggenberg (Graz) district. The northern corner of the palace grounds features the Planetary Garden and Lapidarium of Roman stonework as well as the entrance to the new Archeological Museum, which houses the Cult Wagon of Strettweg. The numismatic collection, located in the former rooms of Balthasar Eggenberger, owner of the imperial minting license and operations in the Late Middle Ages, and the show collection of the
    9.00
    2 votes
    76
    UAB Hospital

    UAB Hospital

    • Buildings In Complex: UAB Hospital
    UAB Hospital is a Level I trauma center hospital located in Birmingham, Alabama. It is located in the Medical Center District on the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) campus on Birmingham's Southside. UAB Hospital is a 908-bed facility that provides patients with a complete range of primary and specialty care services. It is Alabama's major tertiary care center and a modern medical complex serving approximately 35,000 patients annually. With 18,750 employees, the hospital is the largest employer in Birmingham and the second largest employer in Alabama. UAB Hospital also serves as the primary teaching hospital for the UAB School of Medicine. Seven UAB Hospital specialty programs are among the nation’s top 50 — five are in the top 25 — of the 16 categories evaluated at America's 5,189 hospitals in 2006 by U.S. News & World Report. With its seven ranked programs, UAB Hospital was one of only 176 hospitals, or about 3 percent of U.S. institutions studied —and the only hospital in Alabama — to rank high enough in even one specialty to make the magazine’s national "Best Hospitals" list. The seven specialties are: rheumatology (6th); heart and heart surgery (14th); gynecology
    9.00
    2 votes
    77
    Hemphill Avenue Apartments

    Hemphill Avenue Apartments

    Crecine Apartments is an apartment-style residence hall at Georgia Tech. It opened in 1995 as housing for the athletes and journalists at the 1996 Summer Olympics in Atlanta, GA as a part of the Olympic Village. Crecine originally cost $13,235,000 to construct and was designed by Jova Daniel Busby. Crecine was originally known as Hemphill Avenue Apartments based on its location and proximity to Hemphill Avenue as was consistent with other apartment style housing on campus. Hemphill was renamed to Crecine in Fall 2008 in honor of former Georgia Tech President John Patrick Crecine, who had died earlier in the year.
    5.80
    5 votes
    78
    Carnival Center for the Performing Arts

    Carnival Center for the Performing Arts

    • Buildings In Complex: The Knight Concert Hall
    Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts, commonly called The Arsht Center, is Florida's largest performing arts center and is located on Biscayne Boulevard in the Omni neighborhood of Downtown, Miami, Florida, United States. It is one of the largest performing arts centers in the United States. The Center was partly built on the grounds of a former Burdines department store; it was an Art Deco building constructed in 1929, predating the Art Deco hotels on Ocean Drive. It was added to the United States National Register of Historic Places in 1997 as Sears, Roebuck and Company Department Store. However, by 2001, the only surviving part of the original structure was a seven-story tower built by Sears, the space's successor. The department store space itself had been demolished. It was decided to preserve the tower and incorporate it into the new performing arts center. The Arsht Center is the headquarters and home of the Florida Grand Opera and Miami City Ballet. The New World Symphony also regularly performs at the Knight Concert Hall. The Center opened as the "Carnival Center" (later to be renamed the Arsht Center in 2008) with a grand opening on October 5, 2006 with many
    5.00
    6 votes
    79
    Brisbane Exhibition Ground

    Brisbane Exhibition Ground

    The Brisbane Exhibition Ground (also known as the RNA Showgrounds and the Ekka Grounds), is a showground established in Brisbane during 1875 especially for Ekka (formally titled the Royal Queensland Show). The Exhibition ground is owned and operated by the Royal National Agricultural and Industrial Association of Queensland. The Ekka is a show held at the Brisbane Exhibition Ground over two weeks in August each year. Because the Ekka is only held over a two-week period each year, other displays and exhibitions are held at the Brisbane Exhibition Ground during the remainder of the year. The site of the Exhibition ground was originally inhabited by the indigenous 'Turrbal' or 'Duke of York clan' who used the area as a campground. The original European name was "York's Hollow". The Brisbane Exhibition Ground was also the site chosen for the people of Brisbane to welcome Queen Elizabeth II and her husband, Prince Philip, the Duke of Edinburgh, when they visited Australia during 1954. It was Queen Elizabeth's first visit to Australia as Queen. Sport has also been a major feature at the Brisbane Exhibition Ground, but is now only home to the Brisbane Bandits of the Australian Baseball
    7.67
    3 votes
    80
    Chelsea Naval Magazine

    Chelsea Naval Magazine

    • Buildings In Complex: Middle Building
    Chelsea Naval Magazine, a set of three buildings (Building 2, Building 3, and the Middle Building) at the foot of Admiral's Hill in Chelsea, Massachusetts, was built in the early 19th century to handle ordnance for the United States Navy. These buildings are on the grounds of what was once the U.S. Naval Hospital for Boston and is now a National Register historic district. The land on which the Chelsea Naval Magazine sits was conveyed to the Bureau of Ordnance by the Hospital in 1835 and transferred back to the Hospital in 1931. The largest building, officially known as Building 2, was designed to securely store explosives and ordnance and was not intended for human occupancy. Building 2 is a rectangular one-story structure, measuring 73 x 142 feet, with exterior walls made of monolithic hammer dressed granite blocks. The roof is hipped, made of iron and timber, boarded over and covered with slate tiles. The windows are small as they were originally used for ventilation rather than light. Building 2 is actually a building within a building - an 1830s structure, without its original roof, encased within an 1860s structure which added the current exterior walls and a new roof. The
    7.67
    3 votes
    81
    Southbank Centre

    Southbank Centre

    • Buildings In Complex: Queen Elizabeth Hall
    Southbank Centre is a complex of artistic venues in London, UK, on the South Bank of the River Thames between County Hall and Waterloo Bridge. It comprises three main buildings (the Royal Festival Hall, the Queen Elizabeth Hall and the Hayward Gallery), and is Europe’s largest centre for the arts. It attracts more than three million visitors annually. Nearly a thousand paid performances of music, dance and literature are staged at Southbank Centre each year, as well as over 300 free foyer events and an education programme, in and around the performing arts venues. In addition, three to six major art exhibitions are presented at Hayward Gallery yearly, and National Touring Exhibitions reach over 100 venues across the UK. Nearby, although not part of Southbank Centre, are the National Theatre and BFI Southbank. This is one of the most popular public spaces in London, part of a pedestrian-friendly stretch of the river extending eastwards from Westminster Bridge, past The London Eye, Southbank Centre, Tate Modern and the new Shakespeare's Globe to the east. In all, Southbank Centre manages a 21 acre (85,000 m²) site from County Hall to Waterloo Bridge, and includes the Purcell Room,
    7.67
    3 votes
    82
    St. Lawrence Market

    St. Lawrence Market

    • Buildings In Complex: St. Lawrence Market North
    St. Lawrence Market is one of two major markets in Toronto, the other being Kensington Market. It was named the world's best food market by National Geographic in April 2012. It features two buildings, both on the west side of Front St. East and Jarvis St. Each building holds different purposes:
    7.67
    3 votes
    83
    Al Kazim Towers

    Al Kazim Towers

    • Buildings In Complex: Al Kazim Tower 1
    The Al Kazim Towers is a complex of two 53-floor towers in Dubai Media City in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. Both towers are to have an equal total structural height of 265 meters (869 ft) and resemble New York City's Chrysler Building. Both towers were topped out in November 2007 and were completed in early 2008.
    10.00
    1 votes
    84
    Boston Center for the Arts

    Boston Center for the Arts

    • Buildings In Complex: Calderwood Pavilion
    The Boston Center for the Arts (BCA) is a 501(c) nonprofit visual and performing arts complex in the South End neighborhood of Boston, Massachusetts. The BCA houses several performance and rehearsal spaces, restaurants, a gallery, the headquarters of the Boston Ballet, the Community Music Center of Boston and several other arts organizations. The BCA also serves as home to four Resident Theater Companies and a number of artists. The BCA's main building, the Cyclorama, is on the National Register of Historic Places. Boston Ballet's headquarters was designed in 1991 by architect Graham Gund. The BCA began operation in 1970 when the Boston Redevelopment Authority, in an effort to revitalize the South End area, designated one city block for the development of a new arts center. The city of Boston purchased the old Cyclorama Building and neighboring brownstone buildings for the project and agreed to lease the property to the newly formed BCA for a nominal yearly fee. The BCA is fully responsible for the management of its historic campus. The Cyclorama, a large rotunda, was built in 1884 by Charles Amos Cummings and Willard T. Sears to house the Battle of Gettysburg, a panoramic painting
    10.00
    1 votes
    85
    CBS Studio Center

    CBS Studio Center

    • Buildings In Complex: Mack Sennett Building
    CBS Studio Center is a television and film studio located in the Studio City district of Los Angeles in the San Fernando Valley. It is located at 4024 Radford Avenue and takes up a triangular piece of land, with the Los Angeles River bisecting the site. The lot, which is not open to the public for tours, has 18 sound stages from 7,000 to 25,000 square feet (2,300 m); 220,000 square feet (20,000 m) of office space; and 223 dressing rooms. It is one of two studio facilities owned by CBS in Los Angeles, California; the other is Television City. The company also previously had ownership of two other studios: Columbia Square and the Paramount Pictures lot. Mack Sennett, a silent film producer and director, came to the San Fernando Valley and opened his new movie studio at this location (at what's now Ventura Boulevard and Radford Avenue) in May 1928. He previously operated a smaller studio on Glendale Boulevard in Echo Park (then called Edendale) where he produced films featuring the Keystone Kops, Charlie Chaplin, Mabel Normand, Buster Keaton, W.C. Fields, and Fatty Arbuckle. After creating the Studio City lot, Sennett in five years was forced to file bankruptcy and the studio lot was
    10.00
    1 votes
    86
    Diamond Light Source

    Diamond Light Source

    • Buildings In Complex: Diamond synchrotron building
    Diamond Light Source is the UK's national synchrotron science facility located in Oxfordshire, United Kingdom. Its purpose is to produce intense beams of light whose special characteristics are useful in many areas of scientific research. In particular it can be used to investigate the structure and properties of a wide range of materials from proteins (to provide information for designing new and better drugs), and engineering components (such as a fan blade from an aero-engine) to conservation of archeological artfacts (for example Henry VIII's flagship the Mary Rose). The facility's name is abbreviated to Diamond throughout this article. Diamond was built at Chilton near Didcot in Oxfordshire, UK, on the site of the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory operated by the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC). It produced its first user beam towards the end of January 2007, and was formally opened by Queen Elizabeth II on 19 October 2007. The facility is operated by Diamond Light Source Ltd, a joint venture company established in March 2002. The company receives 86% of its funding from the UK Government (via the STFC) and 14% from the Wellcome Trust. Diamond cost £260m to build
    10.00
    1 votes
    87
    Eighth Street Apartments

    Eighth Street Apartments

    Eighth Street Apartments are apartment-style residence halls at Georgia Tech. They opened in 1995 as housing for the athletes and journalists at the 1996 Summer Olympics in Atlanta, GA as a part of the Olympic Village. The Apartments are separated into 3 buildings which are known as either East, South, or West. East houses 216 residents, South houses 188, and West houses 248. Together, the Eighth Street Apartments originally cost $24,844,000 to construct and was designed by Cooper Carry.
    10.00
    1 votes
    88
    Hauz Khas Complex

    Hauz Khas Complex

    Hauz Khas Complex (Hindi: हौज़ ख़ास, Punjabi: ਹੌਜ਼ ਖ਼ਾਸ, Urdu: حوض خاص) in Hauz Khas, South Delhi houses a water tank, an Islamic seminary, a mosque, a tomb and pavilions built around an urbanized village with medieval history traced to the 13th century of Delhi Sultanate reign. It was part of Siri, the second medieval city of India of the Delhi Sultanate of Allauddin Khilji Dynasty (1296–1316). The etymology of the name Hauz Khas in Urdu language is derived from the words ‘Hauz’: “water tank” (or lake) and ‘Khas’:“royal”- the “Royal tank”. The large water tank or reservoir was first built by Khilji {the plaque displayed (pictured in the gallery) at the site records this fact} to supply water to the inhabitants of Siri. The tank was de–silted during the reign of Firuz Shah Tughlaq (1351–88). Several buildings (Mosque and madrasa) and tombs were built overlooking the water tank or lake. Firuz Shah’s tomb pivots the L–shaped building complex which overlooks the tank. In the 1980s, Hauz Khas Village, studded with domed tombs of Muslim royalty from the 14th to 16th centuries, was developed as an upper class residential cum commercial area in the metropolis of South Delhi, India. It is
    10.00
    1 votes
    89
    Imperial Citadel of Thang Long

    Imperial Citadel of Thang Long

    The Imperial Citadel of Thang Long (Vietnamese: Hoàng thành Thăng Long) is the cultural complex comprising the royal enclosure first built during the Lý Dynasty and subsequently expanded by the Trần, Lê and finally the Nguyễn Dynasty. The ruins roughly coincide with the Hanoi Citadel today. The royal palaces and most of the structures in Thang Long were in varying states of disrepair by the late 19th century with the upheaval of the French conquest of Hanoi. By the 20th century many of the remaining structures were torn down. Only in the 21st century are the ruin foundations of Thang Long Imperial City systematically excavated. The central sector of the imperial citadel was listed in UNESCO's World Heritage Site on July 31, 2010 at its session in Brazil. Remains of the Imperial City were discovered on the site of the former Ba Đình Hall when the structure was torn down in 2008 to make way for a new parliament building. Various archaeological remains unearthed were brought to the National Museum to be exhibited. Thus far only a small fraction of Thăng Long has been excavated. Among the structures related to the Imperial City is the Flag Tower of Hanoi (Cột cờ Hà Nội). Rising to a
    10.00
    1 votes
    90
    Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts

    Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts

    • Buildings In Complex: Vivian Beaumont Theatre
    Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts is a 16.3-acre (6.6-hectare) complex of buildings in the Lincoln Square neighborhood of Manhattan in New York City. Reynold Levy has been its president since 2002. A consortium of civic leaders and others led by, and under the initiative of John D. Rockefeller III, built Lincoln Center as part of the "Lincoln Square Renewal Project" during Robert Moses's program of urban renewal in the 1950s and 1960s. Respected architects were contacted to design the major buildings on the site, and over the next thirty years the previously blighted area around Lincoln Center became a new cultural hub. Rockefeller was Lincoln Center's inaugural president from 1956 and became its chairman in 1961. He is credited with raising more than half of the $184.5 million in private funds needed to build the complex, including drawing on his own funds; the Rockefeller Brothers Fund also contributed to the project. The center's three buildings, Avery Fisher Hall (formerly Philharmonic Hall), the Metropolitan Opera House and the David H. Koch Theater (formerly the New York State Theater), were opened in 1962, 1964 and 1966, respectively. While the center may have been
    10.00
    1 votes
    91
    Mission La Purísima Concepción

    Mission La Purísima Concepción

    Mission La Purisima Concepción, or La Purisima Mission (originally La Misión de La Purísima Concepción de la Santísima Virgen María, or The Mission of the Immaculate Conception of the Most Blessed Virgin Mary) is a Spanish mission in Lompoc, California. It was established on December 8, 1787 (the Feast of the Immaculate Conception, hence the mission's name) by the Franciscan order. The original mission complex south of Lompoc was destroyed by an earthquake in 1812, and the mission was rebuilt at its present site several miles to the east. The mission is part of the larger La Purísima Mission State Historic Park, part of the California State Parks system, and along with Mission San Francisco de Solano is one of only two of the Spanish missions in California that is no longer under the control of the Catholic Church. It is currently the only example in California of a complete Spanish Catholic mission complex. Mission La Purisima was originally established at a site known to the Chumash people as Algsacpi and to the Spanish as the plain of Rio Santa Rosa, one mile south of Lompoc. (During the mission period, the Chumash spoke the Purisimeño language.) The Viceroyalty of New Spain
    10.00
    1 votes
    92
    Mission San Francisco de Asís

    Mission San Francisco de Asís

    • Buildings In Complex: Mission Dolores Basilica
    Mission San Francisco de Asís, or Mission Dolores, is the oldest surviving structure in San Francisco and the sixth religious settlement established as part of the California chain of missions. The Mission was founded on June 29, 1776, by Lieutenant José Joaquin Moraga and Father Francisco Palóu (a companion of Father Junipero Serra), both members of the de Anza Expedition, which had been charged with bringing Spanish settlers to Alta (upper) California, and evangelizing the local Natives, the Ohlone. The settlement was named for St. Francis of Assisi, the founder of the Franciscan Order, but was also commonly known as "Mission Dolores" owing to the presence of a nearby creek named Arroyo de Nuestra Señora de los Dolores, meaning "Our Lady of Sorrows Creek." and which runs now under the 16th street of present San Francisco. A member of the Anza Expedition, Friar Font, wrote about the spot chosen for the Mission: We rode about one league to the east [from the Presidio], one to the east-southeast, and one to the southeast, going over hills covered with bushes, and over valleys of good land. We thus came upon two lagoons and several springs of good water, meanwhile encountering much
    10.00
    1 votes
    93
    Pinnacle@Duxton

    Pinnacle@Duxton

    The Pinnacle@Duxton (previously known as Duxton Plain Public Housing) is a 2.5 hectare residential complex located at 1 Cantonment Road, Singapore. The project consists of seven 50-storey connected towers, labelled 1A to 1G, with a total of 1,848 units. Unique amongst Housing and Development Board (HDB) developments, these units are designated as special types, S1 and S2, having altogether 35 different unit variations for buyers to choose from - with dissimilar combination of features such as extended bays, balconies, bay windows or planter areas. Pinnacle@Duxton features the world's two longest sky gardens of 500m each, on both the 26th & 50th floor; and all seven towers represent the world's tallest Public Housing buildings. In June 2010, Pinnacle@Duxton was the recipient of the 2010 Best Tall Building Asia & Australasia award by the Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat. On 8 August 2010, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong delivered his annual National Day message at the 51st floor viewing gallery of Pinnacle@Duxton. Also, owing to the sky gardens popularity as an elevated viewing location for 9 August National Day firework displays, entry for the day were publicly
    10.00
    1 votes
    94
    Silliman College

    Silliman College

    Silliman College is a residential college at Yale University. It opened in September 1940 as the last of the original ten residential colleges, and includes buildings that were constructed as early as 1901. It is the largest college in terms of area, consisting of a full city block in New Haven, Connecticut, bordered by College, Wall, Grove and Temple Streets. The older, Indiana limestone part of the college consists of the Vanderbilt-Sheffield dormitories and Byers Hall, both originally part of the Sheffield Scientific School. The Van-Sheff portion of Silliman was built between 1903 and 1906 by architect Charles C. Haight in the Collegiate Gothic style. Byers Hall was built in 1903 and was designed by Hiss and Weekes architects in the modified French Renaissance Style. The newer, Georgian brick portion of the college, which includes most of the core facilities and the Master's house, was completed in 1940 when the college was opened. Architect Eggers & Higgins designed this part of the college. Due to Silliman's size, the college is able to house its freshmen in the college instead of on Yale's Old Campus, allowing first year students to immediately become immersed in the vibrant
    10.00
    1 votes
    95
    St. Robert Bellarmine Catholic Church

    St. Robert Bellarmine Catholic Church

    St. Robert Bellarmine Catholic Church is a Catholic parish on North Fifth Street in Burbank, California. It includes a Catholic church, elementary school, and high school. Founded in 1907, it was one of the first Catholic churches in the San Fernando Valley. Known as Holy Trinity Parish until 1939, it was renamed in honor of St. Robert Bellarmine. The church and school buildings on the St. Robert Bellarmine campus are modeled after colonial American buildings, including Monticello, Independence Hall, Mount Vernon and the library at the University of Virginia. The parish was founded in 1907 as Holy Trinity Parish. The first mass was presided over by Father James O'Neil, then pastor of Holy Family in Glendale, at the Odd Fellows Hall at the corner of San Fernando Road and Olive Avenue. The original church (now the elementary school) was built in 1909 and was the first Catholic church in the San Fernando Valley. By the late 1920s, the parish included all of Burbank, Sun Valley and other areas in the San Fernando Valley. Around the time the parish was founded, Mother (later Saint) Frances Xavier Cabrini obtained 475 acres (1.92 km) in the Verdugo Mountains above Burbank (on the present
    10.00
    1 votes
    96
    Strathmore

    Strathmore

    Strathmore is a cultural and artistic venue and institution in North Bethesda, Maryland, USA. Strathmore was founded in 1981 and consists of two venues: the Mansion and the Music Center. The Strathmore arts complex is connected to an upper floor of the parking garage at the Grosvenor-Strathmore Washington Metro station via an elevated pedestrian walkway, the Carlton R. Sickles Memorial Sky Bridge, named after late Congressman Carlton R. Sickles. The complex is thus accessible for patrons coming from Washington, D.C., as well as the northern part of Montgomery County, Maryland via the Metro rail system. The center's President & CEO is Eliot Pfanstiehl. More than 5,000 artists and 2 million visitors have attended exhibitions, concerts, teas, educational events and outdoor festivals since 1983. Highlights include hosting the first National Kaleidoscope Exhibition, the world premiere of the Rhodes-Nadler Art Collection, the opening of the 1,976-seat Music Center at Strathmore in February 2005, described as “…the best place to hear an orchestra the Washington area has ever known”; and producing the world premiere concert of "cELLAbration: A Tribute to Ella Jenkins". The Mansion features
    10.00
    1 votes
    97
    Marina Bay Financial Centre

    Marina Bay Financial Centre

    The Marina Bay Financial Centre (abbreviation: MBFC; Chinese: 滨海湾金融中心; pinyin: Bīnhǎiwān Jīnróng Zhōngxīn), located along Marina Boulevard and Central Boulevard at Marina Bay, Singapore stands on a 3.55 hectare site, consisting of three office towers, two residential towers and retail space at Marina Bay Link Mall. The construction of the Marina Bay Financial Centre development comprises two phases, with its first phase completed in 3Q 2010. The entire development completed in 2012, except Marina Bay Suites which will attain TOP in 2013. The first phase consists of the office Towers 1 (33 storeys) and 2 (50 storeys), Marina Bay Residences with 428 units and 94,500 square feet (8,780 m) of the retail mall. The second phase comprises office Tower 3 (46 storeys), 84,500 square feet (7,850 m) of the retail mall and Marina Bay Suites with 221 units (which will be completed in 2013). Tower 1 is fully leased to Standard Chartered bank - the anchor tenant occupying 500,000 square feet (46,000 m) of office space - Societe Generale, Baker & McKenzie, Raffles Quay Asset Management and Wellington International Management Company. Tower 2 is leased to multi-national institutions such as
    6.50
    4 votes
    98
    Western Washington University

    Western Washington University

    Western Washington University (WWU or Western) is one of six state-funded, four-year universities of higher education in the U.S. state of Washington. It is located in Bellingham and offers bachelor's and master's degrees. Their mascot is the Viking. Western was established as the New Whatcom Normal School, a teachers' school for women, by Phoebe Judson in Lynden, Washington. Eventually the school moved to Bellingham (then "New Whatcom"), and through the efforts of William R. Moultray and George Judson (Phoebe's son), Governor John McGraw signed legislation establishing the New Whatcom Normal School on February 24, 1893. The first official class entered in 1899, composed of 88 students. The institution that is now Western Washington University has since undergone several name changes. In 1901, the school's name was changed to State Normal School at Whatcom to reflect New Whatcom's name change. Again, in 1904, the name was changed to Washington State Normal School at Bellingham when the townships of Whatcom and Fairhaven joined, and again in 1937, to Western Washington College of Education when it became a 4-year college. Twenty-four years later it became Western Washington State
    6.50
    4 votes
    99
    Amundsen-Scott South Pole Station

    Amundsen-Scott South Pole Station

    The Amundsen–Scott South Pole Station is an American scientific research station at the Geographic South Pole, the southernmost place on the Earth. The station is located on the high plateau of Antarctica at an elevation of 2,835 meters (9301 feet) above sea level. The original Amundsen-Scott Station was built by the United States Government during November 1956 as a part of its commitment to the scientific goals of the International Geophysical Year (I.G.Y.), an international effort lasting from January 1957 through June 1958 to study, among other things, the geophysics of the polar regions. Before November 1956, there was no permanent human structure at the South Pole, and very little human presence in the interior of Antarctica at all. The few scientific stations in Antarctica were located on and near its seacoast. The station has been continuously occupied by people since it was built. The Amundsen-Scott Station has been rebuilt, demolished, expanded, and upgraded several times since 1956. Since the Amundsen-Scott Station is located at the South Pole, it is at the only place on the land surface of the Earth where the sun is continuously up for six months and then continuously
    8.50
    2 votes
    100
    Canary Wharf

    Canary Wharf

    • Buildings In Complex: One Canada Square
    Canary Wharf is a major business district located in Tower Hamlets, London, United Kingdom. It is one of London's two main financial centres – along with the traditional City of London – and contains many of the UK's tallest buildings, including the second-tallest, One Canada Square. Canary Wharf contains around 14,000,000 square feet (1,300,000 m) of office and retail space, of which around 7,900,000 square feet (730,000 m) is owned by Canary Wharf Group. Around 90,000 people work in Canary Wharf and it is home to the world or European headquarters of numerous major banks, professional services firms and media organisations including Barclays, Citigroup, Clifford Chance, Credit Suisse, HSBC, J.P. Morgan, KPMG, MetLife, Morgan Stanley, Skadden, State Street and Thomson Reuters. Canary Wharf is located in the West India Docks on the Isle of Dogs in the Borough of Tower Hamlets in East London. The West India Docks once formed part of the busiest port in the world. After the docks were closed in 1980 the British Government adopted various policies to stimulate the redevelopment of the area, including through the creation of the London Docklands Development Corporation in 1981 and
    8.50
    2 votes
    101
    Fort Totten

    Fort Totten

    • Buildings In Complex: Fort Totten Officers' Club
    Fort Totten is a former U.S. Army installation near Bayside in Queens County, New York. It is located on the north shore of Long Island, on a peninsula named Willets Point. Fort Totten is at the head of Little Neck Bay, which is also the place where the East River widens to become Long Island Sound. While the U.S. Army Reserve continues to maintain a presence at the fort, the property is now owned by the City of New York. Construction began on Fort Totten in 1862 after the land was purchased by the U.S. Government in 1857 from the Willets family. The fort is close to the neighborhoods of Bay Terrace, Bayside, Beechhurst and Whitestone, and it is close to the northeast corner of Queens County, New York. The original purpose was to protect the East River approach to New York Harbor, along with Fort Schuyler, which faces it from Throgs Neck on the opposite side of the river entrance. The fort was named in 1898 after Joseph Gilbert Totten. In 1954, the fort became a Project Nike air defense site. Although no missiles were located at Fort Totten, it was the regional headquarters for the New York area; administrative offices and personnel housing was located at the fort. Fort Totten was
    8.50
    2 votes
    102
    Heart O' Texas Fair Complex

    Heart O' Texas Fair Complex

    The Heart O' Texas Fair Complex, now known as the Extraco Events Center, is located in Waco, Texas. It was once the prime basketball facility for Baylor University. The H.O.T Coliseum was constructed after McLennan County voters authorized a bond issue of $1,200,000 in the early 1950s. Despite public criticism that might be directed toward the board and individual members, it was the board’s unanimous decision to build portions of the entire plant that the available money would permit. The last of five contracts was signed on January 9, 1952, and construction of the Coliseum began soon afterward. The Coliseum, livestock barn, ticket booths and several small buildings were constructed, paving was done and fencing enclosed the grounds. In the spring of 1953, the Coliseum was completed, and on April 11, the formal opening was held. The Coliseum remained home to Bears basketball, and Waco's largest concert venue, until Ferrell Center was built in 1988. All facilities and grounds of the Fair Complex underwent renovations and/or reconstruction throughout the years of 2000 to 2005. The Complex now covers 50 acres (200,000 m) of land containing modernized facilities, 700 stalls, 250 RV
    8.50
    2 votes
    103
    Krannert Center for the Performing Arts

    Krannert Center for the Performing Arts

    Krannert Center for the Performing Arts was built in 1969 in Urbana, Illinois, USA, on the campus of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign as an educational and performing arts complex. Herman C. Krannert, an industrialist (founder of Inland Container Corporation and alumnus of the University) and his wife Ellnora Krannert made a gift of $16 million which made creation of the Center possible. Max Abramovitz, the architect of the Krannert Center, was also an alumnus of the University of Illinois. The total combined seating capacity of the venues at the Center is approximately 4,000. The main lobby, with its teak floor from Thailand at a cost of $1 million and its marble-walls from Carrara, Italy, contribute to the quality of the building. It also contains a gift shop, "The Promenade," and a cafe, "Intermezzo cafe." Artists Joshua Bell, Grammy winning violinist - April 2010, March 2004 Lang Lang, pianist - April 2010 Joshua Redman, jazz saxophonist - May 2008 Zakir Hussain, acclaimed tabla player - April 2008 Kronos Quartet, avant-garde string quartet - April 2008 Savion Glover, noted tap dancer - October 2007 Chick Corea, multiple Grammy winning jazz pianist - April 2007,
    8.50
    2 votes
    104
    Renaissance Center

    Renaissance Center

    The Renaissance Center (also known as the GM Renaissance Center and nicknamed the RenCen) is a group of seven interconnected skyscrapers in Downtown Detroit, Michigan, United States. Located on the International Riverfront, the Renaissance Center complex is owned by General Motors as its world headquarters. The central tower, the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, is the tallest all-hotel skyscraper in the Western Hemisphere, and features the largest rooftop restaurant, Coach Insignia. It has been the tallest building in Michigan since its erection in 1977. John Portman was the principal architect for the original design. The first phase constructed a five tower rosette rising from a common base. Four 39-story office towers surround the 73-story hotel rising from a square-shaped podium which includes a shopping center, restaurants, brokerage firms, banks, a four-screen movie theatre and private clubs. The first phase officially opened in March 1977. Portman's design renewed attention to city architecture, constructing the world's tallest hotel at the time. Two additional 21-story office towers (known as Tower 500 and Tower 600) opened in 1981. This type of complex has been
    8.50
    2 votes
    105
    UB city

    UB city

    UB City is the biggest commercial property project in Bangalore, India. Pioneered by the chairman of UB Group, Dr.Vijay Mallya, in Joint Venture with Prestige Group , it is built on 13 acres (53,000 m) of land and hosts 1,000,000 sq ft (93,000 m) of high-end commercial, retail and service apartment space. UB City has four towers namely, UB Tower (19 Floors), Comet (11 Floors), Canberra (17 Floors) and Concorde (19 Floors). UB City is located in the heart of Bangalore. It stands at the corner of Vittal Mallya Road and Kasturba Road, just 600 metres away from Bangalore's commercial hub, M. G. Road. UB City has four towers namely, UB Tower (19 Floors), Comet (11 Floors), Canberra (17 Floors) and Concorde (19 Floors). The later three towers are all named after aircraft. UB City will house the Group offices under one roof - UB Tower. Concorde & Canberra will have retail space on the lower floors and office space in the higher levels, while Comet will have serviced apartments. It will house commercial offices, banks, high-end retail stores, a five star hotel, serviced apartments, restaurants, food courts, pubs, health clubs and cafes. Multi-level parking areas will offer virtually
    8.50
    2 votes
    106
    Alcázar of Seville

    Alcázar of Seville

    The Alcázar of Seville (Spanish "Reales Alcázares de Sevilla" or "Royal Alcazars of Seville", Spanish pronunciation: [alˈkaθar])) is a royal palace in Seville, Spain, originally a Moorish fort. It is the oldest royal palace still in use in Europe, and it was registered in 1987 by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site, along with the Seville Cathedral and the General Archive of the Indies. The Almohades were the first to build a palace, which was called Al-Muwarak, on the site of the modern day Alcázar. The palace is one of the best remaining examples of mudéjar architecture. Subsequent monarchs have added their own additions to the Alcázar. The upper levels of the Alcázar are still used by the royal family as the official Seville residence and are administered by the Patrimonio Nacional. The name, meaning "The Courtyard of the Maidens", refers to the legend that the Moors demanded 100 virgins every year as tribute from Christian kingdoms in Iberia. The story of the tribute was used as a myth to bolster the Reconquista movement. The lower level of the Patio was built for King Peter I and includes inscriptions describing Peter as a "sultan". Various lavish reception rooms are located on
    7.33
    3 votes
    107
    Annick Lodge and Greenville

    Annick Lodge and Greenville

    Annick Lodge is an estate between Perceton and Cunninghamhead in North Ayrshire, Scotland. Annick Lodge (previously Annack, Annoch or Annock) and estate was built by Captain Alexander Montgomery, the brother German of Hugh, Earl of Eglinton. The lodge stands on the site of the old mansion described by Pont as "a proper building, veill planted, the inheritance of Blaire, Laird of Adamtoune." The 11th Earl had died without male issue so the Earldom had passed to Hugh, son of Alexander Montgomerie of Coilsfield (Robertson 1908). The Right Hon. David Boyle of Kelburn married Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Alexander at Annick Lodge in 1804. Elizabeth, wife of Alexander Montgomerie Esq., died the 13th of February 1839; her beloved daughter Frances died 25th Sept 1858 and both were buried at Dreghorn Parish cemetery. The second laird of Annick Lodge, who succeeded in 1802, was Lieutenant-Colonel of the Ayrshire Yeomanry Cavalry, a magistrate and deputy-lieutenant of Ayrshire. One of the sons of the family wrote a vocabulary of the American Indians of the Columbia River and Puget's Sound! (Robertson 1908). Major and Mrs Montgomerie attended the famous 1839 Eglinton Tournament in what is now
    7.33
    3 votes
    108
    Hewitt Quadrangle

    Hewitt Quadrangle

    • Buildings In Complex: Woodbridge Hall
    Hewitt University Quadrangle (until 1917, University Court; informally, Hewitt Quadrangle or Beinecke Plaza) is a plaza at the center of the Yale University campus in New Haven, Connecticut, which is the home of the university's administration, main auditorium and dining facilities. Although the official name of the space is Hewitt Quadrangle, it is called Beinecke Plaza nearly universally in any informal context. The Bicentennial Buildings (University Commons, Woolsey Hall, and the Memorial Rotunda) were the first buildings constructed for Yale University as opposed to one of its constituent entities (Yale College, Sheffield Scientific School, or others), reflecting a greater emphasis on central administration initiated by Presidents Timothy Dwight and Arthur Twining Hadley. Constructed in 1901-2 for the University's bicentennial, the limestone Beaux-Arts buildings linked the College buildings on the Old Campus with the Sheffield Scientific buildings on Hillhouse Avenue. They were designed by John M. Carrère and Thomas Hastings. The Commons, the building in which freshmen take their meals, replaced a timber-trussed banqueting hall. Woolsey Hall was the University's first large
    7.33
    3 votes
    109
    Old Campus

    Old Campus

    • Buildings In Complex: Farnham Hall
    The Old Campus is a complex of buildings at Yale University on the block at the northwest end of the green in New Haven, Connecticut, consisting of dormitories, classrooms, chapels, and offices. Old Campus includes Yale's oldest building, Connecticut Hall, and a grand entrance from the green at Phelps Gate. The first building of Yale College (Old College) in New Haven was built here in 1718 where Bingham Hall now stands. Falling into disrepair, this building was ultimately destroyed by students in 1782. Beginning with Connecticut Hall in 1750, the buildings of Old Brick Row were built here. The campus plan for Old Brick Row was developed by John Trumbull and James Hillhouse. It was the first planned college campus in the United States and served as a model for other campuses. Old Brick Row included four dormitories: Union Hall (South College), Connecticut Hall (South Middle), Berkeley Hall (North Middle), and North College. In between, there was Atheneum (First Chapel), Connecticut Lyceum, and Second Chapel. The Yale Fence, which ran along on College in front of Old Brick Row, was a favorite of many generations of students. Plans for new buildings led to its demise in 1888. The
    7.33
    3 votes
    110
    Peace Hotel

    Peace Hotel

    • Buildings In Complex: Swatch Art Peace Hotel
    The Peace Hotel (Chinese: 和平饭店) is a hotel on The Bund in Shanghai, China which overlooks the Huangpu River. The hotel today operates as two separate businesses. The North Building, built as Sassoon House, originally housed the Cathay Hotel and is today the Fairmont Peace Hotel run by Fairmont Hotels and Resorts of Canada. The South Building was built as the Palace Hotel and is today the Swatch Art Peace Hotel . The two buildings both face the Bund, but are divided by the famous Nanjing Road, arguably the busiest street in Shanghai. The larger North Building at Number 20, The Bund, is called Sassoon House. It was built by Sir Victor Sassoon, of the famous Sassoon family who dominated Shanghai business and real estate in the early 20th century. He was a British Sephardic Jew of Iraqi origin, and his family had extensive business in Hong Kong, Shanghai, and Calcutta. Sassoon House was the first high rise building built by Victor Sassoon. It was designed by P & T Architects Limited (Palmer and Turner), with a reinforced concrete structure. It occupied 4617 square metres, with a floor space of 36,317 square metres. Construction began in 1926 and completed in 1929. The building is ten
    7.33
    3 votes
    111
    The Home Depot Center

    The Home Depot Center

    The Home Depot Center is a multiple-use sports complex located on the campus of California State University, Dominguez Hills in Carson, California. It is located approximately 10 miles south of Downtown Los Angeles. Its title sponsor is hardware retailer The Home Depot. The $150 million complex was developed and is operated by the Anschutz Entertainment Group. With a set capacity of 27,000, it is the largest soccer-specific stadium in Major League Soccer. The 27,000 seat main stadium was designed specifically for soccer. It is home to both the Los Angeles Galaxy and Chivas USA of Major League Soccer. It was also home to the defunct Los Angeles Sol of Women's Professional Soccer. The Home Depot Center was the second stadium designed specifically for soccer in the MLS era. When the venue opened in June 2003 as the new home of the Galaxy, a number of special events took place in celebration. Pelé was in attendance at the opening match along with many dignitaries from the soccer world, and celebrities. Both the United States women's and men's national soccer teams often use the facility for training camps and select home matches. It was the site of the 2003 FIFA Women's World Cup
    7.33
    3 votes
    112
    Daresbury Laboratory

    Daresbury Laboratory

    • Buildings In Complex: Synchrotron Radiation Source
    Daresbury Laboratory is a scientific research laboratory near Daresbury in Cheshire, England, which began operations in 1962 and was officially opened on 16 June 1967 as the Daresbury Nuclear Physics Laboratory by the then Prime Minister of United Kingdom, Harold Wilson. It is run by the Science and Technology Facilities Council with around three hundred full-time staff. In 2009 the laboratory was awarded the title of the "Most Outstanding Science Park" at the UK Science Parks Association.
    6.25
    4 votes
    113
    Matadero Madrid

    Matadero Madrid

    Matadero Madrid is a former slaughterhouse in the Arganzuela district of Madrid, which has been converted to an arts centre. Matadero Madrid is a lively, constantly changing space at the service of creative processes, participatory artistic training and dialogue between the arts. It was set up to help reflect on the contemporary sociocultural environment and support processes to build the culture of today and tomorrow. A unique lab for experimentation and promoting new cross-disciplinary formulae. On 21 June 1911, construction began on the slaughterhouse (“matadero”) and livestock market, one of the most singular industrial establishments of 20th-century Madrid architecture. The project by Luis Bellido was structured around a complex of pavilions characterised by functionality, constructive rationality and conceptual simplicity. There is however a historicist element to the architecture, which incorporates Neo-Mudéjar features, such as tiles with abstract designs. The buildings were in use as a slaughterhouse until 1996. At the turn of the 21st century, Madrid City Council decided to turn this space into a great laboratory for contemporary artistic creation. In keeping with its
    6.25
    4 votes
    114
    Mesa Arts Center

    Mesa Arts Center

    The Mesa Arts Center is a performing and visual arts complex in downtown Mesa, Arizona. At more than 210,000 square feet (20,000 m) square feet, the $95 million facility, completed in 2005, is the largest comprehensive arts campus in the state. The Mesa Arts Center encompasses four performance venues, from the intimate 99-seat Farnsworth Studio Theater to the 1,600-seat Ikeda Theater. The center is also home to the Mesa Contemporary Arts, which houses five art galleries with 5,500 sq ft (510 m) of exhibition space. The facility also features 14 unique visual and performing art classroom studios. Multi-use areas throughout the campus provide both indoor and outdoor gathering and presentation spaces. The architecture of the entire complex is primarily post-modern, with sharp, jagged angles, canted walls, sloping roofs, glass walls, and a reflection of the local vernacular in both colors and materials. The introverted campus is inspired by a geode, and guides pedestrians from the outer concrete walls to a central space of glass, water, and color. The complex was designed by Boora Architects of Portland, Oregon in associations with DWL Architects + Planners, Inc., of Phoenix, Arizona.
    6.25
    4 votes
    115
    Metrotown

    Metrotown

    Metropolis at Metrotown (formerly known as Metrotown Centre, Eaton Centre Metrotown or Metro as an abbreviation) is a shopping mall complex in Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada. With over 450 shops and services, it is the largest mall in British Columbia, and the 2nd largest in Canada. The mall is connected by a skyway to the Metrotown Station on the SkyTrain rapid transit system. Two office buildings are part of the complex, with a third under construction. Metrotown Centre first opened in 1986 — attached to a new Woodward's department store, and a Sears Canada department store operating at that location since the early 1950s — on land that had previously held warehouses, other light industry, and a supermarket, and which was adjacent to the former Vancouver Interurban Rail line (now the route for the SkyTrain). The mall has been expanded and renovated several times, and has contributed to the rapid growth of the area's population. Two additional shopping centres were constructed adjacent to the original Metrotown—Eaton Centre and Station Square. These three different malls were connected by skyways, as were the two office towers known as the Metrotowers. In 1998, Eaton Centre
    5.40
    5 votes
    116
    3333 Broadway

    3333 Broadway

    The Riverside Park Community apartment complex is a group of five buildings ranging in height from 10 to 35 stories at 3333 Broadway between West 133rd and 135th Streets, in New York City. Upon completion in 1976, it stood as the largest residential structure in the United States. The buildings include 1,200 apartment units and were designed to accommodate nearly 1,190 low- and middle-income families. Also included in the community design were plans for Public School I.S. 1955, a medical building and pharmacy, and playground facilities for 1,800 children. The principal architectural firm for the project was Max Wechsler and Associates, and the developer of the project was the Educational Construction Fund, a New York State Agency. The community was constructed under the Mitchell-Lama program, which is a state-run program that was created in 1955 and provided low-interest mortgage loans and property tax exemptions to landlords who agreed to provide low-income residents with affordable housing at below-market-rate rents. “Landlords generally may remove their developments from Mitchell-Lama and privatize them by prepaying the mortgage. In most cases, that happens 20 years after the
    7.00
    3 votes
    117
    Golden Lane Estate

    Golden Lane Estate

    • Buildings In Complex: Great Arthur House
    The Golden Lane Estate is a 1950s council housing complex in the City of London. It was built on the northern edge of the City, in an area devastated by bombing during World War II. The idea to build a residential site to the north of the Cripplegate area, followed devastation of much of the City of London in The Blitz during World War II. Following almost complete destruction in the Blitz, only around 500 residents remained in the City in 1950, a mere 50 of whom lived in Cripplegate. The brief was to provide general needs council housing for the many people who serviced or worked in the City, as part of the comprehensive recovery and re-building strategy of the City of London. As the Estate then fell within the boundary of the Metropolitan Borough of Finsbury, a proportionate number of tenancies were also offered to those on the Finsbury waiting list. A Boundary change in 1994 means the estate is today wholly inside the City of London. Compared to other council housing of the era, there was a greater emphasis on the housing needs of single people and couples rather than larger families. Studios and one bedroomed flats comprise the majority (359) of the units (554 in total). The
    7.00
    3 votes
    118
    Marina City

    Marina City

    • Buildings In Complex: Marina City 1
    Marina City is a mixed-use residential/commercial building complex occupying an entire city block on State Street in Chicago, Illinois. It lies on the north bank of the Chicago River in downtown Chicago, directly across from the Loop district. The complex consists of two high rise corncob-shaped 65-story towers (including five-story elevator and physical plant penthouse), at 587-foot (179 m) tall. It also includes a saddle-shaped auditorium building, and a mid-rise hotel building, all contained on a raised platform adjacent to the river. Beneath the raised platform at river level is a small marina for pleasure craft, giving the structures their name. Marina City is notable in that it is the first building in the United States to be constructed with tower cranes. The Marina City complex was designed in 1959 by architect Bertrand Goldberg and completed in 1964 at a cost of $36 million financed to a large extent by the union of building janitors and elevator operators, who sought to reverse the pattern of white flight from the city's downtown area. When finished, the two towers were both the tallest residential buildings and the tallest reinforced concrete structures in the world. The
    7.00
    3 votes
    119
    Neal S. Blaisdell Center, Honolulu

    Neal S. Blaisdell Center, Honolulu

    The Neal S. Blaisdell Center in downtown Honolulu, Honolulu CDP is a community center for the City & County of Honolulu. Constructed in 1964 on the historic Ward Estate and originally called the Hawaiʻi International Center, the center was renamed after Mayor of Honolulu Neal S. Blaisdell. The multi-purpose complex is composed of an internationally renowned arena, concert hall, conference rooms, galleria and exhibition hall. It was remodeled and expanded in 1994. The Neal S. Blaisdell Arena is a circular performance facility used for concerts and major sporting events. The arena can accommodate 7,700 seats for sports events, and up to 8,800 seats for stage events with seats set up on the arena floor. Elvis Presley sold out concerts at the arena in the 1960s and 1970s, the world famous "Aloha from Hawaii" concert was held here on 14 January 1973. In recognition of this a bronze statue of Elvis has been erected outside the front of the center. The statue was sponsored by the TV Land channel. Other events at the arena include World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE), Disney on Ice, American Idol Live!, Sesame Street Live, college basketball and volleyball, and international gymnastics, as
    7.00
    3 votes
    120
    NHS Grampian

    NHS Grampian

    • Buildings In Complex: Aberdeen Maternity Hospital
    NHS Grampian (Gaelic: Bòrd SSN nam Monadh) is one of the fourteen regional health boards of NHS Scotland. It was formed on 1 April 2004 by the amalgamation of Grampian University Hospitals NHS Trust, Grampian Primary Care NHS Trust and Grampian Health Board. The health board's headquarters are located at Summerfield House in the Summerhill area of Aberdeen. NHS Grampian consists of acute services, corporate services and three Community Health Partnerships and works closely with the local authorities in Aberdeen City, Aberdeenshire and Moray to cover a population of over 500,000. NHS Grampian is also very closely linked with both the University of Aberdeen and The Robert Gordon University, especially in the fields of research, workforce planning and training. There are 9 main hospitals in the NHS Grampian region, the largest being Aberdeen Royal Infirmary, located on the Foresterhill Health Campus. Royal Aberdeen Children's Hospital and Aberdeen Maternity Hospital are also located at Foresterhill. Also located within Aberdeen are Woodend Hospital, a general hospital which houses the Department of Medicine for the Elderly among other services; Royal Cornhill Hospital, a psychiatric
    7.00
    3 votes
    121
    Pan Peninsula

    Pan Peninsula

    Pan Peninsula, also known as 1 Millharbour, is an exclusive luxury residential development in the Docklands area of London, near South Quay DLR and Canary Wharf Underground stations. Pan Peninsula is one of several new high-rise residential developments that have sprung up due to increased demand for higher living standards in and around Canary Wharf. Pan Peninsula consists of two towers - the taller one is 147 metres and 48 storeys, surpassing the towers of the Barbican Estate and 13th tallest building in London (as of November 2010). The shorter building is 122 metres and 38 storeys high. The tallest tower was topped-out in September 2007. Both buildings were completed in early 2009, with the first residents moving in. The project was designed by Skidmore, Owings and Merrill and was developed by Irish property firm Ballymore. The towers are connected by a reception area containing a concierge foyer, multi-floor gym, private cinema and terraced restaurant. The 3rd floor of the West Tower also houses a Six Senses Spa. The 48th floor of the tallest tower houses the exclusive cocktail bar, the Attic at Pan Peninsula, open to residents and their guests. The tops of the towers have
    7.00
    3 votes
    122
    Rockefeller Center

    Rockefeller Center

    • Buildings In Complex: GE Building
    Rockefeller Center is a complex of 19 commercial buildings covering 22 acres (89,000 m) between 48th and 51st streets in New York City, United States. Built by the Rockefeller family, it is located in the center of Midtown Manhattan, spanning the area between Fifth Avenue and Sixth Avenue. It was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1987. Rockefeller Center was named after John D. Rockefeller, Jr., who leased the space from Columbia University in 1928 and developed it from 1930. Rockefeller initially planned a syndicate to build an opera house for the Metropolitan Opera on the site, but changed his mind after the stock market crash of 1929 and the Metropolitan's continual delays to hold out for a more favorable lease, causing Rockefeller to move forward without them. Rockefeller stated "It was clear that there were only two courses open to me. One was to abandon the entire development. The other to go forward with it in the definite knowledge that I myself would have to build it and finance it alone." He took on the enormous project as the sole financier, on a 27-year lease (with the option for three 21-year renewals for a total of 87 years) for the site from Columbia;
    7.00
    3 votes
    123
    World Market Center

    World Market Center

    World Market Center Las Vegas, located at 495 S. Grand Central Parkway in Las Vegas, Nevada, is a 5,000,000-square-foot (460,000 m) showcase for the home and hospitality contract furnishings industry in downtown Las Vegas. World Market Center has a 5 million square-foot market center in Las Vegas. The World Market will designate 13 floors and 1.7 million square-feet of Building C for growth of existing gift and home décor resources and the launch of new product categories like home and lifestyle collections. Existing furniture lines in Building C will be relocated into Buildings A and B. The project is underway and expected to be completed within three years. Originally, developers planned for the World Market Center project in Las Vegas to have more than 12,000,000 square feet (1,100,000 m) of exhibit space in 8 buildings on 57 acres (23 ha), making it one of the largest mega-campuses of showroom and convention complex in the industry. In 2002, the developers announced that the project was to be built on a lot adjacent to the City of Las Vegas' 61 acres (25 ha) redevelopment parcel, as an eight building, 7,500,000 sq ft (700,000 m) facility designed by Jon Jerde. The square
    7.00
    3 votes
    124
    Thornewood

    Thornewood

    Thornewood is an estate in Lakewood, Washington. The estate consists of three buildings, including Thornewood Castle, which was built from the brick of a dismantled 15th century house imported from England. The Castle was used as a set for the Stephen King film Rose Red. The buildings were listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1982 and is now a bed and breakfast. It is listed as one of the Top 10 Castle Hotels Worldwide by Gayot.com.
    6.00
    4 votes
    125
    Vyšehrad

    Vyšehrad

    • Buildings In Complex: Cathedral of Saint Paul and Peter
    Vyšehrad is a castle located in the city of Prague, Czech Republic. It was probably built in the 10th century, on a hill over the Vltava River. Situated within the castle is the Basilica of St Peter and St Paul, as well as the Vyšehrad Cemetery, containing the remains of many famous people from Czech history, among them Antonín Dvořák, Bedřich Smetana, Karel Čapek, and Alphonse Mucha. It also contains Prague's oldest surviving building, the Rotunda of St Martin from the 11th century. Local legend holds that Vyšehrad was the location of the first settlement which later became Prague, though thus far this claim remains unsubstantiated. When the Přemyslid dynasty settled on the current site of Prague Castle, the two castles maintained opposing spheres of influence for approximately two centuries. Like this the second seat of the Czech sovereigns was established on a steep rock directly above the right bank of the Vlatava river, in the 10th century. The zenith of Vyšehrad was during the second half of the 11th century, when Vratislav transferred his seat from Prague Castle, and the original fort was remodelled as a complex comprising a sovereign's palatial residence, church and seat of
    6.00
    4 votes
    126
    Bankers Hall

    Bankers Hall

    • Buildings In Complex: Bankers Hall East
    Bankers Hall is a building complex located in downtown Calgary, Alberta, which includes twin 52-storey office towers (197 metres high), designed by the architectural firm Cohos Evamy in postmodern architectural style. The first building, known as Bankers Hall - East, is located at 855 2nd Street SW and was completed in 1989. It was followed in 2000 by Bankers Hall - West, at 888 3rd Street SW. After its completion, they became the tallest twin buildings in Canada. Both buildings contain four-level podiums with an upscale retail gallery connected to the Plus 15 skywalk network. The Core Shopping Centre, the largest shopping complex in downtown Calgary, is directly connected via Plus 15. The northeast corner of the complex incorporates the historic Hollingsworth Building, whose intricate terra cotta facade has been fully restored. The distinctive crowns of the buildings are intended to resemble cowboy hats when viewed from afar; Bankers Hall West is topped by a gold roof structure while the East building's crown is in silver. A white cowboy hat has long been an iconic symbol of Calgary, being portrayed on the city's flag, and presented as gifts to foreign dignitaries by the civic
    8.00
    2 votes
    127
    Ciutat de les Arts i les Ciències

    Ciutat de les Arts i les Ciències

    • Buildings In Complex: Agora
    The City of Arts and Sciences (Spanish: Ciudad de las Artes y las Ciencias, Valencian: Ciutat de les Arts i les Ciències) is an entertainment-based cultural and architectural complex in the city of Valencia, Spain. It is the most important modern tourist destination in the city of Valencia. The City of Arts and Sciences is situated at the end of the former riverbed of the river Turia, which was drained and rerouted after a catastrophic flood in 1957. The old riverbed was turned into a picturesque sunken park. Designed by Santiago Calatrava and Félix Candela, the project underwent the first stages of construction in July 1996 and the finished "city" was inaugurated April 16, 1998 with the opening of L'Hemisfèric. The last great component of the City of Arts and Sciences, El Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia, was presented on October 9, 2005, Valencian Community Day. The complex is made up of the following buildings, in order of their inauguration: Rita Barberá entrusted the creation of a team that articulated the project and that visited spaces with similar characteristics in Munich, Canada and London, to devise a project of evident pedagogical appearance. The ""City of the Sciences""
    8.00
    2 votes
    128
    Los Angeles Sports and Entertainment District

    Los Angeles Sports and Entertainment District

    • Buildings In Complex: Nokia Theatre L.A. Live
    L.A. Live is an entertainment complex in downtown Los Angeles, California adjacent to the Staples Center. L.A. Live cost approximately $2.5 billion USD and was developed by Anschutz Entertainment Group (AEG), Wachovia Corp, Azteca Corp and investment firm MacFarlane Partners with help from Los Angeles taxpayers. It has 5,600,000 square feet (520,257 m) of apartments, ballrooms, bars, concert theatres, restaurants, movie theaters and a 54-story hotel and condominium tower, on a 27-acre (10.9 ha) site. The complex became home to AEG and Herbalife headquarters in December 2008. Nokia is a 40,000-square-foot (3,716 m) open-air plaza that serves as the central meeting place for L.A. Live. The plaza provides a broadcast venue featuring giant LED screens as well as a red carpet site for special events. Nokia Plaza hosted the first WWE SummerSlam Axxess event on the weekend beginning August 22, 2009, leading up to the 2009 SummerSlam event on August 23 at Staples Center. On June 24, 2010, the plaza was the location for the official red carpet premiere of The Twilight Saga: Eclipse. Nokia Theatre is a music and theatre venue seating 7,100, while Club Nokia is a club venue with a seating
    8.00
    2 votes
    129
    Pasadena Conference Center

    Pasadena Conference Center

    The Pasadena Conference Center is a convention center in Pasadena, California, near Los Angeles, owned by the City of Pasadena. It consists of three buildings. The Civic Auditorium, one of the major structures in the Pasadena Civic Center District, was built in 1931 and is best known for being the home for the Emmy Awards from 1977 until 1997. It was designed by architects George Edwin Bergstrom, Cyril Bennett, and Fitch Haskell. Today, the Auditorium is home to the People's Choice Awards and the former home of the Pasadena Symphony Orchestra. It has also been used for some episodes of American Idol. It was used as the shows venue for "Hollywood Week" in season 10. The 3,029-seat theater hosts musicals, operas and concerts, among other events, on its 56 by 42 ft (17 by 13 m) stage. In addition to the main auditorium, the Civic Auditorium building originally contained two lecture rooms and an exhibition hall of 100 by 200 ft (30 by 61 m). The Motown 25: Yesterday, Today, Forever special was taped here on March 25, 1983; and aired on NBC in May. The show is best remembered for Michael Jackson's performance of "Billie Jean". Louis Armstrong's 1951 album Satchmo at Pasadena was also
    8.00
    2 votes
    130
    Southfield Town Center Complex

    Southfield Town Center Complex

    The Southfield Town Center is a cluster of five golden interconnected skyscrapers forming a contemporary 2,200,000 square feet (204,400 m) office complex in the Detroit suburb of Southfield, Michigan. It includes the Westin Southfield Detroit Hotel, restaurants, a fitness center, and a major conference center for up to 1,000 attendees. This office-hotel complex is situated along Town Center Drive off the John C. Lodge Freeway, across from Lawrence Technological University in the Metro Detroit, with many of its tallest buildings named after their addresses along the road. Separately, there is a 33 story luxury residential high-rise at 5000 Town Center. The American Center, another 26 story golden office tower, near the confluence of I-696 and M-10, is not part of the complex. The Town Center is across from the Civic Center, and is located between West 10 Mile Road and Interstate 696, John C. Lodge Freeway, and Evergreen Road, as well as being close to the Mixing Bowl. An enclosed two-story garden atrium connects the hotel with the towers of the Southfield Town Center. The atrium area also contains 94,000 square feet (8,700 m) of retail space. The atrium area is available for large
    8.00
    2 votes
    131
    Cape Adare

    Cape Adare

    Cape Adare is the northeastern most peninsula in Victoria Land, East Antarctica. The cape separates the Ross Sea to the east from the Southern Ocean to the west, and is backed by the high Admiralty Mountains. Cape Adare was an important landing site and base camp during early Antarctic exploration. In February 2007, the Japanese whaling ship Nisshin Maru experienced a fire below decks while in the Ross Sea. The vessel drifted without power for days until its engines were repaired, raising concern due to its proximity to Cape Adare. Captain James Ross discovered Cape Adare in January 1841 and named it after his friend the Viscount Adare (the title is derived from Adare, Ireland). In January 1895, Norwegian explorers Henrik Bull and Carsten Borchgrevink from the ship Antarctic landed at Cape Adare as the first documented landing on Antarctica, collecting geological specimens. Borchgrevink returned to the cape leading his own expedition in 1899 and erected two huts, the first human structures built in Antarctica. The expedition members overwintered and the survivors were picked up in January 1900. This was the first expedition party ever to winter over on the Antarctic continent.
    9.00
    1 votes
    132
    Cheong Wa Dae

    Cheong Wa Dae

    The Cheongwadae (lit. a platform with azure-tiled roof) or Blue House (commonly syllabicated Cheong Wa Dae) is the executive office and official residence of the South Korean head of state, the President of the Republic of Korea and located in the capital city of Seoul. The Korean name literally translates to "pavilion of blue tiles." The Blue House is in fact a complex of buildings, built largely in the traditional Korean architectural style with some modern elements. Built upon the site of the royal garden of Joseon Dynasty, the Blue House now consists of the Main Office Hall (본관; 本館), the Presidential Residence, the State Reception House (영빈관; 迎賓館), the Chunchugwan (춘추관; 春秋館) Press Hall, and the Secretariat Buildings. The entire complex covers approximately 250,000 square metres or 62 acres. The location of Cheongwadae was the site of a royal villa in what was then Hanyang, the southern capital of the Goryeo dynasty (918–1392). It was built by King Sukjong (r. 1095–1105) in 1104. Goryeo's principal capital was at Kaesŏng, and it also maintained a western capital at Pyongyang and an eastern capital at Gyeongju. After the Joseon dynasty (1392–1910) moved its capital to Hanyang,
    9.00
    1 votes
    133
    City of Dreams

    City of Dreams

    City of Dreams (ch:新濠天地) is a property along the Cotai Strip in the Cotai reclamation area in Macau built, owned and managed by Melco Crown Entertainment, formerly known as Melco PBL Entertainment. City of Dreams is Melco's second mega-sized property in Macau. It is located directly opposite The Venetian Macao, the first property in Cotai, opened by Las Vegas Sands Corp. City of Dreams, widely known as CoD or CoD Macau in the industry, is in the style of a podium, with four towers: namely the Hard Rock Hotel, Crown Towers Hotel, and the Grand Hyatt Macau (2 towers). A 47-story luxury apartment block is planned for a later phase of development. Its three-floor podium includes a mega-casino, over 200 shopping facilities and hotel guest facilities. City of Dreams has 420,000 square feet (39,000 m) of gaming space with 550 gaming tables and 1500 machines, over 20 restaurants and bars, including one of the largest in the city. The property also includes 175,000 square feet (16,300 m) of high-end retail space (The Boulevard) spread across two levels. The first phase of City of Dreams opened on 1 June 2009, and the Grand Hyatt in November 2009. There are two theatres, the first, called
    9.00
    1 votes
    134
    Dublin Castle

    Dublin Castle

    Dublin Castle (Irish: Caisleán Bhaile Átha Cliath) off Dame Street, Dublin, Ireland, was until 1922 the seat of British rule in Ireland, and is now a major Irish government complex. Most of it dates from the 18th century, though a castle has stood on the site since the days of King John, the first Lord of Ireland. The Castle served as the seat of English, then later British government of Ireland under the Lordship of Ireland (1171–1541), the Kingdom of Ireland (1541–1800), and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland (1800–1922). Upon establishment of the Irish Free State in 1922, the complex was ceremonially handed over to the newly formed Provisional Government led by Michael Collins. Dublin Castle fulfilled a number of roles through its history. Originally built as a defensive fortification for the Norman city of Dublin, it later evolved into a royal residence, resided in by the Lord Lieutenant of Ireland or Viceroy of Ireland, the representative of the monarch. The second in command in the Dublin Castle administration, the Chief Secretary for Ireland, also had his offices there. Over the years parliament and law courts met at the castle before moving to new purpose-built
    9.00
    1 votes
    135
    Raffles City

    Raffles City

    Raffles City (Chinese: 来福士城, before 2007: 莱佛士城) is a large complex located in the Civic District within the Downtown Core of the city-state of Singapore. Occupying an entire city block bounded by Stamford Road, Beach Road, Bras Basah Road and North Bridge Road, it houses two hotels and an office tower over a podium which contains a shopping mall and a convention centre. The mall is managed by CapitaCommercial Trust and CapitaMall Trust. Groundbreaking on the site took place on 14 August 1980 and officially opened to the public on 3 October 1986. The complex was designed by I. M. Pei in one of his earliest works in the city state. Built on the former site of Raffles Institution, the first school in Singapore, and located beside the historic Raffles Hotel, its aluminium-finish and simple geometric designs gave a stark, modernist contrast to Victorian architecture and classical architecture which used to characterise architecture in that district. The design includes the one-time world's tallest hotel and currently the world's sixth tallest hotel, the 73-storey Swissôtel The Stamford, as well as a 26 storey high-end twin-tower hotel, the Fairmont Singapore. The three blocks are
    9.00
    1 votes
    136
    Victoria Barracks, Sydney

    Victoria Barracks, Sydney

    Victoria Barracks is an Australian Army base in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. Victoria Barracks is located in the suburb of Paddington, between Oxford Street and Moore Park Road. It is just north of the Moore Park, the Sydney Cricket Ground and Sydney Football Stadium. Victoria Barracks houses the Headquarters Land Command and Headquarters Training Command. The Army Museum of NSW is housed in the original District Military Prison, constructed in 1800. It is open to visitors on Thursday from 10:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. and Sunday from 10:00 a.m. until 3:30 p.m. Tours of the Barracks precinct are conducted by the Corps of Guides on Thursdays starting at 10:00 a.m. The Regency style Main Barracks building was constructed of Hawkesbury sandstone by convicts between 1841 and 1846. The first building completed was the Officers' Quarters which was completed in 1842. The Main Barrack Block was completed in 1846 and was designed to accommodate 650 soldiers. The bell and clock were added to the building in 1856. The Barracks were originally occupied by regiments of the British Army. The British troops vacated the Barracks in 1870. The Barracks was the premier military training site in
    9.00
    1 votes
    137
    Dalgarven Mill

    Dalgarven Mill

    Dalgarven Mill is near Kilwinning, in the Garnock Valley, North Ayrshire, Scotland and it is home to the Museum of Ayrshire Country Life and Costume. The watermill has been completely restored over a number of years and is run by the independent Dalgarven Mill Trust. The village of Dalgarven was largely destroyed by the construction of the main A737 road, but the mill buildings survive and are open as a tourist attraction and educational resource, interpreting local history in addition to its role as a museum of Ayrshire country life. Very few mills remain in Ayrshire and this is an example which has been preserved due to the foresight of the family of the last miller who saw a modern role for an ancient industrial site and traditional social meeting-place. Some of the outbuildings have been converted for use as an antique shop, others are still occupied as dwellings and some are in the process of being converted to uses which will enhance the quality of the experience of visitors to the mill complex. The Ferguson family, descendents of the last miller, are still involved with the running of the museum, working with a board of trustees who are all volunteers. The mill is not part
    6.67
    3 votes
    138
    Navy Pier

    Navy Pier

    Navy Pier is a 3,300-foot (1,010 m) long pier on the Chicago shoreline of Lake Michigan. It is located in the Streeterville neighborhood of the Near North Side community area. The pier was built in 1916 at a cost of $4.5 million, equivalent to $96.1 million today. It was a part of the Plan of Chicago developed by architect and city planner Daniel Burnham and his associates. As Municipal Pier #2 (Municipal Pier #1 was never built), Navy Pier was planned and built to serve as a mixed-purpose piece of public infrastructure. Its primary purpose was as a cargo facility for lake freighters, and warehouses were built up and down the Pier. However, the Pier was also designed to provide docking space for passenger excursion steamers, and in the pre-air conditioning era parts of the Pier, especially its outermost tip, were designed to serve as cool places for public gathering and entertainment. The Pier even had its own streetcar. Today, Navy Pier is Chicago's number one tourist attraction. Construction began in 1914 under the leadership of Charles Sumner Frost and took two years, at a total cost of $4.5 million. When it opened to the public in 1916, it was the largest pier in the world. The
    6.67
    3 votes
    139
    Shaw House and Centre

    Shaw House and Centre

    Shaw House and Shaw Centre (Chinese: 邵氏楼; 邵氏大厦) is a complex of two neighbouring buildings built by the same developer, Shaw Organisation. Located at the junction of Orchard Road and Scotts Road in Singapore, it features the flagship Lido Cineplex for the Shaw Organisation, a major shopping mall with Isetan as an anchor tenant, and two office buildings. Shaw House is a shopping mall and the home of Lido Cinema (now Lido 8 Cineplex). Lido Cinema was constructed in 1958 as a 10-storey office block, and was officially opened by Lim Yew Hock on 22 November 1958. In the late 1980s, owner Shaw Organisation decided to tear down the old Lido Cinema, and build a 21-storey building with a basement. This project, which was the Shaw Organisation's largest in Singapore to date, was completed in 1993 after three years of construction. Shaw House houses the main store of Isetan in Singapore, and occupies five floors. It has a Japanese supermarket in the basement, and has offices on the upper floors of the building. The building also houses the Lido Cineplex with 8 screens on Levels 5 and 6. At its opening in 1993, the cineplex started with only 5 halls, but was expanded with another 3 halls in
    6.67
    3 votes
    140
    Harbour City

    Harbour City

    Harbour City is a large shopping mall in Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong. It is part of a series of office blocks and hotels. It comprises several parts: Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel, Ocean Terminal, Ocean Centre (with 1980s retro decor), the Gateway and the Pacific Club Kowloon. The complex is located along the west side of Canton Road, stretching from the Star Ferry Pier in the south to China Hong Kong City in the north. The centre is built on the site of the Hongkong and Kowloon Wharf and Godown, one of colonial Hong Kong's original commercial wharfage and dockside warehousing complexes. Harbour City is still owned by The Wharf (Holdings) Limited, which was formed in 1886 to operate the godown but has since grown to be a major commercial force in Hong Kong. The mall features many branded boutiques, such as MCM (Mode Creation Munich), Louis Vuitton, Salvatore Ferragamo, Shiatzy Chen, Prada, Yves Saint Laurent, Polo Ralph Lauren, Versace, Burberry, and Hugo Boss. The mall also has two cinemas at both ends, the Grand Ocean and the Grand Gateway; both are operated by Golden Harvest. It is home to the largest Toys "R" Us location in Hong Kong, and there is a large Lane Crawford in the Hongkong
    5.75
    4 votes
    141
    Adelaide Festival Centre

    Adelaide Festival Centre

    The Adelaide Festival Centre, Australia's first multi-purpose arts centre, was built in 1973 and opened three months before the Sydney Opera House. The Festival Centre is located approximately 50 metres north of the corner of North Terrace and King William Street, lying near the banks of the River Torrens and adjacent to Elder Park. It is distinguished by its three silvery-white geometric dome roofs and its plaza consisting of lego block-like structures to the south and lies on a 45-degree angle to the city's grid. It is the home of South Australia's performing arts. The Centre is managed by a statutory authority under the Adelaide Festival Centre Trust Act 1971 which is responsible for encouraging and facilitating artistic, cultural and performing arts activities, as well as maintaining and improving the building and facilities of the Adelaide Festival Centre complex. As well as the now annual Festival of Arts, the Centre hosts the annual Adelaide Cabaret Festival in June and OzAsia Festival in September, and the biennial Adelaide International Guitar Festival. The Adelaide Festival Centre was built in three parts from April 1970 to 1980. The main building, the Festival Theatre,
    7.50
    2 votes
    142
    Barbican Estate

    Barbican Estate

    • Buildings In Complex: Barbican Arts Centre
    The Barbican Estate is a residential estate built during the 1960s and the 1970s in the City of London, in an area once devastated by World War II bombings and today densely populated by financial institutions. It contains, or is adjacent to, the Barbican Arts Centre, the Museum of London, the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, the Barbican public library, the City of London School for Girls and a YMCA, forming the Barbican Complex. The complex is a prominent example of British brutalist architecture and, with the exception of Milton Court (which contained a fire station, medical facilities and some flats and which was demolished to allow the construction of a new apartment complex which also contains additional facilities for the Guildhall School of Music and Drama), is Grade II listed as a whole. During World War II, the City suffered serious damage and loss of life. The Cripplegate area was virtually demolished and by 1951 the resident population of the City stood at 5,324 of whom 48 lived in Cripplegate. Discussions began in 1952 about the future of the site, and the decision to build new residential properties was taken by the Court of Common Council on 19 September
    7.50
    2 votes
    143
    Downtown Burj Dubai

    Downtown Burj Dubai

    Downtown Dubai, previously known as Downtown Burj Dubai, is a large-scale mixed-use complex under development in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. It is the home of some of the city's most important landmarks including Burj Khalifa, Dubai Mall, and Dubai Fountain. It covers an area of 2 square kilometres (0.77 sq mi), and estimated to cost US$20 billion (Dh73 billion) upon completion. The complex is situated along Sheikh Zayed Road across from Al Wasl locality on the north-west. It is bounded to the south by Business Bay and to the north-east by Financial Centre Road, which separates it from Zabeel 2 and Trade Centre 2. It is connected to the Dubai Metro via the Burj Khalifa/Dubai Mall Metro Station. The First Interchange, which is in the last phases of construction, will guarantee the free flow of traffic to and from the area. Development is divided into 11 projects: Burj Khalifa, Dubai Fountain, Dubai Mall, Burj Park Island, and The Address Downtown Dubai hotel are at the center of the complex. The Old Town and The Old Town Island is mostly low-rise residential buildings, in addition to three hotels and Souq Al Bahar. Emaar Boulevard, The Residences and South Ridge comprise high-rise
    7.50
    2 votes
    144
    Pruitt-Igoe

    Pruitt-Igoe

    Pruitt–Igoe was a large urban housing project first occupied in 1954 in the U.S. city of St. Louis, Missouri. Living conditions in Pruitt–Igoe began to decline soon after its completion in 1956. By the late 1960s, the complex had become internationally infamous for its poverty, crime, and segregation. Its 33 buildings were torn down in the mid-1970s, and the project has become an icon of urban renewal and public-policy planning failure. The complex was designed by architect Minoru Yamasaki, who also designed the World Trade Center towers and the Lambert-St. Louis International Airport main terminal. During the 1940s and 1950s, the city of St. Louis was "a very crowded place"; "in almost a classic sense it looked and felt like a 'real' big city ... like something out of a Charles Dickens novel". Its housing stock deteriorated through the interbellum decades and World War II. More than 85,000 families lived in 19th century tenements; a 1947 official survey found that 33,000 homes had communal toilets. Middle-class, predominantly white, residents were leaving the city, and their former residences were occupied by low-income families. Black (north) and white (south) slums of the old
    7.50
    2 votes
    145
    Snow Hill Island

    Snow Hill Island

    Snow Hill Island (64°28′S 57°12′W / 64.467°S 57.2°W / -64.467; -57.2) is an almost completely snowcapped island, 20 miles (32 km) long and 6 miles (9.7 km) wide, lying off the east coast of the Antarctic Peninsula. It is separated from James Ross Island to the northeast by Admiralty Sound. It is one of several islands around the peninsula known as Graham Land, which is closer to South America than any other part of that continent. It was discovered on January 6, 1843 by a British expedition under James Clark Ross who, uncertain of its connection with the mainland, named it Snow Hill because its snow cover stood out in contrast to the bare ground of nearby Seymour Island. Its insular character was determined in 1902 by the Swedish Antarctic Expedition under Otto Nordenskiöld, who spent the winters of 1901, 1902, and 1903 there, using it as a base to explore the neighbouring islands and the Nordenskjold Coast of the Antarctic Peninsula. For a postage stamp of Otto Nordenskiöld and his ship Antarctic, see British Antarctic Survey, Scott Catalog #53. The hut is protected under the Antarctic Treaty.  This article incorporates public domain material from the United States Geological
    7.50
    2 votes
    146
    New Bedford Whaling National Historical Park

    New Bedford Whaling National Historical Park

    New Bedford Whaling National Historical Park is a United States National Historical Park in New Bedford, Massachusetts, and is maintained by the National Park Service. The park commemorates the heritage of the world's preeminent whaling port during the nineteenth century. Established in 1996, the park encompasses 34 acres (fourteen hectares) dispersed over thirteen city blocks. It includes a visitor center, the New Bedford National Historic Landmark District, the New Bedford Whaling Museum, the Seamen's Bethel, the Schooner Ernestina, and the Rotch-Jones-Duff House and Garden Museum. The enabling legislation also established a legislative connection with the Inupiat Heritage Center in Barrow, Alaska, to commemorate the more than 2,000 whaling voyages from New Bedford to the Western Arctic.
    5.50
    4 votes
    147
    Palatine Hill

    Palatine Hill

    • Buildings In Complex: Flavian Palace
    The Palatine Hill (Latin: Collis Palatium or Mons Palatinus) is the centermost of the Seven Hills of Rome and is one of the most ancient parts of the city. It stands 40 metres above the Forum Romanum, looking down upon it on one side, and upon the Circus Maximus on the other. It is the etymological origin of the word "palace" and its cognates in other languages (Italian "Palazzo", French "Palais" etc.). According to Roman mythology, the Palatine Hill was the location of the cave, known as the Lupercal, where Romulus and Remus were found by the she-wolf that kept them alive. According to this legend, the shepherd Faustulus found the infants, and with his wife Acca Larentia raised the children. When they were older, the boys killed their great-uncle (who seized the throne from their grandfather), and they both decided to build a new city of their own on the banks of the River Tiber. Suddenly, they had a violent argument with each other and in the end Romulus killed his twin brother Remus. This is how "Rome" got its name - from Romulus. Another legend to occur on the Palatine is Hercules' defeat of Cacus after the monster had stolen some cattle. Hercules struck Cacus with his
    5.50
    4 votes
    148
    6.33
    3 votes
    149
    Palace of Westminster

    Palace of Westminster

    • Buildings In Complex: Victoria Tower
    The Palace of Westminster is the meeting place of the House of Commons and the House of Lords, the two houses of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. Commonly known as the Houses of Parliament after its tenants, the Palace lies on the Middlesex bank of the River Thames in the City of Westminster, in central London. Its name, which derives from the neighbouring Westminster Abbey, may refer to either of two structures: the Old Palace, a medieval building complex that was destroyed by fire in 1834, and its replacement New Palace that stands today. For ceremonial purposes, the palace retains its original style and status as a royal residence. The first royal palace was built on the site in the eleventh century, and Westminster was the primary London residence of the Kings of England until a fire destroyed much of the complex in 1512. After that, it served as the home of Parliament, which had been meeting there since the thirteenth century, and the seat of the Royal Courts of Justice, based in and around Westminster Hall. In 1834, an even greater fire ravaged the heavily rebuilt Houses of Parliament, and the only structures of significance to survive were Westminster Hall, the
    6.33
    3 votes
    150
    Pollock Halls of Residence

    Pollock Halls of Residence

    Pollock Halls of Residence are the main halls of residence for the University of Edinburgh, located at the foot of Arthur's Seat in Edinburgh, Scotland. They are located on the edge of Holyrood Park, 1+⁄4 miles (2.0 km) southeast of the centre of Edinburgh. Pollock Halls The two original buildings on site were St Leonard's Hall and Salisbury Green, which were built in the 19th century. Shortly after World War II, Sir Donald Pollock (Rector of the University from 1939 to 1945) gifted the site to the University of Edinburgh and Pollock Halls of Residence came into being. In the 1960s, a programme was begun to build more modern halls. The first of these was Holland House, which was designed by Sir William Kininmonth (1904–1988); followed shortly by its sister house, Fraser House. In the early 1990s, Holland House and Fraser House began to be run together, and are simply known these days as Holland House. In the 1960s six system-built tower blocks were added, named in honour of former Edinburgh University Principals: Baird, Ewing, Lee, Turner, Brewster (since demolished) and Grant. At the same time, a Refectory block was opened. This was later named the John McIntyre Centre after the
    6.33
    3 votes
    151
    Walter Reed National Military Medical Center

    Walter Reed National Military Medical Center

    The Walter Reed National Military Medical Center (WRNMMC), formerly known as the National Naval Medical Center and colloquially referred to as the Bethesda Naval Hospital, is a tri-service military medical center located in the community of Bethesda, Maryland, near the headquarters of the National Institutes of Health. It is one of the most prominent U.S. military medical centers in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area and the United States, having served numerous U.S. presidents since the 20th century. In 1938, the United States Congress appropriated funds for the acquisition of land for the construction of a new Naval medical center, and President Franklin D. Roosevelt selected the present site in Bethesda, Maryland, on July 5, 1938. Ground was broken by John McShain Builders for the Naval Medical Center on June 29, 1939 by Rear Admiral Percival S. Rossiter, MC, USN, (Ret.). President Roosevelt laid the cornerstone of the Tower on Armistice Day, November 11, 1940. The original Medical Center was composed of the Naval Hospital, designed to hold 1,200 beds, and the Naval Medical School, the Naval Dental School (now the National Naval Dental Center) and the Naval Medical Research
    6.33
    3 votes
    152
    Waterplace

    Waterplace

    Waterplace is the name of a high-rise residential condominium project in Providence, Rhode Island. The project completed construction in mid-2008, and was developed by Intercontinental Real Estate Corporation. The two towers, which are 235 feet (72 m) and 213 ft (65 m) high, contain 193 luxury condominiums. The price range for units in the $100 million complex will start at $300,000 and top out at "more than $1 million". Waterplace is named for its location, abutting the Waterplace Park, which hosts Providence's popular Waterfire events. Private balconies and/or window views of Waterfire are expected to be a major selling point for the complex. Underground parking patrolled hourly. Waterplace is one of two recently completed luxury high-rise condominium complexes in downtown Providence, the other being The Residences at the Westin. The buildings are officially the 7th and 12th-tallest buildings in Providence. The towers finished construction in mid-2008.
    6.33
    3 votes
    153
    Disney's Art of Animation Resort

    Disney's Art of Animation Resort

    Disney's Art of Animation Resort is a resort within Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Florida. It is located where construction on the unfinished half of Disney's Pop Century Resort was started, but later abandoned after the September 11 attacks. The resort is the first to be built in the complex in over seven years and the fifth to be placed in the value-priced category, along with Disney's All-Star Sports Resort, the All-Star Music Resort, the All-Star Movies Resort, and Disney's Pop Century Resort. Family suites opened on May 31, 2012, and standard rooms opened on September 15, 2012. Originally, the land that will house the Art of Animation Resort was planned to be part of Disney's Pop Century Resort as part of the "Legendary Years" section. Several buildings were constructed for these plans, some even to the point of adding decorative details. While one half of Pop Century (the "Classic Years") opened in 2003, the other half was left abandoned following the tourism halt after the 9/11 terrorist attacks on the United States. Disney started to prepare the land for the resort in January 2010, and construction began in the summer of that year. At the time of this
    8.00
    1 votes
    154
    Disney's Port Orleans Resort

    Disney's Port Orleans Resort

    Disney's Port Orleans Resort French Quarter and Disney's Port Orleans Resort Riverside are a pair of resort hotels located at the Walt Disney World Resort. The two hotels are themed to look like New Orleans and the Old South. Both resorts are located in the Downtown Disney area and owned and operated by Walt Disney Parks and Resorts. The two resorts are connected to each other and Downtown Disney via the Sassagoula River. Disney's Port Orleans Resort French Quarter was designed to reflect the style and architecture of New Orleans' French Quarter. The resort opened May 17, 1991 as Disney's Port Orleans Resort with 432 guest rooms in three guest buildings and expanded to its current 1,008 rooms in seven 3-story guest buildings containing 144 rooms each. Disney says it plans to transform about a quarter of the 2,000 rooms in the "Riverside" section of Disney's Port Orleans Resort into "Royal Rooms." Disney says the 512 Royal Rooms will open to guests in February or March 2012. Disney's Port Orleans Resort Riverside was designed to reflect antebellum south along the Mississippi River. The resort opened February 2, 1992 as Disney's Dixie Landings Resort, initially with rooms located in
    8.00
    1 votes
    155
    Jefferson National Expansion Memorial

    Jefferson National Expansion Memorial

    The Jefferson National Expansion Memorial is in St. Louis, Missouri, near the starting point of the Lewis and Clark Expedition. It was designated as a National Memorial by Executive Order 7523, on December 21, 1935, and is maintained by the National Park Service (NPS). The park was established to commemorate: The memorial consists of a 91-acre (36.8 ha) park along the Mississippi River on the site of the earliest buildings of St. Louis; the Old Courthouse, a former state and federal courthouse that saw the origins of the Dred Scott case; the 45,000 sq ft (4,200 m) Museum of Westward Expansion; and most notably, the Gateway Arch, an inverted steel catenary arch that has become the definitive icon of the city. The Gateway Arch is known as the "Gateway to the West". It was designed by Finnish-American architect Eero Saarinen and structural engineer Hannskarl Bandel in 1947 and built between 1963 and October 1965. It stands 630 feet (192 m) tall and 630 feet (192 m) wide at its base. The legs are 54 feet (16.5 m) wide at the base, narrowing to 17 feet (5.2 m) at the arch. There is a unique tram system to carry passengers to the observation room at the top of the arch. The Old
    8.00
    1 votes
    156
    Manhattan Plaza

    Manhattan Plaza

    Manhattan Plaza is a large federally subsidized residential complex at 400 and 484 West 43rd Street in midtown Manhattan, New York City. It has 1,688 units and about 3,500 tenants. 70% of the tenants are from the performing arts, 15% are neighborhood residents, and 15% are elderly. It occupies the city block bounded north by 43rd Street, east by 9th Avenue, south by 42nd Street, and west by 10th Avenue. The complex was built with federal U.S. Housing and Urban Development Section 8 subsidies, and New York State Mitchell-Lama. Under Section 8, low-income tenants pay no more than 30% of their income for rent, and the Section 8 program pays the rest. Under Mitchell-Lama, rents are also subsidized but incomes are higher. Manhattan Plaza was designed by architect David Todd. Constructed in the 1970s, the complex originally was intended to be luxury apartments before the developers declared bankruptcy and left the mostly completed structures vacant. The all-electric heating became uneconomic after the oil crisis raised the costs of electricity, and prospective tenants found the neighborhood of the time, with its crime and sexually oriented book stores and movies, undesirable. Shortly
    8.00
    1 votes
    157
    Blanton Museum of Art

    Blanton Museum of Art

    • Buildings In Complex: Edgar A. Smith Building
    The Jack S. Blanton Museum of Art is the art museum and research center of the University of Texas at Austin. Formerly under the College of Fine Arts, the museum director now reports to the University's Executive Vice-President and Provost. The museum is one of the largest university art museums in the United States, housing some 17,000 works from Europe, the United States and Latin America. The Blanton was established in 1963 as the University Art Museum. The museum's collections were originally displayed and stored in the Art Building, until 1972 when the permanent collection moved to gallery spaces in the Harry Ransom Center (then called the Humanities Research Center). In 1980, the museum was renamed the Archer M. Huntington Art Gallery. On April 30, 2006, the museum opened a new 155,000 square foot (14,000 m²) facility on the University's campus, renamed the Blanton Museum of Art, after receiving a $12 million donation from Houston Endowment Inc. in honor of its former chairman, Jack S. Blanton. The new complex was designed by Kallmann McKinnell & Wood Architects. Although the Museum was built as designed by Kallmann McKinnell & Wood Architects, they were not the first
    5.25
    4 votes
    158
    Burswood Entertainment Complex

    Burswood Entertainment Complex

    Crown Perth (formerly known as Burswood Entertainment Complex) is located on the Swan River near the city of Perth, Western Australia, and is owned by Crown Limited. The complex includes a 24-hour casino, a wide range of restaurants and bars, two hotels (the luxury 5-star Crown Metropol and 4-star Crown Promenade), a Convention Centre, nightclub, 2,300-seat theatre and 20,000-seat indoor arena. Burswood Train Station, near The Dome, provides a public transport link to the Perth CBD. In 1984, the Western Australian Government proposed at the suggestion of Perth businessman Dallas Dempster that a casino complex be constructed at Burswood Island on the Swan River, 3 km east of the Perth city centre. This was the site of a large landfill facility, which posed difficulties in the proposal, design and construction phases due to the risk of subsidence resulting from decomposition and also the risk of release of effluent into the adjacent river as a result of pile driving for the construction. The winning bidder to build the complex was Tileska Pty Ltd, a joint venture between Dallas Dempster and Genting Berhad, a Malaysian casino operator. At the time, there were allegations by rival
    7.00
    2 votes
    159
    Denver Performing Arts Complex

    Denver Performing Arts Complex

    • Buildings In Complex: Boettcher Concert Hall
    The Denver Performing Arts Complex (sometimes referred to locally as "The Plex," "The DCPA" or simply, "Denver Center") located in Denver, Colorado, is the second largest performing arts center in the world after New York City's Lincoln Center. The DPAC is a four-block, 12-acre (49,000 m) site containing ten performance spaces with over 10,000 seats connected by an 80 ft (24 m) tall glass roof. It is home to a Tony Award-winning theatre company, Broadway touring productions, contemporary dance and ballet, magnificent chorales, a major symphony orchestra, internationally acclaimed opera and more. The City and County of Denver’s Theatres and Arenas Division owns and operates the three largest theatres in DPAC, the Ellie Caulkins Opera House, the Buell Theatre and Boettcher Concert Hall. These and the other facilities of the Complex are managed and booked by the Denver Center for the Performing Arts (DCPA). Performing arts organizations which regularly appear in one or other of the performance spaces include the Colorado Ballet, the Colorado Symphony Orchestra, Opera Colorado and the Denver Center for the Performing Arts’ theatrical divisions — Denver Center Attractions, Denver Center
    7.00
    2 votes
    160
    The Garden Mid Valley

    The Garden Mid Valley

    The Gardens (also known in full as The Gardens at Mid Valley City) is a mixed development in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. It is the second phase of Mid Valley City, which also houses the Mid Valley Megamall. The Gardens is a 9.7-acre (39,000 m) development which contains a high-end shopping centre and four towers, the first housing a 6-star hotel, the second are housing residential suites and the remaining two housing office spaces.
    7.00
    2 votes
    161
    Tower City Center

    Tower City Center

    • Buildings In Complex: Terminal Tower
    Tower City Center (formerly known as Cleveland Union Terminal) is a large mixed-use facility located on Public Square in downtown Cleveland, Ohio. The facility is composed of a number of interconnected office buildings, including the landmark Terminal Tower, a shopping mall, the Horseshoe Casino Cleveland, two hotels, and the main hub of Cleveland's three rapid transit lines. On March 17, 1976, the tower was added to the National Register of Historic Places as the Union Terminal Group. The Cleveland Union Terminal was built by the Van Sweringen brothers as a terminal for all trains coming into Cleveland via the various railroad lines in a concept similar to New York City's Grand Central Terminal. The facility also included a number of retail stores and restaurants. Original designs for the complex show that at first the brothers did not plan on building an office tower within the complex. However, they eventually decided to build the 52-story Terminal Tower on the northeast side of the complex facing Public Square. From its completion until 1964, the Terminal Tower was the tallest building in North America outside of New York City. Cleveland Union Terminal also served as the
    7.00
    2 votes
    162
    Pennsylvania Avenue National Historic Site

    Pennsylvania Avenue National Historic Site

    • Buildings In Complex: Internal Revenue Service Building
    Pennsylvania Avenue National Historic Site is a National Historic Site in the city of Washington, D.C. Established on September 30, 1965, the site is roughly bounded by Constitution Avenue, 15th Street NW, F Street NW, and 3rd Street NW. The historic district includes a number of culturally, aesthetically, and historically significant structures and places, including Pennsylvania Avenue NW from the White House to the United States Capitol, the Treasury Building, Freedom Plaza, Federal Triangle, Ford's Theatre, the Old Patent Office Building, the Old Pension Office Building (which now houses the National Building Museum), Judiciary Square, and the Peace Monument. Pennsylvania Avenue, the heart of the historic site, is recognized by many as "America's Main Street." The avenue plays a significant part in American political culture as well. "Since its creation in the head of L'Enfant, from the time Jefferson planted Lombardy poplars along its edge, this has been the most important avenue in Washington," noted author Jeffrey F. Meyer. "It is the corridor of power, linking the legislative, judicial, and executive branches." Professor of architecture Michael J. Bednar, commenting on the
    6.00
    3 votes
    163
    Googleplex

    Googleplex

    The Googleplex is the corporate headquarters complex of Google, Inc., located at 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway in Mountain View, Santa Clara County, California, United States, near San Jose. "Googleplex" is a portmanteau of Google and complex, and a reference to googolplex, the name given to the large number 10, or 10. The Googleplex is one of the company's 23 U.S. and Canadian locations. Google also maintains 23 European locations, 14 Asia/Pacific locations, 5 Middle East locations, and 3 Latin American locations. The four core buildings, totaling 47,038 square meters (506,310 sq ft), were built for and originally occupied by Silicon Graphics (SGI). The office space and corporate campus is located within a larger 26-acre (110,000 m) site that contains Charleston Park, a 5-acre (20,000 m) public park; improved access to Permanente Creek; and public roads that connect the corporate site to Shoreline Park and the Bay Trail. The project, launched in 1994 to reclaim a former industrial brownfield site, was a creative collaboration between SGI, SWA Group of San Francisco, Sausalito, and the Planning and Community Development Agency of the City of Mountain View. The objective was to develop
    5.67
    3 votes
    164
    Maple leaf square

    Maple leaf square

    Maple Leaf Square, has a twin tower condominium called Maple Leaf Square Condos, an office, retail, entertainment and hotel complex located to the west of the Air Canada Centre in Downtown Toronto. It was jointly developed by Cadillac Fairview, Lanterra and Maple Leaf Sports & Entertainment (MLSE), who owns the nearby Air Canada Centre. Plans for the $500 million development were unveiled in 2005. The finished complex has 1,800,000 square feet (170,000 m) of usable space covering 2.1 acres (8,500 m) on one city block. According to MLSE (though others sources cite slightly different figures), the two glass and precast concrete towers will be 65 stories, containing 872 residential units, a 167-room Hotel LeGermain Boutique Hotel, 230,000 square feet (21,000 m) of office space, 110,000 square feet (10,000 m) of retail space, a 7,000-square-foot (650 m) daycare centre, a High-Definition theatre that will broadcast Leafs TV and Raptors NBA TV 24-hours a day, and four levels of underground parking with nearly 900 spaces. Now open, the retail complex includes a Longo's grocery, a 24,000-square-foot (2,200 m) sports bar called Real Sports Bar and Grill, a sports retail store called Real
    5.67
    3 votes
    165
    Scott Base

    Scott Base

    Scott Base is a research facility located in Antarctica and is operated by New Zealand. It was named after Captain Robert Falcon Scott, Royal Navy, leader of two British expeditions to the Ross Sea area of Antarctica. Located on Ross Island near Mount Erebus in New Zealand's Ross Dependency territorial claim, it was set up as support to field research and the centre for research into earth sciences, but now conducts research in many fields. Scott Base was originally constructed in support of the UK inspired and privately managed Commonwealth Trans-Antarctic Expedition (TAE). The New Zealand government provided support for the TAE and also for the International Geophysical Year (IGY) project of 1957, five of whose members were attached to the Expedition. Three New Zealand observers with the task of selecting the site for a base went to McMurdo Sound with the United States “Operation Deep Freeze I” in the summer of 1955. After evaluating possible sites, a location near Butter Point was chosen. This was later changed to Pram Point as it provided better access for offloading supplies from the Expedition ship HMNZS Endeavour and also allowed for the operation of the critical RNZAF
    5.67
    3 votes
    166
    King's College, Aberdeen

    King's College, Aberdeen

    King's College in Old Aberdeen, Scotland is a formerly independent university founded in 1495 and an integral part of the University of Aberdeen. Its historic buildings are the centrepiece of the University of Aberdeen's Old Aberdeen campus, often known as the King's or King's College campus. The focal point of the college, as well as its oldest building, is the late 15th century King's College Chapel. A number of other historic buildings remain, with others being subject to renovation and rebuilding in the 18th and 19th centuries. In the early 20th century, a great deal of expansion saw the university buildings increase around the historic college buildings. In the later 20th century, the university expanded dramatically in size, dominating Old Aberdeen and expanding out from the High Street with a number of modern buildings. The University and King's College of Aberdeen (Collegium Regium Abredonense) was the first university in Aberdeen, the third in Scotland and the fifth in the United Kingdom. In 1495, William Elphinstone, the relatively newly appointed Bishop of Aberdeen, petitioned Pope Alexander VI on behalf of King James IV to create the facility to cure the ignorance he
    6.50
    2 votes
    167
    Los Angeles Music Center

    Los Angeles Music Center

    • Buildings In Complex: Mark Taper Forum
    The Music Center (officially named the Performing Arts Center of Los Angeles County) is one of the three largest performing arts centers in the nation. Located in downtown Los Angeles, the Music Center is home to the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Ahmanson Theater, Mark Taper Forum and Walt Disney Concert Hall. Each year, the Music Center welcomes more than 1.3 million people to performances by its four internationally renowned performing arts companies: Los Angeles Philharmonic, Center Theatre Group (CTG), L.A. Opera and Los Angeles Master Chorale. In March 1955, Dorothy Chandler, wife of Los Angeles Times publisher Norman Chandler, began fundraising toward a permanent home for the Philharmonic. Ultimately Mrs. Chandler raised almost $20 million in private donations; the County provided the site and raised the remaining $14 million using mortgage revenue bonds. The rest of the complex was completed in April 1967. The additional venues, the Mark Taper Forum and Ahmanson Theatre, were dedicated on April 19 and 12, 1967, respectively. When the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion opened its doors on December 6, 1964, the twenty-eight year old Zubin Mehta led the Los Angeles Philharmonic in a
    6.50
    2 votes
    168
    McMurdo Station

    McMurdo Station

    McMurdo Station is a U.S. Antarctic research center located on the southern tip of Ross Island, which is in the New Zealand-claimed Ross Dependency on the shore of McMurdo Sound in Antarctica. It is operated by the United States through the United States Antarctic Program, a branch of the National Science Foundation. The station is the largest community in Antarctica, capable of supporting up to 1,258 residents, and serves as the United States Antarctic science facility. All personnel and cargo going to or coming from Amundsen–Scott South Pole Station first pass through McMurdo. The station owes its designation to nearby McMurdo Sound, named after Lieutenant Archibald McMurdo of H.M.S. Terror, which first charted the area in 1841 under the command of British explorer James Clark Ross. British explorer Robert Falcon Scott first established a base close to this spot in 1902 and built Discovery Hut, still standing adjacent to the harbour at Hut Point. The volcanic rock of the site is the southernmost bare ground accessible by ship in the Antarctic. The United States officially opened its first station at McMurdo on Feb. 16, 1956. Founders initially called the station Naval Air
    6.50
    2 votes
    169
    Rutherford Appleton Laboratory

    Rutherford Appleton Laboratory

    • Buildings In Complex: ISIS neutron source
    The Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (RAL) is one of the national scientific research laboratories in the UK operated by the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC). It is located on the Harwell Science and Innovation Campus at Chilton near Didcot in Oxfordshire, United Kingdom. It has a staff of approximately 1,200 people who support the work of over 10,000 scientists and engineers, chiefly from the university research community. The laboratory's programme is designed to deliver trained manpower and economic growth for the UK as the result of achievements in science. RAL is named after the physicists Ernest Rutherford and Edward Appleton. The National Institute for Research in Nuclear Science (NIRNS) was formed in 1957 to operate the Rutherford High Energy Laboratory established next to the Atomic Energy Research Establishment on the former RAF Harwell airfield between Chilton and Harwell. The 50 MeV proton linear accelerator was transferred from the Atomic Energy Research Establishment to the new laboratory to become a national facility for particle physics as the Nimrod (synchrotron). Some components of this linear accelerator are still operating as part of the ISIS
    6.50
    2 votes
    170
    The Euskalduna Conference Centre and Concert Hall

    The Euskalduna Conference Centre and Concert Hall

    The Euskalduna Conference Centre and Concert Hall (Euskalduna Jauregia, in Basque) is located in the city of Bilbao, in the Basque Country (Spain), beside the Estuary of Bilbao, built in part of the area that was formerly occupied by the Euskalduna shipyards. It was designed by architects Federico Soriano and Dolores Palacios and work started in 1994. It was opened in February 1999 and contains a variety of spaces, functioning as a conference center, opera house and concert hall. In 2003 it was declared by the International Congress Palace Association as the world's best congress center. It is located on the zone of Abandoibarra, near the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao. The concert hall is connected to the rest of the city by EuskoTran's Line A, Bilbao Metro Lines 1 and 2 and Cercanías Bilbao lines C1 and C2. In 2003 it was rewarded by the International Congress Palace Association as the world's best congress center.
    6.50
    2 votes
    171
    The Sentinels

    The Sentinels

    • Buildings In Complex: Cleveland Tower
    The Sentinels are two 90 metre tall residential tower blocks on Holloway Head in Birmingham, England. The two towers, called Clydesdale Tower and Cleveland Tower, are both 31 storeys tall and were part of a major regeneration scheme following World War II which consisted of the construction of hundreds of tower blocks. They are the tallest residential tower blocks in the city. The tower blocks were the brainchild of the Chairman of Birmingham's House Building and Housing Management Committees returning from a visit to Chicago to witness the opening of the Marina City development which consists of two 61-storey towers. The councillors decided that Birmingham needed a development similar to this and in 1965, plans began to surface for the construction of twin towers at Holloway Head to overlook the new ring road. After discussions over height, it was decided that the tower blocks should be 32 stories tall, one story taller than the Red Road tower blocks in Glasgow, Scotland. It was decided to construct them out of concrete, which was common among tower blocks in the city during that time. They were designed by Bryant's Ltd. and both towers were identical though angled differently to
    6.50
    2 votes
    172
    Center Street Apartments

    Center Street Apartments

    • Buildings In Complex: Center Street South
    Center Street Apartments are apartment-style residence halls at Georgia Tech. They opened in 1995 as housing for the athletes and journalists at the 1996 Summer Olympics in Atlanta, GA as a part of the Olympic Village. The Apartments are separated into 2 buildings which are known as either North or South. North houses 160 residents and South houses 192. Together, the Center Street Apartments originally cost $14,024,000 to construct and was designed by John Portman & Associates. John Portman is a famous alumnus of the university, graduating from Georgia Tech in 1950.
    7.00
    1 votes
    173
    Dubai Land

    Dubai Land

    Dubailand is an entertainment complex being built in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, which is owned by Tatweer (which belongs to Dubai Holding). When announced in 2003 it was one of the most ambitious leisure developments ever proposed anywhere in the world costing 64.3 billion, but development has been severely impacted by global recession and Dubai's financial crisis. The development was put on hold in 2008 and as of late 2011 has not resumed. The Dubailand project was officially announced on October 23, 2003. Dubailand will have an area of 278 km (107 sq mi) and include 45 "mega projects" and 200 sub projects. To date, there are currently 22 projects under development. Dubailand is divided into six zones (worlds): Attractions and Experience World, Sports and Outdoor World, Eco-Tourism World, Themed Leisure and Vacation World, Retail and Entertainment World, and Downtown. It will be twice the size of Walt Disney World Resort, and will be the largest collection of theme parks in the world; however, no theme park in Dubailand will surpass Disney's Animal Kingdom (located at Walt Disney World Resort) as the world's largest theme park. Private reaction towards the project has been
    7.00
    1 votes
    174
    History Park at Kelley Park

    History Park at Kelley Park

    History Park at Kelley Park (or just History Park) in San Jose, California, USA is designed as an indoor/outdoor museum, arranged to appear as a small US town might have in the early 1900s (decade). Since its inauguration in 1971, 29 historic buildings and other landmarks have either been moved from their original San Jose locations or are represented by replicas. Period exhibits include a doctor's office, a dentist's office (complete with an old foot-pedal-powered drill), fruit barn, blacksmith shed, a livery stable (US terminology for a business that rented out horse-drawn carriages), a working print shop, a gas station, the Pacific Hotel, the Empire Fire House, the Bank of Italy (precursor to the Bank of America), a one-room schoolhouse, a post office and a number of houses of early Santa Clara Valley settlers. The fruit barn not only has many farm implements and devices from the period, but also displays hundreds of photographs documenting the area's development. Other attractions include: Weekdays, tours are offered by paid staff, often for local students on class field trips. On weekends, selected exhibit buildings are staffed on a rotating schedule by volunteers, who also
    7.00
    1 votes
    175
    Rookwood Cemetery

    Rookwood Cemetery

    Rookwood Cemetery (officially named Rookwood Necropolis) is the largest multicultural necropolis in the Southern Hemisphere, located in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. Rookwood is also considered to be a suburb, close to Lidcombe railway station about 17 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district. Rookwood Cemetery is divided into denominational and operational areas with individual offices, staff, and equipment to run different parts of the entire area. The cemetery is now managed by five denominational Trusts, each of which is responsible for the care and maintenance of a number of burial sections catering to various ethnic and cultural groups within the community. The following individual Trusts manage the cemetery on behalf of the NSW State Government: Anglican & General Cemetery Trusts, the Catholic Cemeteries Board, The Independent Cemetery Trust, Jewish Cemetery, Muslim Cemetery Trust, and, importantly, The NSW Cremation Company, which founded and operates The Rookwood Crematorium, the oldest operating crematorium in the country. The NSW Cremation Company is the only private company operating a 'cemetery' section within the necropolis grounds, today the
    7.00
    1 votes
    176
    Stiltsville

    Stiltsville

    Stiltsville is a group of wood stilt houses located one mile south of Cape Florida on sand banks of the Safety Valve on the edge of Biscayne Bay in Miami-Dade County, Florida. The structures stand on wood or reinforced concrete pilings, generally ten feet above the shallow water which varies from one to three feet deep at low tide. Most sources claim the first stilt shack was built in the early 1930s, but some Dade County historians say that there were a dozen shacks in "the flats" as early as 1922. "Crawfish" Eddie Walker built a shack on stilts above the water in 1933, toward the end of the prohibition era, allegedly to facilitate gambling, which was legal at one mile offshore. Crawfish Eddie sold bait and beer from his shack and was known for a dish he called chilau, a crawfish chowder made with crawfish he caught under his shack. Thomas Grady and Leo Edward, two of Eddie's fishing buddies, built their own shack in 1937. Shipwrecking and channel dredging brought many people to the area and more shacks were constructed, some by boating and fishing clubs. Local newspapers called the area "the shacks" and "shack colony". Crawfish Eddie's original shack was destroyed by the late
    7.00
    1 votes
    177
    The CORE Shopping Centre

    The CORE Shopping Centre

    The Core Shopping Centre (styled as CORE), which consists of TD Square, the Holt Renfrew building, and the former Calgary Eaton Centre, is the dominant shopping complex located in the downtown core of Calgary, Alberta, Canada. It spans three city blocks and contains approximately 160 retailers on four levels. The property also contains four major office towers (TD Canada Trust Tower, Home Oil Tower, Dome Tower) and the historic Lancaster Building. It is the hub of downtown Calgary’s +15 skywalk system, and as such is the busiest shopping centre in the City by pedestrian count, with around 250,000 visitors passing through each week. The centre's architectural focal point is a vast suspended glass skylight which spans the length complex. As of October 29, 2010, The Core offers free evening and weekend parking at its underground lots. The Core is bounded by 8th Avenue SW (Stephen Avenue pedestrian mall) on the south, 7th Avenue SW (LRT Corridor rapid transit line) on the north, and extends above 3rd Street SW (Barclay Parade) and 4th Street SW. The mall is directly connected to the neighbouring retail complexes of Bankers Hall (south) and Scotia Centre/Hudson’s Bay Store (east) via
    7.00
    1 votes
    178
    Tsozong Gongba Monastery

    Tsozong Gongba Monastery

    Tsozong Gongba Monastery (also Tsodzong or Tsomum, 1400 AD; meaning 'castle in a lake') is a small sacred chapel of the Nyingma (Red) tradition of Tibetan Buddhism (monks wear red hats - see the other two Red Hat Sects). Tsozong Gongba Monastery has four buildings situated around a small yard. The construction of the Tsozong Gongba Monastery was chaired by the Nyin-gma-pa monk Sungye Lingpa and is now home of few nuns. The three statues (Chenresig, Guru Rimpoché and Sakya Thukpa, see above) were actually shot and burned by the People's Liberation Army (PLA) during the Cultural Revolution, before being restored by the local lama Dudjom Rimpoche and his son Chuni Rimpoche (now resident of at Lamaling Monastery near Bayi town, see the map on your left). A small 'kora' (ritual circumambulation circuit, see also Kora (pilgrimage)) around the monastery passes several hard-to-discern holy sites, including a Sky burial site, a 'body-print' of Gesar. Tsozong Gongba Monastery is located on the Tashi (in Chinese Zha-Xi/Tsa-Xi, 島心湖) Island in the middle of the Basum Tso Lake (also Baksum Tso, Draksum-tso) - Eastern Tibet’s largest freshwater lake. Because of the water's stunning jade green
    7.00
    1 votes
    179
    Adam's Mark Complex

    Adam's Mark Complex

    The Sheraton Dallas Hotel, formerly the Adam's Mark Hotel and originally the Southland Center, is a complex of international style skyscrapers located in the City Center District of downtown Dallas, Texas. The hotel is the tallest and largest hotel in Dallas and Texas with 1,840 guest rooms and 260,000 sq ft (24,000 m) of meeting space. It has been host to pop culture conventions such as Project A-Kon and Twicon. The complex was originally designed by Welton Becket & Associates from Los Angeles for the Southland Life Insurance Company. When groundbreaking for the buildings took place in 1955 it was compared to Manhattan's Rockefeller Center, as Southland Center was the first mixed-use project in downtown containing both hotel and office space. Southland Center was the second major development in the northeast end of downtown now known as the City Center District. The original two buildings, completed in 1958, consisted of the 42 story (550ft) center tower Southland Life Building and the 28 story (353ft) south tower Sheraton Dallas Hotel. In early 1981, the 31 story (448ft) North Tower was added as additional office space. All three buildings are rectangular slab structures and
    5.33
    3 votes
    180
    Celtic Media Centre

    Celtic Media Centre

    • Buildings In Complex: OakTree Building
    Managed by Raleigh Studios, Celtic Media Centre, located in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, is a notable film production facility with many stages and post production facilities.
    5.33
    3 votes
    181
    BCE Place

    BCE Place

    • Buildings In Complex: Bay Wellington Tower
    Brookfield Place (formerly BCE Place) is an office complex in Downtown Toronto, Ontario, Canada, comprising the 2.1 hectare (5.2 acre) block bounded by Yonge Street to the east, Wellington Street West to the north, Bay Street to the west, and Front Street to the south. The complex contains 242,000 square metres (2,604,866 sq ft) of office space, and consists of two towers, the Bay Wellington Tower and the TD Canada Trust Tower, linked by the six-storey Allen Lambert Galleria. Brookfield Place is also the home of the Hockey Hall of Fame and serves as the headquarters for Brookfield Office Properties, which owns the Bay Wellington Tower section of the complex. The TD Tower section is owned by the Ontario Municipal Employees Retirement System through its subsidiary Oxford Properties. The Bay Wellington Tower is a 49 storey office tower, designed by Bregman + Hamann Architects and completed in 1992. The TD Canada Trust Tower is noted for its recessed design and spire on the upper levels and stands at 53 storeys. Designed by Bregman + Hamann Architects and Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, the tower was completed in 1990 was known as the Canada Trust Tower until 2000 when Canada Trust was
    6.00
    2 votes
    182
    Buda Castle

    Buda Castle

    Buda Castle (Hungarian: Budavári Palota, German: Burgpalast, Turkish: Budin Kalesi) is the historical castle and palace complex of the Hungarian kings in Budapest, first completed in 1265. In the past, it was also called Royal Palace (Hungarian: Királyi-palota) and Royal Castle (Hungarian: Királyi Vár, German: Königliche Burg). Buda Castle was built on the southern tip of Castle Hill, bounded on the north by what is known as the Castle District (Várnegyed), famous for its Medieval, Baroque, and 19th-century houses, churches, and public buildings. It is linked to Clark Ádám Square and the Széchenyi Chain Bridge by the Castle Hill Funicular. The castle is part of the Budapest World Heritage Site, declared in 1987. The first royal residence on the Castle Hill was built by King Béla IV of Hungary between 1247 and 1265. It is uncertain whether it was situated on the southern tip of the hill or on the northern elevation near the Kammerhof. The oldest part of the present-day palace was built in the 14th century by Stephen, Duke of Slavonia, the younger brother of King Louis I of Hungary. Only the foundations remain of the castle keep, which was known as Stephen's Tower (Hungarian:
    6.00
    2 votes
    183
    Cyberport

    Cyberport

    Cyberport (Chinese: 數碼港) is a creative digital community with a cluster of technology and digital content tenants. It is owned and managed by Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited which is wholly owned by the Hong Kong SAR Government. With a vision to establish itself as a leading information and communications technology (ICT) hub in the Asia-Pacific region, Cyberport is committed to facilitating the local economy by nurturing ICT industry start-ups and entrepreneurs, driving collaboration to pool resources and create business opportunities, and promoting a digitally inclusive society through strategic initiatives and partnerships. Equipped with an array of state-of-the-art ICT facilities and a cutting-edge broadband network, the Cyberport community is home to four grade-A intelligent office buildings, a five-star design hotel, and a retail entertainment complex. The Cyberport Digital Entertainment Incubation-cum-Training (IncuTrain) is the only incubation facility focusing on digital contents in Hong Kong. To help develop human capital and market, the Cyberport IncuTrain Centre collaborates with various organizations and platforms internationally to provide entrepreneurs
    6.00
    2 votes
    184
    Exhibition Place

    Exhibition Place

    Exhibition Place is a mixed-use district in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, by the shoreline of Lake Ontario, just west of downtown. The 197–acre area includes expo, trade, and banquet centres, theatre and music buildings, monuments, parkland, sports facilities, and a number of civic, provincial, and national historic sites. From mid-August through Labour Day each year, the Canadian National Exhibition (CNE), from which the name Exhibition Place is derived, is held on the grounds. During the CNE, Exhibition Place encompasses 260 acres (1.1 km), expanding to include nearby parks and parking lots. The CNE features games and a midway, among a host of attractions. The fair is one of the largest and most successful of its kind in North America, and an important part of the culture of Toronto, the province, and the nation itself. The grounds have seen a mix of protection for heritage buildings along with new development. Five buildings on the site (the Fire Hall/Police Station, Government Building, Horticulture Building, Music Building and Press Building), all designed by George Gouinlock, were designated a National Historic Site of Canada in 1988. Exhibition Place is a large area west of
    6.00
    2 votes
    185
    South City Towers

    South City Towers

    South City is the name given to a 31.14-acre (126,000 m) micro-township in Kolkata, India. It is situated in Prince Anwar Shah Road close to the Jadavpur and Tollygunge areas of the city. Most of the recent real estate developments in Kolkata has taken place in the E.M. Bypass area, New Town and Greater Kolkata. However, the South City micro-township is located in the heart of the city. The micro township features a Residential Complex, which includes a number of recreational facilities, School, Shopping Mall and a Social Club. The Residential complex is a condominium and has 5 building towers - out of which the first 4 (35+1 Storey) have been fully constructed and the 5th tower (15 Storey) is under construction. As of 2011, the 36 36-storey residential structures are the tallest buildings in eastern India and also one the tallest in the country. They rise up to a height of 117 metres (384 ft). The first four towers have been named as Pine, Oak, Maple, Cedar. The structure of the high rise towers have been designed withstand high level earthquakes (Seismic resistance), which is very important from the point of view of the structural safety of any high rise and more so, when Kolkata
    6.00
    2 votes
    186
    Hermitage Museum

    Hermitage Museum

    • Buildings In Complex: General Staff Building
    The State Hermitage (Russian: Госуда́рственный Эрмита́ж; IPA: [gəsʊˈdarstvʲɪnɨj ɪrmʲɪˈtaʂ]) is a museum of art and culture in Saint Petersburg, Russia. One of the largest and oldest museums in the world, it was founded in 1764 by Catherine the Great and has been open to the public since 1852. Its collections, of which only a small part is on permanent display, comprise nearly three million items, including the largest collection of paintings in the world. The collections occupy a large complex of six historic buildings along Palace Embankment, including the Winter Palace, a former residence of Russian emperors. Apart from them, the Menshikov Palace, Museum of Porcelain, Storage Facility at Staraya Derevnya and the eastern wing of the General Staff Building are also part of the museum. The museum has several exhibition centers abroad. The Hermitage is a federal state property. Since 1990, the director of the museum has been Mikhail Piotrovsky. Out of six buildings of the main museum complex, four, named the Winter Palace, Small Hermitage, Old Hermitage and New Hermitage, are partially open to the public. The other two are the Hermitage Theatre and the Reserve House. The entrance
    5.00
    3 votes
    187
    Chevron Renaissance

    Chevron Renaissance

    Chevron Renaissance is a $400 million development in Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia by Gold Coast veteran developer Raptis Group comprising both Chevron Renaissance Shopping Centre and Towers of Chevron Renaissance apartments. Chevron Renaissance is on the site of the old Chevron Hotel, in the heart of the Surfers Paradise, contributing the its revitalization. The Chevron Renaissance commercial development occupies the block of the land extending from the Gold Coast Highway in the east to Ferny Avenue in the west and from Circle on Cavill in the south halfway towards Cavill Avenue and Elkhorn Avenue in the north. Construction of the complex commenced in November 1999 and was completed in December 2004. Gold Coast mayor Gary Baildon, Chairman and founder of the Raptis Group Jim Raptis and former Queensland Premier Peter Beattie were present at the launch of Skyline Central in Towers of Chevron Renaissance in August 2003. Chevron Renaissance is the most significant Gold Coast development since the late 1950s. The first part of the Chevron was a “temporary” public bar that opened in June 1957. In August 1957 the upstairs Skyline Cabaret opened and this was something quite new to
    5.50
    2 votes
    188
    Huron Towers

    Huron Towers

    • Buildings In Complex: Huron Towers West
    Huron Towers is the name of a pair of twin apartment buildings in Ann Arbor, Michigan. They are located at 2200 Fuller Court. Huron Towers West was built in 1960, and stands at 14 floors in height. The residential high-rise includes a restaurant, retail space, and a fitness center. It is designed in the modern architectural style. Huron Towers East is the twin of Huron Towers West, and is built identically to it. The high-rise has the same facilities as its twin, built in 1960.
    5.50
    2 votes
    189
    Maggie's centres

    Maggie's centres

    Maggie's Cancer Caring Centres are a network of drop-in centres in Great Britain, which aim to help anyone who has been affected by cancer. They are not intended as a replacement for conventional cancer therapy, but as a caring environment that can provide support, information and practical advice. They are located nearby, but are separate from, existing NHS hospitals. The Scottish registered charity (registration number SC024414) which promotes, builds and runs the centres is formally named the Maggie Keswick Jencks Cancer Caring Trust, but refers to itself simply as Maggie's. It was founded by and named after the late Maggie Keswick Jencks, who died of cancer in 1995. Like her husband, architectural writer and critic Charles Jencks, she believed in the ability of buildings to uplift people. The buildings that house the centres have been designed by leading architects, including Frank Gehry, Zaha Hadid and Richard Rogers. Patrons of the charity include Frank Gehry, Jon Snow, Kirsty Wark, and Sarah Brown, wife of former British Prime Minister Gordon Brown. As of 2011, the charity's chief operating officer is Laura Lee. The first Maggie's Centre opened in Edinburgh in 1996, and is
    5.50
    2 votes
    190
    Meadowlands Sports Complex

    Meadowlands Sports Complex

    • Buildings In Complex: Meadowlands Xanadu
    The MetLife Sports Complex is a sports and entertainment complex located in East Rutherford, Bergen County, New Jersey, United States, owned and operated by the New Jersey Sports and Exposition Authority (NJSEA). The site consists of MetLife Stadium, the Izod Center, the Meadowlands Racetrack, the American Dream Meadowlands, and the Timex Performance Center. In the mid-1960s, civic leaders in New Jersey began calling for a sports complex in the New Jersey Meadowlands that would be able to lure a National Football League team from New York City. The New Jersey Sports and Exposition Authority Law was passed by the New Jersey Legislature in 1971 and signed by then–Governor of New Jersey William T. Cahill. The first chairman of the NJSEA was David A. "Sonny" Werblin, former president of the NFL's New York Jets. By year's end, Werblin had secured a deal for the New York Giants, who were then playing in Yankee Stadium in the Bronx, to move to the Meadowlands. Ground was broken on Giants Stadium and the Meadowlands Racetrack on November 19, 1972. To accommodate the new facility, access roads were improved. The New Jersey Turnpike, which had been suffering the burden of increased traffic
    5.50
    2 votes
    191
    Royal Australian Mint

    Royal Australian Mint

    The Royal Australian Mint is a coin mint (opened 1965) situated in the Australian federal capital city of Canberra, in the suburb of Deakin. All new Australian circulating coins are minted at the Royal Australian mint. Before the opening of the mint, Australian coins were struck at branches of The Royal Mint - the Sydney Mint, Melbourne Mint and Perth Mint. The Royal Australian Mint holds a place in history as the first mint in Australia not to be a branch of The Royal Mint in London. The only other operational mint in Australia is the Perth Mint. Planning for the mint started in 1959, when it was proposed to move the Royal Mint branch in Melbourne to Canberra. It was officially opened by H.R.H. The Duke of Edinburgh on 22 February 1965, coinciding with decimal coinage, which was introduced into circulation on 14 February 1966. The new mint and the Melbourne Mint operated concurrently as the new coinage was produced. When the initial demand for decimal coinage was satisfied, the Melbourne mint was closed. Some staff from the Melbourne mint relocated to Canberra to operate the new mint. The new mint cost $5 million to build, with an additional $4 million for equipment. The mint
    5.50
    2 votes
    192
    The Crofoot

    The Crofoot

    The Crofoot is a mixed-use independent entertainment complex made up of 4 unique buildings ( The Crofoot building, The Pike Street building, The Vernors building, and the Eagle Theater). The complex contains 5 rooms for live music, each with a private entrance. The Crofoot is a busy concert venue for popular music acts, and other larger private events or festivals which combine the multiple rooms for different distinct atmospheres. All-age shows as well as adult-only concerts are held; Pontiac, Michigan. Pontiac is the first inland city of Michigan. The Pontiac Company plotted it in 1818 where the Saginaw Indian Trail (Woodward Avenue) crossed the Schiawassee Indian Trail (Orchard Lake Road). The Clinton River created double peninsula where it snaked through what would become downtown Pontiac. The Pontiac Commercial Historic District is located just north of where the Saginaw Trail crossed the Clinton River. Historically, the business district of Pontiac was centered at the intersection of Pike and Saginaw. On April 30, 1840, the entire commercial district on both sides of Saginaw from Pike to Lawrence was leveled in a fire. In response to this event, all new buildings were
    5.50
    2 votes
    193
    Grosvenor House

    Grosvenor House

    • Buildings In Complex: Grosvenor House The Residence
    Grosvenor House is a complex of two towers in Dubai Marina in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. The two towers, Grosvenor House West Marina Beach and Grosvenor House The Residence, will stand at the same height of 210 metres (690 ft) with 48 floors each. The complex, which is owned by Sheikh Ahmed bin Saeed Al Maktoum, is named after London's Grosvenor House. Grosvenor House West Marina Beach, which began construction in March 2003, was completed in 2005 and opened on 21 June 2005. Upon opening, the tower became first hotel in Dubai Marina and the eighth tallest building in Dubai. The tower contains hotel rooms and residential apartments operated by Le Méridien. The building houses twelve restaurants and bars. Michelin-starred chef Gary Rhodes is the chef-patron of 'Rhodes Mezzanine', one of the restaurants in Grosvenor House West Marina Beach. The second tower, Grosvenor House The Residence, is currently under construction and was completed in 2011. This 113,110 m (1,217,500 sq ft) residential tower was announced in April 2006.
    4.67
    3 votes
    194
    Saugus Iron Works National Historic Site

    Saugus Iron Works National Historic Site

    Saugus Iron Works National Historic Site is a National Historic Site located about 10 miles (16 kilometers) northeast of Downtown Boston in Saugus, Massachusetts. It is the site of the first integrated ironworks in North America, founded by John Winthrop the Younger and in operation between 1646 – 1668. It includes the reconstructed blast furnace, forge, rolling mill, shear, slitter and a quarter-ton drop hammer. The facility is powered by seven large waterwheels, some of which are rigged to work in tandem with huge wooden gears connecting them. It has a wharf to load the iron onto ocean-going vessels, as well as a large, restored 17th-century house. With the archaeological site of the 17th-century iron-making plant, the museum collection, the 17th-century Iron Works House, and the reconstructed iron works complex, Saugus Iron Works National Historic Site illustrates the critical role of iron making to 17th-century settlement and its legacy in shaping the early history of the nation. Sixteen years after the Puritans settled Boston, they built this impressive, large manufacturing complex. At the time there were only a dozen such high-tech plants in all of Europe. Skilled
    4.67
    3 votes
    195
    Historic Pensacola Village

    Historic Pensacola Village

    The Historic Pensacola Village is a collection of 22 historical buildings and museums owned and operated by the University of West Florida. The organization is largely based upon the donation of T.T. Wentworth's large historical collection to the state of Florida, and the establishment of an organization dedicated to Historic Preservation that grew because of Mr. Wentworth's generosity. The Village is located in downtown Pensacola, Florida, situated between Plaza Ferdinand VII and Seville Square. Parking is available behind the T.T. Wentworth Museum. Admission is purchased for a week, and includes access to the entire Village and the T.T. Wentworth Museum, and includes a guided tour of several historical buildings. The tour buildings can only be entered on the tour. The museum complex is open for visitors Monday through Saturday, from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Tickets are relatively inexpensive. Historic Pensacola also sells memberships. Members get admission for the year. Certain buildings can be rented out for special occasions. In particular, Old Christ Church is popular for weddings, and the Museum of Commerce is popular for events and receptions. The buildings in the complex
    6.00
    1 votes
    196
    International Finance Centre

    International Finance Centre

    The International Finance Centre (abbr. IFC, branded as "ifc") is an integrated commercial development on the waterfront of Hong Kong's Central District. A prominent landmark on Hong Kong Island, IFC consists of two skyscrapers, the IFC Mall, and the 55-storey Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong. Tower 2 is the second tallest building in Hong Kong, behind the International Commerce Centre in West Kowloon. It is the fourth-tallest building in the Greater China region and the eighth-tallest office building in the world, based on structural heights; by roof height, only the Taipei 101, Shanghai World Financial Center, Willis Tower, International Commerce Centre and Burj Khalifa exceed it. It is of similar height to the former World Trade Center. The Airport Express Hong Kong Station is directly beneath it. IFC was constructed and is owned by IFC Development, a consortium of Sun Hung Kai Properties, Henderson Land and Towngas. In 2003, Financial Times, HSBC, and Cathay Pacific put up an advertisement on the facade that stretched more than 50 storeys, covering an area of 19,000 m² (0.2 million square ft) and a length of 230 m, making it the world's largest advertisement ever put on a
    6.00
    1 votes
    197
    Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre

    Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre

    The Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre is the name given to two adjacent buildings next to the Yarra River in South Wharf, an inner-city suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. Owner and manager of the venues is the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Trust. The Melbourne Exhibition Centre Trust was created in August 1994 with the responsibility of overseeing the construction and development of the Melbourne Exhibition Centre. On 5 February 1997 the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Trust began, replacing the previous trust with the added scope of the Melbourne Convention Centre, formerly called the World Congress Centre Melbourne. In August 1997 the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Trust became owner and venue manager of both the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the Melbourne Convention Centre. The Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Trust is also responsible for managing, promoting, and the use of the Royal Exhibition Building in the Carlton Gardens. As a government-owned trust, The Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Trust is responsible to the Minister for Tourism. The Melbourne Exhibition Centre was opened on 14 February 1996, and hosts thousands of large
    6.00
    1 votes
    198
    Regents Park

    Regents Park

    Regents Park is a 1,026 unit, upscale apartment complex in the Indian Village section of the Kenwood community area of Chicago in Cook County, Illinois, United States, and adjacent to the Hyde Park community area border. Bordering Harold Washington Park, its two parallel towers are just west of Lake Shore Drive, Burnham Park and Lake Michigan with clear park and lake views to the east and south. The 37 floor Regents Park South Tower was completed in 1972 and the 36 floor Regents Park North Tower was completed in 1974. The South Tower is the tallest building in Kenwood, and overlooks Lake Michigan and Burnham Park to the east and Harold Washington Park to the south. The complex is located on the site of the former Chicago Beach Hotel, a 12-story resort built in 1921 which had been used since World War II as the 5th Army Headquarters. The South Tower is located on the site of the former hotel and the North Tower is built on the site of the north lawn of the Hotel. The buildings fell into disrepair soon after their construction in the early to mid 1970s, and by the mid 1970s, they were known for their slum-like conditions, rising violence (including murder), and high vacancy rates.
    6.00
    1 votes
    199
    Staten Island University Hospital

    Staten Island University Hospital

    Staten Island University Hospital (SIUH) is a major tertiary referral center on Staten Island, in New York City. SIUH is a two-campus, 785-bed teaching hospital consisting of a North Campus, a South Campus, and the now closed Concord Campus. Founded in 1861 as the Samuel R. Smith Infirmary, the institution adopted its current name during the 1990s with the merger of Staten Island Hospital (now the North Campus) and the Richmond Memorial Hospital (now the South Campus). The Doctor's Hospital of Staten Island in Concord, Staten Island became SIUH's Concord campus in the early 2000s; however it is currently closed awaiting renovations. SIUH maintains an academic affiliation with the State University of New York Downstate Medical Center College of Medicine, whose medical students and residents complete a portion of their training at SIUH. SIUH also operates, in conjunction with Wagner College, a Physician Assistant training program and a Physician Assistant Fellowship in Emergency Medicine. SIUH is one of three hospitals in Staten Island and the only one that has a Residency in Emergency Medicine. It is part of the North Shore-LIJ Health System. The North Campus was constructed in the
    6.00
    1 votes
    200
    The Red Fort

    The Red Fort

    The Red Fort (usually transcribed into English as Lal Qil'ah or Lal Qila) is a 17th century fort complex constructed by the Mughal emperor, Shah Jahan in the walled city of Old Delhi (in present day Delhi, India) that served as the residence of the Mughal Emperors. The fort was the palace for Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan's new capital, Shahjahanabad, the seventh city in the Delhi site. He moved his capital here from Agra in a move designed to bring prestige to his reign, and to provide ample opportunity to apply his ambitious building schemes and interests. It served as the capital of the Mughals until 1857, when Mughal emperor Bahadur Shah Zafar was exiled by the British Indian government. The fort lies along the Yamuna River, which fed the moats that surround most of the walls. The wall at its north-eastern corner is adjacent to an older fort, the Salimgarh Fort, a defence built by Islam Shah Suri in 1546. The construction of the Red Fort began in 1638 and was completed by 1648. The Red Fort has had many developments added on after its construction by Emperor Shah Jahan. The significant phases of development were under Aurangzeb and later under later Mughal rulers. It was designated
    6.00
    1 votes
    201
    World Trade Center

    World Trade Center

    • Buildings In Complex: 1 World Trade Center
    The World Trade Center is a site for various buildings in Lower Manhattan, New York City, United States. The original World Trade Center was a complex of seven buildings. It featured landmark twin towers, which opened on April 4, 1973 and were destroyed in the September 11 attacks of 2001. The other buildings in the complex were damaged in the attacks and eventually destroyed. The site is being rebuilt with five new skyscrapers and a memorial to the casualties of the attacks. As of November 2011, only one skyscraper has been completed; the other four are expected to be completed before 2020. One World Trade Center will be the lead building for the new complex, reaching more than 100 stories at its completion. It became the tallest building in New York City on April 30, 2012, and is expected to be finished by 2013. A sixth tower is awaiting confirmation. At the time of their completion, the original 1 World Trade Center (the North Tower) and 2 World Trade Center (the South Tower), known collectively as the Twin Towers, were the tallest buildings in the world. The other buildings included 3 WTC (the Marriott World Trade Center), 4 WTC, 5 WTC, 6 WTC (which housed United States
    6.00
    1 votes
    202
    Newport Casino

    Newport Casino

    • Buildings In Complex: Newport Casino
    The Newport Casino is located at 186-202 Bellevue Avenue, Newport, Rhode Island, United States. It was designated a National Historic Landmark on February 27, 1987. The complex was commissioned in 1880 by James Gordon Bennett, Jr. Legend states that Bennett placed a bet with his guest British Cavalry Officer, Captain Henry Augustus "Sugar" Candy that Candy would not ride his horse up onto the front porch of Newport's most exclusive men's club - The Newport Reading Room. Candy won the bet, but the Governors of the Reading Room were not amused. Bennett and his infamous short temper did not take this kindly, and soon set about creating his own retreat, what would eventually become The Newport Casino. Soon after deciding to create his own social club, Bennett purchased the Sidney Brooks estate, "Stone Villa". Directly across the street was a vacant lot, suitable for construction of the Casino. Bennett hired Charles McKim (soon to be of the firm McKim, Mead, and White) to design the Casino. By January 1880, Nathan Barker of Newport was contracted to begin construction. The interior of the Casino, while generally outlined by McKim, was entrusted to Stanford White. Taking many elements
    4.33
    3 votes
    203
    Fort Mason

    Fort Mason

    Fort Mason, once known as San Francisco Port of Embarkation, US Army, in San Francisco, California, is a former United States Army post located in the northern Marina District, alongside San Francisco Bay. Fort Mason served as an Army post for more than 100 years, initially as a coastal defense site and subsequently as a military port facility. During World War II, it handled most of the cargo for the Pacific campaign. Today it is part of the Golden Gate National Recreation Area and the site of several cultural facilities. It is a National Historic Landmark District with over 49 buildings of historic significance, spread over 1,200 acres (490 ha). Fort Mason can be split into two distinct areas. The upper area, sometimes called Fort Mason, is situated on a headland and was the site of the original coastal fortifications. The lower area, Fort Mason Center, is situated close to water level to the west of Upper Fort Mason, and is the site of the former military port, with its piers and warehouses. The Marina Green lies to the west of Fort Mason, while Aquatic Park is to the east. The Civil War prompted the construction of a set of coastal defense batteries located inside the Golden
    5.00
    2 votes
    204
    Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

    Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

    Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Kaʻūpūlehu is a Four Seasons resort in Kaʻūpūlehu, on the Kona-Kohala Coast of the island of Hawaiʻi. The resort was designed by Hill Glazier Architects, with original interior design by Wilson & Associates (formerly James Northcutt Associates). Landscape architecture was by Bensley Design, with art direction by Julie Cline. From 2008-2009, Babey Moulton Jue & Booth redesigned the suites and enhanced the spa, with additional resort enhancements by Rob Iopa, Watanabe Chun Iopa & Takaki, and Julie Cline. Bungalows are connected by landscaped paths around pools, with guest rooms designed and decorated with indigenous rattan, bamboo, and lava rock. Views of the Pacific Ocean and the island of Maui can be seen on the horizon. Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only AAA Five Diamond rated resort on the island of Hawaiʻi, and one of only three in the entire state. The resort encourages guests to visit different Four Seasons resorts on the islands of Hawaiʻi, Lanaʻi, and Maui, including Four Seasons Resort Lanaʻi, The Lodge at Koele, Four Seasons Resort Lanaʻi at Manele Bay, and Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea. The tsunami from the 2011 Sendai
    5.00
    2 votes
    205
    Riverside Plaza

    Riverside Plaza

    Riverside Plaza is a modernist and brutalist apartment complex designed by Ralph Rapson that opened in Minneapolis, Minnesota in 1973. Situated on the edge of downtown Minneapolis in the Cedar-Riverside neighborhood, and next to the University of Minnesota's West Bank, the site contains the 39-story McKnight Building, the tallest structure outside of the city's central business district. Initially known as Cedar Square West, the exterior shots of the complex were featured on television as the residence of Mary Richards in later seasons of The Mary Tyler Moore Show. Riverside Plaza is composed of six buildings and has 1,303 residential units, making it the main feature of the city's Cedar-Riverside neighborhood. Each building has a different height, intended to reflect the diversity of its population. Rapson was inspired by the time he spent in European cities, where people of different ages and levels of wealth coexisted in close quarters. The area was developed with support from the U.S. federal government's New Town-In Town program, and was originally planned to be part of a utopian design that would have seen 12,500 units spread across four neighborhoods housing a total of
    5.00
    2 votes
    206
    Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre

    Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre

    The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre (SECC), located on the north bank of the River Clyde, in Glasgow, is Scotland's largest exhibition centre. It has 22,355 m of flexible space in five main exhibition halls, ranging in size from 775 m to 10,065 m. The venue's holding company SEC Ltd is 91% owned by Glasgow City Council and 9% owned by private investors. It is probably best known for hosting concerts, particularly in Hall 4 (seating and standing 12,500, fully seated 10,000 and fully standing 10,000) and Hall 3 (fully seated 4,232, seated/standing 4,656 and 5,852 for all standing). The Scottish Development Agency first supported the construction of an exhibition centre in Glasgow in 1979. A site at the former Queen's Dock on the north bank of the Clyde at Finnieston, which had closed to navigation in 1969, was selected. Land reclamation works started in 1982 using rubble from the demolished St Enoch railway station. The construction of the SECC buildings began on the site in 1983. The Main Building was completed and opened in 1985, with a concert by the Royal Scottish National Orchestra in Hall 1. It later held the Grand International Show in Hall 4 as part of the 1988
    5.00
    2 votes
    207
    Prairieland Park

    Prairieland Park

    Prairieland Park is an events centre in the south-eastern portion of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. The park is located in the Exhibition neighborhood of Saskatoon. Each year the park hosts an annual Saskatoon Exhibition called "The Ex". During the remainder of the year most of the park venues are rented out to special events. Some events held are Western Canadian Crop Production Show, Saskathewan indemand trade show, Saskatoon Fall Fair cattle show and sale, Pet Expo, Chuckwagon Racing, and the Prairieland Junior Ag Showcase. The park also hosts Marquis Downs. The Agriculture Department is heavily involved in the community host 4H events. It currently hosts 321 events a year, which attracts 1.6 million people. The Ex is an annual fair that occurs on the site each August. This includes amusement rides, product exhibitions, music, shows and displays. Normally occurring at the same time are chuckwagon races at the Marquis downs facility. In 2008 the park started a major $2.8 Million expansion to build 27.000-square-foot (2.5084 m) agriculture and equine centre plus an attached 45,000-square-foot (4,200 m) stabling facility for year-round use. Freeing up the existing Trade Centre facility
    4.00
    3 votes
    208
    Canterbury Shaker Village

    Canterbury Shaker Village

    Canterbury Shaker Village, is a historic site and museum in Canterbury, New Hampshire. It was one of a number of Shaker communities founded in the 19th century. It is one of the most intact and authentic surviving Shaker community sites, and was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1993. The site is operated by a non-profit organization established in 1969 to preserve the heritage of the Canterbury Shakers. Canterbury Shaker Village is an internationally-known, non-profit museum and historic site with 25 original Shaker buildings, four reconstructed Shaker buildings and 694 acres (2.81 km) of forests, fields, gardens and mill ponds under permanent conservation easement. Canterbury Shaker Village "is dedicated to preserving the 200-year legacy of the Canterbury Shakers and to providing a place for learning, reflection and renewal of the human spirit." Visitors learn about the life, ideals, values and legacy of the Canterbury Shakers through tours, programs, exhibits, research and publications. Village staff, largely volunteer, conduct tours and its restaurant serves traditional Shaker lunches and dinners spring, summer and fall. The Canterbury site was one of two communities
    4.50
    2 votes
    209
    Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

    Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

    • Buildings In Complex: Big Pine Key
    Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Award–winning, Victorian themed luxury hotel and spa located at the Walt Disney World Resort in Florida. The property opened on June 28, 1988 as the Grand Floridian Beach Resort. The name changed to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa during the fall of 1997. The resort contains 867 rooms among six buildings at an average of 400 square feet (37 m) per room. A standard room can sleep up to five people. The resort is owned and operated by Walt Disney Parks and Resorts. The Grand Floridian is categorized as a deluxe resort, one of four types of accommodations at the Florida site. The resort is distinguished as Disney's flagship and most luxurious resort. The resort has received designation in the Florida Green Lodging Program. The hotel was inspired by the Victorian era beach resorts built along Florida's east coast during the late 19th century and early 20th century; its exterior is modeled after the Mount Washington Resort in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire and Hotel del Coronado in Coronado, California, with red gabled roofs and white walls. Additional design inspiration was taken from the Belleview-Biltmore Hotel in
    5.00
    1 votes
    210
    Golden Mile Complex

    Golden Mile Complex

    Golden Mile Complex (Chinese: 黄金坊; pinyin: Huángjīn fāng) is a high-rise commercial and residential building on Beach Road in Kallang, Singapore. The building was formerly known as Woh Hup Complex. The complex has 411 shops and 500 parking places. In 1966, the Urban Renewal Department of the Housing and Development Board was formed to facilitate greater flexibility and autonomy in comprehensive redevelopment of Singapore's Central Area. The Golden Mile Complex development was the result of the department's first Sales of Sites programme in 1967. The "Golden Mile" refers to the strip of land between Nicoll Highway and Beach Road. It was planned by the Singapore Government as a high-rise spine fronting Kallang Basin. The area used to be occupied by squatters and small marine industries. Built at a cost of S$18 million and completed in 1973, the 16-storey Golden Mile Complex is one of the early pioneers of integrating multiple operations into a single mixed-use development in Singapore. Today, the complex's shopping mall houses numerous Thai clubs, shops and eateries, as well as tourist and ticketing agencies for travellers going to Malaysia by bus or coach. A minor upgrading was
    5.00
    1 votes
    211
    Greensboro Coliseum Complex

    Greensboro Coliseum Complex

    The Greensboro Coliseum Complex is an entertainment complex located in Glenwood neighborhood of Greensboro, North Carolina, United States. Opening in 1959, the arena was one of the largest venues in the South, with a seating capacity of over 23,000. The complex holds nine venues that includes an amphitheater, arena, aquatic center, banquet hall, convention center, museum, performing arts center, theatre and an indoor pavilion. It is presently the home of the UNC Greensboro Spartans men's basketball team, as well as the ACC Men's and Women's Basketball Tournament. It has hosted the Men's ACC Tournament 23 times since 1967 and the Women's ACC Tournament 12 times since 2000. The coliseum is contracted to host both tournaments until 2015. Other notable sporting events include the NCAA Men's Final Four in 1974 and the East Regionals in 1976, 1979 and 1998. It is also the former home of several professional hockey teams including the Greensboro Generals, Greensboro Monarchs and the Carolina Hurricanes. The complex has hosted the "Central Carolina Fair" since 1999. It is the largest arena in the Southern United States, and the second-largest nationally behind the United Center of
    5.00
    1 votes
    212
    John Ascuaga's Nugget Casino Resort

    John Ascuaga's Nugget Casino Resort

    John Ascuaga's Nugget Casino Resort is a casino resort/hotel in Sparks, Nevada. The main portion of the casino consists of two 29-story towers nestled between Interstate 80 and the Union Pacific rail yard. There are additional attached buildings underneath and across Interstate 80 from the towers. It is located in Downtown Sparks/Victorian Square. Dick Graves' Nugget first opened in 1955. (Jim Kelly opened the Nugget in Carson City, Nevada.) In 1960, John Ascuaga, then general manager, bought the Nugget. Ascuaga had little money when he purchased the small venue so he paid via loan, which he paid back in full within the amount of years granted. Ascuaga earned money from the success of his business, which led him to expand, over and over again throughout the 1960s and 1970s. The Celebrity Showroom, first known as the Circus Room, was constructed in the 1960s and played host to big name entertainment like Liberace, Sergio Franchi, The Osmond Brothers, Robert Goulet and more. John Ascuaga had become a popular figure with these stars and certainly a professional in his career, the Nugget was widely seen as the jewel of the area. Ascuaga made more money as time went on and he signed a
    5.00
    1 votes
    213
    National Theater and Concert Hall

    National Theater and Concert Hall

    • Buildings In Complex: National Theater, Taipei
    The National Theater (Chinese: 國家戲劇院) and National Concert Hall (Chinese: 國家音樂廳) are twin performing arts venues in Zhongzheng District, Taipei, Taiwan. Completed in 1987, they are Taiwan's primary national performing arts venues. The landmarks stand, respectively, on the south and north sides of Liberty Square in front of the Chiang Kai-shek Memorial Hall. Together the structures are referred to by the acronym NTCH serving as facilities of the National Chiang Kai-shek Cultural Center. The square itself sits near Ketagalan Boulevard, the Presidential Office Building and National Central Library. Taiwan's National Theater and National Concert Hall are two of the first major performing arts facilities to be established in Asia. Upon the death of Chiang Kai-shek in 1975, the Kuomintang government authorized the construction of a monument and cultural arts facilities on the grounds of a memorial plaza. The project cost TWD 7 billion. Yang Cho-cheng and Architects and Engineers Associates were responsible for the overall design. The buildings, though modern in function and purpose, recall traditional elements of Chinese palace architecture. The G+H Company of Germany and Philips, based
    5.00
    1 votes
    214
    Poble Espanyol

    Poble Espanyol

    The Poble Espanyol (Catalan pronunciation: [ˈpɔbːɫə əspəˈɲɔɫ], Spanish: Pueblo español, "Spanish Town") is an open-air architectural museum, located on the mountain of Montjuïc, in the city of Barcelona, Spain. It was constructed in 1929, for the Barcelona International Exhibition, that was held in Barcelona that year. Josep Puig i Cadafalch had the idea for the museum: a town in which the architecture, style, and culture of various locations from around Spain were preserved in a single place. The aim was to produce an "ideal model" Spanish village, a synthesis of monumental Spain. The architects that designed the town were Francesc Folguera and Ramon Reventós. In total, the town was built in 13 months, and although it was only needed for 6, for the exhibition, it was not demolished and was kept open as a museum. The museum occupies a total area of 42,000 m and contains 117 buildings, with streets and squares reproduced to scale.
    5.00
    1 votes
    215
    Royal Crescent

    Royal Crescent

    The Royal Crescent is a street of 30 terraced houses laid out in a sweeping crescent in the city of Bath, England. Designed by the architect John Wood the Younger and built between 1767 and 1774, it is among the greatest examples of Georgian architecture to be found in the United Kingdom and is a Grade I listed building. Although some changes have been made to the various interiors over the years, the Georgian stone façade remains much as it was when it was first built. Many notable people have either lived or stayed in the Royal Crescent since it was first built over 250 years ago, and some are commemorated on special plaques attached to the relevant buildings. The Royal Crescent now includes a hotel and a Georgian house museum, while some of the houses have been converted into flats and offices. It is a popular location for the makers of films and television programmes, and a major tourist attraction in its own right. The street that is known today as "The Royal Crescent" was originally named "The Crescent." It is claimed that the adjective "Royal" was added at the end of the 18th century after Prince Frederick, Duke of York and Albany had stayed there. John Wood designed the
    5.00
    1 votes
    216
    Teen Murti Bhavan

    Teen Murti Bhavan

    • Buildings In Complex: Nehru Memorial Museum & Library
    The Teen Murti Bhavan (Teen Murti House) is the former residence of the first Prime Minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru in Delhi, India, who stayed here for 16 years until his death on May 27, 1964. It was designed by Robert Tor Russell, the British architect of Connaught Place and of the Eastern and Western Courts on Janpath during the British Raj. Teen Murti Bhavan was built in 1930 as part of the new imperial capital of India, New Delhi as the residence of the Commander-in-Chief of the British Indian Army. Today, Teen Murti houses various institutions including the Nehru Memorial Museum and Library (NMML), which runs under the Indian Ministry of Culture, and has Dr. Karan Singh as the chairman of its Executive Council. The complex also houses the offices of the 'Jawaharlal Nehru Memorial Fund', established in 1964 under the Chairmanship of Dr S. Radhakrishnan, then President of India. Teen Murti Bhavan also contains a number of mementos from various nations including England, Nepal, Somalia, China, etc. Each memento represents a notable resource of each nation. The foundation also awards the 'Jawaharlal Nehru Memorial Fellowship', established in 1968. Also contained within the
    5.00
    1 votes
    217
    Architecture of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology

    Architecture of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology

    The campus of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology is located on a 168-acre (68 ha) tract in Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States. The campus spans approximately one mile (1.6 km) of the north side of the Charles River basin directly opposite the Back Bay neighborhood of Boston, Massachusetts. The campus includes dozens of buildings representing diverse architectural styles and shifting campus priorities over MIT's history. MIT's architectural history can be broadly split into four eras: the Boston campus, the new Cambridge campus before World War II, the "Cold War" development, and post-Cold War buildings. Each era was marked by distinct builds representing neoclassical, modernist, brutalist, and deconstructivist styles which alternatively represent a commitment to utilitarian minimalism and embellished exuberance. The geographical organization of the MIT campus is much easier to understand by referring to the MIT map, in online interactive, or downloadable printable form. There is also an MIT Accessibility Campus Map available for download, which is useful for mobility-impaired visitors, or anyone wheeling a heavy load. Buildings 1–10 (excepting 9) were the original main
    4.00
    2 votes
    218
    Grant Houses

    Grant Houses

    General Ulysses S. Grant Houses is a public housing project at the northern boundary of Morningside Heights in the borough of Manhattan, New York City. The complex is located between Broadway and Morningside Avenue, spanning oddly-shaped superblocks from 123rd Street and La Salle Street to 125th Street. Grant Houses were completed in 1956 at a cost of $29.2 million. 1,940 apartment units are contained within the apartment buildings in the Grant Houses. With eight of the buildings at 21 stories, they were the tallest housing projects in New York City when built. The buildings are managed by the New York City Housing Authority. For maximum sunlight exposure they lie directly north of Morningside Gardens, a middle income cooperative in Morningside Heights. The redevelopment projects together aimed to retain the racially and economically mixed character of the Morningside-Manhattanville area before clearance. The New York Times noted the racial identification of the first five families to move into the Grant Houses: "two white, two Negro and one Puerto Rican."
    4.00
    2 votes
    219
    Akshardham

    Akshardham

    Akshardham (Gujarati: સ્વામિનારાયણ અક્ષરધામ, Devnagari: स्वामिनारायण अक्षरधाम) is a Hindu temple complex in Delhi, India. Also referred to as Delhi Akshardham or Swaminarayan Akshardham, the complex displays millennia of traditional Hindu and Indian culture, spirituality, and architecture. The building was inspired and developed by Pramukh Swami Maharaj, the spiritual head of the Bochasanwasi Shri Akshar Purushottam Swaminarayan Sanstha, whose 3,000 volunteers helped 7,000 artisans construct Akshardham. The Temple, which attracts approximately 70 percent of all tourists who visit Delhi, was officially opened on 6 November 2005. It sits near the banks of the Yamuna adjacent to the 2010 Commonwealth Games village in eastern New Delhi. The temple, at the center of the complex, was built according to the Vastu Shastra and Pancharatra Shastra. In addition to the large central temple crafted entirely of stone, the complex features exhibitions on incidents from the life of Swaminarayan and the history of India, an IMAX feature on the early life of Swaminarayan as the teenage yogi, Nilkanth, a musical fountain on the message of the Upanishads, and large landscaped gardens. The temple is
    4.00
    1 votes
    220
    Boston University Medical Campus

    Boston University Medical Campus

    The Boston University Medical Campus (BUMC) is one of the two campuses of Boston University, the other being the Charles River Campus. The campus is situated in the South End neighborhood of Boston, Massachusetts. In conjunction with the Charles River Campus, BUMC provides the Boston University Shuttle (BUS) to transport students, staff, and faculty between campuses. The current provost of BUMC is Karen H. Antman. The BUMC Public Safety Department employees about 90 public safety officers who are charged with ensuring the safety and security of all patients, staff, students, and visitors within and around the medical center grounds. Public Safety officers provide motorist assistance, lost and found, and night escort service for the campus. Although not a police department, many of the officers have arrest powers either as Boston special officers or sworn Massachusetts State special police officers. Officers on campus respond to high-stress and emergency situations on a daily basis and make frequent arrests of violators within and around the campus. The public safety department conducts investigations for violations of University and/or Hospital policies and procedures, and
    4.00
    1 votes
    221
    Citystars

    Citystars

    City Stars is a commercial development in Egypt. The complex is located between Nasr City and Heliopolis, in Cairo. It is considered the first integrated urban development project of its kind in the Middle East and Europe. Built with an Ancient Egyptian theme, it consists of three pyramids (partially glass), surrounded by 11 towers, that make up the complex, plus a separate building for the shopping mall in its two phases. |accessdate=2008-03-03}} City Stars offers an unparalleled choice in retail and entertainment and brings together an unbeatable combination of leading brand names in a single destination. City Stars consists of: InterContinental City Stars Hotel, The Saudi owners of this project in the Middle East are the Sharbatly Family. The Hotel has won twice the Best Business Hotel in Cairo award the past two years in a row, is the largest InterContinental hotel in the world. It provides 790 rooms and suites. The hotel also offers: The 330 rooms Holiday Inn City Stars offers guests an intimate venue for both business and leisure. The hotel offers: Staybridge Suites CityStars is an all-suite hotel designed for those who want an alternative to a traditional hotel. The
    4.00
    1 votes
    222
    Emirates Towers

    Emirates Towers

    • Buildings In Complex: Emirates Office Tower
    The Emirates Towers (Arabic: أبراج الإمارات‎) complex contains the Emirates Office Tower and Jumeirah Emirates Towers Hotel. The two towers, which rise to 355 m (1,165 ft) and 309 m (1,014 ft), respectively, stand as the 23 and 47 tallest buildings in the world. The two towers are connected by a 9,000 m² (96,875 ft²) two-storey retail complex known as "The Boulevard". The Emirates Towers complex is located on the Sheikh Zayed Road in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, and is a symbol of the city of Dubai. A curiosity of the design is that the towers have a similar number of floors; the taller office tower actually contains 54 floors, while the hotel tower contains 56 floors. This is because the individual floor heights of the office tower are greater than that of the hotel. The Emirates Towers complex is set in over 570,000 m² (42 acres) of gardens, with lakes, waterfalls and public seating areas. There is parking space for up to 1,800 cars.
    4.00
    1 votes
    223
    Portland Metropolitan Exposition Center

    Portland Metropolitan Exposition Center

    The Portland Metropolitan Exposition Center, usually referred to as the Expo Center, is a convention center located in the Kenton neighborhood of Portland, Oregon. Opened in the early 1920s as a livestock exhibition and auction facility, the Expo Center now hosts over 100 events a year, including green consumer shows, trade shows, conventions, meetings and other special events. Located on the north side of Portland near Vancouver, Washington, it includes the northern terminus for the Yellow Line of Portland's light-rail transit system. The complex was originally built in the early 1920s as the Pacific International Livestock Exposition, and operated as a livestock exhibition, cattle grading, and auction facility, as well as a rodeo venue, during its early years. In 1942, the Center suspended livestock exposition operations and served as a Civilian Assembly Center under President Roosevelt's Executive Order 9066, which allowed for the internment of Japanese and Japanese Americans. Three thousand five hundred people of Japanese descent were confined there for a period of five months, while they awaited transfer to internment camps in California and Idaho. Torii Gate, an installation
    4.00
    1 votes
    224
    Scott's Hut

    Scott's Hut

    Scott's Hut is a building located on the north shore of Cape Evans on Ross Island in Antarctica. It was erected in 1911 by the British Antarctic Expedition of 1910–1913 (also known as the Terra Nova Expedition) led by Robert Falcon Scott. In selecting a base of operations for the 1910–1913 Expedition, Scott rejected the notion of re-occupying the hut he had built by McMurdo Sound during the Discovery Expedition of 1901–1904. This first hut was located at Hut Point, 20 km south of Cape Evans. Two factors influenced this decision. One was that the hut was extremely cold for living quarters and the other was that Scott's ship, the Discovery, had been trapped by sea ice at Hut Point, a problem he hoped to avoid by establishing his new base further north. Some confusion arises because Discovery Hut can technically be referred to as 'Scott's' Hut, in that his expedition built it, and it was his base ashore during the 1901–1904 expedition, but the title 'Scott's Hut' popularly belongs to the building erected in 1911 at Cape Evans. Scott's Hut was prefabricated in England before being brought south by ship. It is rectangular, 50 feet (15 m) long and 25 feet (7.6 m) wide. Insulation was
    4.00
    1 votes
    225
    The Marina Bay Sands

    The Marina Bay Sands

    Marina Bay Sands is an integrated resort fronting Marina Bay in Singapore. Developed by Las Vegas Sands, it is billed as the world's most expensive standalone casino property at S$8 billion, including cost of the prime land. With the casino complete, the resort features a 2,561-room hotel, a 1,300,000-square-foot (120,000 m) convention-exhibition centre, the 800,000-square-foot (74,000 m) The Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands mall, a museum, two large theatres, seven "celebrity chef" restaurants, two floating Crystal Pavilions, an ice skating rink, and the world's largest atrium casino with 500 tables and 1,600 slot machines. The complex is topped by a 340m-long SkyPark with a capacity of 3,900 people and a 150m infinity swimming pool, set on top of the world's largest public cantilevered platform, which overhangs the north tower by 67m. The 20-hectare resort was designed by Moshe Safdie Architects. The local architect of record was Aedas Singapore, and engineering was provided by Arup and Parsons Brinkerhoff (MEP). The main contractor was Ssangyong Engineering and Construction. Originally set to open in 2009, Las Vegas Sands faced delays caused by escalating costs of material and labour
    4.00
    1 votes
    226
    173/176 Perry Street

    173/176 Perry Street

    173 and 176 Perry Street are a pair of apartment towers by architect Richard Meier in Manhattan's West Village, at West Street. Designed in 1999-2002 by Richard Meier & Partners, they are the first new construction undertaken by Meier in Manhattan, although they stand a short walk away from his 1970 renovation of the Westbeth Artists Community. New York Times reporter Penelope Green referred to Meier's paired towers as "beauty queens". The third building in the assemblage, 165 Charles Street, to the south of the original two, was completed in 2004 and was also designed by Meier.
    0.00
    0 votes
    227
    Atlantis, The Palm

    Atlantis, The Palm

    Atlantis, the Palm is a hotel resort at Palm Jumeirah in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. It is a joint venture between Kerzner International Limited and Istithmar PSJC and was opened on 24 September 2008. The resort is modelled after the Atlantis, Paradise Island resort in Nassau, Bahamas. Almost everything in it is underwater themed. The resort has two accommodation wings, East Tower and West Tower linked by a bridge, with a total of 1,539 rooms. There are two monorail stations connecting the resort to the main section of the Palm Jumeirah islands. In April 2012, Istithmar acquired Kerzner’s 50% stake in the property for US$250m. The property continues to be managed by Kerzner International Resorts. Mr. Tom Dsilva was the developer of the resort. The 5 star resort also includes the 16 ha (40 acres) Aquaventure theme water park, a 45,000 m (480,000 sq ft) conference center, and 1,900 m (20,000 sq ft) of retail space. The resort also has a Dolphin Bay in which guests can swim and interact with dolphins at Atlantis. The Palm Jumeirah itself is one part of a trilogy including the larger Palms Jebel Ali and Deira, which are still under construction. The Resort kept a young female
    0.00
    0 votes
    228
    Canberra Theatre

    Canberra Theatre

    The Canberra Theatre Centre is the Australian Capital Territory’s central performing arts venue and Australia’s first performing arts centre, the first Australian Government initiated performing arts centre to be completed, that opened on Thursday 24 June 1965 with a gala performance by the Australian Ballet. The Centre is sited in the heart of Canberra's City Centre, beside the ACT Legislative Assembly and backing onto City Hill, one of the apexes of the Parliamentary Triangle. Originally the complex was two separate buildings: the Canberra Theatre and The Playhouse, which were linked by a covered walkway. The Canberra Theatre was built as a 1,200 seat lyric theatre to house national and international touring companies; The Playhouse had 310 seats and was designed for local arts companies and for smaller scale touring companies. The Playhouse also contained a small visual art gallery, a meeting room and a restaurant, 1965: The Playhouse was officially opened on 18 August 1965 with a production of Peter Ustinov’s Romanoff and Juliet, produced by the Canberra Repertory Society. 1971: The covered walkway linking the two venues was enclosed to create more foyer and function space for
    0.00
    0 votes
    229
    Cape Royds

    Cape Royds

    Cape Royds, Antarctica, (77°33′S 166°9′E / 77.55°S 166.15°E / -77.55; 166.15) is a dark rock cape forming the west extremity of Ross Island, facing on McMurdo Sound. Discovered by the Discovery Expedition (1901–1904) and named for Lieutenant Charles W.R. Royds, Royal Navy, who acted as meteorologist for the expedition. Royds rose to become an Admiral and was later Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police, London. There is a hut at Cape Royds built by Ernest Shackleton during his 1907–1909 expedition. When Shackleton went into McMurdo Sound in 1908, having failed to land on King Edward VII Land, he decided to build a hut at Cape Royds, a small promontory twenty-three miles north of Hut Point where Scott had stayed during the Discovery Expedition. The whole shore party lived in this hut through the winter of 1908. When spring came stores were sledged to Hut Point, so that should the sea-ice break up early between these two places they might not be left in an awkward position. Shackleton did not return to the hut after his farthest south attempt, however he had left full instructions with Professor Edgeworth David as to the care of the hut, and before the whole Expedition left, the
    0.00
    0 votes
    230
    Civic Center

    Civic Center

    • Buildings In Complex: San Francisco City Hall
    The Civic Center in San Francisco, California, is an area of a few blocks north of the intersection of Market Street and Van Ness Avenue that contains many of the city's largest government and cultural institutions. It has two large plazas (Civic Center Plaza and United Nations Plaza) and a number of buildings in classical architectural style. The Bill Graham Civic Auditorium (formerly the Exposition Auditorium) is one of the few remaining buildings from the 1915 Panama-Pacific International Exposition. The United Nations Charter was signed in the War Memorial Veterans Building's Herbst Theatre in 1945, leading to the creation of the United Nations. It is also where the 1951 Treaty of San Francisco (the peace treaty that officially ended the Pacific War with the Empire of Japan, which had surrendered in 1945) was signed. The San Francisco Civic Center was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1987, and listed in the National Register of Historic Places on October 10, 1978. The Civic Center is bounded by Market Street on the south, Franklin Street on the west, Turk Street on the north, and Leavenworth and Seventh streets on the east. The Civic Center is bounded by the
    0.00
    0 votes
    231
    Cologne Trade Fair

    Cologne Trade Fair

    Koelnmesse (Cologne Trade Fair or Cologne Exhibition Centre) is the name of the international trade fair and exhibition center located in Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany. With over 70 trade fairs and over 2.000 conferences held annually, koelnmesse is the country's largest trade fair organizer and with 284.000 m² exhibition floor area the third largest by area. The Cologne Trade Fair ground was founded in 1922. Until 2005, the trade fair was based in the historic Rheinhallen, and since then moved into new premises next to them. The old Fair Tower Cologne (Messeturm Köln) is a landmark building from 1928 and features a tower restaurant on the top floor. Among others the following trade fairs are held in Cologne: The trade fair grounds lie in Cologne's right-Rhenish district of Deutz, directly adjacent to Köln Messe/Deutz station to the south. Among others, the station has ICE connections by Deutsche Bahn to Köln Hbf and Cologne/Bonn Airport. West of the trade fair grounds lies the Rheinpark, a 40 hectare large park on the River Rhine, and Tanzbrunnen, an open air theater. Apart from the Köln Messe/Deutz station to the south, the Cologne trade fair center is also served by
    0.00
    0 votes
    232
    Crown Regency Hotel and Towers

    Crown Regency Hotel and Towers

    The Crown Regency Hotel and Towers is a hotel complex in Cebu City, Philippines. The main building, the 38-storey Fuente Tower 1, is one of the tallest hotel buildings in the country at 140 meters (459 ft). It is likewise the tallest building in Cebu City and the country's tallest building outside of Metro Manila. The top floors of the hotel tower feature an amusement facility which includes a roller coaster that runs around the edge of the building, and a stroll around the edge of the building with the protection of safety harnesses. The Crown Regency Hotel and Towers was designed by local architectural firm T.I. Vasquez Architects & Partners, while the structural design was made by G. E. Origenes Consulting Engineers. Other members of the design team are CMA Engineering Consultants (Sanitary, Mechanical, and Fire Safety Works); lraido T. Legaspi, Jr. & Associates (Electrical Works); and E.O. Bataclan & Associates (Interior Design). The General Contractor that built the said tower was ASEC Development and Construction Corporation. Construction has started on the roof level to increase the height of the building in order to add new rides and attractions to the Sky Extreme
    0.00
    0 votes
    233
    Deutsche Bank Twin Towers

    Deutsche Bank Twin Towers

    • Buildings In Complex: Deutsche Bank Tower 2
    The Deutsche Bank Twin Towers, also known as Deutsche Bank Headquarters (German: Zwillingstürme der Deutschen Bank or Hauptverwaltung Deutsche Bank AG), is a twin tower skyscraper complex in the Westend-Süd district of Frankfurt am Main, Germany. The east tower rises to 158 m (518 ft), and the west tower to 155 m (509 ft), while both serve as headquarters for Deutsche Bank, the largest bank in Germany. The twin towers are sometimes nicknamed debit and credit (German: Soll und Haben), the two aspects of every financial transaction. The Deutsche Bank Twin Towers are prominently located at the borders of the city districts of Westend-Süd, the Bahnhofsviertel and the Innenstadt, near a series of parks (Wallanlagen) and the Opernplatz. This area forms Frankfurts central business district called Bankenviertel. The twin towers are part of a chain of high-rise buildings at Mainzer Landstraße which stretches from the Opernplatz in the east to the Platz der Republik in the west. The towers have direct access to an underground S-Bahn station (Taunusanlage). The largest man-shaped monolith of the world, created by the Swiss sculptor Max Bill, is located in front of the entrance. The two towers
    0.00
    0 votes
    234
    Exeter College, Oxford

    Exeter College, Oxford

    Exeter College (in full: The Rector and Scholars of Exeter College in the University of Oxford) is one of the constituent colleges of the University of Oxford in England and the fourth oldest college of the University. The main entrance is on the east side of Turl Street. As of 2006, the college had an estimated financial endowment of £47m. Still situated in its original location in Turl Street, Exeter College was founded in 1314 by Walter de Stapeldon of Devon, Bishop of Exeter and later treasurer to Edward II, as a school to educate clergy. During its first century, it was known as Stapeldon Hall and was significantly smaller, with just twelve to fourteen students. The college grew significantly from the 15th century onward, and began offering rooms to its students. The College motto is "Floreat Exon.", meaning "Let Exeter Flourish". In the 16th century, donations from Sir William Petre, a former Exeter graduate, helped to expand and transform the college. In a clever move by the bursar to fill the new buildings as they were completed, a significant number of noble Roman Catholic students were invited to enroll and take classes at the enlarged college; however, they were not
    0.00
    0 votes
    235
    Gellért Baths

    Gellért Baths

    Part of the famous Hotel Gellért in Buda, the Gellért Thermal Baths and Swimming Pool (also known as the Gellért Baths or in Hungarian as the Gellért fürdő) is a bath complex in Budapest, Hungary. The bath complex was built between 1912 and 1918 in the (Secession) Art Nouveau style. It was damaged during World War II, but then rebuilt. References to healing waters in this location are found from as early as the 13th century. A hospital was located on this site during the Middle Ages. During the reign of the Ottoman Empire, baths were also built on this particular site. The "magical healing spring" used the Turkish during the 16th and 17th centuries. The bath was called Sárosfürdő ("muddy” bath), because the mineral mud settled at the bottom of pools. The Gellért Bath underwent its first extensive renovation in 2008. The bath closed only once in its almost century long existence due to a burst pipe. The Gellért was open even during World War II Towards the end of the war the prestigious Art Nouveau women's thermal bath was bombed, destroying the Zsolnay pyrogranite facade and the wooden interior of the dressing rooms. Due to economic condition following the war, the thermal bath was
    0.00
    0 votes
    236
    Graycliff

    Graycliff

    The Graycliff estate was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright (1867–1959) and was built between 1926 and 1931. It is located about 20 minutes south of downtown Buffalo, New York, at 6472 Old Lake Shore Road in Derby, New York. Sometimes called "The Jewel on the Lake", Graycliff is sited on a bluff overlooking Lake Erie with sweeping views of downtown Buffalo and the Canadian shore. Graycliff is one of the most ambitious and extensive summer estates Wright ever designed. The Graycliff estate was the summer home of Isabelle R. Martin (1869–1945) and her husband, Buffalo entrepreneur Darwin D. Martin (1865–1935). Graycliff was the second of two complexes Frank Lloyd Wright designed for the couple, the first being the Martin House Complex, their city residence. By the time of Graycliff’s commission, Wright and the Martins had been personal friends as well as clients for over twenty years. Between the time of the completion of the Martin House Complex and the construction of Graycliff grew a great long-term friendship, to the extent that the Martins provided financial assistance and other support to Wright as his career unfolded. In the early years of their long relationship, Darwin Martin
    0.00
    0 votes
    237
    Helliniko Olympic Complex

    Helliniko Olympic Complex

    The Helliniko Olympic Complex is situated at Ellinikon on the east coast of Greece south of Athens, approximately 16 kilometres from the Olympic Village. It was built on the site of the former Ellinikon International Airport for the staging of the 2004 Summer Olympics and 2004 Summer Paralympics. It consists of 5 separate venues. The Olympic Baseball Centre in Athens consists of two Baseball stadiums. It was the site of the Baseball games at the 2004 Summer Olympics in Athens, Greece. The facility consists of two fields. The larger stadium seats 8,700 fans-though only 6,700 seats were made publicly available during the Olympics - and the smaller stadium seats 4,000 spectators- though only 3,300 seats were made publicly available during the Games. The facility had to be constructed with significant foreign help in the design, as there were only a handful of dusty baseball diamonds in the whole of Greece before the 2004 Olympics were awarded to Athens in 1997. Construction on the facility was completed on February 27, 2004, and it was officially opened on August 12, 2004, a day before the Opening Ceremonies. During the 2004 Summer Paralympic Games, the Olympic Baseball Centre was the
    0.00
    0 votes
    238
    Icon Brickell

    Icon Brickell

    The Icon Brickell complex is an urban development center in Miami, Florida, United States. It is located on the south side of the Miami River in Downtown's northern Brickell Financial District. The complex consists of three skyscrapers and the Icon Brickell Plaza, connecting the towers at their base. The first two towers, Icon Brickell North Tower and Icon Brickell South Tower, are twin towers. Each one is 586 feet (179 m) tall with 58 floors. The third phase of the complex is the Viceroy Tower, which is 465 feet (142 m) tall with 50 floors. The complex is on the east side of Brickell Avenue between Southeast 5th and 6th Streets. The architects are Arquitectonica and the design is by 'yoo inspired by Starck', from yoo, Philippe Starck and John Hitchcox's design company. The Icon Brickell South Tower is adjacent to its twin, the Icon Brickell North Tower. They are the same height and share the same amount of floors. The North Tower is the same height as the South Tower, but it is not shaped the same. The Viceroy Tower, sometimes called The Viceroy Hotel, or simply The Viceroy, is the third building in the Icon Brickell Complex. Like the Icon Brickell North Tower and the Icon
    0.00
    0 votes
    239
    Karnak

    Karnak

    The Karnak Temple Complex—usually called Karnak ( /kɑːr.næk/)—comprises a vast mix of decayed temples, chapels, pylons, and other buildings. Building at the complex began in the reign of Sesostris I in the Middle Kingdom and continued into the Ptolemaic period, although most of the extant buildings date from the New Kingdom. The area around Karnak was the ancient Egyptian Ipet-isut ("The Most Selected of Places") and the main place of worship of the eighteenth dynasty Theban Triad with the god Amun as its head. It is part of the monumental city of Thebes. The Karnak complex takes its name from the nearby, and partly surrounded, modern village of el-Karnak, some 2.5 km north of Luxor. The complex is a vast open-air museum and the largest ancient religious site in the world. It is believed to be the second most visited historical site in Egypt, second only to the Giza Pyramids near Cairo. It consists of four main parts of which only the largest is currently open to the general public. The term Karnak often is understood as being the Precinct of Amun-Re only, because this is the only part most visitors normally see. The three other parts, the Precinct of Mut, the Precinct of Montu,
    0.00
    0 votes
    240
    Langham Place

    Langham Place

    Langham Place is a business and commercial complex in Hong Kong which opened in December 2004. (Official opening was on 25th January 2005). Located in the Mong Kok area of Kowloon, the complex occupies two entire blocks defined by Argyle Street, Portland Street, Shantung Street and Reclamation Street. Shanghai Street separates the two portions of the complex which are connected via two overhead walkways. A hotel is on one side of the development while the commercial elements are located on the other side. The complex was the result of an urban renewal project under Land Development Corporation, later known as Urban Renewal Authority (URA). The project's aim was to upgrade and modernise a dilapidated area of Kowloon by providing a nucleus for renewal for the surrounding area, including the red light district along Portland Street. Langham Place has a gross floor area of 1,800,000 sq ft (170,000 m), and comprises a 59 storey office tower, a 15 level shopping mall with 2 basements levels, a 665 room hotel and a car park with 250 parking spaces. The complex is connected to the Mong Kok Station of the MTR via an underground passage (Exit C3). The HK$10 billion project started out as a
    0.00
    0 votes
    241
    Lincoln Square, Bellevue

    Lincoln Square, Bellevue

    Lincoln Square is a mixed-use complex located in Bellevue, Washington, completed in November 2005, and owned by prominent local developer Kemper Freeman Jr, who took over construction of the project in 2003 after several delays. Lincoln Square consists of retail and restaurant space, a 148-room residential tower, a 337-room luxury hotel, a movie theater, and underground parking. Lincoln Square is part of Kemper Freeman Jr's master plan for development of his Downtown Bellevue properties, known as "The Bellevue Collection", including Bellevue Place and Bellevue Square. The office tower is leased to Eddie Bauer's corporate headquarters and Microsoft.
    0.00
    0 votes
    242
    Maida Vale Studios

    Maida Vale Studios

    Maida Vale Studios is a complex of seven BBC studios (of which five in regular use) on Delaware Road, Maida Vale, London. It has been used to record thousands of classical music, popular music and drama sessions for BBC Radio 1, BBC Radio 2, BBC Radio 3 and BBC Radio 4 from 1946 to the present. On October 30, 2009, BBC Radio 1 celebrated 75 Years of Maida Vale by exclusively playing 75 tracks recorded at the studios over the years. Snow Patrol played a live set from the studio with Fearne Cotton to celebrate 75 years of live music. The site was built in 1909 as the "Maida Vale Roller Skating Palace and Club". Over a period of fifteen months in 1933/1934, one hundred men reduced the skating rink to a shell, then rebuilt it. The arches at the doorway were preserved. It was one of the BBC's earliest premises, pre-dating Broadcasting House, and was the centre of the BBC News operation during World War II. It has been the home of the BBC Symphony Orchestra since 1934. For over fifty years the BBC Symphony Orchestra has given invitation concerts, usually free. As a schoolboy, Vernon Handley learned some of his conducting technique by watching Sir Adrian Boult conduct the BBC symphony
    0.00
    0 votes
    243
    Moscone Center

    Moscone Center

    • Buildings In Complex: Moscone North
    Moscone Center /mɒsˈkoʊni/ is the largest convention and exhibition complex in San Francisco, California. It comprises three main halls: Two underground halls underneath Yerba Buena Gardens, known as Moscone North and Moscone South, and a three-level Moscone West exhibition hall across 4th Street. It was initially built in 1981 by architects Hellmuth, Obata & Kassabaum as one single hall, Moscone South, and named after San Francisco former mayor George Moscone, who was assassinated in November 1978. Although named after the slain former mayor, Moscone opposed the development of the area when he served on the SF Board of Supervisors in the 1960s because he felt it would displace middle-class residents. As mayor, Moscone convened a special committee of proponents and opponents of a convention center. Hearings were held throughout SF seeking citizen input. A compromise was reached which was supported by Moscone. He put the matter on the ballot and it passed overwhelmingly. The expansion of Moscone North and Moscone West in 1992 and 2003 added an additional 600,000 square feet (56,000 m) to its original 300,000 square feet (28,000 m) of exhibit space. It is known for hosting several
    0.00
    0 votes
    244
    Ocean Terminal, Hong Kong

    Ocean Terminal, Hong Kong

    Ocean Terminal (Chinese: 海運大廈) is a cruise terminal and shopping centre located on Canton Road in Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong. The location of Ocean Terminal was once a wharf pier (Kowloon Star Ferry Pier, Kowloon Wharf and Godown) on the west shore of Tsim Sha Tsui. Rebuilt and enlarged for use as a cruise terminal, it also served as a multi-story shopping centre. Ocean Terminal opened on 22 March 1966, signifying the increasing wealth of Hong Kong. Costing HK$70 million, its 112 shops made it "the largest shopping centre" in Hong Kong. It was re-branded together with nearby buildings of the Wharf as Harbour City. Ocean Terminal is now owned by The Wharf (Holdings) Limited. The annual berth utilisation rate of Ocean Terminal in Tsim Sha Tsui, which offers two berths accommodating vessels of up to 50,000 tonnes, rose to 76% last year from 71% in 2003. Between 2001 and 2005, some 11 cruise vessels had to berth mid-stream and at container terminals because Ocean Terminal could not meet market demand. Media related to Ocean Terminal at Wikimedia Commons
    0.00
    0 votes
    245
    Parliament Hill

    Parliament Hill

    Parliament Hill (French: Colline du Parlement), colloquially known as The Hill, is an area of Crown land on the southern banks of the Ottawa River in downtown Ottawa, Ontario. Its Gothic revival suite of buildings—the parliament buildings—serves as the home of the Parliament of Canada and contains a number of architectural elements of national symbolic importance. Parliament Hill attracts approximately 3 million visitors each year. Originally the site of a military base in the 18th and early 19th centuries, development of the site into a governmental precinct began in 1859, after Bytown was chosen by Queen Victoria as the capital of the Province of Canada. Following a number of extensions to the parliament and departmental buildings and a fire in 1916 that destroyed the Centre Block, Parliament Hill took on its present form with the completion of the Peace Tower in 1927. Since 2002, an extensive $1 billion renovation and rehabilitation project has been underway throughout all of the precinct's buildings; work is not expected to be complete until after 2020 Parliament Hill is a limestone outcrop with a gently sloping top that was originally covered in primeval forest of beech and
    0.00
    0 votes
    246
    Sacramento Convention Center Complex

    Sacramento Convention Center Complex

    • Buildings In Complex: Community Center Theatre
    The Sacramento Convention Center Complex is a complex of entertainment venues and a convention center located in downtown Sacramento, California. The complex consists of the Sacramento Convention Center, the Community Center Theatre, the Memorial Auditorium, and the Jean Runyon Little Theater at the Memorial Auditorium. The Sacramento Convention Center, located at 1400 J Street, is a convention and meeting venue. The Convention Center features an exhibit hall with 134,000 square feet (12,400 m) of exhibit space, a ballroom, and 31 meeting rooms. The Community Center Theatre, located at 1301 L Street, is a 2,452 seat entertainment venue. The theatre hosts national touring artists, and Sacramento performing arts groups such as The Sacramento Ballet and the Sacramento Philharmonic Orchestra. The Memorial Auditorium, located at 1515 J Street, is a 3,867 seat multi-purpose venue. Completed in 1926, the Auditorium opened in February, 1927. Closed in 1986, the building fell into disrepair, and re-opened in 1996, after renovation, as part of the Convention Center Complex. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Auditorium hosts a variety of events, including concerts,
    0.00
    0 votes
    247
    Silver Towers

    Silver Towers

    The Silver Towers are twin residential buildings in the Hell's Kitchen Clinton neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. The 60-story buildings stand on the west side of Eleventh Avenue between 41st Street and 42nd Street near the Hudson River and contain 1,359 units. The project includes a 75-foot pool, the largest in a New York City residential building, as well as a quarter-acre public park on the west side of the towers. The Silver Towers were completed in June 2009. Larry Silverstein, who developed the buildings, bought the block between 42nd and 41st Streets between 11th and 12th Avenues in 1984 for $20 million. At the time, the site was vacant and zoned for single story industrial use. The block was rezoned in 1989, and One River Place, a 41-story residential high-rise on the west end opened in 2000. In 2000, Silverstein contemplated developing an office building on the east end of the block. A few years later, the site was considered as the location for a 1,500 room hotel as part of the plans to expand the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. Costas Kondylis is the architect for the Silver Towers, who also designed One River Place. The original design called for a single
    0.00
    0 votes
    248
    Six Flags Great America

    Six Flags Great America

    Six Flags Great America is a Six Flags theme park in the Chicago metropolitan area, located in Gurnee, Illinois. It first opened in 1976 as Marriott's Great America. Six Flags purchased the park from the Marriott Corporation in 1984, making it the seventh park in the chain. As of 2012, the park has nine themed sections, a 16-acre (65,000 m) water park, two specially themed children's areas, and various other forms of entertainment. Marriott Corporation began construction on the park in 1974 and opened it on May 29, 1976, as "Marriott's Great America" (a sister park, with almost identical layout and attractions, opened in northern California in Santa Clara the same year). The park was an immediate success due in part to its Americana themes and grand opening during the American Bicentennial. It originally consisted of six themed areas: Carousel Plaza, the first section beyond the main gates; small-town-themed Hometown Square; The Great Midwest Livestock Exposition At County Fair with its |turn of the 19th to 20th century rural-fair theme; Yankee Harbor, inspired by a 19th century New England port; Yukon Territory, resembling a Canadian/Alaskan logging camp; and the French
    0.00
    0 votes
    249
    0.00
    0 votes
    250
    University Village, New York

    University Village, New York

    The University Village is a complex of three apartment buildings located in Greenwich Village in the Lower Manhattan-part of New York City. The complex is owned by New York University and was built in the 1960s as part of the University's transition to a residential college. One of the towers, 505 LaGuardia Place, is a co-op that does not house students, and the other two towers, Silver Tower I and Silver Tower II, house faculty and graduate students of NYU. The buildings were designed by modern architects James Ingo Freed and I. M. Pei, and the central-plaza contains a sculpture by Carl Nesjär and Pablo Picasso. In 2008 the complex was designated a New York City Landmark by the Landmarks Preservation Commission. In 1953 the Mayor’s Commission on Slum Clearance designated three superblocks in the Greenwich Village-area for redevelopment under Title 1 of the Housing Act of 1949. The project was known as the Washington Square Southeast redevelopment area, with the northernmost superblock given to NYU for educational purposes and the lower two superblocks to the Washington Square Village Corporation. The northern superblock eventually became the site of several NYU buildings,
    0.00
    0 votes
    Get your friends to vote! Spread this URL or share:

    Discuss Best Building complex of All Time

    Top List Voters