Dr. Identity

Ranked #2 on the list Best Postmodern literature Books

Based on 2 votes

About Dr. Identity

  • Year Released: 2007

Dr. Identity (2007) is the fourth book and first novel by American author D. Harlan Wilson. Set in a dystopian, mediatized future where people surrogate themselves with android lookalikes, the novel focuses on the foils of an English professor (Dr. 'Blah), his psychotic android (Dr. Identity), and their flight from the agents of the Law, especially the "Papanazi." Like much of Wilson's work, Dr. Identity is distinguished by its ultraviolence, metanarration, and critique of media technology. It is the first novel in the Scikungfi Trilogy along with the forthcoming Codename Prague (2009) and The Kyoto Man (2010). For a professor at Corndog University it's quite acceptable to purchase a robotic doppelgänger and have it teach your classes for you. But how does it reflect on your teaching skills when your doppelgänger murders the whole class? Follow the Dystopian Duo (Dr. Blah Blah Blah and his robot Dr. Identity) on a killing spree of epic proportions through the irreal postapocalyptic city of Bliptown where time ticks sideways, artificial Bug-Eyed Monsters punish citizens for consumer-capitalist lethargy, and ultraviolence is as essential as a daily multivitamin.

Comment on Dr. Identity