Final Destination series

Ranked #209 on the list Best Film series of All Time

Based on 2 votes

About Final Destination series

  • Films In Series: Final Destination

Final Destination is a series of horror films based on an unproduced spec script written by Jeffrey Reddick he originally submitted to the X-Files television series. Distributed by New Line Cinema, all five films are centered on the themes of fatalism, predestination, and precognition, in relation to death (i.e. how to foresee, avoid or control it). In a less abstract sense, each film features a group of people dying in a series of elaborate and often gory scenarios that frequently resemble Rube Goldberg machines in their complexity. The series is noteworthy amongst others in the horror genre in that the "villain" of the movies is not the stereotypical slashers, monsters, creatures, beasts, ghosts, or demons. It is the entity Death itself (very occasionally 'seen' as a fleeting shadow), which manipulates the environment in deadly ways with the intent of "recapturing" those who somehow manage (usually through warning premonitions) to escape their fates the first time. The franchise has also spawned a related book series (published by Black Flame) and comic series (published by Zenescope Entertainment Inc). On May 13th, 2000, Alex Browning (Devon Sawa) is going on his high school

Comment on Final Destination series